10 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Gatherings Nintendo Parliamentary Seating V39, The wait is over!!! ADUN sila duduk

stringfellow
post Nov 2 2009, 04:12 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Nov 2 2009, 09:10 AM)
My advice, if you can't change the world, changing one is enough, and let armageddon take care of the rest. tongue.gif
+1.

The very thing I'm doing. After the whole debacle these few years back in the forum, I took to that approach myself. Was blindly passionate that I forgotten that I could never be able to change mindsets ingrained so much into one's culture or habits of doing things, that I resorted to doing the changes on myself and hope others looked at it as something worthwhile doing. Am thankful that the whole idea/principles I subscribe to is not solitary to me.

I love you guys. blush.gif

QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Nov 2 2009, 12:09 PM)
sigh...couldn't decide..but definitely not getting it in aussie anymore...too expensive

Added on November 2, 2009, 12:11 pmbtw, i like string's post on jeddah last night...i didn't know that!
Eye-opening isn't it? What the media portrays is not necessarily what you will see.

I've learnt a lot of things in this trip. The whole real truth behind the ascent of the Wahabi people into successor of Saudi Arabia (It was just Arabia before their bloody coup) and how the whole country degenerates into what it is right now.

Sometimes it is hard to do what you believe is right. Others view it as unorthodox, look at you like a deviate or infidel, differing radically from what others do things, and shun you out of the general populace. Even if you choose to live your life your own way also society will judge you whether how you live it is acceptable to them or not. In the end, it is up to you. Me? I live my life so that I don't lie to myself. I can't bear having guilty conscience bearing down on me when I sleep every night. From the most important of things like my belief sets and faith, right down to the smallest things like temptations to download PSP/DS ISOs.

Live your life to your own tolerance. It's just that I impose a stricter tolerance to my own.
stringfellow
post Nov 2 2009, 04:48 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Nov 2 2009, 04:16 PM)
Was it the "post your gaming setup" thread argument? hmm.gif
What happened? I've got into so many of these debates and arguments I forgot which one already.

I would think that in some point in life that people want to elevate their mindset to something better, but I get the impression that a lot of them don't want things to change, or if there are changes, they would be changes that caters to them, as if it is their entitlement in life to get things for free. Even if deep down they know it is wrong or against the law.

Gonna go out for lunch in 20 minutes. One solitary consolation that I like about Jeddah is that the streets are empty between 12-2pm. Afternoon prayers. Those who are not familiar with the business hour here, it is between 9-12pm, close shop between 12-2pm (except eateries, that also mostly for takeaways) and business follow suit after that until way late at night.

A cursory glance at the pricetags of the electronic goods here, much more expensive than KL/LA. iPhone 3G[S] 32GB is RM4,300 after conversion!

Went out to the night market here last night, to one of the many Souks they have here. I initially thought Hollywood movies were exaggerating things when they display Arabian marketplace, but they are pretty much accurate to a T. Once I saw a street filled with vendors on movable carts and wheelbarrows selling their wares filling up the entire street, and when a car honks to pass through, they file out to let them through and immediately file back in behind the car to take space. Just like in the Indiana Jones movies! laugh.gif

As for eating out, I had a bad experience lat night. Harassed more than 10 times from sellers, beggars and such when we were just trying to have our dinner. For the record, I don't mind these folks, and even entertain them sometimes, but I have this intense dislike when I am disrupted out of my meal just to hear or see what you're peddling. It is the same back in KL too, where I'm just trying to get some lunch at a food court, and I get approached by people asking for donations with their folders and all, while I'm trying to shovel food into my mouth. Personal pet peeve. Let me be in peace when I'm eating, please.

Things are infinitely worse in Mumbai, you cannot shake off these beggars if you've given the slightest of attention to them.
stringfellow
post Nov 2 2009, 06:09 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Back from tapau food. The cold aircon is a necessity here. Like a good shower in the morning or a good toilet-break after eating a big buffet.

Oh well. At least the satellite TV channels are good. Funny thing is, they are so adamant on censoring the "unhealthy elements" from their internets and terrestrial broadcasting media, that the satellite TV channel is broadcasting non-stop on these "elements" without fear of retribution. I've been watching endless reruns on "Interview with the Vampire", "Bram Stoker's Dracula", "The Hills Have Eyes II" and the likes (for the Halloween themed night shows), that boobs and breast and gore and mayhem on those shows are *okay*, but a big no-no when you're trying to access those through their internet. Bleedin' hypocrites!
stringfellow
post Nov 2 2009, 06:35 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(penman @ Nov 2 2009, 06:25 PM)
I just got back from China...

one word to describe my exp...

