145 Pages « < 119 120 121 122 123 > » Bottom

How much is your net worth?, gauging your financial performance.

kochin
post Sep 2 2024, 04:08 PM

I just hope I do!
10,319 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Sep 2 2024, 02:30 PM)
There's a lot of things that I feel people are penny-wise, pound foolish. A car is one of them. Is it a liability, financial wise? Yes.

But given the average person would spend 1-2hrs a day travelling on car, which is around one month of the year in total just sitting in a car, in a jam, driving mindlessly to work, to travel, etc.. So, why wouldn't you want to be comfortable and happy with that otherwise miserable experience?

What I do agree on, is there is a diminishing return on money spent on cars. Safety wise, some of our local cars are almost on par with the conti's, we can also look to ANCAP rating as a guide on what they have and don't. The rest are more towards comfort level, noise level etc but I genuinely doubt a BMW is 3x better than say X70, even though thats the price diffentiation.

Secondly, 60% of road fatalities are motorcyclist, so I'd always say even a Kancil is better than a 2 wheeler to increase your survival chances in accident. Another two big contributors to accidents are drunk driving and that only 48 per cent of Malaysians were recorded to have worn their seatbelts. All these are totally preventable and it doesn't matter what car one drives.

Another thing is mattress / pillows. We spend 6-8hours daily sleeping, but don't want to spend money on a good mattress, rather change the cheapo one every year or two when it kemek and your backpain. A good mattress last you 15-20 years, and prevent you from body aches or bad sleep. Penny wise, pound foolish.

Last one is having comfort in spending on enriching experiences. Keep all the money to retire and do what if your body and mind can't enable you to experience things you should have done when you are younger like trying out new food, new places, meet new people, play new sport, etc etc
well said.
i "invest" in good furnitures and fittings and matress. it requires less maintenance and last longer.

i used to drive x70 too and absolutely loved it.

but to each their own. once you have ascertain stage of wealth, live a little. indulge in your favourite spend. key takeaway is money is meant to be spent to be realised. if not, it's just a paper tool. if one were to pass away unexpectedly, the wealth accumulated is also pretty meaningless to the saver but only to the next of kin or receipient of the deceased wealth.
HolyCooler
post Sep 2 2024, 05:12 PM

439 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Sep 2 2024, 02:30 PM)
Another two big contributors to accidents are drunk driving and that only 48 per cent of Malaysians were recorded to have worn their seatbelts. All these are totally preventable and it doesn't matter what car one drives.

But it does matter what car you drive when you get hit by a drunker driver tho. The driver who banged my car, my car only suffering minor damages (not even reaching the internal pillar frame), but his car, the car head was totally destroyed / kemek / squeezed until the car head is like non-existent, and the driver suffering bad injury on his head full with blood. Had a friend's kembara hitting a merce, the kembara's front part also destroyed badly while the mercedes was like intacted. Hopefully proton cars nowadays are better after took over by the China company. My boss owns a 4 wheel drive that cost over a million (the car's inner body is surrounded by very big and solid pillars frame), i am pretty sure he can survive 95% of accident unless being banged badly by those super big size transformer.

You guys all got high networth, invest in a good car, protect yourself and your love ones thumbsup.gif

This post has been edited by HolyCooler: Sep 2 2024, 05:50 PM
ronnie
post Sep 2 2024, 10:00 PM

Not enough stars
21,315 posts

QUOTE(HolyCooler @ Sep 2 2024, 05:12 PM)
But it does matter what car you drive when you get hit by a drunker driver tho. The driver who banged my car, my car only suffering minor damages (not even reaching the internal pillar frame), but his car, the car head was totally destroyed / kemek / squeezed until the car head is like non-existent, and the driver suffering bad injury on his head full with blood. Had a friend's kembara hitting a merce, the kembara's front part also destroyed badly while the mercedes was like intacted. Hopefully proton cars nowadays are better after took over by the China company. My boss owns a 4 wheel drive that cost over a million (the car's inner body is surrounded by very big and solid pillars frame), i am pretty sure he can survive 95% of accident unless being banged badly by those super big size transformer.

You guys all got high networth, invest in a good car, protect yourself and your love ones  thumbsup.gif
listening to these real accident horror stories made me want to get Tesla CYBERTRUCK liao.
Wedchar2912
post Sep 2 2024, 10:20 PM

3,668 posts

these discussion about getting a good safe car, one should not be too picky with the cost....
like that, EV car should be out of the question already... as a serious catastrophic incident basically make the car a mobile missile/bomb with almost no chance of putting off the fire...
scary...

best to keep my old accord around as long as I can... smile.gif
CommodoreAmiga
post Sep 3 2024, 10:27 AM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Sep 2 2024, 10:00 PM)
listening to these real accident horror stories made me want to get Tesla CYBERTRUCK liao.
Get Tank also no use. Plane can drop on your head in Malaysia. If you're fated to die, you die. No need to worry.

