142 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Bottom

Samsung I8000 Omnia II v2, All-in-one. Redefined

Mooshi
post Oct 7 2009, 10:01 AM

150 posts

I have some problems connecting to the WIFI...what gives?

How do i know the WIFI is connected? I go to the WIFI screen. Can see the blue WIFI access point surrounding the center circle.

So i drag the WIFI icon into the middle icon and it says "connecting to XXXXX". But the dotted line and the icon keeps flashing, and the icon on top keeps showing moving animation.

I'm trying to connect to my home network/wifi using this:
1) Hidden WPA2-PSK - this currently works for all my notebooks and other phones, but Omnia 2 cannot, even after i setup the password and everything.

2) Secondary SSID, Open, No authentication - also failed, keeps showing the flashing icon.

How the h*** do i know if it is connected to the WIFI? Blinking means connected or not? The user manual doesn't says anything!!!

I've set Browser connection to 'Internet', but Opera cannot access the internet.

Please help!! Noob here!
Omnian
post Oct 7 2009, 10:38 AM

506 posts

QUOTE(Mooshi @ Oct 7 2009, 09:01 AM)
I have some problems connecting to the WIFI...what gives?
When you're connected, you'll have an icon (1) on your taskbar and you'll also see the signal bars (2) below your connection name.

If you can't connect, maybe you have the password entered wrongly, or try move nearer to you wireless hub, without any walls or partition in between your hub and device.

For the connection regarding Opera, see if there are any setting within the Opera browser itself.
Mooshi
post Oct 7 2009, 10:43 AM

150 posts

QUOTE(Omnian @ Oct 7 2009, 10:38 AM)
When you're connected, you'll have an icon (1) on your taskbar and you'll also see the signal bars (2) below your connection name.

If you can't connect, maybe you have the password entered wrongly, or try move nearer to you wireless hub, without any walls or partition in between your hub and device.

For the connection regarding Opera, see if there are any setting within the Opera browser itself.
Thank you very much.

What i can see is for:
1) The icon on top has the two arrows keeps moving in both direction. Does this means connected or is it not suppose to animate?
2) I can't remember this one, but i'll check

Also in my case, the WIFI AP (In this case, PRESHION icon), the blue circle and the dotted line will keep flashing. I have rule out incorrect password because even an open connection is also the same. Distance is also not a problem as i'm sitting next to the WIFI modem router!!!
Omnian
post Oct 7 2009, 11:20 AM

506 posts

QUOTE(Mooshi @ Oct 7 2009, 09:43 AM)
Thank you very much.

What i can see is for:
1) The icon on top has the two arrows keeps moving in both direction. Does this means connected or is it not suppose to animate?
2) I can't remember this one, but i'll check

Also in my case, the WIFI AP (In this case, PRESHION icon), the blue circle and the dotted line will keep flashing. I have rule out incorrect password because even an open connection is also the same. Distance is also not a problem as i'm sitting next to the WIFI modem router!!!
If the 2 arrows of the taskbar icon is moving, it means that there are data transfering or your device is trying to connect to your router.

When trying to connect, the blue circle and dotted line will keep flashing, but once it is connected it'll stop.

Do you have the signal bars below the connection name?

ADD: Try unhide your WIFI router.

This post has been edited by Omnian: Oct 7 2009, 11:22 AM
HoneyBadger
post Oct 7 2009, 11:22 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Oct 6 2009, 02:06 PM)
Maybe someone should call Samsung support and see if it's availble for firmware updates for Winmob 6.5 at the SC? smile.gif

I've called. They dunno when the 6.5 will be available. Said MS hasn't informed them. doh.gif
it's available.. maybe they wanna perform a lil customization here and there for Msia sets .. to those who can't wait.. perhaps you can take the plunge to do it on your own..

user posted imageuser posted image
Mooshi
post Oct 7 2009, 11:27 AM

150 posts

QUOTE(Omnian @ Oct 7 2009, 11:20 AM)
If the 2 arrows of the taskbar icon is moving, it means that there are data transfering or your device is trying to connect to your router.

When trying to connect, the blue circle and dotted line will keep flashing, but once it is connected it'll stop.

Do you have the signal bars below the connection name?

ADD: Try unhide your WIFI router.
Thanks, the WIFI is already unhide. But i'm broadcasting multiple SSID...primary hidden and locked, secondary unhidden and unlocked.

At least now i know what to look for. I don't think i've ever seen the flashing stopped.
Omnian
post Oct 7 2009, 11:46 AM

506 posts

QUOTE(Mooshi @ Oct 7 2009, 10:27 AM)
Thanks, the WIFI is already unhide. But i'm broadcasting multiple SSID...primary hidden and locked, secondary unhidden and unlocked.

At least now i know what to look for. I don't think i've ever seen the flashing stopped.
Can you try delete off both SSID and restart your device.

At the meantime, set your SSID to unhide, but with a password (security lock).

Search and add your (new) SSID on your device.
Mooshi
post Oct 7 2009, 12:12 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(Omnian @ Oct 7 2009, 11:46 AM)
Can you try delete off both SSID and restart your device.

At the meantime, set your SSID to unhide, but with a password (security lock).