RAGE!

I dunno what's wrong with the mainland Chinese... they are sad+angry all the time... and they are always up to something.

No doubt they have world class infrastruture (I feel small, after visiting ShangHai)... but their mindset are still 3rd world mentality.  shakehead.gif
No where better than home...

The very same sentiment I've echoed about them here. It's like giving the universal remote to Tony Stark's modern home to a bunch of chimpanzees.
stringfellow
post Nov 2 2009, 06:48 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(aiyish @ Nov 2 2009, 06:38 PM)
My fren went to China last year. he said the moment he stepped out of the airport, all that he could smelled was the smell of pee. And he told me there are a lot of shoe shiners there,haha.
LOL! Maybe they're peeing on the sidewalk now. tongue.gif

The very moment we flew through 1,500 feet I knew I would not like my time in Shanghai. Can smell the haze through the aircraft aircon pack/conditioning.

stringfellow
post Nov 2 2009, 06:59 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(penman @ Nov 2 2009, 06:50 PM)
I can dig tar out from my nose, every nite when I'm back in the hotel...  shakehead.gif
doh.gif
Yup, that is how bad the air is over there. Nostril hair put to work overdrive mode.

Have you been in their cabs? I swear to God I nearly crawled out of the cab weak in the knees in terror, after the traumatizing ride it took me through the traffic to the mall I wanted to go. Never again will I step foot into one of these death-wish vehicles unless I really need to.

Later I found out you can use the Shanghai Metro to get to XuJiaHui from my hotel in Jing'An Temple, so that was a relief.
stringfellow
post Nov 2 2009, 07:37 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

You listed the pros. Let me list down the cons:-

Wall of text. Those TL;DR be warned.

Added on November 2, 2009, 7:50 pmYay! Finally got the KUL-TPE-LAX-TPE-KUL flight finalised and approved. Tumpang anyone? Already got a Macbook White purchase request. Nothing huge please.

Double-yay! Command & Conquer Red Alert released and downloaded into my iPhone.

"We are baaaaaaack, stand hut!"

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Nov 2 2009, 08:15 PM
stringfellow
post Nov 2 2009, 08:01 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Nov 2 2009, 07:54 PM)
Well, perhaps everyone won't see the bad side of everything until they actually face the real thing.

2. Travelling - I know what you meant and at the same time, I feel the same way regarding the grass is always greener on the other side
3. Social/Personal Life - I totally agree this is not easy to handle thus the reason why relationship is totally out of the equation as the chances of wrecking it is quite high
Sorry previous post. Was meant for a PM.

But in response to your post, it may be a little too late when they realise it. Just like the case of the current PSP scene. Who wants to develop for the PSP platform when no revenue goes into their pocket and everyone leeches?

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Nov 2 2009, 08:06 PM
stringfellow
post Nov 2 2009, 08:07 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

LOL I edited it. It was meant for a PM. Someone's enquiring me about British Airways incident about their alleged fuel consumption saving by restricting the air circulation inside the cabin.

stringfellow
post Nov 2 2009, 08:21 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

LOL I did not meant for the conversation to go this, but here goes. Yes, you are allowed, it's called Low-drag approach. It is practiced especially at busy airports where the lateral separation between aircraft on approach and landing is 5 miles. If you think 5 miles is loads of leeway to play around with, watch the ND screen, everyone's lined up and manouvering around and they are tons of them, they look like ants.

But no matter now much you wanna delay the landing gear, you need to be stabilised by minimum 500 feet off the ground, otherwise it is a mandatory go-around. So you gotta plan back from that 500 feet point so that you can have everything deployed, gears and flaps, and configured for landing before that point. Some may have a leaner tolerance against such condition, others wants it by the book. I look at who I'm flying with first before I am comfortable with him doing this.

As for saving fuel consumption, your standard operating procedure (SOP) should not be abandoned to achieve that. That is the golden rule. But the thing here is you see, as much as we pilots try to keep the company afloat with all the savings and all, you don't see a dime out of all this hard work, it goes into someone else's pocket, and someone else get the praise and pat in the back. What are our incentives to do this then?

