How much is your net worth?, gauging your financial performance.

kochin
post Aug 1 2023, 03:48 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 1 2023, 10:48 AM)
Thank you for your kind comments. I am fearful of retirement not from a financial standpoint, but from a sense of worth - or rather, lack of it, after retiring. Right now, I have fulfillment professionally (the acknowledgement of my patients) as well as academically (the acknowledgement of my peers), and upon retirement, all that will be gone - and I'm privately terrified of what that void will do to my self-esteem and sense of worth. Many people in my position end up with less than desirable issues such as depression upon retirement.

We're not the hyper-ultra rich types where money acts as a social shield and we don't attach our sense of worth to our financial achievements, but rather derive it from our professional and academic successes.

This is my biggest concern & dilemma. And one which I'm still trying to work out.

My legacy plans? I've not had time to really digest that yet, as mentioned in some other post, but I'll definitely need to sit down to have a hard think about it sooner rather than later.
ever considered setting up a trust fund for your unused wealth after your demise?
it may be perpetually to help to grant say one or few full scholarship to students in particular field of study for many many years to come.
when certain fund reaches a tipping point, it could very well be self sustaining to keep sponsoring certain events/activities perpetually.

and i must praise you for your sgd25k monthly well spent since many people doesn't know the insanely high cost of maintaining high end properties and vehicles. and furthermore your spendings is inclusive of fine dining and luxury travels.

keep up the good work doc!

kochin
post Aug 9 2023, 05:41 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

thinking back...... when i just graduated and started to work....
with a miniscule rm1.6k basic pay per month. i could still save rm1k per month by strong self control.
as time goes by, and when my basic pay hits 5 digits per month, i constantly struggled to even save 30% of it.....
does most of you have the same "problem"?
lol.....

kochin
post Aug 11 2023, 09:32 AM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 10 2023, 03:21 PM)
But there will be a tipping point - the mortgages will be fully paid, the children will be all grown up. Then you’ll have more to spend.
in theory only.
once a kid, always a kid.in the eyes of a parent, the kid is forever someone who needs protection no matter what.

even if grounded in reality, grown children definition would what age? min 22 years assuming upon graduation with a degree?
assuming even having a kid at a tender age of say 28, plus the 22 years for "grown children" will equal "freeing" up the savings for kid only at 50 years old..... lol....
a tad too old to be paying installment for the porsche courtesy of "allowances" to the kiddo.....
hehehehe....

kochin
post Aug 18 2023, 09:13 AM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 13 2023, 12:37 PM)
Sure. If I am not wrong from top of my head, the premium should be around RM17k/year. This is assuming the insurance company follow the projected premium table to the dot. I am not on ILPso higher chances if them following the projected premium to the dot (based off what my agent said - usually for standalone, the projected premium is quite accurate and rarely they increase the premium more than than projected premium, it can happen. But rare).

My medical insurance limit is RM1.37m/year (refresh yearly). No lifetime limit. RM200 room and board, if I were to take up AIA vitality and be healthy, I can get free upgrade to RM400 room and board courtesy of AIA. RM300/admission deductible, 120 days post hospitalisation follow up. Coverage for dialysis and all cancer treatment. No extra increase in premium if diagnosed with extra illness (eg got diabetes, high blood pressure, the premium still stay the same). No not guaranteed renewal clause (means again if I got diabetes, high blood pressure, as long as I pay on time, full and didn't fraud the insurance, they will still cover me provided I continue paying the premium).

Bonus thing from AIA, they upgrade their old customer to new plans once the old plan is obsolete without new medical underwriting and cover all existing illness (what his means is if someone got diabetes or high blood pressure and seek treatment at KK and didn't admit for it - hence didn't claim, AIA will offer them this letter to upgrade to new plan) Selection criteria of old customer to get free upgrade is not known. My speculation is those without illness like diabetes or high blood pressure or heart problem or kidney problem or maybe maybe those that never claim before. I have seen 2-3 such cases myself. No other insurance company offer this hidden feature (it is not written in their website). One was a financial blogger working in Singapore. He is a Malaysian. I think he got diabetes and high blood pressure but he never use his Malaysia insurance. AIA Malaysia offer him full upgrade to new plan which cover any illness. The other 2 were family members who never admitted to hospitals before.
17k/year seems awfully expensive.
one thing i'd learnt from insurances, always do a review once every 3-5 years.
it's way cheaper to continuously buy new plan with all the latest features.
and why are you so against ilp?
my medical yearly limit is rm1.5m. unlimited lifetime limit. 200 room and board.
and from what i'd been told when i purchased my plan, this is a guaranteed scheme until i reach 80 years old rather than the conventional 70 years old.
but my premium is less than a third of yours.
kochin
post Aug 18 2023, 09:16 AM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(johnnyenglish123 @ Aug 16 2023, 05:58 PM)
Hi Sir,

