i wanna wrap oso la...
sniper on the roof
post Dec 3 2009, 03:45 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ Dec 3 2009, 03:30 PM)
I thought you say "trail smoking" rider... meaning smoke everyone when climb hills like Mountain Goat.

He!He! He! He!

Anyway, regarding the colored sticker, you don't need to pay soooo much for those.

Almost my whole bike is with it coz dowant to get things scratch.

My crank, my handle bar... my rear sus arm all wrapped. Yes, it is called Kiasu Wrap!
You wrap in phone shop.
mousepad87
post Dec 3 2009, 04:03 PM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Dec 3 2009, 01:43 PM)
Are you sure you don't mean a 7 inch rotor?

Should be the case in all likelihood... 7" = 180mm rotor.

Just need to check if your hub is 6 bolt (most likely) or centerlock.
ya ya confirm already. the seller sms me already.. 7 screw( i i guess he mean 7 bolt) and he suggest me to use 6" rotor.

but most people said novatec build their hub follow IS.
hope the hub follow IS... will double check when item arrive tomorrow=) rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by mousepad87: Dec 3 2009, 04:04 PM
lucifah
post Dec 3 2009, 04:15 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Dec 2 2009, 10:58 PM)
I personally don't think chicks are attracted to bicycles... PERIOD tongue.gif
u are so wrong... during my university years, almost all the chicks turn their head around when i ride my bike (in full race gears, minus the gay lycra shorts)

they would sometime wave at me laugh.gif

it is more manly if u r caked with dry mud, and some scabs + bleeding arm. gotta love that bling factor... brows.gif
timothyy
post Dec 3 2009, 04:21 PM

Do Not Underestimate the "Pawa" of the Dark Side
4,504 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Dec 3 2009, 03:45 PM)
You wrap in phone shop.
No la. That one expen the sive.
I buy cheap cheap one but durable.
Only the crank size keep on coming off coz the shoes scratched it hard.

sniper on the roof
post Dec 3 2009, 04:30 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Dec 3 2009, 04:15 PM)
u are so wrong... during my university years, almost all the chicks turn their head around when i ride my bike (in full race gears, minus the gay lycra shorts)

they would sometime wave at me  laugh.gif

it is more manly if u r caked with dry mud, and some scabs + bleeding arm. gotta love that bling factor...  brows.gif
OK lor... I'm not worthy of your mandom-ness notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

Or you reckon they're waving cos they think you got mugged or something? tongue.gif

QUOTE(timothyy @ Dec 3 2009, 04:21 PM)
No la. That one expen the sive.
I buy cheap cheap one but durable.
Only the crank size keep on coming off coz the shoes scratched it hard.
Wow.. and I got flak for using frame protectors on my cables doh.gif
dickybird
post Dec 3 2009, 04:44 PM

2,093 posts

all: smoking and bike seats will make mince meat of your didi lo, (make didi into mincemeat la since cannot use) or soon i will see you in my shop asking for weekend project pills lo. so guys and girls here please say "tak nak" to smokes like you would to replica frames. your lopo and the lengluis that dig your didi and ride will THANk YOU for it!
sniper on the roof
post Dec 3 2009, 05:53 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ Dec 3 2009, 04:44 PM)
all: smoking and bike seats will make mince meat of your didi lo, (make didi into mincemeat la since cannot use) or soon i will see you in my shop asking for weekend project pills lo. so guys and girls here please say "tak nak" to smokes like you would to replica frames. your lopo and the lengluis that dig your didi and ride will THANk YOU for it!
Will a saddle pad help? hmm.gif

dickybird
post Dec 3 2009, 06:04 PM

2,093 posts

i suppose if you get relief from a burning feeling and numbness then you should be ok. that is why i takut to change my velo which is colour coordinated with my Silky to anything else since it is so comfy compared to to spez BG comp last time even though it is starting to fall apart. altho, i am looking at the gobi xm. how much ah?
mousepad87
post Dec 3 2009, 06:19 PM

1,008 posts

http://www.bicyclebuysell.com/view_sell.php?id=82794

should i or should not.... hmm.gif
radmaszeal
post Dec 3 2009, 06:53 PM

boredom is caused by lack of ignorance
1,546 posts

QUOTE(mousepad87 @ Dec 3 2009, 06:19 PM)
ur frame is an xc frame, any more than 100mm and the head tube might crack. every frame is designed around a specific amount of travel, any more would change the geometry and stress concentration on the parts of the frame, usually the head tube.
mousepad87
post Dec 3 2009, 07:34 PM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(radmaszeal @ Dec 3 2009, 06:53 PM)
ur frame is an xc frame, any more than 100mm and the head tube might crack. every frame is designed around a specific amount of travel, any more would change the geometry and stress concentration on the parts of the frame, usually the head tube.
owh I see... but still the source of force still come from same place. tyre > fork > head tube . I dont think head tube will receive additional force bcoz of additional travel.

maybe rear triangle of frame will crack first hmm.gif ...

im not being stubborn just a healthy discussion laugh.gif
SUSSyphon
post Dec 3 2009, 07:36 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(mousepad87 @ Dec 3 2009, 07:34 PM)
owh I see... but still the source of force still come from same place.  tyre > fork > head tube . I dont think head tube will receive additional force bcoz of additional travel.