There was a dark period during the operation of my company that everyone does thing STRICTLY by the book, and that costs the company a considerable amount of cost. They did not realise that all this while we have been fuel-saving for them, but then they fcuk us up and stab us in our backs by taking away our benefits and privileges and forcing people to work beyond the agreed MoU agreements, just because "they can".

Added on November 2, 2009, 8:26 pmAiyohhh sorry lah guys, I didnt want to turn this into such technical jargonfest boredom conversation. Ampun! notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Nov 2 2009, 08:26 PM
stringfellow
post Nov 2 2009, 08:40 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

It's good that you question things, it shows that you're actively want to know, and the noodles up there is working. tongue.gif

Better than those who just accept things as it is, and do things without question.

Watched the Matrix movies? The Merovingian says a couple of good one-liner quotes in there, but there is one that particular dialogue comes to mind:-

"No! Wrong! Choice is an illusion, created between those with power and those without. Look there, at that woman. My god, just look at her. Affecting everyone around her, so obvious, so bourgeois, so boring. But wait... Watch, you see, I have sent her a dessert. A very special dessert. I wrote it myself. It starts so simply, each line of the program creating a new fate. Just like... poetry. First, a rush, heat, her heart flutters. You can see it, Neo, yes? She does not understand. Why? Is it the wine? No. What is it then, what is the reason? Soon it does not matter. Soon the why and the reason are gone, and all that matters is the feeling itself. This is the nature of the universe. We struggle against it, we fight to deny it. It is, of course, pretense, it is a lie. Beneath our poised appearance, the truth is we are completely out of control. Causality, there is no escape from it. We are forever slaves to it. Our only hope, our only peace is to understand it. To understand the why. Why is what separates us from them, you from me. Why is the only real source of power, without it you are powerless. And this is how you come to me, without why, without power. Another link in the chain. But fear not, since I have seen how good you are at following orders, I will tell you what to do next. Run back and give the fortune teller this message - Her time is almost up. Now, I have some real business to do, so I will say adieu and goodbye."

Always keep asking the WHY. smile.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Nov 2 2009, 08:41 PM
stringfellow
post Nov 2 2009, 08:56 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(aiyish @ Nov 2 2009, 08:39 PM)
String, have you land at one of the airport (can't remember the name, but i guess its an island) where the landing strip is really close to the beach adn the runway is really really short. saw in youtube, its really scary.
Don't have to find oversea, Ipod is scary for me. Short and surrounded by high grounds. At least if it is long, then you can revv up the throttles and rotate the control column and fly away for another approach, but short runway and surround by mountains? Death trap! And yes, I've landed in Ipoh. My balls are in my throat already, and I'm practically standing on the brakes to stop!

Another scary approach is in Kuching. Not-so-long, and also high terrain around. And when it rains, it's an accident waiting to happened. I landed in thunderstorm and pouring rain, the runway was so slick with water, the tires are practically aquaplaning on the layer of water, and the aircraft's brakes only will work effectively when the tires are touching the runway surface, not gliding on a layer of water! Managed to land, but I needed to take a few moments to compose myself after that. sweat.gif

What about this runway? Looks "interesting". Don't want any potholes on this one!

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Nov 2 2009, 08:40 PM)
You 2 are evil.. which I can understand since evil is evil, but string... shakehead.gif
Me? Evil?

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Nov 2 2009, 08:58 PM
stringfellow
post Nov 2 2009, 09:14 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

It can be improved, but yes, I'm happy now. I was miserable when I was on the 737 fleet, but on the 777? Roster's more relaxed, and I'm allowed to have some semblance of a social life. It was work, work, work while on the 737. Some of my colleagues are already feeling the boredom creep in, but that is because they dont find anything interesting to do while they are at their nightstop places. Me? I make my nightstop places interesting with things to do, so that becomes like a goal, and that motivates me. Work is work, so to me, I could not get interested with work. It is what at the end of that work duty that is interesting to me, the places and things to do at these places.

For your second question, only you can answer that. I broke away from my previous chosen field, because I don't see myself doing it. I was lucky to realise this while I was not knee-deep into it and still able to bail out. Being a pilot is not my preferred profession as well, but it provides good money for me to do things I love, so I'm not complaining there.
stringfellow
post Nov 2 2009, 09:37 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Did my A-Levels. Wasn't good enough to be the creme-de-la-creme to be sent for my first year to Liverpool. I was under the Nortern Consortium of United Kingdom university program (NCUK), under sponsor by JPA. So because not part of the best-of-the-best, I had to do my first year in PPP ITM, before they will send me to UK for my second year. It was during this part that I dont see myself as an electrical engineer, the modules were alien to me, and the only part I like was the module where you can program an EEPROM chip to open a simple gate mechanism.

