Debit Card V2

TSMilesAndMore
post Nov 12 2009, 12:32 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(eddievh @ Nov 11 2009, 11:41 PM)
How to become their Privilege customer? bank need to have how much RM?
Just deposit RM50,000 will do.

TSMilesAndMore
post Nov 12 2009, 02:24 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(thken @ Nov 12 2009, 12:51 AM)
do we need to key in our debit card PIN no. during transaction when shopping in hypermarkets?
Depends on what kind of debit card are you talking about. For the solely MEPS/Bankcard based debit card which we normally refer to simply as ATM card, you must enter your PIN number when you swipe it at any places that accept MEPS/Bankcard for payment.

If you debit card is displaying either VISA, Mastercard or VISA Electron logo, then you do not need to enter your card PIN number. When the cashier gives you the receipt, you just need to sign on it.

MEPS/Bankcard

VISA/Mastercard/VISA Electron (ATM Card)

TSMilesAndMore
post Nov 13 2009, 12:43 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(truelife @ Nov 13 2009, 11:28 AM)
no lar...u need 200k to become Priviledge customer,
Read the wrong information sweat.gif

TSMilesAndMore
post Nov 14 2009, 12:43 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Nov 13 2009, 11:40 PM)
If take a RM200k loan from Alliance Bank, then can become privilege customer or not?
TSMilesAndMore
post Nov 14 2009, 04:06 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(POYOZER @ Nov 14 2009, 01:57 PM)
Lately I got several cases with CIMB. When I call their call-center, they will ask my details including the card number. Is that normal?
When you personally call in their credit card centre to enquire something about your credit card, they will ask for your card number, IC, mother's name, billing address etc. This is normal.

TSMilesAndMore
post Nov 15 2009, 12:25 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(gajah91 @ Nov 15 2009, 11:40 AM)
i wanna ask..
can use debit card to buy something and pay it monthly?
No.

TSMilesAndMore
post Nov 15 2009, 06:24 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(kei18kun @ Nov 15 2009, 04:56 PM)
thanks for the explanation
how about this question?  "wanna ask if i can do autodebit my phone bills and insurance on alliance debit card"
Not too sure about auto debit bit for e-debit, you will not be entitled for the rebate.

TSMilesAndMore
post Nov 15 2009, 06:57 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 15 2009, 06:38 PM)
Anybody aware of this Debit from MBB?

Maybankard MasterCard Platinum Debit
Yes. Already discussed it in the previous version of Debit Card thread.

TSMilesAndMore
post Nov 15 2009, 08:28 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 15 2009, 07:17 PM)
OK then. My mistake for bringing that back again.
Don't be. We can always talk about it here again. That is the purpose of this thread right ? To talk about the debit cards offered in Malaysia so that we all will understand it better as well as to create awareness of its existence tongue.gif

QUOTE(truelife @ Nov 15 2009, 08:20 PM)
the alliance debit card is still master card anyway. u can use it for autodebit and get rebate monthly...good thing bout this debit card is, spending for gov service and petrol also can get rebate...
You are right. It is a Mastercard but it doesn't work exactly the same as a credit card. As far as i am concerned, we can't apply for auto debit using Public Bank Day2Day VISA, Public Bank VISA Electron, Maybank Cherry VISA/Mastercard, RHB Bank Cash Connect Mastercard etc. And according to Alliance Bank, e-debit will not entitled you for any cash rebate.

TSMilesAndMore
post Nov 17 2009, 10:45 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(myvi5949 @ Nov 17 2009, 09:30 PM)
I am going to apply for debit card soon since there is this all new regulations on CC..what card from what bank offers:

1. Can be use to pay to petrol
2. Accepted by Paypal and buy stuff online.
3. Accepted by major shopping stores like Giant and Jusco
3. Free..

Thanks a billion. may god give u abundance.
Only Maybank Cherry VISA and Maybank Cherry Mastercard fit all the criteria above. But you must know that their reward system is the lousiest as it gives only 1TP for every RM3. Other banks such as EON Bank gives you 1 bonus point for every RM1 charged to their debit Mastercard but there is an annual fee of RM8.

And by the way, of all the debit cards available in Malaysia, only Public Bank Day2Day VISA debit offers permanent cash rebate when you use it to pay for petrol. Currently they will give you 1% cash back for petrol and groceries transactions. This will reduce to 0.8% after the promotional period (31 Dec 2009). All other transactions will give you 0.3% of cash rebate.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Nov 17 2009, 10:46 PM
TSMilesAndMore
post Nov 18 2009, 01:39 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Nov 18 2009, 01:31 AM)
Guys, I wanna apply for CIMB debit card. Question is, how long will the card process and complete to my hands?

