125 Pages « < 119 120 121 122 123 > » Bottom

::V6::Scorpion-Thread::V6::, Scorpion Conservation

akagidemon
post May 29 2010, 01:34 AM

453 posts

can i butt in the arguement. as a trained 1st aider under the malaysian red cross, there are times when elevating a sting or bite area is necessary.

but in the case of c.excluda i dont think there will be any difference if u raise or not the area which have been stung since the venom is injected subdermal which means it is injected under the skin and into muscle tissue and not into blood veins. so the risk of the poison spreading through the blood vessels are slim unless you are unlucky enough to be stung intravenously in which the poison can travel very rapidly around the body.

one reason i can think of why they recommend elevating the stung area is to reduce blood flow to the area in order to negate additional swelling cause by the poison.

rafiqos
post May 29 2010, 02:51 AM

464 posts

It is true in that in the case of excessive swelling elevation may become necessary. But even so, it's only recommended after antivenom is administered, akagi.

And before I forget, C.excilicauda envenomations are not characterized by localised swelling. I am too tired to summarize things and make it easy to digest. Here's to more. FYI.

Further reading materials. Read - 2.3. Treatment of scorpion stings.

You can't save everyone, but you still have to do your part. I will now leave you guys in peace.
deathpion
post May 29 2010, 05:15 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(afiqheafy @ May 29 2010, 12:44 AM)
hello again...
i went to a pet store 1 day...
the staff said that the scorpion can't see (rabun)..
is it true ?
Hahaha so I guess the eight eyes are for show then. Cheers. tongue.gif
zeonczk
post May 29 2010, 06:04 PM

276 posts

hi.. im a newbie from melaka.. tryin out tis hobby.. and thx 2 deathpion, i can finally start tis hobby.. XD r ter any1 tat r in melaka?? we can meet up sum time... cheers!!!

Added on May 29, 2010, 6:08 pmcan wait 2 get my scorp,deatpion!!! lookin 4ward 2 it!!! XD

This post has been edited by zeonczk: May 29 2010, 06:08 PM
zoejehuty
post May 30 2010, 04:15 AM

Z.O.E.
1,170 posts

welcome to the scorpion family.
good thing you get from him, his scorpion can eat a lot... lol...

TSRyoKenzaki
post May 30 2010, 11:36 AM

★★ ~*\Arachnoid/*~ ★★
2,313 posts

QUOTE(afiqheafy @ May 29 2010, 12:44 AM)
hello again...
i went to a pet store 1 day...
the staff said that the scorpion can't see (rabun)..
is it true ?
They actually can see blurry image and dim light if im not mistaken
Some said they use moonlight to navigate their way hmm.gif

QUOTE(zeonczk @ May 29 2010, 06:04 PM)
hi.. im a newbie from melaka.. tryin out tis hobby.. and thx 2 deathpion, i can finally start tis hobby.. XD r ter any1 tat r in melaka?? we can meet up sum time... cheers!!!

Added on May 29, 2010, 6:08 pmcan wait 2 get my scorp,deatpion!!! lookin 4ward 2 it!!! XD
I know gnoof from melaka, but he is more like a snake guy hmm
Others from melaka ady quit sad.gif
zeonczk
post May 30 2010, 01:41 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(zoejehuty @ May 30 2010, 04:15 AM)
welcome to the scorpion family.
good thing you get from him, his scorpion can eat a lot... lol...
reli?? hehe.. i was thinkin of gettin a pair of emperors too.. hopefully can stop myself from gettin too much.. XD this hobby is a drug!!!

QUOTE(RyoKenzaki @ May 30 2010, 11:36 AM)
I know gnoof from melaka, but he is more like a snake guy hmm
Others from melaka ady quit sad.gif
reli?? too bad.. i nvr like snake.. cos i got bitten once wen i was small.. so kinda hav phobia 4 snakes.. scary slithery thg IMO.. =(
afiqheafy
post May 31 2010, 12:54 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(RyoKenzaki @ May 30 2010, 12:36 PM)
They actually can see blurry image and dim light if im not mistaken
Some said they use moonlight to navigate their way  hmm.gif
really ?
that's quite an interstng fact..huhu
but how can they sense that they are being threaten ? hmm.gif
HyourinMaru
post May 31 2010, 02:51 AM

