Headphones Psuedo-Audiophile Teh Tarik Session, 21/11, 3PM @ LYP Food Court

Enigmatic
post Nov 7 2009, 08:36 PM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

If you're coming from Star LRT (now known under RapidKL LRT), you might want to stop at Hang Tuah. From there, just follow the crowd, walk all the way down (when you exit the station, head right) to Times Square. Lowyat should be a little distance opposite of Times Square.

If you're taking monorail, stop at Imbi Station. That station should be directly next to Times Square. From there, the usual, Lowyat is a little distance opposite of Times Square.

If you're taking KTM, please choose to make your transit to either monorail or Star (RapidKL LRT). For monorail, you can choose to stop at KL Sentral for switch to monorail. For Star (RapidKL LRT), you may either choose to transit at Bank Negara to Bandaraya (walking distance), or Bandar Tasik Selatan (next to one another).

ADD: As for how to walk to Lowyat from Times Square.. erm.. it's a little hard to describe using words, so, good luck! tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Enigmatic: Nov 7 2009, 08:51 PM
duh2k
post Nov 7 2009, 08:42 PM

592 posts

QUOTE(Enigmatic @ Nov 7 2009, 08:36 PM)

ADD: As for how to walk to Lowyat from Times Square.. erm.. it's a little hard to describe using words, so, good luck!  tongue.gif

Just rmb that at the end of the walk is a haven of audio stuffs....and it will be noooo prob tongue.gif

OT: Enigmatic, are u attending this meet?
Enigmatic
post Nov 7 2009, 08:44 PM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

Nah.. Can't make it I reckon, abit busy. laugh.gif Though I'd love to catch up with you guys.

Kinda sad though, nothing for me to bring even if I go. *haha*
TSEiraku
post Nov 7 2009, 09:02 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Somebody asked for a map? A quick trip to Paint.NET gave me this... biggrin.gif

Sorry, I'm crap at drawing, even on the computer... sweat.gif

Will be updating FP when I get a stable connection. I don't really trust my Celcom Broadband as of now... Don't want it crapping on me mid post.
AngleR35
post Nov 7 2009, 09:07 PM

The One and Only
727 posts

Wa , so many ppl joining , still able to add 1 more ppl ? tongue.gif

That day if my college imagine cup can finish before 3pm then i should be come to join it laugh.gif
TSEiraku
post Nov 7 2009, 09:29 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(AngleR35 @ Nov 7 2009, 09:07 PM)
Wa , so many ppl joining , still able to add 1 more ppl ?  tongue.gif

That day if my college imagine cup can finish before 3pm then i should be come to join it  laugh.gif
Come come, the "lepak with sifu and get poison at Starbucks" part of the gathering isn't attendance limited per se, it's just we're afraid that the shops won't take in too many people.... biggrin.gif

We're roughly at around 16-17 people right now (AKG audition + Crazy Poisoning Session)... Have to do a proper head re-count later... hmm.gif

I really didn't think it could swell up this much though... sweat.gif

I wonder how LYP would react to the sudden onslaught of cool.gif cool.gif cool.gif cool.gif
2wcp
post Nov 7 2009, 09:59 PM

46 posts

i really wish there's no separation, coz i would like to attend both!!!

haha. but if u ask me, i would attend the akg soundsession. coz im thinking of getting another portable next year.
TSEiraku
post Nov 8 2009, 12:39 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Just to update for those interested, my Fuze LODs (yes, plural - I got two, somehow) are on the way. Hopefully they'll arrive on time for the meet, so we can all see if it DOES bring about a difference in how the Fuze sounds like.
chicaman
post Nov 8 2009, 12:58 AM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Nov 8 2009, 12:39 AM)
Just to update for those interested, my Fuze LODs (yes, plural - I got two, somehow) are on the way. Hopefully they'll arrive on time for the meet, so we can all see if it DOES bring about a difference in how the Fuze sounds like.
how much is it bro? if price is right i might be interested!!!
TSEiraku
post Nov 8 2009, 01:38 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(chicaman @ Nov 8 2009, 12:58 AM)
how much is it bro? if price is right i might be interested!!!
I paid RM240 for 1 LOD + Express USPS shipping (the other LOD was a "failed experiment" or something, he said, and threw it in as a bonus). Price should come down closer to RM200 (even below maybe) if we have enough people in a bulk.

