25 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Bottom

LYN CLASSICAL GUITAR CLUB, A place for classical guitarist to chat

Lucidus
post Feb 1 2011, 09:51 AM

Newbie?
2,451 posts

For both acoustic and classical or classical only?
la bella
post Feb 2 2011, 12:06 AM

962 posts

QUOTE(Lucidus @ Feb 1 2011, 09:51 AM)
For both acoustic and classical or classical only?
When I play classical, im very serious 1, i follow the formal classical position, i put the footstool on my left; for acoustic i play it casually, i don't use footstool. biggrin.gif
Lucidus
post Feb 2 2011, 05:10 PM

Newbie?
2,451 posts

I see. Hahaha. Very disciplined.

You keep long fingernails or you use fake ones?
la bella
post Feb 3 2011, 02:37 AM

962 posts

QUOTE(Lucidus @ Feb 2 2011, 05:10 PM)
I see. Hahaha. Very disciplined.

You keep long fingernails or you use fake ones?
I keep long nails. I still prefer playing with fingernails eventhough my nails are soft.
DaddyGuitar
post Feb 24 2011, 12:27 PM

24 posts

Bently Music - Bad service.

On Tuesday I called up to enquire if they have Ernie Balls 0.9 singles.
Someone answered and said they have. Good!

(Through experience, this gauge is alwys in demand and stock's are always low) Out of the three times I went, twice I came out empty handed.

To be sure, I asked how many are there and he replied, "about 20".
Hearing this good news, I quickly ask him if he could reserve two strings for me. Next, my instruction was ''...please leave them on the frontdesk and I will pick them up tomorrow (Wednesday) afternoon"

He then asked for my name and I duly spelt it over the phone following, I asked for his name and he said "...look for Darren when you reach here". I thought to myself, everything's covered. Easy peasy.

Come Wednesday. I went to the front desk and told the attending person (let's call him Young man) that I'm to collect the said strings left by Darren. Young man told me to wait as he simultaneously calls Darren on his handphone. A short conversation ensued on the phone and Youngman turns to me and said, ''sorry we are out or 0.9. Howabout 0.8 or 0.7?' I stared speechless at him. He then proposed, ''We have other brands too".

By now, he knows by the look on my face that I am one dissatisfied customer.

I then told Youngman, ''You call him and 'F' him. This is unacceptable. He said he has the strings'.

Youngman was hesitant, but as I raised my voice and repeated myself, he whips out his h/phone and starts dialling.

I didn't stay long enough to see if they talked again.

This boy ''DARREN" should think twice about conducting himself as a person, let alone working as a sales person.
Lucidus
post Feb 24 2011, 12:39 PM

Newbie?
2,451 posts

^

Why am I not surprised. rolleyes.gif
DaddyGuitar
post Feb 24 2011, 02:23 PM

24 posts

Lucidus,

Are they that bad? Prior to this I can rate their service as fair to fairly good.

Sadly, Youngman has to clean Darren's shyte. He did try his best to salvage the situation.

Lucidus
post Feb 24 2011, 02:27 PM

Newbie?
2,451 posts

Let's just say I'm more into music shops that are not so goddamn profit-oriented.
DaddyGuitar
post Feb 25 2011, 11:17 AM

24 posts

Anyone know which guitar shop around 1U, D'sara, TT area that carries Ernie Ball strings?

TIA.
nostring
post Feb 25 2011, 01:57 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(DaddyGuitar @ Feb 25 2011, 11:17 AM)
Anyone know which guitar shop around 1U, D'sara, TT area that carries Ernie Ball strings?

TIA.
guitar collection @ 1u or TT smile.gif
Lucidus
post Feb 26 2011, 12:51 AM

Newbie?
2,451 posts

Guys.

I never kept fingernails, always pick with my fingertips.

But lately tried 12-strings, and its kinda hard to pick without nails.

Hence i opt for fingerpicks, but still quite hard in term of accuracy.

The fingertips that i get are all curved at diiferent angles. sweat.gif

Should i start growing nails?

Or should i getvdecent fingerpicks?

yeehoo
post Mar 3 2011, 09:43 AM

118 posts

QUOTE(Lucidus @ Feb 26 2011, 12:51 AM)
Guys.

I never kept fingernails, always pick with my fingertips.

But lately tried 12-strings, and its kinda hard to pick without nails.

Hence i opt for fingerpicks, but still quite hard in term of accuracy.

The fingertips that i get are all curved at diiferent angles. sweat.gif

Should i start growing nails?

Or should i getvdecent fingerpicks?
just a quick answer, if you serious with classical guitar, you should have the nails, it make a bigger sound and control the tone. smile.gif
Lucidus
post Mar 3 2011, 11:41 AM

Newbie?
2,451 posts

I see.

Any tips on cleaning the nails then?

Especially the inner side. sweat.gif
yeehoo
post Mar 4 2011, 03:05 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(Lucidus @ Mar 3 2011, 11:41 AM)
I see.

Any tips on cleaning the nails then?

Especially the inner side. sweat.gif
hmm, you mean black dirt underneath your finger nails? I never had that problem, but you could just use a sharp object to clean it.
The nails should not be too long though, else it is difficult to pluck the stings.
Lucidus
post Mar 4 2011, 06:49 PM

Newbie?
2,451 posts

Thanks for replying.

Sigh this would be my first time in 22 years growing nails.
leadaxer
post Mar 6 2011, 04:50 PM

EMG 81
2,451 posts

Hi guys,

Any recommendations for a budget acoustic-electric guitar that goes for around RM400-500?

Please indicate the shop name as well.

TQ smile.gif
JieXian
post Mar 6 2011, 11:42 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(Lucidus @ Mar 4 2011, 06:49 PM)
Thanks for replying.

Sigh this would be my first time in 22 years growing nails.
Or also can use your other nails from your other fingers to dig dig dig la laugh.gif

But seriously I don't understand how people's nails get so dirty...

You must learn how to shape it also. Bad shape means shitty sound. Must have the nice curve. Keep on experimenting and fixing the shape to make it more smooth without sharp angles.

I use sand paper grade 600 one. RM10 can last years. Very cheap laugh.gif 100 too rough and 1000 too smooth but 1000 still can use la.

But problem is steel strings have very high tension, my nails are too weak for .012 strings dam dulan. Luckily I love the sound of nylon. So if your focus is steel string and you play quite high tension and your nails cannot tahan, actually got some pro classical guitar players play with flesh also one, like Tarrega. But no nails cannot play flamenco la that 1 totally out.
Lucidus
post Mar 7 2011, 08:48 AM

Newbie?
2,451 posts

^

Mind a picture of your fingernails?

Regarding the hygiene issue, most of the stain in my nails is because I eat without fork and spoon. P
la bella
post Mar 7 2011, 10:11 AM

962 posts

I got nails problem too. I play classical guitar, my nails are very soft, can't get to play loud. I like to play with picks when I play acoustic guitar and electric guitar because it can get the tone that I want. But no choice when playing classical guitar, I can only play with own nails, the sound is very thin because of my soft nails.
Lucidus
post Mar 7 2011, 02:35 PM

Newbie?
2,451 posts

QUOTE(la bella @ Mar 7 2011, 10:11 AM)
I got nails problem too. I play classical guitar, my nails are very soft, can't get to play loud. I like to play with picks when I play acoustic guitar and electric guitar because it can get the tone that I want. But no choice when playing classical guitar, I can only play with own nails, the sound is very thin because of my soft nails.
You might need to lacquer your nails abit I guess?

25 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0314sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 07:48 AM