post Sep 17 2009, 04:23 AM

The Ultimate Driving Machine
1,442 posts

LOL YES
sigheart
post Sep 17 2009, 04:24 AM

1,442 posts

HAHA did anyone see Dudu kiss his knee ?
sigheart
post Sep 17 2009, 04:36 AM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(kimhoong @ Sep 17 2009, 04:34 AM)
What I'd like about the game is Bendtner's contribution smile.gif

... but I still have some issue with Diaby's... hmm.gif
Diaby's contribution was the most important in the match.
sigheart
post Sep 17 2009, 04:38 AM

1,442 posts

Amazing Diaby's name gets singled out but not the likes of Eboue, Cesc and Clichy who has just had an absolute nightmare of a game.
sigheart
post Sep 17 2009, 04:46 AM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(Thumpy Ick @ Sep 17 2009, 04:43 AM)
since i didnt see the game, please tell me ross survived haha
Yea he survived but was substituted and immediately put on life support for precautionary measures.
sigheart
post Sep 17 2009, 08:51 AM

1,442 posts

Wow it wasn't the referee that showed Bolat (Standard Liege Keeper) the yellow card. If you watch the replay it was the linesman that booked him LOL.

Also pity Vermaelen's back heel volley was cleared of the line. Would have been an unreal goal had it went in. Has some great skills and great technique for a centreback IMO which is very rare in the modern game nowadays where centrebacks are usually all speed and brawn with somewhat inferior footballing skills and technique. Again another very accomplished performance from our Belgian who was unfazed by his teammates who were well below par and went on with his business as usual. My MOTM of the night IMO notworthy.gif notworthy.gif . Was a monster for us at the back not only playing in his own position but also doubled up as a leftback with the amount of mistakes Clichy made and was equally competent. The 10m paid for him is increasingly looking like a bargain.
sigheart
post Sep 17 2009, 08:51 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(sakaito @ Sep 17 2009, 08:13 PM)
i think Song-Cesc-Denilson is vital in our team. Any one of these guys missing, it'll be hard to replace.

agree?
Yeah which is why its worth reminding again that Song will be out "injured" in January for around a month or 2.

All the worse to Cameroon and all the best to every other team in the ACN IMO.

This post has been edited by sigheart: Sep 17 2009, 08:52 PM
sigheart
post Sep 18 2009, 12:05 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(Lowyat @ Sep 18 2009, 07:32 AM)
Why ade only banned 3 match??? Should ban whole life lah...
3 matches is ONLY for the stamp, violent conduct.

Punishment for aggravating the traveling Gooners on the night hasn't been meted out yet. Potentially an additional 1 - 3 games there I reckon. So minimum 4 game ban at least.
sigheart
post Sep 19 2009, 06:47 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(sOuLx @ Sep 19 2009, 06:42 PM)
i have some friends doing medics in india too. biggrin.gif

yeah, dudu ban was overturned by UEFA.
oh, denilson, RVP are injured. rosicky also play some part in the last ECL match.huhu.
RVP is back from injury. He will play tonight.
sigheart
post Sep 20 2009, 12:03 AM

1,442 posts

The third is NOT Eduardo's goal. The 3rd will be credited to Eboue.
sigheart
post Sep 20 2009, 12:14 AM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Sep 20 2009, 12:09 AM)
That's kinda dumb. Eboue didn't do anything for that goal... it was an unintentional deflection. I'm not sure whether the rules have changed or not, but in the past slight deflections (not those major swerving ones) doesn't give the player the goal; it's normally given to the player who shoots.
I'm pretty sure it will be and should be Eboue's goal. The ball clearly changes direction even though it was a slight deflection and I reckon Kirkland would have even saved it had Eduardo's shot gone through cleanly. Pretty much the same case when Gallas scored with his buttocks against Celtic.

QUOTE(mengdez @ Sep 20 2009, 12:10 AM)
Did you guys noticed that Fabregas was injured, hope he is alright man.  doh.gif
Yes he clearly looked miserable even after scoring our 4th. Hope its nothing too serious.

This post has been edited by sigheart: Sep 20 2009, 12:16 AM
sigheart
post Sep 20 2009, 12:54 AM

1,442 posts

Though it was a good performance overall I felt Cesc was somewhat subdued again today even before the knock he received. Song as well apart from the final 20 minutes plus or so. Caught napping far too many times to my liking. I lost count the number times a Wigan player snuck in from behind and stole the ball from both Cesc and Song in some pretty vital areas in midfield. A better team would have punished us more severely in those situations.

Still though am happy with the performance as a whole and of course the 3 points. Eboue was brilliant and probably was out to prove a point as well since it was against the same opposition which he endured the boos last year.
sigheart
post Sep 20 2009, 02:18 AM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(Zan81 @ Sep 20 2009, 01:51 AM)
Well, if he was occupying the Denilson role, then yes I agree that his contributions going forward was average. However, the Denilson role usually requires one to carry out the duty with minimal fuss and simplicity. Unfortunately, Cesc kept losing the ball and had a few stray passes as well. I guess that's why a lot of people are on his back, and for this game, even I have to say he had a right stinker.