THORChad
502 posts

QUOTE(afiqheafy @ May 31 2010, 12:54 AM)
really ?
but how can they sense that they are being threaten ?  hmm.gif
Light and vibration(air&ground)
deathpion
post May 31 2010, 04:03 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(afiqheafy @ May 31 2010, 12:54 AM)
really ?
but how can they sense that they are being threaten ?  hmm.gif
I was just joking when I say their 8 eyes are for show. In daylight they can only see blurred images with other senses like sensory hair on their anatomy to assist but by night time the outer layer on it's eyes are retracted making them 10,000 times more sensitive and can even see with just the light from the stars which they use to navigate their way. And the most remarkable thing is they can see 360 degrees. Watch BBC Animal Planet on an episode named one sensitive scorpion, it contains a lot of information you'll find useful, me being a lazy reader watch a lot hahahaha. thumbup.gif
afiqheafy
post May 31 2010, 09:01 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(HyourinMaru @ May 31 2010, 03:51 AM)
Light and vibration(air&ground)
oic..
so its just like daredevil from the comic...hehehe
uses vibration to see its surrounding...

QUOTE(deathpion @ May 31 2010, 05:03 AM)
I was just joking when I say their 8 eyes are for show. In daylight they can only see blurred images with other senses like sensory hair on their anatomy to assist but by night time the outer layer on it's eyes are retracted making them 10,000 times more sensitive and can even see with just the light from the stars which they use to navigate their way. And the most remarkable thing is they can see 360 degrees. Watch BBC Animal Planet on an episode named one sensitive scorpion, it contains a lot of information you'll find useful, me being a lazy reader watch a lot hahahaha. thumbup.gif
cool..
scorpion suprises me everday...
i really need to dig deep on them... nod.gif
Foxngn
post May 31 2010, 09:57 AM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

I'm still failed to mate my martensii.. definitely can see the male pincher with a hole like thing between it.
after introduce the male martensii inside the female enclosure, it just keep hiding around, while the female were more energetic to run here run there. sweat.gif
zeonczk
post May 31 2010, 10:40 AM

276 posts

hmmmm... tis morning i hav a weird dream bout my scorps.. i dream tat i try 2 handle dem n dey dropped on d floor n die... lols.. now im kinda afraid of handling dem... XD lame aight??hmmm... shud i try handling dem o jus leave dem??? >.<
Foxngn
post May 31 2010, 11:30 AM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

QUOTE(zeonczk @ May 31 2010, 10:40 AM)
hmmmm... tis morning i hav a weird dream bout my scorps.. i dream tat i try 2 handle dem n dey dropped on d floor n die... lols.. now im kinda afraid of handling dem... XD lame aight??hmmm... shud i try handling dem o jus leave dem??? >.<
Why you want to handle them first? out of curiosity?

zeonczk
post May 31 2010, 11:35 AM

276 posts

i prefer 2 handle all my pets.. i belief it will improve bondin?? XD its jus my oppinion..
HyourinMaru
post May 31 2010, 12:11 PM

THORChad
502 posts

QUOTE(Foxngn @ May 31 2010, 09:57 AM)
I'm still failed to mate my martensii.. definitely can see the male pincher with a hole like thing between it.
after introduce the male martensii inside the female enclosure, it just keep hiding around, while the female were more energetic to run here run there.  sweat.gif
Is the male juddering?Sure is adult ady?

QUOTE(zeonczk @ May 31 2010, 11:35 AM)
i prefer 2 handle all my pets.. i belief it will improve bondin?? XD its jus my oppinion..
Try do that to Leiurus quinquestriatus and see how it goes.
Not all animals know the so called "love" or "bond"
Some are best to leave them alone as they please
rideon
post May 31 2010, 01:10 PM

239 posts

i dont agree in handling scorps..
Does male tend to judder to signal they are ready for mate? coz.. i see alot of juddering on my 5th instar scorps.. only happen when they are feeding.. mayb signalling to others for not disturbing it while it feeds maybe??
tunemystylez
post May 31 2010, 01:11 PM

217 posts

QUOTE(zeonczk @ May 31 2010, 11:35 AM)
Well,
they're considered as display pet bro,
same situation happened if you're keeping fish ,
do you bond with them?handle them? rolleyes.gif
i think most of the ts / scorpions will feel like being threaten if someone is handling them,
and
they WILL sting you / pinch you then wink.gif
just my 2 cents*don't handle them without any reason
Foxngn
post May 31 2010, 01:23 PM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

QUOTE(HyourinMaru @ May 31 2010, 12:11 PM)
Is the male juddering?Sure is adult ady?
I dun think i got see it juddering. I believe it is sub-adult only
I guess for now, i will separate them again first.

sernkhai3133
post May 31 2010, 04:38 PM

well i'm from melaka...

125 Pages « < 119 120 121 122 123 > » Top

0.0188sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:54 PM