7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

::V6::Scorpion-Thread::V6::, Scorpion Conservation

rafiqos
post Sep 22 2009, 12:33 AM

464 posts

If my eyes haven't failed me (been having too much lemang and meat for the past 2 days), I'd say a male Fallenhantu.
rafiqos
post Sep 22 2009, 11:21 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(geo @ Sep 22 2009, 11:11 PM)
[attachmentid=1210991]

my 6th instar...
but still soooo small sad.gif
I believe King Lester can change it's fate. He will make yours look like a normal 6th instar in 2 months. Lol.
rafiqos
post Sep 24 2009, 01:27 PM

464 posts

Nice containers. Best of all - stackable! Do they sell in bulk?
rafiqos
post Sep 27 2009, 10:56 AM

464 posts

QUOTE(leetplayer @ Sep 26 2009, 11:22 AM)
user posted image ;D
Is it a Troglodytes or is it a Paucidens, if I may inquire?
rafiqos
post Sep 28 2009, 05:06 PM

464 posts

Congrats lester. Now raise them! Lol.
rafiqos
post Sep 29 2009, 11:25 AM

464 posts

One of my female AFS of 2 years+ in my communal setup went into labour last Wednesday. A breeding report and some pictures to follow. smile.gif
rafiqos
post Sep 29 2009, 01:06 PM

464 posts

Thanks guys. Haven't counted them scorplings yet. I think I'll leave the mother alone for a few more days.

A nice site for ideas on a rack - http://www.lpracks.com/

One of the most beautiful things about keeping inverts is being able to stack more than 200 animals in a 2 x 3 rack. Beat that snake keepers!
rafiqos
post Sep 30 2009, 08:43 AM

464 posts

Hang in there buddy. The learning curve on this one may be steep, but definitely worth it.
rafiqos
post Oct 1 2009, 09:24 AM

464 posts

QUOTE(s98432512 @ Sep 30 2009, 08:31 PM)
more bad news ........

all 3 Orthochirus scorpions were found dead on the sand when i reach home from work today.. sad.gif

reasons unknow,.,........ they did even make it to 2nd instar ......
wonder what went wrong ............ humility , climate..... temperture??

it going to take a while ............ sign .........
Hi Lester. I'm sorry for the babies. I have no comfort to offer, but perhaps cherishing the chance you had would do much more. You had a gravid ortho, and it gave you babies. That is in itself a blessing. And owh, humility never kills a scorp. tongue.gif

Good luck to more babies.
rafiqos
post Oct 2 2009, 08:10 AM

464 posts

That's a very lucky find, despite the unfortunate consequences that led to it.

This post has been edited by rafiqos: Oct 2 2009, 10:47 AM
rafiqos
post Oct 2 2009, 10:43 AM

464 posts

What post? whistling.gif
rafiqos
post Oct 5 2009, 08:19 AM

464 posts

More pictures from the uncle's den.

Texas Striped Barkscorpion (Centruroides vittatus)

Housed in a communal tank of 3 individuals. I've observed them working in a pack to neutralize, lynch and dismember adult dubias and even housegeckos. This is by far the most effective communal hunters I've kept. Lol! Expecting more babies in the not-so-distant future.

Arizona Barkscorpion (Centruroides sculpturatus)

Housed in a communal tank of 4 individual. This species is noted as the most potent scorpion species in the North Americas. Envenomation characteristic/symptom typical to this particular species is what I call 'eyeball 360', where the eyes of the unlucky victim begins rolling to the back uncontrollably. Centruroides sculpturatus was renamed Centruroides excilicauda sometime ago.

I am now looking to offload most of my barkscorpions. It's the only sensible thing to do next. smile.gif

rafiqos
post Oct 5 2009, 04:16 PM

464 posts

A quickie Anru. What is it? biggrin.gif

Added on October 5, 2009, 4:20 pmTake your time..

This post has been edited by rafiqos: Oct 5 2009, 04:20 PM
rafiqos
post Oct 5 2009, 04:23 PM

464 posts

So what is it? I'm not saying I have one.. Just asking you what is the pic in the scorp...or the scorp in the pic rather.
rafiqos
post Oct 5 2009, 04:31 PM

464 posts

Lol. About care, there's two morphs(based on locality) of C.vitts. The Xeric and the Mesic. Xerics are those found in arid habitats and Mesics are found in more humid habitats. What we have are from Xeric regions and will not do well in humid setups. They will appreciate a cocopeat+sand mix substrate.

Have fun keeping scorpions instead of boring petrocks. And good luck getting babies!
rafiqos
post Oct 5 2009, 04:57 PM

464 posts

All living things thrive with good ventilation. Except anaerobic microbes, I think. Tapi saya minimize hole size with those whom saya suspect gravid lah. Haha.

Olok-olok tingkarah.
rafiqos
post Oct 6 2009, 10:51 AM

464 posts

Nice video Ryankezaki. Can you make one for me? I have a presentation to make next March at the morning talk at work. Thinking of doing one on bugs. :|
rafiqos
post Oct 6 2009, 11:47 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(yltanisaac @ Oct 6 2009, 07:07 PM)
@ rafiq: thought you were doing something unrelated to bugs??? lol...

This is a much quieter area to talk..
Unrelated. But it's a more interesting subject to touch on rather than electricity. tongue.gif
rafiqos
post Oct 8 2009, 08:16 AM

464 posts

A small & communal forest scorpion species. Northwest Forest Scorpion (Uroctonus mordax)

Lat.
rafiqos
post Oct 8 2009, 09:13 PM

464 posts

I can positively say its not an Arizonensis. Miahaha.

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0292sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 10:18 AM