Search and add your (new) SSID on your device.
Ok, will try that tonight. smile.gif

kaplex
post Oct 7 2009, 12:59 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(nghj @ Oct 6 2009, 06:53 PM)
fixed

Winmo6.5 seems slow on Touch HD. take a look on OmniaII. Very nice...

faidz85
post Oct 7 2009, 01:11 PM

-=[ Stars ]=-
1,604 posts

Might be because the one the Touch HD is using is still in alpha stage =x
LuVz
post Oct 7 2009, 10:16 PM

169 posts

nice nice.. window 6.5..

is it can update for free ?
HoneyBadger
post Oct 7 2009, 10:22 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(LuVz @ Oct 7 2009, 10:16 PM)
nice nice.. window 6.5..

is it can update for free ?
yeah... if you can bear the risk of bricking it... but truth be told.. .it's actually quite an easy and painless 15-minute process... did mine..and loving the gravity sensor-based Asphalt HD and threaded SMS since..
skymade
post Oct 7 2009, 11:19 PM

303 posts

If you guys waiting for upgrade to official windows mobile 6.5 for specific phones, check this out at http://www.microsoft.com/windowsmobile/en-...65-upgrade.mspx

This post has been edited by skymade: Oct 7 2009, 11:20 PM
LuVz
post Oct 7 2009, 11:30 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(HoneyBadger @ Oct 7 2009, 10:22 PM)
yeah... if you can bear the risk of bricking it... but truth be told.. .it's actually quite an easy and painless 15-minute process... did mine..and loving the gravity sensor-based Asphalt HD and threaded SMS since..
nice.. so we can update it now ? how do we update it ?

and i wish to have threaded sms. T_T
Mooshi
post Oct 7 2009, 11:56 PM

150 posts

I've just solved my WIFI woes.

There was a few problems, i discovered:
1) Secondary SSID doesn't seems to work.

Basically my main problem was i MISSPELLED the WIFI name...doh.gif...The first letter is in CAPITAL, but i put LOWER CASE letter....just one letter!!! doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

Anyway, also tweaked the network settings ...maybe that helped too.

Now i've a new challenge...how to put a customized link to make it shown up in the Start Menu? I've created a NEWSMS.LNK and dumped it into the \Windows folder. But it does not show on the screen. Basically i want a CREATE NEW SMS shortcut directly on the Homescreen.

Any ideas??
HoneyBadger
post Oct 8 2009, 12:22 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(Mooshi @ Oct 7 2009, 11:56 PM)
Now i've a new challenge...how to put a customized link to make it shown up in the Start Menu? I've created a NEWSMS.LNK and dumped it into the \Windows folder. But it does not show on the screen. Basically i want a CREATE NEW SMS shortcut directly on the Homescreen.

Any ideas??
try putting the shortcut file in \Windows\Start Menu\Programs\ i think...
Andrewtst
post Oct 8 2009, 12:35 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,762 posts

Windows Mobile 6.5 I8000XXIJ1 Firmware for Samsung OMNIA II Review:

user posted image user posted image

I8000XXIJ1 is purely one of the best firmware at the moment. Recommended. This firmware not support Chinese interface. Supported languages include English, French, German, Italian, Norwegian, Russian, Greek, Spanish, Portuguese, Czech, Finnish, Danish, Polish, Swedish & Dutch. Thanks a lot Secany for posting out the firmware. At the moment, Samsung Service Center still don't have any Windows Mobile 6.5 firmware to upgrade yet.

Pros:

* Online widget like Facebook, Youtube and MySpace. no longer spinning except the AccuWeather widget.
* New nicely design Main Menu.
* Threaded SMS support officially this time.
* Capable of displaying Chinese wording.
* Smooth overall.
* Default lock screen is smooth not like the simplified chinese version (I8000UZNII1) leak last week.
* Main Storage free more than 100MB.
* The best WiFi speed so far. (No need do connection restore like I8000UZNII1)
* Newer Windows Mobile 6.5 build than I8000UZNII1.
* Asphalt 4 is added in (support Accelerometer) cool! but the graphics is not ready nice, version leak in internet is much more beauty.
* Crayon Physics is added in officially.
* Facebook, Search Widget & Youtube is pre-install.
* Two new incoming call, one need to slide when phone is lock, another is touch when phone is not lock. No longer need S2U2 already biggrin.gif
* Better photo quality. biggrin.gif

Cons:

* Program RAM only free around 50MB
* Old Red & Green Main Menu no longer exist.
* PlumSIP (Chinese input) no longer pre-install. (Cannot input chinese, need install 3rd party program now, but is ok for me)

Link: I8000XXIJ1 (The owner request no mirror)

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Oct 8 2009, 12:47 AM
Andrewtst
post Oct 8 2009, 12:42 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,762 posts

Sample photo taken using I8000XXIJ1 Firmware

giovanni
post Oct 8 2009, 04:00 AM

1,898 posts

walao eh.My saliva drooling dy. When is the official rom going to be made available to us ah???
lhongwuh
post Oct 8 2009, 09:40 AM

~stary stary nite~
1,991 posts

not so soon~
hopefully most bugs will be fixed b4 they launch it..
so that we dun hv to reflash again n again~

142 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.0181sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:46 AM