Its also perhaps we've been accustomed to very high standards by Cesc, that's why we can be overly critical at times.
There will be a few stray passes from Cesc given the amount of elaborate passes and killer balls he tries game in game out is understandable. Even though he was played in the Denilson role today, take this aspect out and replace it with the simplicity of Denilson's passing and its not Cesc anymore and I wouldn't want that to be honest. Maybe carry out the defensive duties of Denilson but I wouldn't want him to alter his game particularly his passing style IMO.

But yeah he did have a poor game today and even though arguably he was played out of position he could have done much better I feel. One of the fundamentals regardless of any position you play in is not lose the ball when in possession so making "not played in best position" an excuse is a very weak one IMO. I found him somewhat sluggish today thus taking an unusually long time on the ball at times which allowed a Wigan player to nick in from behind and steal the ball more often than not. The awareness of things happening around him was missing today. In short lacking that bit of sharpness as some would say. Song was pretty sluggish also today early on but was much much better and improved as the match wore on.
sigheart
post Sep 20 2009, 08:26 AM

1,442 posts

Alas God has spoken. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif People will always compare the similarity between Ade's celebration to Henry's at White Hart Lane 2002 but what these narrow minded people forget is we are the ones who made Adebayor who he is today today. If anything without Wenger and Arsenal he would still be a nobody playing in some small team in a small village probably earning less than 1/10 of what he is getting now whereas Thierry never ever did play for Spurs. Difference is Ade owes the world to Arsene and Arsenal whereas Thierry does not owe Spurs anything.

Arsenal old boy Thierry Henry slates Emmanuel Adebayor for lack of respect

Thierry Henry has slated Emmanuel Adebayor for showing a lack of respect to the manager, club and fans who made him a star.

Arsenal legend Henry has entered the debate about Adebayor’s performance for Manchester City against the Gunners last weekend in brutal style.

Henry, now at Barcelona, spent eight years as Arsenal’s scoring superstar. He said: “You have to remember, no matter where you end up, the people who helped make you along the way and gave you the chance.

“I won the treble with Barcelona last year, but I know if it wasn’t for Arsene Wenger and Arsenal I would not be the player I am today.

“I think the same has to be true of Adebayor. He might be one of the world’s top strikers today, but he wasn’t before Arsene got hold of him and gave him that chance.

“When he came from Monaco he wasn’t even getting games back in France and then within two seasons he was a player who was wanted by a lot of top clubs in Europe.

“Arsene puts a lot of investment in you when he sees talent and I don’t think it would hurt for Adebayor to show him, the club and the fans a little more respect.”

Adebayor has been suspended for three games for the kick he inflicted on Robin van Persie’s head. He will miss today's Manchester derby and he has also been accused by Cesc Fabregas of launching a “red card” challenge on the Spanish midfielder.

Adebayor faces further FA action for the 95-yard sprint he made to celebrate in front of the visiting fans after his goal in City’s 4-1 win.

The Togo striker’s war with the Arsenal fans astonishes Henry, who last year was voted by supporters as the Gunners’ greatest player of all time.

That award came the year after he moved to Barca and Henry said: “The fans at Arsenal were great. They were and always will be my family. I never saw them behave badly so to react like they did at the weekend shows just how angry and upset they were.

“They will show you love and respect, but like any relationship they will ask for that love and respect back.

“No matter what Adebayor’s emotions were, he could have earned himself a lot of respect by not celebrating the goal.

“That would have shown real class, and that to be honest is what most players choose to do when they score against their old clubs. I don’t really understand why he didn’t do that.”

Tottenham fans will claim Henry has a short memory. They will recall he ran the length of the Highbury pitch to celebrate in front of them after a wonder goal against Spurs in 2002.

Adebayor has claimed that, while he may have angered fans by discussing potential transfers over the past two seasons, the ultimate key to his £25million move to Manchester was Wenger’s desire to cash in on him.

Arsenal insiders insist Adebayor was a transfer waiting to happen and that eventually it was best for everyone that he headed out.

Henry added: “Arsenal fans have nothing to worry about. Arsenal can’t spend like the other big clubs in the Premier League but when they have somebody with the brain of Arsene they don’t need to.

“He is building something very special there.

“I know the fans want trophies and I understand that, but if they have a little more patience they will come.”

Sauce
This post has been edited by sigheart: Sep 20 2009, 08:38 AM
sigheart
post Sep 20 2009, 08:40 AM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(mengdez @ Sep 20 2009, 08:30 AM)
Lol, is the author retard or what? Did Henry join Spurs before?  doh.gif
Yeah, like all City fans who use that Henry celebration as an argument, a retard.

Difference is Ade owes the world to Arsene and Arsenal whereas Henry owes sh*t to Spurs lol
sigheart
post Sep 21 2009, 12:08 AM

1,442 posts

I freaking LOLed at the amount of stoppage time Man Utd got rclxms.gif rclxms.gif That was total BS haha

The stoppage time board should have read "Play till United scores" LOL

But IMO karma. Never thought I'd chuckle at a United win. Still though the result didn't help. Would have been better for us had it been a draw.

This post has been edited by sigheart: Sep 21 2009, 12:10 AM

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0444sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 05:32 PM