10 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V32!, The Orange Legion

achew
post Oct 12 2009, 10:49 PM

Photolithography Engineer
3,807 posts

QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Oct 12 2009, 10:39 PM)
crazy photo bro... i like the background.

thanks..the background was actually taken by others..i just put it on my monitor at put all the figurines in front of it.. =p

QUOTE(Kul | Mo0 @ Oct 12 2009, 10:42 PM)
Wa achew trying to re-create Vince Carter's "Dunk of Death" ar? Storm Trooper edition. Nice. (:
hehe..thanks..

QUOTE(clivengu @ Oct 12 2009, 10:45 PM)
wow... achew cool one.. mayb u can include some Streetfighter. "Power bar n Life bar" n do COMBO HIT! tats wat i hv in mind  tongue.gif
lol....i'll do 1 for streetfighter next time..IF i can reproduce the scene.. >.<
achew
post Oct 12 2009, 10:53 PM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Oct 12 2009, 10:51 PM)
how did u make that trooper fly?
it was tied up by those transparent fishing lines...but some part stil can see the reflection of the line from my light..so i mask it off...

here's another version..higher contrast(more dramatic)..but the tone of the players wasnt that match to the background..

achew
post Oct 12 2009, 11:06 PM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ Oct 12 2009, 10:57 PM)
achew, since u played a lot with wireless flash, why not make ur light shoot from a very sharp angle? casting harse shadow on other side of the subject? it will give more tension biggrin.gif
a850 has no built-in flash cry.gif and i only had a F58..unless im lucky enough to win a F42 from alphanatic 1 day...lol tongue.gif
achew
post Oct 12 2009, 11:28 PM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ Oct 12 2009, 11:21 PM)
auuwwwww >.< buy a cable to trigger it off shoe?
i stil prefer wireless la..hehehe...see when can win a F42..den i go buy F20 also...can play 3 flash..weeee~~ blush.gif

im seriously miss my wireless flash capability so badly...
achew
post Oct 13 2009, 12:24 AM

3,807 posts

haha...i hate going back to work la..nowdays..work 4 days a week like wan me die like that..LOL...im so used to the 3 days per week style..lol..

unless they give me double pay for OT la..or at least 1.5x...lol...else no motivation..
achew
post Oct 13 2009, 02:32 AM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(sacrethief @ Oct 13 2009, 02:14 AM)
dear Alpharians

need some pointers/guidance here 1st timer into dslr, very noob tongue.gif
which one better/worth to get (value for money) between A300 (cheaper) & A350 (more expensive) and why other than the higher megapixels?

looks like all the Free courses already full except ''My Job, My passion'' Fotografi Talk. sigh was hoping to join in too.
i would advice u to get a300..to me the extra megapixels isnt that impt....u gonna upgrade 1 day anyway.....so keep those money and get urself a prime..or a flash maybe.. smile.gif

courses wise..its good to go..but if its full..u could always learn it urself...just make sure u r clear of the concepts...and keep shooting n review..anything in doubt..u can always refer to us here =D

oh ya..maybe u can try to join the TT organised by the folks here...im sure u'd learn much much more than those courses... wink.gif
achew
post Oct 13 2009, 03:17 AM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(sacrethief @ Oct 13 2009, 03:09 AM)
oic, thanks
do u mean different between a350 & a300 is merely the megapixels, no other upgrade features that is worth to shout of?

if given a choice is it worth spending more for twin lens 55/200 + 18/70 or just single len will do?
err..depend on ur shooting style i guess...but to me..single kitlens would do...use it to shoot for awhile..and eventually u'd know what kind of lens u need...

unless now u already had something particular in ur mind that u need a long range lens...then get the twins kit coz the price is cheaper..
achew
post Oct 13 2009, 12:50 PM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Oct 13 2009, 08:42 AM)
achew, the picture in your signature right, what did u use for the background?
hmm??it was another photo taken by others..i just simply put it as my wallpaper..and place the danbo n trooper infront of it..hehe..lazy to do too intensive photoshoping..
achew
post Oct 14 2009, 01:34 AM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(countdracula @ Oct 14 2009, 01:23 AM)
thanks ieR... yup the price really a no no. is it a fat hope if i were to think they mistag the price to rm999 instead of rm699  tongue.gif

poadster, r u coming for the flash workshop? maybe we can figure out how to focus using the raynox, hehe  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
if 999...y dont consider sp90?? blush.gif
achew
post Oct 14 2009, 01:50 AM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ Oct 14 2009, 01:44 AM)
set ur kitlens to infinity, and manual move ur body in and out of the suject to get the focus u wan.
lol..thats how i used to do it..but nowadays i hardly use my raynox....haha..anyway..i cant do wireless flash..and im lazy to do "alien gun"...so kinda hard to use my f58 on it >.<

@countdracula
i bought 500++SGD..im not sure the price now tho...if u like macro..get this lens..u wont regret..if u love the aperture + range..well..try what bro ieR suggested..

This post has been edited by achew: Oct 14 2009, 01:50 AM
achew
post Oct 14 2009, 01:58 AM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(countdracula @ Oct 14 2009, 01:55 AM)
1.3k vs 999, not much different but 999 is juz a rrp n it will be lower at street price. so raynox or 30F2.8 plus a VG would be my next collection n not discounting the temptation of A550 !!!
if u trying to shoot bug..30mm might b a lil bit too wide..even u manage to go very very very very close to the bugs..it stil wont look as stunning as those 90mm 100mm 180mm blablabla..but for portrait..flower..etc..i guess its fine..
achew
post Oct 14 2009, 09:06 PM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Oct 14 2009, 02:35 PM)
What: TT for PJ people!

