Singapore Stocks
wlcling
Nov 23 2010, 02:56 PM
The general market sentiment is bad now. Without considering any rumors, i still wouldn't jump in now. I'll probably queue for half at $1.92 and another half to be collected near $1.86 which may happen quite soon in fact. Anyway i'm a patient investor (i meant patient gambler) now since there's rumor of a good report to be due pretty soon before end of this year. Anyway long term outlook is still rosy, since next year can look forward to the license for the junket operators to be granted. I'm also waiting for battlestar galactica to open up so i can go sit on it and scream like a little boy
wlcling
Nov 23 2010, 03:02 PM
oh anyway rebound should be coming, but actualy i may sell some gensp as spotted another interesting counter... updates later
wlcling
Nov 23 2010, 05:51 PM
super red day for STI... gensp is down 12% from my price  .... painful...
jasonkwk
Nov 23 2010, 07:45 PM
S$96m 'lost' in Singapore
Tue, Nov 23, 2010 New Straits Times
JOHOR BARU, Malaysia - It is estimated that Malaysians gamble away about RM230 million (S$96 million) a month at the two newly opened casinos in Singapore.
The estimate was given by MCA national organising secretary Tee Siew Kiong, who derived it from the average busloads and carloads of people who were making a beeline for the Resort World Sentosa (RWS) and Marina Bay Sands (MBS) casinos that opened their doors last February and June respectively.
He said at least 3,200 people crossed over in buses or cars to gamble in the republic daily.
The Pulai Sebatang state assemblyman estimated that about 30 bus trips of 40 passengers each; and 500 cars comprising four people each cross over daily.
Considering each of the 3,200 Malaysian gamblers spend an average of S$1,000 (RM2,400), he said that would mean a total of RM7.68 million was gambled away at the republic daily, or about RM230 million monthly.
"Talking about yearly average, it would be RM2.76 billion. This is stunning!
"Then again, S$1,000 per person is just a conservative figure.
"With more perks given by the casinos to encourage our people to gamble there, I believe the daily number of gamblers will grow by leaps and bound in the near future," he said in an interview.
Among the perks given by the casinos were free meal vouchers and free return trip for those who bought a minimum token of RM240 to gamble.
Transport operators also benefit. They get an incentive of RM900 for bringing in a busload of passengers to the casinos.
Hong Kong-based research house CLSA expects RWS to report a third quarter revenue of RM1.8 billion compared with RM2 billion in the second quarter.
MBS reported a net revenue of RM1.5 billion in its first quarter of operation ended Sept 30.
Tee expressed worry that uncontrolled gambling may trigger a series of problems such as broken families, bankruptcy and loan shark activities.
Malaysia Tourist Guide Council president Jimmy Leong said the special incentives offered to ferry Malaysians to the Singapore casinos would prompt bus operators to prefer serving the interest of the Singapore tourism industry.
me_mbh
Nov 23 2010, 08:41 PM

Hi sifus, just found something...mayb slowpoke but north korean and south showdown might affect market? Dow is dropping nw + ireland n portugal issues sos
wlcling
Nov 23 2010, 09:20 PM
QUOTE(me_mbh @ Nov 23 2010, 08:41 PM) Hi sifus, just found something...mayb slowpoke but north korean and south showdown might affect market? Dow is dropping nw + ireland n portugal issues sosyup affecting already
wlcling
Nov 24 2010, 12:43 AM
QUOTE(me_mbh @ Nov 23 2010, 10:54 PM) will monitor b4 committing further though gsp sure looks good for entry nw  wait for near $1.90 ba... highly possible  regardless for a fundamentalist, its a good time to buy now while everyone is fearful... will a war really break out? hmmm This post has been edited by wlcling: Nov 24 2010, 12:52 AM
carmentee
Nov 24 2010, 12:55 AM

wait til thursday ba.. will drop somemore ^^
ytle2010
Nov 24 2010, 08:19 AM

I just wish to advice that, to those who are holding currently, please cut lose to avoid further pain... I believe more to drop!
wlcling
Nov 24 2010, 10:32 AM
Shortists got bbqed. Wahaha.. Its just too hard to time the market precisely sometimes. Ok interesting day. Let's see if gensp rebounds to 2.05
ronn77
Nov 24 2010, 10:43 AM
I wanted to enter and queue @ 0.90 but then the day low for this morning is $1.92 thus unable to add some for this counter. I believe anything below $2.00 is a definite buy for medium-long term investor like me.
carmentee
Nov 24 2010, 08:08 PM

i skip the boat...wanted to buy below 2dollar aiyooo
wlcling
Nov 25 2010, 12:49 AM
yay dow is surging back, but it's just to make up for loss time, just like STI today..
so tomorrow morning gap up, but afternoon could go back down. not a very good time to open positions in the morning.
wlcling
Nov 25 2010, 11:18 PM
okay, may sell some genting just to spread out my portfolio instead of full blast at gentingsp and since I spotted some potential plays:-
a) GMG - based on rumors b) Wee Hur - based on rumors c) Chinantown - too undervalued & cheap penny for potential gains
Timeframe to hold:- at least a month or so
connectkey
Nov 27 2010, 10:35 PM

hi, anyone know whether is hard rock hotel/cafe uplisted in SGX or any other market???
what is the ticket symbol and name?
thanks in advance
wlcling
Nov 29 2010, 09:26 AM
QUOTE(connectkey @ Nov 27 2010, 10:35 PM) hi, anyone know whether is hard rock hotel/cafe uplisted in SGX or any other market??? what is the ticket symbol and name? thanks in advance not in SGX, other markets no idea This post has been edited by wlcling: Nov 29 2010, 10:27 AM
wlcling
Nov 29 2010, 10:28 AM
new Sabana reits 8% annual yield... cheaper at this moment compared with IPO price of $1.05 last week for dividend hunters
wlcling
Nov 29 2010, 02:47 PM
QUOTE(wlcling @ Oct 28 2010, 03:11 PM) you should be happy to know my sifu bought some aim reit as well, not so much for capital gain, but for yield... however that means 0.22 is a solid price! hardly it will drop more than 2-3 bids below liao! too bad my sifu now MIA on holiday... he remains bearish however...  but i did say his picks very solid wan
cwhong
Nov 29 2010, 03:53 PM
QUOTE(wlcling @ Nov 29 2010, 10:28 AM) new Sabana reits 8% annual yield... cheaper at this moment compared with IPO price of $1.05 last week for dividend hunters  sabana stock code? i hv no idea of this reit leh....  help