But first, I have to figure out the whole "Sorry, but your payment won't go through. To make it work, you'll need to add funds to your PayPal account" problem with PayPal first... mad.gif

It's really driving me completely nuts and hampering my chances to arrange for a bulk with the guy making this... sweat.gif

Oh, and funny that my first virgin Credit Card online transaction EVER is spent on audiophile stuff.... This doesn't bode well for my future... sweat.gif
kamikraze
post Nov 8 2009, 01:39 AM

Iphone 12 Pro Max + Magicwatch 2
6,425 posts

can clip+ be LOD? haha..
and thanks for the maps.. already saved..
i think i can understand the map and ur instruction.. haha..
hopefully..
TSEiraku
post Nov 8 2009, 01:50 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(kamikraze @ Nov 8 2009, 01:39 AM)
can clip+ be LOD? haha..
and thanks for the maps.. already saved..
i think i can understand the map and ur instruction.. haha..
hopefully..
Nope, no dock connector for Line-Out... biggrin.gif

Unless someone mods the Clip+ to output an LO signal through the Headphone Jack... sweat.gif

Taking into consideration that the Fuze is retailing at RM290, it makes the Fuze one of the cheapest LOD-able DAPs out there - even if pure SQ wise, it would probably lose to the iMod / iTouchMod (which both costs FAR beyond the Fuze; even a stock unmodded 4th Gen iPod goes for like what, RM400 now? Granted it has 30GB vs the Fuze's 8)... biggrin.gif

A good starting place for the budding audio-freak I'd say. Though it's also bad news for the wallet... cry.gif

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 8 2009, 01:53 AM
chicaman
post Nov 8 2009, 02:01 AM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Nov 8 2009, 01:38 AM)
I paid RM240 for 1 LOD + Express USPS shipping (the other LOD was a "failed experiment" or something, he said, and threw it in as a bonus). Price should come down closer to RM200 (even below maybe) if we have enough people in a bulk.

But first, I have to figure out the whole "Sorry, but your payment won't go through. To make it work, you'll need to add funds to your PayPal account" problem with PayPal first... mad.gif

It's really driving me completely nuts and hampering my chances to arrange for a bulk with the guy making this... sweat.gif

Oh, and funny that my first virgin Credit Card online transaction EVER is spent on audiophile stuff.... This doesn't bode well for my future... sweat.gif
wow thats expensive LOL~

cant afford it for a cable at the moment haha

Waiting to test out Eterna then grad either Eterna or RE0, when Skins for Fuze arrived, then get IEM, then get Fuze Case, with E5. The ultimate best sound lowest budget combo is complete!
TSEiraku
post Nov 8 2009, 02:19 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(chicaman @ Nov 8 2009, 02:01 AM)
wow thats expensive LOL~

cant afford it for a cable at the moment haha
Waiting to test out Eterna then grad either Eterna or RE0, when Skins for Fuze arrived, then get IEM, then get Fuze Case, with E5. The ultimate best sound lowest budget combo is complete!
Yeah, I'd agree. iLODs also run at around RM150 only, then again there's nobody who would make a Fuze LOD out here in M'sia any more... biggrin.gif

I'd probably be able to run it down to about RM190 with enough people in a bulk... If we're lucky... But even then it's an expensive cable indeed... biggrin.gif

For me, I have 3 choices for the future:

a) The Crazy Route = Eterna --> Fuze Case --> Sell organs --> Pico Slim ---> Sell even more organs ---> Telcast T21 ---> Sell Car ---> JH13Pro => Happiness.

b) The (slightly) more realistic route = Eterna --> Fuze Case ---> iBasso T4 ---> UM Quads => Slightly less but comparable Happiness.

c) The most realistic route = Eterna --> Fuze Case --> STOP SPENDING ON THESE THINGS LARRRRR, HAIIYO! => Even less Happiness, but more money in pocket.

