LYN CLASSICAL GUITAR CLUB, A place for classical guitarist to chat

yeehoo
post Jan 20 2010, 01:39 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(smcg @ Dec 18 2009, 12:41 AM)
i heard that some of their member already quit the ensemble...
anyone know more news about that???  hmm.gif
KLGEII is still very actives, they just perform in Chiangmai, you can watch it in youtube:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BukCF1HY354

Glad to see people interested in classical guitar. smile.gif

Feel free to ask/discuss with me anything about classical guitar.

yeehoo
post Jan 21 2010, 11:58 AM

118 posts

QUOTE(nostring @ Jan 21 2010, 10:46 AM)
it that simon chong gtr ensemble? rclxms.gif
It called Kuala Lumpur Guitar Ensemble II, Simon Cheong is one of the founder. smile.gif
yeehoo
post Nov 5 2010, 10:26 AM

118 posts

Dear all guitar lover:

Classical Guitar Society Malaysia presents:

A Classical Guitar concert with See Sew Hong (Malaysia), Ponpat Pongpradit (Thailand), Ernest Thomas (Malaysia) and Alessio Monti (Italy)

Date: 8 Dec 2010

Time: 8.00 p.m.

Venue : Tunku Abdul Rahman Auditorium
Malaysia Tourism Centre

Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur

Please visit www.cgs.net.my for the passes booking information or left a message here.

Thank you. biggrin.gif

yeehoo
post Nov 10 2010, 03:00 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(chyap99 @ Nov 10 2010, 12:41 AM)
wow.. is good to see so many classical guitar player..
hope can see more video for what your playing.. biggrin.gif
instead of video, why not watch the performance live? Please watch our concert this Dec smile.gif

yeehoo
post Nov 10 2010, 09:32 PM

118 posts

Added on November 10, 2010, 8:10 pm
notice from the video they are using an tools to hold the guitar without use the foot stool, may i know what it call, where can get and the price range? thanks!

It is call Ergoplay, German product. you could search the internet for more information. It is available locally, price range from around RM190 (basic model) to RM 280 (better model). If you are interested, you could contact me, my HP 0162311906. There is also a shop in Jalan Ipoh selling it, if you stay near Kepong. Like any other product, there is also cheaper version make from China, which, of course, inferior to the German brand one. smile.gif
yeehoo
post Nov 26 2010, 10:18 AM

118 posts

QUOTE(chyap99 @ Nov 25 2010, 12:16 AM)
less than RM40? sure or not? where to buy?  rclxms.gif
That's the China make product, you can get it from Woh Fatt, but I got report from friend that it's suction cup not that suck (heheh) and the shape did not suite the guitar very well. You can try it and see. smile.gif

Added on November 26, 2010, 10:57 am
QUOTE(DaddyGuitar @ Nov 25 2010, 02:15 PM)
la bella,
The Etude is the only one with truss-rod in the market here. In fact, double truss rods if I read their writeup correctly. Yes, tried it at GC. Among other criteria, my 11y.o. daughter found the neck to be 'easier' than others. Therefore, my questions about the this particular neck.
Do you play the classical guitar?

nostrings,
You are correct. Our weather does concern me, and if the rods are able to correct the bowing/bending, I can live with it. But if the neck twist/warp, I understand that it is a case of 'cannot save' sad.gif Thus, I am hoping to hear from Etude owners about this.
BTW, what would be the other ' ...better choices', if you mind?

We are still doing our rounds of trying out different guitars. Some may get another visit or two.
I think you worry about the wrong aspect of classical guitar. There is no danger of warping neck as long as you take good care of your guitar ie. don't put it in a hot place like back of your car.

No matter what brand, most important things you need to consider is alway the sound (tone) make by the guitar, compare the sound first instead of physical aspect of the guitar. You also need play EVERY notes, EVERY position of the guitar to check whether you get any buzzing sound (especially higher position)

you can also check what kind of wood it use. to ease your fear of warping neck, try to go for ebony for the finger board, ebony is very hard wood. Check sound board for solid wood. Most classical guitar use Cedar or Spruce sound board. Cedar is cheaper with sweeter sound, Spruce is brighter but more expensive because it has better projection.