I am actually kinda down but maybe thats because the environment that i am currently in. To a point I will visualize what would it be like if i take a fruit knife and stab on my chest to end this kinda feeling and all. But my gf lectured me, and I cant imagine how will she feel if i really do such thing.. Its like my heart wants me to pull a knife on myself, but my head was like thinking about my gf's feeling sad.gif

Currently our rent is RM 900 for a room. Thought of a condo, but condo in PJ (PJ is because of accessibility for work and convenience) seems like supply>demand, hence at 700-800k for a small unit in PJ seems kinda expensive.. Thought of waiting it to drop to like 500k if it happens haha
you seem to be suffering from depression. best to consult doctor for mental well-being.
there are plenty of much cheaper and decent accomodation in pj at even half your quoted price.
journey of a thousand mile begins with the first step.
there's no short cut to success and although the journey could be tough at times, please do take a moment to enjoy the full journey both good and bad times.
kochin
post Dec 12 2023, 09:38 AM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Dec 11 2023, 10:21 PM)
Nearly end of 2023, let me add to this topic for posterity.

Martial status: Single n available 😎 (Divorced with 1 kid)

Financial.Assets (MYR value)
Emergency Fund (ASB n Flexi) = 220k
DIY portfolio (stocks, bonds, etf, funds) = 1.3M
KWSP = 2.4M
PRS = 60k

Real Estate (est market value)
House 1 = 950k (own stay)
House 2 = 800k (parent stay, no rent)
Land = 300k

Liabilities
Housing loans = 380k
No other loans
Son already at uni n his funding separately provided for
given your current status, you can definitely FIRE.
so may i ask what is motivating you to continue working?
I take it that life at the bank is tolerable hence your continuity to work?
kochin
post Dec 12 2023, 10:49 AM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

at 2.4M EPF, even at a consistent 5% dividend, it will still be a cool tax free RM10k per month "salary".
can even cover the mortgage and still have a very decent lifestyle.

my dream!
kochin
post Dec 14 2023, 04:52 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(cooldog_777 @ Dec 14 2023, 04:07 PM)
All bros here seem doing well. I felt being so useless after reading all bros background
While me.
Marital Status: married with 2 kids
Asset(s):

House 1 (2 stories semi D)-
No Outstanding. Own stay
House 2 (new condo, just 5 years old only)-
No Outstanding. Holiday home
House 3 (2 stories terrance)-
No Outstanding. Convert to become own office, other half rented out
House 4 (1 stories terrance)-
No Outstanding. Rented out
House 5 (1 stories terrance)-
No Outstanding. Rented out
Car (Japanese car)-
Market Value: RM 20k no Outstanding Loan
Car (Japanese car)-
Market Value: RM 70k no Outstanding Loan

Liability (ies):
Study loan. Tak ada

Insurance:
Life: RM3600 /year

Investment:
FD: RM1m
Gold Bar: undisclosed amount of physical and digital
EPF: 360k

Cash in hand now
RM700.00

am i doing ok?
your fully paid up 5 properties already tapau most forummers liao lor.
somemore with a cool 7 digit FD.

win liao lor
kochin
post Sep 2 2024, 04:08 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Sep 2 2024, 02:30 PM)
There's a lot of things that I feel people are penny-wise, pound foolish. A car is one of them. Is it a liability, financial wise? Yes.

But given the average person would spend 1-2hrs a day travelling on car, which is around one month of the year in total just sitting in a car, in a jam, driving mindlessly to work, to travel, etc.. So, why wouldn't you want to be comfortable and happy with that otherwise miserable experience?

What I do agree on, is there is a diminishing return on money spent on cars. Safety wise, some of our local cars are almost on par with the conti's, we can also look to ANCAP rating as a guide on what they have and don't. The rest are more towards comfort level, noise level etc but I genuinely doubt a BMW is 3x better than say X70, even though thats the price diffentiation.

Secondly, 60% of road fatalities are motorcyclist, so I'd always say even a Kancil is better than a 2 wheeler to increase your survival chances in accident. Another two big contributors to accidents are drunk driving and that only 48 per cent of Malaysians were recorded to have worn their seatbelts. All these are totally preventable and it doesn't matter what car one drives.

