How much is your net worth?, gauging your financial performance.

Rinth
post Mar 31 2022, 11:34 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(kakaroto1368 @ Mar 30 2022, 04:04 PM)
Am thinking to sell One of the property with MV around 250-280k (purchased few years back)
1) it is a leasehold unit completed back in 2000s.
2) quite frust with the maintainance required thru out the years.
3) have steady tenant tru out the years and the rental can cover 90% of the installment. So got to bear the rest and maintenance fee.

Afterall if liquidated i do not know what to do with the cash.
Couldnt make a decisive punch for the property above.

Hope to get some advice from sifus here.
read back your comments, seems that half of your net worth was from windfall, interesting.

If i were you, assuming not investing in crypto/high risk high return:-

1) Cash/equivalent = RM 1mil, consider pumping the funds to EPF RM 60k/ year, remaining on Blue chips stock with dividend yield.
2) get a salary job that can cover your current expenses.
3) you mentioned that you dun have any loan, but above you mentioned got installment confused.gif .Anyway, if there is rental income, supposed you can maintain it as steady cash flows are more important now, unless selling the property and invest in bluechips stock that dividend yield is higher then your rental return.
Rinth
post Jul 26 2023, 10:14 AM

1,263 posts

I'll make a record here and see in few years time how much can changed.

Income Combined : RM 19k nett
Rental income from house 1 : RM 2.3k

Assets :

House 1 MV : RM 600k
House 2 MV : RM 730k (Undercon)
Cash in flexi loan : RM 80k
Stock : RM 20k
EPF (Combined) RM 600k++

Liabilities

Mortgage 1 : RM 480k (RM 560k if remove cash in flexi) (Installment RM 2.8k)
Mortgage 2 : RM 550k (Currently disbursed RM 330k) VP 2024 (Installment RM 2.5k)
Car loan : RM 8k

Net Asset : RM 912k++

Monthly expenses :

RM 3k to parents
RM 3k for kids kindergarden & Nanny
RM 2.8k for mortgage 1
RM 1.2k for mortgage 2 (serve interest)
RM 1k for car loan
RM 1k for insurance whole family
RM 1k for kids expenses (Diapers milk etc)
RM 4k for food,entertainment & misc

Nett cashflow : RM 4.3k

1) Currently staying with wife parents, planning to buy 3rd house since kids are growing up, maybe purchase undercon landed in year 2024 and VP 2027

2) Wife using parent's car, so might need to buy new car when moving out.

3) House 2 is investment house, will rent out, maybe cover installment but not maintenance fee.

Long-term target : By 60 yo EPF RM 5mil. My plan is just live using EPF interest @ 5% pa when we retire, or maybe extra 1 % from principal, not going to keep all my EPF money to childrens rclxm9.gif

Short-term target : RM 1mil in EPF respectively, enough saving for kids education in 13 years time.

Big changes in monthly expenses when purchasing new house & car in few years time, hopefully by then income goes higher abit to cover nod.gif

Rinth
post Jul 26 2023, 12:30 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jul 26 2023, 10:31 AM)
Impressive!  Congrats!  thumbup.gif
still got long way to go.. rclxub.gif
Rinth
post Aug 1 2023, 10:27 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 1 2023, 09:08 AM)
I've read through most of the replies in this thread and I'm impressed by the civilised, measured and mature responses. I'm encouraged to share my own story - and perhaps I'll look back in a decade and reminisce where I was, and compare and contrast to where I find myself then. Here's my own journey:

Occupation: Consultant Specialist Physician in private practice
Status: semi-retired (I spend 6 months in Singapore working, another 6 in Sydney to relax)
Income from work: variable, as I run my own practice

Assets:

1. Fully paid Properties in Singapore, Australia and New Zealand

2. Multiple Investment Grade bonds in Singapore and Australia – average returns 5% per annum

3. Multiple Structured deposits in AUD (higher interest, tax free as jurisdiction of issuance is in Singapore) – average returns 4% per annum