As for the "easier' neck, sometime we just need to adjust our technique to suit a good guitar. smile.gif

Any, if you looking for mid-range student guitars, my suggestion is Manuel Rodriguez. It is the best money-for-value guitar you can get. It mid-range student guitar price at 2k-5k. Directly from Spain, world famous brand (MR also make concert guitar worth RM20-30k), great sound and craftsmanship. Check it out. smile.gif

This post has been edited by yeehoo: Nov 26 2010, 10:57 AM
yeehoo
post Nov 27 2010, 08:42 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(chyap99 @ Nov 27 2010, 03:34 PM)
china brand = RM40, original brand RM190-RM280...  doh.gif that is no mid range product between this two price range?
I believe there is, even few more alternative products that replace the food stool, for example: Dynarette Guitar Cushion, but most of them not available here.
yeehoo
post Nov 27 2010, 11:02 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(smcg @ Nov 27 2010, 10:10 PM)

yes, the suction cup really not that suck, but a least it won't drop when you playing. the one that i have can be adjust, so far still ok.
as a player, tone of the guitar is important than the brand. different wood produce different sound. cedar sound more mellow while spruce have a brighter sound but doesn't mean it's cheaper than spruce. both top have different purpose and like by different player.
manuel rodriguez manufacture in china, only certain model made in spain. so far one of the model that i try before sound quite loud, it's laminated brazillian rosewood (if not mistake), wood texture very nice, but the sound not my taste and the price a little over.  sweat.gif
Most manufacturer charge more on spruce model, that's what I mean. smile.gif Of course both Cedar and spruce has their own advantage.s.

I can't said whether some models of MR indeed manufactured in china or not, but from model B upward, definitely make in Spain. Manuel Rodriguez Jr. came to Malaysia twice, although I did not met him, but I got report that his guitars is really make in Spain. Anyway, there are not much Spanish Guitar in the market, I think MR really worth your money. smile.gif
yeehoo
post Nov 29 2010, 12:17 AM

118 posts

QUOTE(DaddyGuitar @ Nov 28 2010, 09:23 PM)
Hi everyone,

I'm back now. The house's wireless router burnt and replacing a new one is an experience worthy of a thread on its own sad.gif

Back to guitars.....

Thanks all for the info so far.

Anyone has experiences with Alhambra guitars? Any differences from MR?
Built and/or pricing.
I own an Alhambra 6P (cedar solid top with laminated Indian rosewood side and back) , nice guitar on sound and quality, its price is on par with MR model C. However , in my opinion, MR edge out Alhambra on both count, tone is warmer and sound like hand make guitar while Alhambra still sound and look like factory guitar. Alhambra use to be my recommended guitar until MR came into market. Still, Alhambra is a good choice provided you can get it cheaper than MR. smile.gif

Both MR and Alhambra's neck is slightly wider but slightly thinner than C-40. MR probably has slightly lower action than Alhambra.

This post has been edited by yeehoo: Nov 29 2010, 12:20 AM
yeehoo
post Nov 29 2010, 10:33 AM

118 posts

QUOTE(DaddyGuitar @ Nov 29 2010, 09:38 AM)
Yeehoo,
Correct me. The Alhambra 6P is marketed as the equivalent/alternative to the MR C, not the C1 or C3, models?
Maybe "marketed" not a correct word, but yes, Alhambra 6P's price is same range with MR Model C (RM4k-5k) and can be consider as equivalent, NOT C1 or C3.

I did not come across C1 and C3 myself, but based on MR Catalogue , they are listed in the same series with lower quality guitar Caballero 10, which I do have experience with and Caballero 10 is make in China. While Model C is listed in different series which all the guitar in the series are make in Spain.

Hope this information can help you. smile.gif

This post has been edited by yeehoo: Nov 29 2010, 10:42 AM
yeehoo
post Nov 29 2010, 11:38 AM

118 posts

Dear all guitar lover:

Please support local classical guitarists and activities.

Classical Guitar Society Malaysia presents:
A Classical Guitar concert with See Sew Hong (Malaysia), Ponpat Pongpradit (Thailand), Ernest Thomas (Malaysia) and Alessio Monti (Italy)

Date: 8 Dec 2010
Time: 8.00 p.m.
Venue : Tunku Abdul Rahman Auditorium
Malaysia Tourism Centre
Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur

Admission Passes is at RM60.00.

Thank you.

See Sew Hong and Ernest Thomas are part of Malaysia’s internationally acclaimed classical guitar ensemble, KLGE II.

They are both very versatile performers, having performed solos, duos, trios and quartets repertoire in the ensemble.