Another thing is mattress / pillows. We spend 6-8hours daily sleeping, but don't want to spend money on a good mattress, rather change the cheapo one every year or two when it kemek and your backpain. A good mattress last you 15-20 years, and prevent you from body aches or bad sleep. Penny wise, pound foolish.

Last one is having comfort in spending on enriching experiences. Keep all the money to retire and do what if your body and mind can't enable you to experience things you should have done when you are younger like trying out new food, new places, meet new people, play new sport, etc etc
well said.
i "invest" in good furnitures and fittings and matress. it requires less maintenance and last longer.

i used to drive x70 too and absolutely loved it.

but to each their own. once you have ascertain stage of wealth, live a little. indulge in your favourite spend. key takeaway is money is meant to be spent to be realised. if not, it's just a paper tool. if one were to pass away unexpectedly, the wealth accumulated is also pretty meaningless to the saver but only to the next of kin or receipient of the deceased wealth.
kochin
post Nov 4 2024, 02:12 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Oct 30 2024, 03:57 PM)
That would be the right way forward. But that would make madani super unpopular cos humans are funny.

It's OK to remove benefit of others, as long as my benefit is not touched. That's the thinking of B40 and M40 and majority of people.

There's a easier method. Remove and tax petrol to say 4rm.
Every person with income tax files get 100rm per month. Simple rite? 10 million tax payers means 1 billion RM per month only, which can be covered by subsidies removal.
actually who uses petrol subsidy the most?
the T or the M & B?
let's not forget e-hailing options too. indirectly they use subsidise fuel for biz.

removing full and all subsidy is the best method and giving back directly to the people in the category.

kochin
post Oct 9 2025, 02:10 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Oct 8 2025, 11:15 PM)
Ah ok… yeah, the numbers you mentioned do tally with what I believe to be the current ballpark.
Back to the EPF stats... just thinking out loud here, for discussion’s sake.

We know roughly 1% (around 90K) of active members have over RM1 million in their accounts, out of about 9 million active members.

Let’s sanity-check that using Maybank as an example.
It has around 25K staff in Malaysia. Let’s see how many might realistically break the RM1 million mark:

- 1 CEO
- up to 20 C-suite
- Each C-suite can have up to 10 HODs  :  ~200
- Each HOD might have 1 to 3 top performers  :  ~200 to 600
- Maybe 40 or so branch managers with high pay

That’s roughly between 500–900 people (and frankly this is most probably an overcount).
(900 x 360K avg annual salary = 324m already)

If these are mostly people in their 40s-50s with long tenures and steady EPF contributions, they’d likely have more than 1m in EPF.

So 700 out of 25,000 = ~2.8%.
EPF’s figure says 1%. Not wildly far off...  especially considering Maybank is a large, high-paying corporate with its top earners concentrated in KL (at least vs other industries, SMEs, factories, smaller firms, outside of Klang valley, etc)
If anything, that reinforces how skewed the national average is... maybank is a better paymaster already, and even there, only 3%... 
what do you have in mind when it comes to % of EPF millionaires vs the current 1% by epf stats?
thanks for this detailed breakdown.
i was about to do some similar assumptions to test the numbers but you did a solid job. and i can see you were clearly pretty generous with your assumptions to derive to the 2.8%

many people do not realise that maybank (which is an excellent reference) is not the normal company among all the companies out there. if we take 100% of small, medium and large companies combined as benchmark of 100%, am sure maybank again falls within only like the 5% bracket of companies. the other 95% are likely not able to reward staff at such remuneration with only a handful that best them.

https://data.gov.my/dashboard/income-taxation
refer to this.
only RM33.8bil collested from income tax from slightly over 4 mil people paying. that's only approx RM8k/person average.

https://theedgemalaysia.com/article/cover-s...number-proposed
only 9k people earning above rm1mil

This post has been edited by kochin: Oct 9 2025, 02:13 PM
kochin
post Oct 9 2025, 05:09 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(gamenoob @ Oct 9 2025, 04:34 PM)
My earlier comments not about absolute high pay numbers but rather even earning at 4k from 25 yrs old at 5% EPF annual dividends for 35 years with 4% annual increments will still have 1.95M at 60.

Hence we all don't believe the EPF low millionaires stat.

As some of you have confirmed seeing pay from 20-50k per month and they are many earn more than that.
i think a lot of people drop out from being a full time employee along the way hence the account unable to reach millionaire status.

0.0372sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:35 PM