4. Insurance annuities (combined) SGD2,000,000 - payout will be SGD10,000 per person, per month upon reaching 65y of age
CPF savings (combined) SGD1,500,000 – Ordinary account returns 2.5%, Special account 4% - payout will be between SGD3,000 to SGD3,500 per person, per month upon reaching 65y of age, but I can withdraw the excess (leaving just the "enhanced retirement sum" behind in the retirement account) - so potentially, I can withdraw a combined total of SGD900,000 upon reaching 55y old

5. Legacy ‘Life insurance’ plans SGD1,000,000

6. Fixed deposits of SGD, AUD, NZD, RM, £ and HKD – average returns between 3 – 4% per annum

7. Savings/current accounts in SGD, AUD, NZD, RM, USD – average interest is 2% per annum (this is my ‘war chest’ where the income & returns go, to be reinvested. It’s a holding account & also acts as my emergency fund)

8. Cash in hand values of SGD99,000, USD10,000, £2,000, HKD100,000, ¥3,000,000, RM3,000, AUD2,000 and NZD1,000

9. Passive income of which the vast majority of which is reinvested

10. Inheritance from parents: dollar value 0, but they invested heavily in my education while they were still alive, and my mother saw to it that my education was her priority. The value of that early investment: priceless

Liabilities:

2 vehicles in Singapore, loan-free: the Macan cost me SGD380,000 & her S450L was SGD608,888 when new

2 vehicles in Sydney, paid for in cash: the Cayenne cost me AUD180,000 and the 911 Carrera GTS was nearly AUD400,000

Usual monthly outgoings around SGD25,000 (Fine Dining, travels, discretionary spending etc)

Income, rental and property taxes in Singapore and Australia and property & rental taxes in New Zealand.
Superb achievements! you should semi-retire even earlier to enjoy life with wife, especially iirc you do not have any children.

what are your legacy plans in future? donate all your assets to charity?

Rinth
post Aug 1 2023, 10:35 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Aug 1 2023, 10:28 AM)
Ok. So 25k covers everything. Now that makes sense. And your interest basically covers all 25k I assume.

Which is your fav Michelin restaurant?  Flying business class everytime you fly?
iirc uncle monthly passive income around SGD 100k +-. they have alot excess...the 25k is peanuts drool.gif
Rinth
post Aug 3 2023, 05:42 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(flying_manatee @ Aug 3 2023, 04:51 PM)
Job: Tech
Salary: 22k

EPF: 530k
Overseas Shares: 200k
Crypto: 40k
House: Market value around 400-500k now, around 150k loan to pay off

I didn't manage to save up a lot sadly due to having to help out my family over the past years. Hopefully I can build up some more savings soon (not married yet)

If you count inheritance:
1st prop: 500k (1k+ rental)
2nd prop: 150k (600 rental)
3rd prop: not sure of value (600 rental as car park)
Around 400+ k in shares

I hate relying on the inheritance though. Feels like not something I earned.
whatever amount you paid to help out your family, considered contra it of with the inheritance. Then you can love the inheritance edi lol.

Try to save/invest more before marry and have kids, with kids around they'll really depletes your saving very fast lol
Rinth
post Aug 4 2023, 09:43 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Aug 4 2023, 06:08 AM)
I also inherited quite a substantial amount - more than what i earned in my career. One property in Sydney and one in Bangsar Baru.

I went over to Sydney in 1981 and my parents had a 2-bedroom unit at Clovelly Rd, Sydney which i inherited very late. I had to pay my parents rent (they were living in KL) when i started to come out to work at the Sydney Uni (just some token rent).

I am the youngest in a family of 8 (half family siblings in Sydney) but because i was the youngest, i was given the bulk of inheritance because i have been very generous with helping out (my wife absolutely hates me giving money to my family but somehow i got rewarded at the end). Now i am helping out my spinster sister (74 years old living in the Bangsar house which i inherited). Some of my siblings are not happy i got so much while some got nothing (they were very selfish and olny want to help their own children).

Sometimes i tell my wife why i have been quite lucky in life (is it because i am lucky or is it because i got good karma). My wife has always not got on with my family so this makes my life very difficult but i have already 61 and i am so glad i don't have kids otherwise i would probably have killed myself as my marriage had not been smooth sailing.

