127 Pages « < 63 64 65 66 67 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, PLEASE POST IT HERE !!! V5

Loki[D.d.G]
post Dec 11 2009, 03:39 AM

Quis custodiet ipsos custodes
3,648 posts

QUOTE(V-Spec @ Dec 10 2009, 11:16 PM)
Looking to get a notebook for home/office use. Most of the time it will be used for surfing, entertainment and also some work.

Am considering HP notebook with a budget of perhaps below 3K. Any recommendation?
Try the Benq S42 or Dell Studio 15.

QUOTE(eastsmile @ Dec 10 2009, 11:28 PM)
that is why people come to this forum that is 'asking question' & if you think that is a waste of time than i pity you.
Just to clarify things. Your initial comment was a mite inaccurate. There is actually a Dell XPS 13 which was based on the old Santa Rosa platform and has now been phased out from their website. It's intended replacement is the Montevina based Dell Studio XPS 13, or SXPS 13 as astria pointed out, and that is the product that I think you originally intended to recommend.
WindY2K
post Dec 11 2009, 08:58 AM

81 posts

Hi there, I'm thinking to get a new laptop. Been a while since i last browse one...Thanks.

1)Budget = RM5000+
2)Usage of laptop = Photoshop, multimedia application, gaming
3)Size/Weight = 13"-17"/any weight will do
4)Brand = Acer/Dell/Apple
Eugene91
post Dec 11 2009, 09:10 AM

6,109 posts

QUOTE(WindY2K @ Dec 11 2009, 08:58 AM)
Hi there, I'm thinking to get a new laptop. Been a while since i last browse one...Thanks.

1)Budget = RM5000+
I'd say go for Dell Studio XPS 16 either the:
RM3999 Configuration:
-Core 2 Duo P8700 2.53GHz
-3GB DDR3 1066MHz RAM
-ATi Mobility Radeon HD4670 1GB DDR3
-320GB 7200RPM HDD

or

RM4999 Configuration:
-Intel Core i7-720QM 1.6GHz(Turbo 2.8GHz)
-4GB DDR3 1066MHz RAM
-ATi Mobility Radeon HD 4670 1GB DDR3
-500GB 7200RPM HDD

Since you do photoshop you "might" need Core i7, or you can customise the RM3999 configuration with a Core 2 Duo P9700 2.8GHz which is less than RM4999 biggrin.gif
Fantasia
post Dec 11 2009, 09:45 AM

5,486 posts

how about sager NP8662 and alienware m15x??
eastsmile
post Dec 11 2009, 09:51 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Dec 11 2009, 09:10 AM)

RM4999 Configuration:
-Intel Core i7-720QM 1.6GHz(Turbo 2.8GHz)
-4GB DDR3 1066MHz RAM
-ATi Mobility Radeon HD 4670 1GB DDR3
-500GB 7200RPM HDD

Since you do photoshop you "might" need Core i7, or you can customise the RM3999 configuration with a Core 2 Duo P9700 2.8GHz which is less than RM4999 biggrin.gif
Look good for gaming & photoshop. And my I add it also good for watching hi def movies.
astria
post Dec 11 2009, 09:58 AM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

QUOTE(WindY2K @ Dec 11 2009, 08:58 AM)

1)Budget = RM5000+
Dell Studio XPS 16, Acer 5935G (with GT 240M), Asus N61Vn...

i would suggest u stick to C2D as long as gaming is concerned...

probably grab the rm4k SXPS16, use the leftover budget to get a C2D T/P9000...
Fantasia
post Dec 11 2009, 10:00 AM

5,486 posts

sager NP8662 can customize to get Q9000 ^^ good for ur work also and iirc, it's performance almost same with high clock c2d if the program doesnt optimize 4 core and beat c2d a lot if the program can utilise 4 core ^^ and u dont lose performance on gaming as well thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Fantasia: Dec 11 2009, 10:01 AM
V-Spec
post Dec 11 2009, 10:07 AM

50 posts

Dell Studio 15 is a great notebook? I needs it to be fast enough for surfing and with multiple programs operating at the same time.

Not too keen on BenQ or Acer. Would prefer "better" brands like HP, Compaq, Dell, etc...

Any other recommendations?

QUOTE(V-Spec @ Dec 10 2009, 11:16 PM)
Looking to get a notebook for home/office use. Most of the time it will be used for surfing, entertainment and also some work.

Am considering HP notebook with a budget of perhaps below 3K. Any recommendation?
This post has been edited by V-Spec: Dec 11 2009, 10:08 AM
astria
post Dec 11 2009, 10:13 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(V-Spec @ Dec 11 2009, 10:07 AM)
Dell Studio 15 is a great notebook? I needs it to be fast enough for surfing and with multiple programs operating at the same time.

