PS3 YLOD model poll, please participate
panda-man
Dec 3 2009, 10:39 AM
QUOTE(lightning69 @ Dec 3 2009, 10:21 AM) Last while playing Uncharted 2, my PS3's fan suddenly spin very fast and crash(power off and the red light blinking). The YLOD strikes again? So I power down the PS3 and turn it back on immediately and to my surprise it turn on normally with a message that my PS3 is not turn off properly. I then remove the disc and play other HDD based game and so far no problem after that. Did anyone experience this before? Is it just the game crash or its early sign of YLOD gonna happen again? ps3 overheating emergency shutdown only. Added on December 3, 2009, 10:46 amor just got some error while playing and ps3 reset and clear flash memory apparently. people who play LBP know this best huhu. damn annoying. This post has been edited by panda-man: Dec 3 2009, 10:46 AM
sengwee1988
Dec 3 2009, 11:37 AM

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Dec 3 2009, 10:21 AM) Last while playing Uncharted 2, my PS3's fan suddenly spin very fast and crash(power off and the red light blinking). The YLOD strikes again? So I power down the PS3 and turn it back on immediately and to my surprise it turn on normally with a message that my PS3 is not turn off properly. I then remove the disc and play other HDD based game and so far no problem after that. Did anyone experience this before? Is it just the game crash or its early sign of YLOD gonna happen again? I think is Uncharted 2 causing ps3 to overheat again, if your PS3 is revived from YLOD I recommend not to play Uncharted 2 for more than 2 hours straight, 1-2 hours stop for 15-20 mins to rest. Few more times turn off and red light blinking might cause YLOD to strike again.
lightning69
Dec 3 2009, 12:17 PM
QUOTE(panda-man @ Dec 3 2009, 10:39 AM) ps3 overheating emergency shutdown only. Added on December 3, 2009, 10:46 amor just got some error while playing and ps3 reset and clear flash memory apparently. people who play LBP know this best huhu. damn annoying. oH OK...so this thing did happen when playing games. Added on December 3, 2009, 12:19 pmQUOTE(sengwee1988 @ Dec 3 2009, 11:37 AM) I think is Uncharted 2 causing ps3 to overheat again, if your PS3 is revived from YLOD I recommend not to play Uncharted 2 for more than 2 hours straight, 1-2 hours stop for 15-20 mins to rest. Few more times turn off and red light blinking might cause YLOD to strike again. That is so bad....i better learn how to fix YLOD myself now. Beside heat gun, what else can we use? Hair dryer? Where can I buy heat gun? This post has been edited by lightning69: Dec 3 2009, 12:19 PM
panda-man
Dec 3 2009, 12:32 PM
you can only use the heat gun. should be able to find it at ace hardware. you also need to find the thermal compound thing.
lightning69
Dec 3 2009, 12:38 PM
QUOTE(panda-man @ Dec 3 2009, 12:32 PM) you can only use the heat gun. should be able to find it at ace hardware. you also need to find the thermal compound thing. How much is the heat gun cost? i think most electrical hardware shop should sell them?
colt_508
Dec 3 2009, 12:41 PM
QUOTE(lightning69 @ Dec 3 2009, 12:38 PM) How much is the heat gun cost? i think most electrical hardware shop should sell them? good... i can send it over to you...also quick2..learn how to fix ylod
lksing78
Dec 3 2009, 12:50 PM

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Dec 3 2009, 12:38 PM) How much is the heat gun cost? i think most electrical hardware shop should sell them? Hardware chop lah Bosch one cost rm280 i think.. why i know i use them to dry my hair aberiday
panda-man
Dec 3 2009, 01:12 PM
seems like everyone is going to open YLOD repair shop ke? next thing you know, cost only rm50 to fix ylod hahaha.
lightning69
Dec 3 2009, 04:14 PM
I was playing U2 again just now and it crashes the PS3 again. Just shut it off and red blinking light. I then restart the PS3 and it booted ok but then crash again less than a minute later. I then decide to remove the USB fan and restarted the PS3. Then I just use a normal big fan to blow to the front of the PS3 and play about an hour of Wipeout HD Fury and no problem. Then I put it uncharted 2 again and have play about 2 hrs now still no problem. I think the USB fan is not working very well and causing the PS3 to crash. So I think its not advisable to turn the PS3 to a disco machine with the ble USB fan.
ruztynail
Dec 3 2009, 05:36 PM
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « QUOTE(lightning69 @ Dec 3 2009, 04:14 PM) I was playing U2 again just now and it crashes the PS3 again. Just shut it off and red blinking light. I then restart the PS3 and it booted ok but then crash again less than a minute later. I then decide to remove the USB fan and restarted the PS3. Then I just use a normal big fan to blow to the front of the PS3 and play about an hour of Wipeout HD Fury and no problem. Then I put it uncharted 2 again and have play about 2 hrs now still no problem. I think the USB fan is not working very well and causing the PS3 to crash. So I think its not advisable to turn the PS3 to a disco machine with the ble USB fan.  lol. weird issues man with the fan. haha. U2 takes up allot of resources huh frm the ps3 until can overheat.
sengwee1988
Dec 3 2009, 05:41 PM