Nvm , crack liao . Just change.
radmaszeal
post Dec 3 2009, 07:42 PM

1,546 posts

QUOTE(mousepad87 @ Dec 3 2009, 07:34 PM)
owh I see... but still the source of force still come from same place.  tyre > fork > head tube . I dont think head tube will receive additional force bcoz of additional travel.

u increase travel, head tube angle decreases. less vertical, more horizontal. so instead of the force going from tyre>fork>stem>handlebar, more of the force is absorbed by the headtube compared to a steep angled headtube.

another thing is torquing. longer fork, more torque acting on the headtube, more stress. because usually force from the tire is never in the same angle as the headtube, there will always be torque acting upon the head tube. Torque=forcexradius (fork length)

hit a bump with a 100mm fork compared to 140mm fork at the same speed, u get the same force. but the torque acting upon the head tube is much higher with the 140mm fork. get what i mean? smile.gif

This post has been edited by radmaszeal: Dec 3 2009, 07:42 PM
mousepad87
post Dec 3 2009, 07:56 PM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(Syphon @ Dec 3 2009, 07:36 PM)
Nvm , crack liao . Just change.
change to softail sure not crack punya tongue.gif

QUOTE(radmaszeal @ Dec 3 2009, 07:42 PM)
u increase travel, head tube angle decreases. less vertical, more horizontal. so instead of the force going from tyre>fork>stem>handlebar, more of the force is absorbed by the headtube compared to a steep angled headtube.

another thing is torquing. longer fork, more torque acting on the headtube, more stress. because usually force from the tire is never in the same angle as the headtube, there will always be torque acting upon the head tube. Torque=forcexradius (fork length)

hit a bump with a 100mm fork compared to 140mm fork at the same speed, u get the same force. but the torque acting upon the head tube is much higher with the 140mm fork. get what i mean? smile.gif
i feel u bro tongue.gif thumbup.gif
owh i see..well u looking from the point of view where the fork hitting the bump and causing stresses to head tube.
i'm looking loading/force come from rider weight to the frame(center of frame). i believe low center of frame(crank area) receive stress more frequent and much more higher. increasing the travel to 140 will cause rider to lean backward and more stresses at the center tube.

btw what u said is true. what im just said is my theory. dont know true or not biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by mousepad87: Dec 3 2009, 07:58 PM
radmaszeal
post Dec 3 2009, 08:13 PM

1,546 posts

QUOTE(mousepad87 @ Dec 3 2009, 07:56 PM)
i feel u bro tongue.gif  thumbup.gif
owh i see..well u looking from the point of view where the fork hitting the bump and causing stresses to head tube.
i'm looking loading/force come from rider weight to the frame(center of frame). i believe low center of frame(crank area) receive stress more frequent and much more higher. increasing the travel to 140 will cause rider to lean backward and more stresses at the center tube.

btw what u said is true. what im just said is my theory. dont know true or not  biggrin.gif
stress at the bottom bracket (crank) is distributed among the front triangle(downtube) and the rear triangle(chainstay). torque acting on the head tube is like trying to pry the head tube away from the top and down tube.

pardon the lazy autocad drawing. was doing an assignment using autocad, so just used that. laugh.gif

Added on December 3, 2009, 8:14 pmbtw assume the rectangle at the top is the head tube, and the longer rectangle as the fork length. too lazy to label. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by radmaszeal: Dec 3 2009, 08:14 PM
dickybird
post Dec 3 2009, 08:15 PM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(mousepad87 @ Dec 3 2009, 07:56 PM)
i feel u bro tongue.gif  thumbup.gif

btw what u said is true. what im just said is my theory. dont know true or not  biggrin.gif
shakehead.gif simply put, dont put a 140mm travel fork on a xc frame that is designed for a 100mm fork, you will break the frame period.
mousepad87
post Dec 3 2009, 08:27 PM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(radmaszeal @ Dec 3 2009, 08:13 PM)
stress at the bottom bracket (crank) is distributed among the front triangle(downtube) and the rear triangle(chainstay). torque acting on the head tube is like trying to pry the head tube away from the top and down tube.

pardon the lazy autocad drawing. was doing an assignment using autocad, so just used that. laugh.gif

Added on December 3, 2009, 8:14 pmbtw assume the rectangle at the top is the head tube, and the longer rectangle as the fork length. too lazy to label. tongue.gif
QUOTE(dickybird @ Dec 3 2009, 08:15 PM)
shakehead.gif simply put, dont put a 140mm travel fork on a xc frame that is designed for a 100mm fork, you will break the frame period.
rclxms.gif nice drawing.

ok I understand if the longer travel causing more torque.
but looking at the travel/shock absorber...as increase shock absorber will decrease stress on stress area(head tube). assuming I ride the same road. so basically increase travel will cause failure/crack due to torque not stresses? hmm.gif

if head tube fail due to torque, it will crack between the weld. if it crack due to stresses I assume it will crack at head tube. but which one most rider face off? hmm.gif
dickybird
post Dec 3 2009, 08:36 PM

2,093 posts

torque is stress. ride on road is not the problem, it is when your fork starts working on the trail that is when it the stressing will occur lo.
radmaszeal
post Dec 3 2009, 08:36 PM

1,546 posts

QUOTE(mousepad87 @ Dec 3 2009, 08:27 PM)
rclxms.gif  nice drawing.

ok I understand if the longer travel causing more torque.
but looking at the travel/shock absorber...as increase shock absorber will decrease stress on stress area(head tube). assuming I ride the same road. so basically increase travel will cause failure/crack due to torque not stresses?  hmm.gif

if head tube fail due to torque, it will crack between the weld. if it crack due to stresses I assume it will crack at head tube. but which one most rider face off? hmm.gif
shock absorber has a certain damping rate. 100mm or 140mm can have the same damping rate, which reduces the stress on the head tube. but the shock absorber absorbs shock acting in the stroke of the fork, shock/force that is going to the stem and handlebar, not much on the head tube itself.

stress is force over area. torque is force times radius. torque will cause force, which causes stress. the torque can cause the head tube to crack, or the welding between head tube and top and down tube. depends on which one is weaker.

126 Pages « < 108 109 110 111 112 > » Top

0.0291sec    1.01    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 04:34 AM