You will either need to fax in or mail your application form to CIMB Bank credit card centre and you should get the physical card within 2 weeks, assume if there is no further delay in processing your application.

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Nov 18 2009, 01:31 AM)
Is there other bank where we could get debit card on the spot without open another bank account?? Other then Al-Rajhi cause it's not in my area. Public Bank? Maybank?
Many banks will issue a debit card on the spot nowadays such as :
- Public Bank Day2Day VISA
- Maybank Cherry VISA/Mastercard
- RHB Cash Connect Mastercard
- EON Bank Combi Mastercard

But all the banks mentioned above can only issue you the card when you open an account with them.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Nov 18 2009, 01:40 AM
TSMilesAndMore
post Nov 18 2009, 09:29 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Nov 18 2009, 01:44 AM)
My next questions,  what debit card that we can use international purpose (like eBay, Amazon and foreign online market) instead of local?

There is definitely no problem with Public Bank Day2Day VISA and Public Bank VISA Electron.

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Nov 18 2009, 01:44 AM)
And please suggest me the best bank to apply.
Which bank is nearer to your house ? Maybank ? Public Bank ? RHB Bank ? EON Bank ?

nanakopy87 is right. You do not need to open a savings/current account with Public Bank if you apply for their VISA Electron. The card is yellow in color and has an annual fee of RM24. The annual fee will be automatically waived once you have charged more than RM1,000 into the card in a year. This card gives you a cash rebate of 0.5% for every RM1 charged. However you might need to wait up to 6 weeks until you get this card.

Public Bank Day2Day VISA however, can be issued right away when you open either a savings or current account with them.

TSMilesAndMore
post Nov 18 2009, 03:33 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Nov 18 2009, 03:03 PM)
for students, yes
for working adults, most probably no

if you do know how to plan, credit card is always better than dc
Agreed !

QUOTE(cshong @ Nov 18 2009, 03:26 PM)
KTAR debit card? Never hear it before. From which bank?
Public Bank. You do not need to open a savings/current account with them as it is a standalone debit Mastercard.

TSMilesAndMore
post Nov 20 2009, 11:06 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(GHz @ Nov 20 2009, 09:30 AM)
For me, I will put into separate account with the same bank. I can transfer it easily through internet. If fraud happen your money at risk. Its your money. Banks won't care that much unlike credit card.
Agreed. You guys should maintain two different savings account with the same bank and don't link the accounts together with your debit card. Get a separate card instead.

TSMilesAndMore
post Nov 20 2009, 08:19 PM

9,301 posts

I have two Public Bank savings account. One is PLUS Savings Account and another one a Basic Savings Account.

PLUS Savings Account is my first and original account with Public Bank. Shortly after i converted my Public Bank ATM card to Public Bank Day2Day VISA debit card, i opened a Basic Savings Account and moved most of my money in my PLUS Savings Account to this account. This is to limit my exposure in case someone steal my Public Bank Day2Day VISA debit card and simply charge anything into it.

The Basic Savings Account comes with an annual fee free MEPS ATM card (the old blue color card) and i am allowed to withdraw cash over any Public Bank ATM 8 times a month and for each subsequent withdrawal i'll be charged RM1. But i do not have to worry this as once i have hit the 8 times free withdrawals limit in a month, i can simply transfer the money through e-banking from my Basic Savings Account to my PLUS Savings Account and withdraw it from there thumbup.gif

When i opened the Basic Savings Account a few months ago, i was asked if i want to link it to my existing Public Bank Day2Day VISA debit card. I chose not to. Besides, it's not that i have to pay for the additional MEPS ATM card since it comes free with the Basic Savings Account anyway.

For your information, linking several accounts to a single MEPS ATM card or Public Bank Day2Day VISA debit card is only possible if the account holding branch for all the said accounts is from the same branch.

By the way, you must also know that if you only have a Basic Savings Account or Basic Current Account with Public Bank, they will not be able to issue you the Public Bank Day2Day VISA debit card.

TSMilesAndMore
post Nov 20 2009, 11:23 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Nov 20 2009, 09:11 PM)
But, I thought the thief would need to key in the PIN in order for the charge on the debit card to go through?
Not the Public Bank Day2Day VISA debit card. It works like a credit card. You just need to give the card to the cashier, once it's been approved, you just need to sign the receipt and then you're good to go.

Only the Public Bank MEPS ATM card needs its cardholder to enter the card's PIN number.

QUOTE(nanakopy87 @ Nov 20 2009, 10:09 PM)
miles,is it really annual fee free for that atm card?