QUOTE(panda-man @ Dec 3 2009, 01:12 PM) seems like everyone is going to open YLOD repair shop ke? next thing you know, cost only rm50 to fix ylod hahaha. I am already charging only RM50 for YLOD fix, but juz for first 3 customers, but so far i only got 2 customers, haha.... QUOTE(lightning69 @ Dec 3 2009, 04:14 PM) I was playing U2 again just now and it crashes the PS3 again. Just shut it off and red blinking light. I then restart the PS3 and it booted ok but then crash again less than a minute later. I then decide to remove the USB fan and restarted the PS3. Then I just use a normal big fan to blow to the front of the PS3 and play about an hour of Wipeout HD Fury and no problem. Then I put it uncharted 2 again and have play about 2 hrs now still no problem. I think the USB fan is not working very well and causing the PS3 to crash. So I think its not advisable to turn the PS3 to a disco machine with the ble USB fan.  Haha.... Disco PS3 failed...
ruztynail
Dec 3 2009, 05:42 PM
QUOTE(lightning69 @ Dec 2 2009, 11:48 PM) The right side is air flowing out. I can feel the warm air coming out from the right side. That is why i place the fan so that it suck the air out. now i see your problem.. you've got two air outakes now.. where is the intake??? so in short. IMO la. you;'ve created a two hot air channel out of yr ps3. there should be cool air going in as well..the front has too small holes for enough cool air to get in. so the hot air cant decide where to go first. through the back.. or through the top.. IMO again
lim360
Dec 3 2009, 06:03 PM

QUOTE(ruztynail @ Dec 3 2009, 05:42 PM) now i see your problem.. you've got two air outakes now.. where is the intake??? so in short. IMO la. you;'ve created a two hot air channel out of yr ps3. there should be cool air going in as well..the front has too small holes for enough cool air to get in. so the hot air cant decide where to go first. through the back.. or through the top.. IMO again So according to your statement,is it correct that i blow the cool air into the right side vent of 40GB PS3 with table fans ? I set up this for quite long already and normally i will open air cond as well,i found that the console side vent is like ice cold and super cool.After 2 hours of gaming and I take my bluray out and the disc is no hot at all and just a little warm only. But one things I worry,is this a good phenomena or not?Because many people says that the side vents is blowing air out but I reversely blow the cold air into it.I scared this will damage my PS3 Please help me
ruztynail
Dec 3 2009, 06:28 PM
QUOTE(lim360 @ Dec 3 2009, 06:03 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « So according to your statement,is it correct that i blow the cool air into the right side vent of 40GB PS3 with table fans ? I set up this for quite long already and normally i will open air cond as well,i found that the console side vent is like ice cold and super cool.After 2 hours of gaming and I take my bluray out and the disc is no hot at all and just a little warm only. But one things I worry,is this a good phenomena or not?Because many people says that the side vents is blowing air out but I reversely blow the cold air into it.I scared this will damage my PS3 Please help me  IMO cool air has to go in one side and hot air another.. the ps3 has one hot air outake already.. its best to channel cool air into it too. if every side of it sucks air out? where does the cool air going to go in? yr right side ?? neeed to show me ler. is yrs vertical horizontal? the hot air comes out behind the ps3 where the power socket usually is.. if u blow air in frm other sides its good. dont need to suck out anymore.. cause the fan inside the ps3 is doing jus tat for you. and u'd come to know this tat all other holes other thn the back of the ps3 serves as air intakes.. if u open enuff ps3s u'd know where the dust collects.. and u;d know where the air is blowing IN from.. This post has been edited by ruztynail: Dec 3 2009, 06:29 PM
lim360
Dec 3 2009, 06:37 PM

QUOTE(ruztynail @ Dec 3 2009, 06:28 PM) IMO cool air has to go in one side and hot air another.. the ps3 has one hot air outake already.. its best to channel cool air into it too. if every side of it sucks air out? where does the cool air going to go in? yr right side ?? neeed to show me ler. is yrs vertical horizontal? the hot air comes out behind the ps3 where the power socket usually is.. if u blow air in frm other sides its good. dont need to suck out anymore.. cause the fan inside the ps3 is doing jus tat for you. and u'd come to know this tat all other holes other thn the back of the ps3 serves as air intakes.. if u open enuff ps3s u'd know where the dust collects.. and u;d know where the air is blowing IN from.. Well,I put my PS3 horizontally means the side vent is on my right side.So,my current air flow set up is correct right?
ruztynail
Dec 3 2009, 06:44 PM
so long u dont blow air in where the hot air is coming out frm (ie. frm the power socked area vents) u're safe.
lightning69
Dec 3 2009, 06:58 PM
My PS3 is crash after that. So with or without USB fan it still crash.
Need to try other thing again.
TSsnipersnake
Dec 3 2009, 06:59 PM
in my opinion, repairing ylod is like patching a flat tire. the problem will come back again. based on my experience.
lightning69
Dec 4 2009, 12:24 AM
Play about 2.5 hrs of uncharted 2 tonight without and crash. What I did this time is put the USB fan on top of the PS3 but this time I use the fan to blow the air into the PS3 instead of sucking it out.
sengwee1988
Dec 4 2009, 01:01 AM

haha... means can turn into disco ps3 again....