Didn't want to post this info about myself but after reading so many 'interesting posts' here thought i like to share. My life is nothing to brag about (already 61 and can't see very well due to glaucoma) but i just want to say that sometimes inheritance falls into our hand due to the good deeds we have done earlier in our lives.
Sharing is caring.. Glad you share your story to us. Everyone have their own story and whether its good or bad, as long we are clear conscience then considered a good life..

Stories in this forum can be "interesting", man made for story telling or from real life story, but most important thing is we set ourselves our goal or target for our financial position. If not we'll alway be part of the rat race forever.

Since you're reached retirement age, just enjoy your life if your financial permitted (which i believe you can).
Rinth
post Aug 18 2023, 10:27 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 18 2023, 10:17 AM)
A good agent will tell you expect zero returns from ILP. I got a shocked when I heard zero but then it make perfect sense. 2-3 agents also told me the same thing even those not commission based.
is it because the funds inside keep rolling to pay the premium when we stop paying the ILP at certain age example 70 years old?

sorry i'm insurance nerd too...actually i also prefer standalone plan which premium much lower then ILP with same coverage but my surrounding agent all only push for ILP plan..... for me insurance is pure insurance, i dun hope to get money back from it....
Rinth
post Aug 18 2023, 11:11 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 18 2023, 10:51 AM)
Even if you pay your premium until the end of your insurance, you will get zero back.
Reason is medical insurance cost > returns generated. When medical insurance cost more than premium paid, they will minus from your investment part to keep the premium "constant". There will come a time when say your medical insurance cost say RM15k, you are only paying RM3k in premium and your investment only generate say RM1k. so they will minus RM11k from your investment. Keep doing that and eventually your investment pot becomes zero. That's when if you don't agreed to the increase in premium, the insurance will lapse as you are only paying RM3k and say cost is RM18k.

Of course they push for ILP. A sustainable ILP until age of 70-80+ require premium of RM3600-4000/year for someone 30 years old. Standalone only cost say RM1300. Eg both earns the agent 40% in premium, which plan will generate more money into agent bank account? Obviously the ILP with premium of RM3600-4000 Vs the standalone one right?

Premium will be low for standalone but eventually it will increase with age. Cannot run away. Plan for it. Allocate enough money for it. That's what I am doing. That is why I said I am able to pay my 80 years old premium with my passive income today.

If one does not know how to invest, just dump into EPF. EPF will beat majority of the ILP funds. Alternatively if want higher returns just get a S&P500 etf from UK.
yea this is exactly what in my mind..i'm currently paying around 4k/year for my life insurance 250k + critical illness 250k (bought around 5 years edi), my medical card RM 3k/year for current standard market(bought more than 10 years and upgraded few years ago), RM 1mil per year unlimited whole life etc etc....

Agent was telling that we just need to pay to 60/70 yo, after that it'll roll itself, which i always doubt the funds is sufficient.

Good thing is so far they did up my premium, most likely because i'm still young (33yo this year).

Maybe its time i look for standalone and compare the price now...
Rinth
post Dec 15 2023, 02:28 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(bogletails @ Dec 15 2023, 12:47 PM)
Just sharing my portfolio

Salary: 67k + allowance 12k + incentive/bonus 41k

Asset
Cash: 3k
FD: 30.5k
ETF: 117k
ASM: 22k
Total liquid asset: 172k

EPF: 32k
PRS: 2.5k
Total asset with epf: 207k

Liabilities
Car loan: 42k left
Ptptn: 26k left

I know I'm doing slightly above average, but seeing many here business owner with millions , it really makes me think business is the only way to wealth. Drawing salary and invest in etf is way too slow.
67K per month? slightly above average? EPF 32k?
Rinth
post Apr 22 2024, 11:23 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(Haloperidol @ Apr 22 2024, 08:32 AM)
=================================
New chapter of my life.
Typed @ 22.4.2024.

Career wise :
#ExitKKM

Regardless of the so called "iron rice bowl" given by the government, i decided to resign due to shitty pay, idiotic bureaucracy, toxic environment.
Letter written to Head Of Department after CNY - resignation letter done and enforced on March 22 2024
Joined a private team on the same month itself.