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Sep 2 2024, 10:20 PM)
these discussion about getting a good safe car, one should not be too picky with the cost....
like that, EV car should be out of the question already... as a serious catastrophic incident basically make the car a mobile missile/bomb with almost no chance of putting off the fire...
scary...

I will never buy EV. Besides fire incidence, it drops my quality of life. Have to stress on range anxiety, wait for hours to just pump 80% and even longer queue when more people has EVs. Why should i sacrifice my convenience, quality of life and sanity just to make someone else (EV car makers) rich and promote their propaganda? They can F OFF. Unker old already, got a bit of money, wants to relax. No time to play sohai EV games.

This post has been edited by CommodoreAmiga: Sep 3 2024, 10:28 AM
kinnasai
post Sep 3 2024, 10:30 AM

372 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Sep 2 2024, 10:20 PM)
scary...

Haha, if drop into KL popular sink hole..... no help also leh... need a car with wings.....

Rinth
post Sep 3 2024, 10:40 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Sep 3 2024, 10:27 AM)
Get Tank also no use. Plane can drop on your head in Malaysia. If you're fated to die, you die. No need to worry.
I will never buy EV. Besides fire incidence, it drops my quality of life. Have to stress on range anxiety, wait for hours to just pump 80% and even longer queue when more people has EVs. Why should i sacrifice my convenience, quality of life and sanity just to make someone else (EV car makers) rich and promote their propaganda?  They can F OFF. Unker old already, got a bit of money, wants to relax. No time to play sohai EV games.
Relax unker.....technology will keep advancing and maybe can soon achieve 1000km - 1500km range and charge 10 mins in near future... Dun write EV off 1st... laugh.gif
CommodoreAmiga
post Sep 3 2024, 11:39 AM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(Rinth @ Sep 3 2024, 10:40 AM)
Relax unker.....technology will keep advancing and maybe can soon achieve 1000km - 1500km range and charge 10 mins in near future... Dun write EV off 1st... laugh.gif
PM me when that day comes. Meanwhile, unker Rockin' on ICE.

This post has been edited by CommodoreAmiga: Sep 3 2024, 11:41 AM
jasontoh
post Sep 3 2024, 11:48 AM

8,441 posts

QUOTE(Rinth @ Sep 3 2024, 10:40 AM)
Think the real drawback for EV is the charging speed - which is why I opted ICE instead of getting a M3. I cannot imagine the queue at the charging stations if many people are getting the EV and during festive seasons when everyone balik kampung. At least petrol you can pump within like less than 10m - just right for most to get snacks + toilet break, especially long journey from Penang to Singapore. I did that and we don't waste a lot of time at the station or R&R
Wedchar2912
post Sep 3 2024, 12:37 PM

3,668 posts

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Sep 3 2024, 11:48 AM)
Think the real drawback for EV is the charging speed - which is why I opted ICE instead of getting a M3. I cannot imagine the queue at the charging stations if many people are getting the EV and during festive seasons when everyone balik kampung. At least petrol you can pump within like less than 10m - just right for most to get snacks + toilet break, especially long journey from Penang to Singapore. I did that and we don't waste a lot of time at the station or R&R
a attractive feature of EV is the ability to "refuel" at home...
so for someone whose just drive like 30 to 50 km per day, with almost zero occurance of needing to drive 300km above in a day, EV should be great. Even save the hassle of pumping petrol at petrol station. So for me, EV is most suitable for my lifestyle nowadays since retirement (can just use the current old car for long distance).

But somehow, I still have the small nagging fear of the fact that the battery underneath the EV is combustible. Phone also i have tiny concern and never charge them fully "unattended".
HolyCooler
post Sep 3 2024, 02:57 PM

439 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Sep 2 2024, 10:00 PM)
Trust me, one would appreciated it *touch wood* if accident really happen, accident really means something unexpected. I was in those accidents 2 times (made me realised i too have chance to be in such situations), nothing can do except waiting for the destiny. The scariest outcome was not dead, but was become cacat / badly injured.

I used to think die then die la when i was young (i so despise those who scared of dying on road, when on the airplane, etc), but now i have more things to fulfil and have more love ones, i must live longer now to enjoy my life biggrin.gif

lola88
post Sep 3 2024, 07:13 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(HolyCooler @ Sep 2 2024, 05:12 PM)

You guys all got high networth, invest in a good car, protect yourself and your love ones  :thumbsup:
Hi what car are you driving?
HolyCooler
post Sep 4 2024, 11:46 AM

439 posts

QUOTE(lola88 @ Sep 3 2024, 07:13 PM)
Hi what car are you driving?
i drive a merc. I bought merc/subaru for my love ones too, i not worry much when they are driving on the road.
hksgmy
post Sep 5 2024, 11:30 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(HolyCooler @ Sep 4 2024, 11:46 AM)
i drive a merc. I bought merc/subaru for my love ones too, i not worry much when they are driving on the road.
Mercs, esp the older series (eg W124 era) were built like tanks. This is something that gives drivers confidence (rightly or wrongly) that the car would hold up better in case of an accident.
hksgmy
post Sep 5 2024, 11:32 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Sep 2 2024, 04:08 PM)
well said.
i "invest" in good furnitures and fittings and matress. it requires less maintenance and last longer.