I'd probably go for B... Happiness is important! brows.gif

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 8 2009, 02:26 AM
kamikraze
post Nov 8 2009, 02:20 AM

6,425 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Nov 8 2009, 01:50 AM)
Nope, no dock connector for Line-Out... biggrin.gif

Unless someone mods the Clip+ to output an LO signal through the Headphone Jack... sweat.gif

Taking into consideration that the Fuze is retailing at RM290, it makes the Fuze one of the cheapest LOD-able DAPs out there - even if pure SQ wise, it would probably lose to the iMod / iTouchMod (which both costs FAR beyond the Fuze; even a stock unmodded 4th Gen iPod goes for like what, RM400 now? Granted it has 30GB vs the Fuze's 8)... biggrin.gif

A good starting place for the budding audio-freak I'd say. Though it's also bad news for the wallet... cry.gif
too bad then.. sad.gif
if Fuze being LOD it would become fat rite? will the LOD Fuze able to be at TT soon?
chicaman
post Nov 8 2009, 02:29 AM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

QUOTE(kamikraze @ Nov 8 2009, 02:20 AM)
too bad then..  sad.gif
if Fuze being LOD it would become fat rite? will the LOD Fuze able to be at TT soon?
not really? its just a cable with 3.5mm male that connects to the dock then connect to amp. so connect the iem to amp biggrin.gif
TSEiraku
post Nov 8 2009, 02:33 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(kamikraze @ Nov 8 2009, 02:20 AM)
too bad then..  sad.gif
SLIGHTLY fatter only, and granted, the amp I use will ensure just how fat the final franken-combo will be... Buuuuut, I only have the E5 anyhow... sweat.gif

So, it's not THAT bad... biggrin.gif

And yeah, if all goes well (Fuze + LOD should arrive this week), the LOD Fuze should be at the meet.
kamikraze
post Nov 8 2009, 04:06 AM

6,425 posts

cant wait to see the LOD thing with my own eye..
but.. when LODed.. will the portability lost it sense?
yeah even its slightly fatter.. must be heavier or a bit bulky to bring along..
TSEiraku
post Nov 8 2009, 04:42 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(kamikraze @ Nov 8 2009, 04:06 AM)
cant wait to see the LOD thing with my own eye..
but.. when LODed.. will the portability lost it sense?
yeah even its slightly fatter.. must be heavier or a bit bulky to bring along..
Should be a tad bulkier, but still very much portable.

Keep in mind though, SQ improvement also varies wildly from person to person... Ranging from "extremely subtle" to "mindblowing"... biggrin.gif

To the point that some guys fought over it at HF, some calling it a placebo - others saying it works wonders... Granted, it's not gonna be the SQ jump iTouch/iPod owners got with THEIR LODs... sweat.gif

Well, I haven't tried it yet. Here's hoping I'm buying a placebo that works! brows.gif
kamikraze
post Nov 8 2009, 06:15 AM

6,425 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Nov 8 2009, 04:42 AM)
Should be a tad bulkier, but still very much portable.

Keep in mind though, SQ improvement also varies wildly from person to person... Ranging from "extremely subtle" to "mindblowing"... biggrin.gif

To the point that some guys fought over it at HF, some calling it a placebo - others saying it works wonders... Granted, it's not gonna be the SQ jump iTouch/iPod owners got with THEIR LODs... sweat.gif

Well, I haven't tried it yet. Here's hoping I'm buying a placebo that works! brows.gif
make sure that things available this 21th.. hehe..

20 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0248sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 09:21 PM