Yes. It comes with some T&C though. For example, i am allowed to withdraw cash from the ATM only 8 times in a month, after that there is a penalty of RM1 for each subsequent withdrawals. Unlike your current ATM card which you pay RM8 per annum, you can use it as many times as you like. Strictly no penalty at all !

QUOTE(nanakopy87 @ Nov 20 2009, 10:09 PM)
i have atm card for my public bank saving account and they charge me RM8 as annual fee leh
That is because your savings account type is either a :
- PLUS Savings Account
- SaveLink Account
- PLUS Current Account
- CurrentLink Account
- ACE Account
- Wadiah Savings Account-i
- Wadiah Current Account-i

All the account types mentioned above all charge RM8/pa for a regular MEPS ATM card (red or blue color one) and RM12/pa for PBB Day2Day VISA. I believe yours is a PLUS Savings Account.

If you are still using the old MEPS ATM card to withdraw cash at PBB ATM, you'll see a notice on the screen to ask you to change it to the new PBB Day2Day VISA. It is not necessary to change your current MEPS ATM card to the PBB Day2Day VISA if you do not need it as annual fee for the latter is RM4 higher per annum.

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Nov 20 2009, 11:03 PM)
miles atm card is link to his PB Basic Savings Account, so it's free
for normal account, it's RM8
thumbup.gif

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Nov 20 2009, 11:03 PM)
you can open another basic savings with atm and cancel the current atm card/regular savings
Closing a Public Bank house savings account will attract a one time charge of RM10. Besides, only the Public Bank house savings account can be issued with PBB Day2Day VISA debit card. For the basic savings/current account, only the old regular MEPS ATM card can be issued.

QUOTE(Scissorshand @ Nov 20 2009, 11:05 PM)
Not sure any1 mentoned, but heard from close source our Gov wants to charge RM50 to debit card as well which is MADNESS!!!!!!!!! But its not final as all commercial banks will be meetin BNM to clarify further.
Impossible lah. Definitely a false rumor, just like the rumor about the collapse of Bank of East Asia in Hong Kong last year.
TSMilesAndMore
post Nov 20 2009, 11:41 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Nov 20 2009, 11:30 PM)
ic, din notice that
but i left mine with RM1 balance
Which is why most of the tellers will tell you not to close it and they will ask you to withdraw all your money and leave just RM1 inside so you can save RM10 biggrin.gif

TSMilesAndMore
post Nov 21 2009, 02:14 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(bingozero @ Nov 21 2009, 01:54 AM)
What colour is your passbook? Is that yellow in colour?
No. It's red in color. The cover design is very plain compared to my PLUS Savings Account and it is written as BASIC Savings Account on the front.

TSMilesAndMore
post Nov 21 2009, 02:19 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(bingozero @ Nov 21 2009, 02:48 AM)
But mine one is yellow colour, written as saving account. Is that any different with the red colour that you mention?
I thought yellow passbook is for kid's account ? Mine is totally in red. The passbook for my PLUS Savings Account is already shown in my previous post.

QUOTE(bukanmain @ Nov 21 2009, 05:07 AM)
even if the card does appear master/visa logo they still charge it under debit instead of credit
Of course they have to charge it under debit because it is a debit card. The machine will be automatically recognized the card as debit card without the cashier entering anything to it.

All ATM cards with either VISA/Mastercard logo printed on the front will not required you to enter your PIN number when you use it to pay for any bills.

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Nov 21 2009, 11:18 AM)
i'm not sure about the colour
both my basic and plus savings account use the same passbook - the cover printed PLUS Savings Account

but if you look inside, beside the account number, 1 printed "Basic Savings Account" and the other one printed "Plus Savings Account"
Probably because they have ran out of Basic Savings Account passbook when you opened your Basic Savings Account then. So they just gave you the PLUS Savings Account passbook.

Anyway, have decided to scan my Basic Savings Account passbook and post it up here.

TSMilesAndMore
post Nov 21 2009, 06:34 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Nov 5 2009, 04:15 PM)
Just a note to all Public Bank Day2Day VISA debit card users. You can now set your preferred daily purchase limit at any Public Bank ATM nationwide. The lowest amount is RM0 and the highest is RM5000. Previously it was all set at RM2000 per day maximum and you can't change it.
Some corrections to my earlier post. The maximum daily purchase limit for Public Bank Day2Day VISA debit card is RM10,000, not RM5,000 as said.

The maximum withdrawal limit per day remains unchanged at RM5,000.

29 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0290sec    0.89    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 04:45 PM