Featuring the Sony Cybershot WX-1 with Exmor-R backlit CMOS sensor (if you're interested in seeing how it performs). Hopefully we can get an A550 to make an appearance!

Also going to do backfocus testing for clivengu's Tamron 17-50mm F2.8 and A700 combo.

Where:
Lotus Five Star - State Cineplex PJ
Jalan Yong Shook Lin
Petaling Jaya, Selangor 46100, Malaysia
03-7960-7881
Link: http://maps.google.com/maps?geocode=CRcpqv...755220509173299

Parking should be easy there - it's next to a big parking lot. The mamak is one of the bigger, more spacious ones I've seen so far!

When: 8pm Thursday 15th October 2009

Who:

1) albnok
2) clivengu
3) eddyhan
4) tanjq87
5) kysham
6)
7)
8)
9)
10)
awww...another TT... T_T

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Oct 14 2009, 06:54 PM)
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
I got a lot of warm welcome from Orange Region here, thanks guys for a lot of suggestion.
But i'm really a n00b in DSLR world, i dont know what is A mode, S mode, P mode and M mode bla bla bla thinggy.
But i will learn more from here since you guys are professionals already biggrin.gif

This is my first night shot yesterday at my balcony there, my hand is shaking teruk la cry.gif

Penang Bridge flex.gif

got any problems on it and how to improve my skills?
try to host it at Flickr ??coz i find the IQ not that good..
anyway..i think it'd be better if u can find a more interesting angle/place to shoot the bridge...from this photo..altho the bridge is long..but it only take a small part of the photo..it doesnt really catch my attention..
so yea..maybe composition can be better =)

achew
post Oct 14 2009, 10:40 PM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(andymillenium @ Oct 14 2009, 10:28 PM)
My noob shots..... sweat.gif

feel free to c&c..... notworthy.gif
yup..agree that u can increase the exposure slightly...

photo wise..its lack of some "impact"..maybe can play with more "interesting"/weird angles....
achew
post Oct 15 2009, 11:55 PM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(Innovation @ Oct 15 2009, 11:08 PM)
Hee..thx fr the welcoming, bt guess i stil gt alot to learn, cz this is my 1st dslr..
previously jz play around with DC, handphone camera.... =)
welcome to the family =)

no worries..i dont even have a digital cam b4 i bought my SLR.. =) so if u started with digicam then come to SRL...by right u r my sifu liao =D
achew
post Oct 16 2009, 12:01 AM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ Oct 15 2009, 11:59 PM)
achew sifu in disguise...
thats a very misleading statement bro... =)

i learn from basically everyone here biggrin.gif
achew
post Oct 18 2009, 12:45 PM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Oct 18 2009, 03:42 AM)
Actually Sony only needs to do 1 thing now. Increase the Carl Zeiss and G lens line up n make it quick. They're the only reason some Canon Pros r jumping to Sony. At the moment not enuf CZ n G lens though.
but as long as the lenses can satisfy my (our) needs..y i see y we need other people jump ship to sony..unless u mean that more user = more profit = better development biggrin.gif

but i do love the canon range of lenses..but even with vendor price..i couldnt really affort those lens like 200mm F2.. =(

Added on October 18, 2009, 12:56 pmimma out-of-focus noobie =)

Exposure: 0.8
Aperture: f/2.8
Focal Length: 24 mm
Exposure: +1.05

This post has been edited by achew: Oct 18 2009, 12:56 PM
achew
post Oct 18 2009, 01:07 PM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Oct 18 2009, 12:56 PM)
It's all to do with brand perception mar. When ppl see more pros using it at sports events, concerts, weddings n all that then ppls perception will surely change. It's like how Canon has built it's image with the big white lenses at all major sports events. Just look at the Photographers' podium and see how the color white drowns out everything else. laugh.gif

So if Sony can get more Pros to jump over then the Brand Perception is sure to improve and sales will surely go up. This is what they call the "Halo Effect" in sales terms. When a brand has big "Halo Effect" products, the sales will naturally go up eventhough most users cant afford the hi end stuff. It is something they all look up to and aspire to own someday.
haha..maybe its just me..i don really bother how many "pros" r on my side...as long as the camera is doing its job..

more good lenses of coz would not do any harm to us....everyone love more choices..but if more good lens(those im not going to buy) = more pros = high reputation/brand perception = higher price...then no thanks....somehow i think some other sony products r rather overpriced..i just dont hope their dslr would follow that path..
achew
post Oct 18 2009, 08:24 PM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(invisibl3boyz @ Oct 18 2009, 07:00 PM)
guyz....im thinking of letting go my a350...and upgrade to a550....
any comment?
if u feel that u r ready to step up...y not?? =)
achew
post Oct 18 2009, 10:30 PM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Oct 18 2009, 09:56 PM)
Sony doesn't own Carl Zeiss ler. Zeiss belongs to Cosina Japan. Zeiss so niiiiiiiice. I oso want but no Zeiss AF lens for Canon. sad.gif
haha..get those M42 mount one lo...i tried my friends carl zeiss prime on 5DM2..looks good..for casual/non-event shooting i guess manual is fine..
achew
post Oct 19 2009, 01:40 AM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(SHOfrE3zE @ Oct 19 2009, 01:29 AM)
photo spam from my recent wedding job:

more at my website smile.gif
nice one bro =)

10 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0569sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:43 PM