In 2005 they performed on Malaysia Hari Ini, a TV3 programme. The following year, they performed at the Ordu International Guitar Festival, Turkey as well as in a concert entitled An Evening with the Classical Guitar in Kuala Lumpur.

Then in 2007 they performed again in a concert entitled Tanah Pusaka. In 2008, the Classical Guitar Society organised the world premiere concert entitled Gubahanku in which Ernest Thomas performed ‘Variations on a Malaysian song ‘Getaran Jiwa' by the late John Duarte.

They performed with the KLGE II at the Bangkok International Guitar Festival 2009 and later that year, they played in Chiang Mai, Thailand.

At the recent Thailand International Guitar Festival 2010, See Sew Hong took his turn in promoting our Malaysian music by playing ‘Getaran Jiwa’. Along with being educators in various music schools in the Klang valley, they are also lecturers at UiTM Faculty of Music, Selangor.

yeehoo
post Nov 30 2010, 10:07 AM

118 posts

QUOTE(la bella @ Nov 30 2010, 09:39 AM)
It says made in spain but actually made in china huh. And the price is so expensive...
I want to correct some misunderstanding, yes, I believe some big Spanish guitar maker do have factory in China, just like other big brand like Nike etc.
Usually they make lower end product in China.

However, please check the label inside the guitar, for MR, the label will state where it is make. Unless, unethical shop owners change the label to cheat customer.

If you not sure, always ask for second opinions. smile.gif
yeehoo
post Nov 30 2010, 11:26 AM

118 posts

QUOTE(la bella @ Nov 30 2010, 10:54 AM)
But, I have seen a MR in a small music shop, the label states it's spanish made, I asked the boss where he got the guitar from, he's being honest, he told me he got his stocks from china, he sells it rm600+. Solid cedar top, laminated rosewood back and side. The model is C1 matte finish.
I did not saw any MR Model C1 myself, but if you check MR online catalogue, it was listed in the same series "Caballero" as Model Caballero 10 which I had experience, and the label of Caballero 10 is CLEARLY stated make in China.

MR has a "Starter Package" for Caballero 10, together with other guitar accessories it selling at around RM1K.

While Model "C" (not to be confuse with Model C1 and C3), in the online catalogue, is listed in different series "Laminadas", definitely Spanish make, the sound and quality clearly shown.

Honestly, I did not know all MR models and its country manufactured, especially the lower end series "Caballero", but I do come across many MR mid-range student guitars from Model B upward,,Model FC and FG, even couple of MR Jr. Rio concert guitar.

I strongly believe these mid-range guitars was made in Spain, while the lower end models with greater demand was made in China. smile.gif
yeehoo
post Dec 1 2010, 11:07 AM

118 posts

QUOTE(smcg @ Dec 1 2010, 01:35 AM)
thumbup.gif agree. but a lot ppl looking for brand, n where it's made from!!! label it's to show those trusted in 'brand'... i just got the stupid tanglewood from china, label inside is u.k. even headstock also printed in u.k.  doh.gif
by the way, not recommended admira, esteve not bad. u can get the model 1.4st, solid top, mahogany back n side, also thousand ++++
if willing to invest, can get the esteve model 8, full solid indian rosewood.
True, sound is important. However for general public who are not a player or has less experiences in this field, they can not differentiate bad guitar sound from good guitar sound, especially for classical guitars. most people will notice different in volume, but no clue about the tone. Even for some experience players, if they did not constantly expose to good tone from good guitars, they themselves might not able to make correct judgment also.

So, brand and manufacturer country become a criteria for them. Well, most of the time, brand and manufacturer country is reliable indicator for quality guitar (until some people try to cheat), but you still need to watch out for defect products from well known brand. smile.gif

This post has been edited by yeehoo: Dec 1 2010, 11:09 AM
yeehoo
post Dec 1 2010, 09:36 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(xcen @ Dec 1 2010, 08:10 PM)
Really need a place to help with aural test too... taking ABRSM Grade 5 and I failed my aural badly during Grade 3...

Any recommendations?
did you take aural classes?
yeehoo
post Dec 1 2010, 11:19 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(DaddyGuitar @ Dec 1 2010, 11:12 PM)

Add:
Which model will be M.Rodriguez's equivalent to the Alhambra 5P?

Thanks all.
Model B I guess, but i always feel even Model B sound nicer than Alhambra 6P.
yeehoo
post Dec 2 2010, 10:48 AM

118 posts

QUOTE(DaddyGuitar @ Dec 2 2010, 09:33 AM)
Yeehoo,

Can you share with us about the CGS Tribute concert on the 8th. What can I expect? How is the programme like? A night filled with different genres?