Previously, KKM salary is quoted approximate MYR 16 to MYR 18 per hour (Base salary + Oncall claims ) ---
You can say now i work less hours, and earn much better bucks - now i'm eligible for certain Visa Infinite credit card now.
(previously slavery at KKM can't even entitled for Visa Signature LOL)

Single

Assets :
ASM FP : 204k FP - done, will let itself roll .
Stock : 41k --- still at minimal loss, small cap is shit, surprisingly banks and TENAGA make good runs.
KWSP : 77k
High-liquidity MMF : approximate 70k
PRS : 6k - just to avoid paying MAHALDANI tax LOL

Target 1 (ASM) - completed , exceed target by 100% - done and dusted.

Target 2 (first property for investment) - scouted, reason for the high liquidity MMF is to prepare the 10% deposit for the housing, estimated completion time 2028, pending S&P signature.

Target 3 (stock) : fuck Bursa, scouting SGX for S-reit and SGD priced securities.
=====
Dooddads
same old Myvi, same old phone, same old Laptop

but i think i gonna do some upgrade on my phone and lappie coz ... it's time. My phone recieved notification that Rize will stop support my phone soon (they gonna support Android 11+ only LMAO)
Curious, previously you opt for pencen or KWSP? if is pencen then what are the benefit you gonna received upon your resignation? if is KWSP then you got your KWSP $$ but pencen how? got lumsum payout?
Rinth
post Apr 22 2024, 04:47 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Apr 22 2024, 04:36 PM)
some people never think of the home loan interest they paid over 30+ years hahahaha
Interest paid by rental $$. if can cover the whole installment means house also paid by rental...I only pay other $$ such as quit rent,management fee etc....its a good deal to me....

how bout the hassle to handle tenant? you can engage 3rd party to handle everything A to Z, but need pay for certain fees...so this is depends on the investor preference.

if i dun buy the property, no rental, then no fully paid property after 30 years, equities = 0

if i buy the property, got rental, after 30 years fully paid, equities = Property market values 30 years later.

Sell the property 30 years later, you got cash, or continue collect rent.... be it in MYR, rather then equities = 0

Rinth
post Apr 22 2024, 05:11 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(jyll92 @ Apr 22 2024, 04:46 PM)
actually no having owning both asset class. owning hard asset like property have a lot of hidden cost and in a way its not passive. u need to work renovation, find future tenant, lawyers, etc. The reward? its so small and high chance u will lose money. U are taking up a lot of risk.

Stock dividend i can literally sleep and take it. the real definition of passive cashflow
Maybank stock, 10 years history,

average dividend yield = 6%

Maybank price 2014 , RM 9.80 vs 2024 (Now) RM 9.75 = 0% appreciation

if i got RM 50k downpayment to purchase properties(worth RM 500k, loan 450k 3.9% interest) vs buy maybank stock , rental cover installment = Yield 4.7%.

Property price RM 500k (0% appreciation, balance loan RM 367k , Equities = RM 133k) vs Maybank Stock + dividend 6% CAGR 10 years = RM 84k

so conclusion, property with 4.7% yield Equities build RM 133k > maybank stock 6% yield Equities RM 84k.....

Ok next question is can the property price sell at 500k? how bout other cost quit rent insurance chase tenant payment etc etc...... if RM 133k vs RM 84k, i will rather busy chasing tenant and make payment for quit rent insrance etc etc...

About sleep and take it, how many ppl really buy stock and ignore it for 5 10 15 20 25 30 years? yes if u buy bluechips banking stock maybe can...other stock how? buy and close eyes i dapao u bleed till dead....

This post has been edited by Rinth: Apr 22 2024, 05:51 PM
Rinth
post Apr 22 2024, 05:25 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 22 2024, 05:18 PM)
Er. Not everyone that lucky. I got one friend for 3 property, telling me she is net negative. Tenant rent cannot even cover the loan payment. She needs to fork out own money.
Some stocks can close eye. Just keep an eye on their earnings. I am talking overseas stocks Vs Malaysia based.
Same rules mah......not everyone that lucky with stock.....i myself burned close to 6 digit liao....can downpayment 2 Rm500k properties liao..... choose wrong stock = choose wrong properties....

