Hardware CPU comparison list
BlueMidnight
Jul 2 2010, 12:19 AM
not sure if this is the right place to ask. my new laptop studio 15, with i7 740, 4G seems to have a very long boot up time. it goes on average 1.5mins, up to as long as 2m. sometimes its slightly over 1m. this is not normal right?
i have only installed few programmes such as office, msn, mozilla & itunes.
please advise, thanks!
lee_what2004
Jul 2 2010, 01:21 AM
*stare* ji--------
Uninstalled bloatware? Try disable the startup apps ...
BlueMidnight
Jul 2 2010, 11:19 AM
how do i check the uninstalled bloatware? i have disabled the startup apps except for mcafee. and the technician asked me to disable windows update as well. i am getting really frustrated.
lee_what2004
Jul 2 2010, 11:24 AM
*stare* ji--------
If possible, change the mcafee to other antivirus like Avast or Avira...
Why need to disable Windows Update? Unless yours not ori?
Mr.Docter
Jul 2 2010, 12:06 PM
QUOTE(BlueMidnight @ Jul 2 2010, 11:19 AM) how do i check the uninstalled bloatware? i have disabled the startup apps except for mcafee. and the technician asked me to disable windows update as well. i am getting really frustrated. bloatware - crappy software that usually preinstalled and start during startup. just remove that group of softwares if you are not using it. Mcafee is weak AV. i personally prefer Avira Free Edition rather than Mcafee. and don't disable Windows Update. its vital for your security and stability. just simple tweaking can solve your slow startup
[PF] T.J.
Jul 2 2010, 12:40 PM
Hi dear sifus, I hope I'm asking at the correct place hehe... I just came across this article from notebookcheck mentioning the 1.8GHz Dual-core Atom D525 Atom D525: http://www.notebookcheck.net/Newsentry.153...a05a31ce.0.htmlI was just wondering what is the difference between the Atom and the CULV processors? Many many nice ASUS notebooks are coming out soon Please excuse my noobishness haha, just curious Thank you very much
lee_what2004
Jul 2 2010, 12:51 PM
*stare* ji--------
Basically on power consumption and cpu performance?
[PF] T.J.
Jul 2 2010, 12:55 PM
QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Jul 2 2010, 12:51 PM) Basically on power consumption and cpu performance? Thanks for the reply Lee bro~ Atoms will always consume less power than even the weakest CULVs? 1.8Ghz dual core Atom better or worse than, say a 1.3Ghz duo core CULV? The numbers are very confusing to me haha
lee_what2004
Jul 2 2010, 01:03 PM
*stare* ji--------
CULV SU7300 TDP is 10W and atom N450 is 5.5W, even atom N280 is 2.5W what you say?  For the D525, its TDP is 13W, which usually fit inside the nettop.... The other main reason is atom usually paired with GMA 950/500/3150 which is weaker than the GMA 4500MHD paired with CULV.. This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Jul 2 2010, 01:03 PM
[PF] T.J.
Jul 2 2010, 01:22 PM
QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Jul 2 2010, 01:03 PM) CULV SU7300 TDP is 10W and atom N450 is 5.5W, even atom N280 is 2.5W what you say?  For the D525, its TDP is 13W, which usually fit inside the nettop.... The other main reason is atom usually paired with GMA 950/500/3150 which is weaker than the GMA 4500MHD paired with CULV.. Oh I see, no wonder netbook battery life lasts for so long haha~ So... will the D525 in the new ASUS Eee PC be better than the SU4100/7300 etc. in the new ASUS UL20a? Very blur
lee_what2004
Jul 2 2010, 01:29 PM
*stare* ji--------
SU4100/SU7300 still better  and also Asus UL20A in MY now should be using SU2300...
[PF] T.J.
Jul 2 2010, 03:51 PM
QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Jul 2 2010, 01:29 PM) SU4100/SU7300 still better  and also Asus UL20A in MY now should be using SU2300... Yay, good good haha Yup, I went to find that particular UL20A model after you introduced it to me, kind of rare lo (RM1899)... I'm waiting for the new model with the 33% Boost and DDR3 RAM Thank you very much for your help~
lee_what2004
Jul 2 2010, 04:15 PM
*stare* ji--------
Don't think there is any plan for Asus for 12'' with Core-i UM..
[PF] T.J.
Jul 2 2010, 05:38 PM
QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Jul 2 2010, 04:15 PM) Don't think there is any plan for Asus for 12'' with Core-i UM.. Yalo, that's sad... Any other 11.6 inchers that will come with Core-i UM? So far only heard of the M11x having those~ Those processors' performances will be better than CULVs? O____O
lee_what2004
Jul 2 2010, 05:51 PM
*stare* ji--------
Well, those are the replacement for the old CULV  The latest by now is Acer 1830TZ with Pentium U5400... This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Jul 2 2010, 05:52 PM
[PF] T.J.
Jul 2 2010, 06:02 PM
QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Jul 2 2010, 05:51 PM) Well, those are the replacement for the old CULV  The latest by now is Acer 1830TZ with Pentium U5400... Wah.... that means I have to wait ar T___T I kind of like the ASUS 1 How much is the Acer? How is the U5400's performance compared to CULV or Core-i UM? I apologize for so many questions haha
lee_what2004
Jul 2 2010, 06:22 PM
*stare* ji--------
Still not much review about it...
Ultima
Jul 2 2010, 07:02 PM
asus malaysia dun intend to bring new asus ul series which is using core i um.. if not, i will wait for the new model to come.. they said they hav phased out ul series, meaning no new model will come to malaysia i guess..  i kinda like how asus oc the culv with their turbo33, n with discrete gpu and longer battery life compared to others with culv..
JJKTP
Jul 2 2010, 07:14 PM
That is because it is hard to make money with ul.
Ultima
Jul 2 2010, 07:33 PM
QUOTE(JJKTP @ Jul 2 2010, 07:14 PM) That is because it is hard to make money with ul. true also, bcoz other brands also hard to sell their culv based laptop... luckily they did bring in the u series which is almost identical design like ul series, but using standard i core series..