Saw Ms.Yang in Bentley's last week. Had a scare when she tripped! We could all see, by the way she held so tightly to her guitar, that it is like her own baby. She may not have fallen down, but I was worried she may have pulled/strained some muscles which could affect her performance in KLPAC.
It is organized by Classical Guitar Society, so it is mainly on classical guitar, but the program will consist of different period of music, from classical repertoire to contemporary music.
If your have attend Ms. Yang or Flavio Cucchi concert in Bentley, our concert is not far from that but our concert features local classical guitarist.

2 performers for each half of the concert.

From our Malaysia performers, I expect mixture of Spanish and South American pieces, but most importantly ‘Variations on a Malaysian song ‘Getaran Jiwa' by the late John Duarte, one of the only two composition from a renown composer dedicated to Malaysian Music.
Pongpat Pongpradit will play Barrios, Brouwer and Tarrega.
Alessio Monti will play his own composition, contemporary music.

I just hope people can support this concert just like they attending Ms. Yang concert (I did attend her concert in KLpac), granted, Ms. Yang is world class guitarist, but these local classical guitarists had went to foreign countries to performs and promote Malaysia music and show the world that Malaysia classical guitarist are able to stand on a world stage just like other international performers, so why can't they get support in their home front?

so, if you are free, please attend this concert, you can even chit-chat with these performers after the concert, they all are friendly people. smile.gif
Thank you.

Added on December 2, 2010, 10:49 am
QUOTE(dr_zoidberg @ Dec 2 2010, 09:55 AM)
hello there. been learning and playing classical guitar for almost 10 years. I had taken the ABRSM Grade 5 with distinction some 6 years ago. Then, fees expensive and busy with studies, so I stopped at like grade 7.

I love baroque music. Want to play ensemble together playing baroque music. Hehe. smile.gif
are you taking lesson now?

This post has been edited by yeehoo: Dec 2 2010, 10:49 AM
yeehoo
post Dec 2 2010, 10:59 AM

118 posts

QUOTE(dr_zoidberg @ Dec 2 2010, 10:50 AM)
Not anymore since I stopped grade 7 in 2005. smile.gif
if you has a teacher, he could organize an ensemble with his student, that's what I did. smile.gif

if you like classical guitar, please visit Classical Guitar Society Malaysia www.cgs.net.my , the society had organized student ensemble concert every year.

we having a concert on 8 Dec 2010 at Malaysian Tourism Centre, if you are free please attend this concert and support our local classical guitarist.

Thank you.

yeehoo
post Dec 2 2010, 05:56 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(DaddyGuitar @ Dec 2 2010, 05:36 PM)
yeehoo,

Much thanks fo the info. and invitation. Yes, I'll be attending. Mainly to expose my daughter to the local CG scene. Hopefully I can meet  you in person.

Added on December 2, 2010, 5:36 pmyeehoo,

Much thanks fo the info. and invitation. Yes, I'll be attending. Mainly to expose my daughter to the local CG scene. Hopefully I can meet  you in person.
Thank you very much smile.gif Just ask my name to any helper there, they should able to locate me.
yeehoo
post Dec 2 2010, 08:44 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Dec 2 2010, 08:04 PM)
few more hours! and i can't play my songs perfectly without a single mistake at all. die la. cry.gif
http://www.davidleisner.com/guitarcomposer/noname.html

great articles about performing anxiety.

In the exam, you CAN make mistake but never break down, just keep going. I got student feel terrible after exam but end up getting a merit.
exam is not about making perfect playing, is more about making your music interesting. smile.gif
To make you feel better, even Ms. Yang Xuefei make mistake in her performance, but nobody care, because she make great music. smile.gif

Unlike school exams where students "kinda" punished for bad grades (move you to lower classes etc.), nobody said you can not play guitar anymore if you did badly in exam, there is always next year. smile.gif
And Bad grade in music exam, doesn't mean you are bad player, maybe you are just nervous on that that particular day, or you broke your nail, or you having cold etc.

For tomorrow, the result of your exam is irrelevant, your experience of sitting for an exam is much much more important than that. think, feel and remember each moment, that will help you in the future. smile.gif

This post has been edited by yeehoo: Dec 2 2010, 08:54 PM

0.0295sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 07:44 PM