Hardware CPU comparison list
Mr.Docter
Oct 12 2009, 02:03 PM
QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Oct 12 2009, 01:47 PM) Just like the same case back then with P4 HT. It doesnt really give much performance boost to gamers,except games that is optimised for it. Thinking back to that time,how many games were optimised for HT? as far as i know, RE5 only.
Mr.Docter
Oct 13 2009, 11:55 AM
^ +1. agree
Mr.Docter
Oct 14 2009, 04:47 PM
very interested to change from Q9000 to QX9300. just wait during my annual holiday, gonna pawn u Putochip123. haha
Mr.Docter
Nov 2 2009, 02:18 PM
QUOTE(Forbidden_blade @ Nov 2 2009, 09:25 AM) which is better to get a Q9000 laptop or a i7-720QM laptop when it comes to gaming +1 for Q9000 because it have higher clock. plus, there is only one game that optimized HT from i7, that is RE5 so far. maybe we gotta wait for a year or two for the HT optimized games to conquers the market. just like C2D vs C2Q era.
Mr.Docter
Nov 2 2009, 02:28 PM
QUOTE(astria @ Nov 2 2009, 02:24 PM) i doubt HT will really be popular among games... dun forget, at least for desktop market, only Core i7 and low end Core i5 has it... for the rest (high end Core i5, Core i3, Pentium G) dun ve such thing... AMD dun even bother with it.. so if u re the game developer, u will be spending extra resources juz to cater for, say 10% of the computer users, and out of that, probably less than 50% will buy ur games... i see. thanks for the info. so we can conclude the best type of processor starting from next year is Quad? or some exception for high end C2D?
Mr.Docter
Nov 2 2009, 02:52 PM
QUOTE(astria @ Nov 2 2009, 02:36 PM) i would say tri-core is at the sweet spot now... it's cheaper than quads, but still offer decent multi-core performance... juz look at Phenom II x3... it's super cheap, and yet can hold against C2Q Q9000 and Q8000... are you talking about Desktop processor? if yes, what about laptop? do tri-core is available in laptop?
Mr.Docter
Nov 2 2009, 04:09 PM
QUOTE(astria @ Nov 2 2009, 02:53 PM) well, for laptops, no...  but for laptops, i would say dual core is good enuf even for now, since they seldom need to process heavy applications... yea but since lots of games that optimized Quad will be release by next year, better stick with Quad. just as investment for future. i am really looking forward to experience Crytek 3 Engine
Mr.Docter
Nov 2 2009, 07:48 PM
QUOTE(LokiD.d.G @ Nov 2 2009, 04:58 PM) On the flip-side, I doubt anyone getting a quad core in their notebook is thinking about mobility in the first place. + 1. Performance come first. bit what Astria said is true. power consumption and the weight of the heatsink will reduce its mobility
Mr.Docter
Nov 4 2009, 09:27 PM
QUOTE(kelvin_hata @ Nov 4 2009, 09:23 PM) now u believe me liao hor.. is d@mn hot hahaha... dude.. if u get mobile i7 920.. then u can.. or else.. keep ur money in bank more better.  changed my mind. just keep those money for GTX300 Series. i think my Q9000 is already sufficient
Mr.Docter
Nov 4 2009, 09:34 PM
imagine GTX300 with SLi configuration. phews!
Mr.Docter
Nov 13 2009, 05:32 AM
QUOTE(chiam dar siang @ Nov 13 2009, 03:50 AM) but the weird thing is, gamming laptop like alienware n sager all come out with their new i7 laptop series, why do they do so??  people like new things. it is great indeed but basically, it totally depend on your usage.
Mr.Docter
Nov 26 2009, 03:31 AM
how about RE5?
Mr.Docter
Nov 26 2009, 03:46 AM
QUOTE(putochip123 @ Nov 26 2009, 03:33 AM) RE5 do improve alot in game... without anti-ali, about 40-50FPS.... but who will play that game? that game story line not nice at all i did finished that game  no, what i mean is who about all 8 cores. did it run perfectly? and what is the clock for each cores?
Mr.Docter
Nov 26 2009, 05:56 AM
just 4 cores or 8??
Mr.Docter
Nov 26 2009, 06:11 AM
lol i was forgotten. bot about the cores, but about the threads
Mr.Docter
Nov 26 2009, 04:02 PM
QUOTE(astria @ Nov 26 2009, 10:34 AM) that probably means 8 threads is overkill.. .  QUOTE(putochip123 @ Nov 26 2009, 12:37 PM) ya, is kinda overkill, My desktop, no matter what application i run, the CPU usage wont over 10%..... it will remain 10% only.... well it is overkill
Mr.Docter
Nov 27 2009, 04:29 AM
QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 27 2009, 03:30 AM) I think he means, if the future i7 comes with at least 2.0GHz each core, will it be suitable for gaming? still, utilization is the keyword. if engines cannot utilize it, why don't just use normal Quad?
Mr.Docter
Nov 27 2009, 01:48 PM
QUOTE(astria @ Nov 27 2009, 11:24 AM) Intel is selling US$1054 for every 1k unit ordered... QUOTE(LokiD.d.G @ Nov 27 2009, 12:04 PM) Which is roughly the same price as the current i7 975 EE and the future projected RRP of Gulftown phews!
Mr.Docter
Nov 27 2009, 09:23 PM
QUOTE(astria @ Nov 27 2009, 06:54 PM) i5 also 45nm... i3 and new Pentium are 32nm... so many 'i' series
Mr.Docter
Nov 30 2009, 10:48 PM
i really need time to digest that