So I secretly applied for MAS cadet program. Wasn't really putting much hope on this, but to my surprise, I got called in for the tests. Got through the preliminaries (psychomotor test, aptitude test) and was listed for the interview. At this stage it means that you already got one foot in, you just need to convince them to take you in under their wing and select you. But more often than not, candidates stumble on this stage, by not being true to themselves. You're facing a half-circle of interviewers infront of you grilling you to see if you're the kind of people they see can go through the rigors flying. But they also want you to be real. My interview goes like this:-

Interviewer: Satu meter berapa kaki?

Me: Saya tak tau, tuan.

Interviewer: *Points outside the glass window to the aircraft taxying on the tarmac in Subang airport* Tu kat luar tu kapal apa?

Me: Saya tak pasti, Kapten.

And then comes the soalan cepu-emas!

Interviewer:Ni semua tak tau, itu tanya tak tau, ini tanya tak pasti, apsal ko nak jadi pilot?

My answer?

I know it sounds comical and sarcastic and in defiance of them, but I knew if I give them the answer they want like "It has been my ambition since small to be a pilot, bla bla bla", I will get caught in my own lie, and will be digging my own grave.

Their response? Besides the stunned looks and silence, nothing. I was later given the standard statement of continuing with my current studies and they will call me if I am selected and is successfully selected as their candidate for the cadet pilot program.

And here I am now. There was a physical check-up phase I had to go through but it was just a formality, to make sure that you get good vision, and not exhibiting medical conditions that would prohibit you from completing the training program. I was selected to be part of the 16 cadet pilot from more than 2,000 applicants.

Trained in British Aerospace Training Academy (BAeFTA) in Tamworth, New South Wales, Australia. Spend a good two years of my life there, among farms, horse ranches and backwater Australian outback folks. At the end of the stint, I got so attached to them that I basically broke down crying when it was time to leave. they adopted and accepted me into their extended family, and are genuinely warm and homely bunch of people. I still remember my training instructors, the staff,....even the cook. That is how close we were with them. *wipes tears*

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Nov 2 2009, 09:39 PM
stringfellow
post Nov 2 2009, 10:06 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(BlueBerry~ @ Nov 2 2009, 09:59 PM)
String. Boleh tolong beli Razer Moray+?
Boleh. Hitam or putih? I suggest Amazon.com and then ship to my hotel. Hunting around LA is not like in NYC. NYC the stores are close-by to each other with Best Buy and Walmart and GameStop every block. In LA, you have drive to go to the toilet.

I can still find it the old-fashioned way with me physically looking for it, but I cannot promise if I can find it in time. Planning to go to Six Flags and Universal Studios while I'm there.
stringfellow
post Nov 2 2009, 10:10 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Before the date on my sig.
stringfellow
post Nov 2 2009, 10:26 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Try GameStop, or BestBuy.

That's weird. Why wouldn't Amazon accept your order? Probably because the address in database for your account is not in the States?

I think once you slap in an American address, it should be fine.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Nov 2 2009, 10:27 PM
stringfellow
post Nov 3 2009, 11:33 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Sweet sweeeeeeeeet KL! All the same hot temperature but thankfully none of the Arab nonsensities.

Bluey, I'll see what I can do. I'll finalise things once we get closer to departure date. Now I need my sleep.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Nov 3 2009, 11:34 AM
stringfellow
post Nov 3 2009, 07:51 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Huaaaarrgghhh! Just woke up. Dropping by SonyStyle KLCC in a bit to get component cables for PSP GO.

Thousand and one many things going through my mind now. Trying to juggle things to fit them into the LA trip. 4 days isn't that much. Want to see my hero Conan in USH, want to revisit/re-ride X2 at Magic Mountain, want to revisit DL and USH, and trying to fit the shopping in between all these stuff. What made it worse is that also want to slip in some time with the beloved and she's thinking of going to Vegas, just the two of us, before the guys take me there again on Christmas. She probably wanna see what kind of "trouble" I'd get into before giving her green light for the "Guys-only" trip in December. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Nov 3 2009, 07:52 PM
stringfellow
post Nov 3 2009, 08:14 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Lol come to buy component cable, end up buying pouch and case one shot. Can ditch the cheesy third-party cheapos away.

10 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0380sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 12:55 PM