Not too keen on BenQ or Acer. Would prefer "better" brands like HP, Compaq, Dell, etc...

Any other recommendations?
i lol-ed at the "better brand"... laugh.gif

had mixed experience (both good and bad) with the brands u mentioned, so are BenQ and Acer... nod.gif

anyway, alternative to Studio 15 would be Toshiba L510, 14", but same spec, or BenQ S42, if u re performance conscious...
V-Spec
post Dec 11 2009, 10:29 AM

50 posts

astria, the Dell Studio looked good. But just am afraid of it's size and weight. I guess 14" would be perfect for mobility? I dunno man. A bit lost here.
astria
post Dec 11 2009, 10:32 AM

22,158 posts

well, Studio 15 is consider light for a 15"... at 2.5kg only... most 15"/16" in the market weight 3kg...

so it's really up to u... do u need to carry it around frequently??? for myself i prefer 14"... not too big, but with spec that is similar to 15", or even surpass...
WindY2K
post Dec 11 2009, 11:25 AM

81 posts

Thanks Eugene91 and astria,
Just customize a unit of Dell Studio XPS 16 online..hehe

-Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor P9700 (2.80GHz/ 1066 FSB/ 6MB Cache)
-4GB (2 X 2GB) Dual Channel 1066MHz DDR3 SDRAM
-500GB 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive
-1GB ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4670

RM4885

*how's the battery life? Never use a dell b4.
**Is Acer 4810TG a worth buy? Mac book pro 13?
lee_what2004
post Dec 11 2009, 11:34 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

well, as for 4810TG, better take asus ul80vt, better spec and longer warranty for the similar price.
macbook is only worthy if you want to use mac os x.

as for sxps 16, the battery life... i'm expecting 2-3 hours depending power management
Eugene91
post Dec 11 2009, 11:52 AM

6,109 posts

QUOTE(WindY2K @ Dec 11 2009, 11:25 AM)
Thanks Eugene91 and astria,
Just customize a unit of Dell Studio XPS 16 online..hehe

-Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor P9700 (2.80GHz/ 1066 FSB/ 6MB Cache)
-4GB (2 X 2GB) Dual Channel 1066MHz DDR3 SDRAM
-500GB 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive
-1GB ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4670

RM4885

*how's the battery life? Never use a dell b4.
**Is Acer 4810TG a worth buy? Mac book pro 13?
I suggest you call dell to order and request for 9-cell battery biggrin.gif Should give you at least 3 hours battery life based on the review I saw here exactly like your customised specs:

http://www.notebookcheck.net/Review-Dell-S...ok.21440.0.html

Acer4810TG (Core 2 Duo SU9400 1.4GHz, DDR3 1066MHz, ATi Mobility Radeon HD4330, Win7 HomePremium) RM2999 - 5-7 hours IIRC
Asus UL80Vt (Core 2 Duo SU7300 1.3GHz Asus Turbo33 Technology 1.73GHz, DDR3 1066MHz, Hybrid Graphics Nvidia GeForce G210M and Intel 4500MHD, Win7 HomePremium) RM2999 - review shown 8-9 hours WiFi Surfing smile.gif

The UL80Vt performs better than the 4810TG and Asus gives 2 years International Warranty biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Eugene91: Dec 11 2009, 11:53 AM
Fantasia
post Dec 11 2009, 12:38 PM

5,486 posts

9-cell battery not cheap... btw, 1 by extending 1 more hour, i dont think it's worth it
Eugene91
post Dec 11 2009, 01:01 PM

6,109 posts

but i saw dell option add-on 9-cell for RM212.. wouldnt it be better to directly get a 9-cell option? instead of buying an add-on?
Fantasia
post Dec 11 2009, 01:17 PM

5,486 posts

izzit? last time i saw i think RM600+ but not sure is add on or not la
ChickenWing
post Dec 11 2009, 02:10 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Dec 11 2009, 10:13 AM)
i lol-ed at the "better brand"... laugh.gif

had mixed experience (both good and bad) with the brands u mentioned, so are BenQ and Acer... nod.gif

anyway, alternative to Studio 15 would be Toshiba L510, 14", but same spec, or BenQ S42, if u re performance conscious...
Studio 15 and Toshiba L510 has the same specs? hmm. so i just choose whicvh one is cheaper lah. can?
astria
post Dec 11 2009, 02:20 PM

22,158 posts

up to u... Dell offers on-site service, but Toshiba dun...
ChickenWing
post Dec 11 2009, 02:26 PM

162 posts

then it just the matter of wether i prefer a smaller laptop or an on site service.then.

127 Pages « < 63 64 65 66 67 > » Top

0.0162sec    1.02    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 11:42 AM