Indeed if talk about overseas, i no comment lah.....not that i dun agree on investing overseas, but i rather close eye investing in properties than investing and earn more in overseas stock.... I need to focus on my daily job.....

i will still invest in stock in future, but really on blue chips dividend stock only.....others growth stock property stock whatsover that not giving decent Dividend i wont touch anymore...

This post has been edited by Rinth: Apr 22 2024, 05:25 PM
Rinth
post Apr 22 2024, 05:37 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Apr 22 2024, 05:28 PM)
why don't you compare your own property to give a better example against bluechip stocks at the same time.

S&P Agreement date = price stocks of MBB
Yep, notice or not the RM 500k property market value and the 10% RM 50k illustration....i'm not talking about those rebates markup nonsense. I'm illustrating using real market price & paying 10% RM 50k..

My own properties i also use nett price, i dun look at SPA price. The same property illustrated above can be SPA price 700k but i still treat it as selling at market value 500k mah...

Rinth
post Apr 22 2024, 05:43 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(jyll92 @ Apr 22 2024, 05:28 PM)
I used your 4.7% yield as an example it translate to RM28.2K/year Not sure how u get 133k. Your Loan will be approximately 25.2k (im using average loan 4.25% based on 450k). Maintenance? Cukai Tanah? Cukai Pintu? Renovation? Your cashflow is 3k/Year and u havent deduct so many things. and u already paid up up front capital of 50k.

Lets use maybank as example. I take a business loan at 4.25% for 35 years. Yield 6% 0 upfront capital. 500k x 0.06% = 30k. 30K-25.2K = 4.8K nett free cash flow i dont have to do anything. Over time the difference will compound.

The trick to growing wealth is having free cash flow and reinvest it overtime it will compound. Yes your property will increase in price but you are likely suffering from negative cashflow over time. Factor in periods where there are no tenants, damaged item, cukai, renovation, etc many more. Is the risk justifiable?
sorry i used 3.9% interest lol i cheated...nah i typo not 4% haha..

property price remain 500k 10 years later loan balance RM 367k, hence RM 133k

about business loan, where your collateral? what is the opportunity cost for the collateral? if pure business loan interest rate BLR +% effective 7-8% hor...
Rinth
post Apr 22 2024, 05:46 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Apr 22 2024, 05:28 PM)
why don't you compare your own property to give a better example against bluechip stocks at the same time.

S&P Agreement date = price stocks of MBB

how can 4.7% yield beats 6% yield ? ???  rclxub.gif  shocking.gif
Because u borrow banks 90% money mah...bigger quantum.... rclxub.gif

Rinth
post Apr 22 2024, 05:59 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(jyll92 @ Apr 22 2024, 05:57 PM)
My stock portfolio is my collateral and I have property.
wtf u play more cheat then me.....

i take your stock portfolio and borrow more to buy more property lo like this =.=......

Serious note is your business loan 500k 4.25% calculation doesnt work because u shud use 7-8% to calculate........
Rinth
post Apr 22 2024, 06:03 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Apr 22 2024, 06:00 PM)
everyone has their own investment philosophy... not right nor wrong. but it's good to have healthy debate on it.
for newbies to evaluate
true indeed...why this discussion started because u play down properties investing....so i have to use figures to stand it up....

I'm not saying properties >Stock, but i just felt that equal & fair scenario need to be illustrated for comparison purpose....
Rinth
post Apr 22 2024, 06:08 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(jyll92 @ Apr 22 2024, 06:02 PM)
I actually have long term loan at 4% I won't share u in detail. What I can say if you are bankable u have a lot of competitive edge. And this is just one I have credit line in my trading account
ya you biting your own words... Bank wont simply loan out their money but they can loan to you 4% without collateral....You must be VVIP.

Anyway no point to further discuss when you're not using equal level illustration for scenarios...

0.0271sec    0.86    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 02:44 PM