but to each their own. once you have ascertain stage of wealth, live a little. indulge in your favourite spend. key takeaway is money is meant to be spent to be realised. if not, it's just a paper tool. if one were to pass away unexpectedly, the wealth accumulated is also pretty meaningless to the saver but only to the next of kin or receipient of the deceased wealth.
I agree with your statement. We fly SQ Suite Class because it’s a full sized single bed. When unfolded side by side, it forms a Queen sized bed for both of us. It does make a difference to the journey and how we feel when we land.

Can’t take a cent away with us when we kick the proverbial bucket. Might as well use what we have prudently and within reason.
BboyDora
post Sep 5 2024, 01:59 PM

2,368 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Sep 3 2024, 10:27 AM)

I agree with that. I escaped death twice. split seconds, less than 1 second and Im not here to type anything liao.

just my time haven't come yet.

see the news and the video... suddenly open a sink hole and the woman is gone forever sweat.gif sweat.gif
CommodoreAmiga
post Sep 5 2024, 02:52 PM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(BboyDora @ Sep 5 2024, 01:59 PM)
I agree with that. I escaped death twice. split seconds, less than 1 second and Im not here to type anything liao.

just my time haven't come yet.

see the news and the video... suddenly open a sink hole and the woman is gone forever  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

You guy in the car?? laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Sep 5 2024, 11:32 AM)
I agree with your statement. We fly SQ Suite Class because it’s a full sized single bed. When unfolded side by side, it forms a Queen sized bed for both of us. It does make a difference to the journey and how we feel when we land.

Can’t take a cent away with us when we kick the proverbial bucket. Might as well use what we have prudently and within reason.
Nowadays, everyone, please don't take MAS....Infinite Uturns....scary.

This post has been edited by CommodoreAmiga: Sep 5 2024, 02:54 PM
HolyCooler
post Sep 5 2024, 03:33 PM

439 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Sep 2 2024, 04:08 PM)
well said.

Agreed. I used to anti luxury things. I used to buy purses that were around rm60-100+, these purses just couldn't last long and usually i need to buy a new one after a year or so. My wife bought me a purse that costed 2k (it was a surprise present, if i knew in advanced i would stop her, we didn't have much saving that time), it is almost 10 years now and the purse is still in good condition, this is what made me realised a few things, first thing is don't lock myself, i should open my eyes and try new things before i make judgement. Another thing is, some luxury items / more expensive items do provide much better values, not just totally a waste of money.

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Sep 5 2024, 11:30 AM)
Mercs, esp the older series (eg W124 era) were built like tanks. This is something that gives drivers confidence (rightly or wrongly) that the car would hold up better in case of an accident.
The recent ones i think are pretty solid too. When the accident happening, i thought it would be badly damaged, but instead it was just so minor damaged compare to the car that banged me. And when i did the emergency break (few cars banged together, the merc able to emergency break on time, too bad the car behind me failed), i still sat in the car steadily, and when the behind car banged on my car, i still sat in a steady position with not much impact.

This post has been edited by HolyCooler: Sep 5 2024, 03:35 PM
hksgmy
post Sep 5 2024, 03:45 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(HolyCooler @ Sep 5 2024, 03:33 PM)
Agreed. I used to anti luxury things. I used to buy purses that were around rm60-100+, these purses just couldn't last long and usually i need to buy a new one after a year or so. My wife bought me a purse that costed 2k (it was a surprise present, if i knew in advanced i would stop her, we didn't have much saving that time), it is almost 10 years now and the purse is still in good condition, this is what made me realised a few things, first thing is don't lock myself, i should open my eyes and try new things before i make judgement. Another thing is, some luxury items / more expensive items do provide much better values, not just totally a waste of money.
The recent ones i think are pretty solid too. When the accident happening, i thought it would be badly damaged, but instead it was just so minor damaged compare to the car that banged me. And when i did the emergency break (few cars banged together, the merc able to emergency break on time, too bad the car behind me failed), i still sat in the car steadily, and when the behind car banged on my car, i still sat in a steady position with not much impact.
Wife swears by her W223 … I wanted her to join the Porsche family with a Panamera but she flatly refused and bought the S Class to spite me hahaha.

HolyCooler
post Sep 5 2024, 03:58 PM

439 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Sep 5 2024, 03:45 PM)
Wife swears by her W223 … I wanted her to join the Porsche family with a Panamera but she flatly refused and bought the S Class to spite me hahaha.
I think she made the right choice with the W223 (more elegant + high class feeling for an accountant + matured lazy) tongue.gif Panamera i think more suitable for guys cool2.gif

145 Pages « < 119 120 121 122 123 > » Top

0.0222sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:42 PM