14 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

HTC Hero

LEVIATHAN
post Sep 19 2009, 05:06 PM

Master Chief Carl M. Brashear
2,281 posts

Regarding warranty, you may want to ask SIS directly. The phone no is 03-5569 8878 :-)

About the map, Idk for sure as I personally don't fancy using GPS. Google Maps is good enough for me, and don't see myself installing any of those heavy weight GPS software :-)
LEVIATHAN
post Sep 20 2009, 06:59 AM

2,281 posts

Yes sir ah ha sir! I flashed my 2-year SIS warranty Hero with

update-hero-generic-2.73.405.5-signed

The update is available from xda :-)

I don't think I can stand with SlideME SAM for two years. Market is too awesome to miss.

This post has been edited by LEVIATHAN: Sep 20 2009, 07:25 AM
LEVIATHAN
post Sep 20 2009, 09:18 AM

2,281 posts

I'd like to retract my previous statement regarding syncing contacts' groups. I previously said that syncing using HTC Sync won't import contacts' groups, which is turned to be false.

HTC Sync (using MS Outlook) DO syncs contacts' groups.
LEVIATHAN
post Sep 20 2009, 04:44 PM

2,281 posts

cody1508,

You can use OI File Manager for the time being :-) The apk is here.

Latest flashrec is here.

This post has been edited by LEVIATHAN: Sep 20 2009, 04:47 PM
LEVIATHAN
post Sep 21 2009, 07:17 AM

2,281 posts

I can SMS with tip of my fingers. No problem :-)

This post has been edited by LEVIATHAN: Sep 21 2009, 07:17 AM
LEVIATHAN
post Sep 21 2009, 08:08 AM

2,281 posts

Oh that you must practice mah :-)

I 1st time SMS all wrong all typo. Got auto correction then double problem. Must practice 1st. Then only your SMS skill will get better :-)

Even iPhone like that one. Except of course iPhone's keyboard is a bit bigger than Hero.
LEVIATHAN
post Sep 21 2009, 09:34 PM

2,281 posts

The stringfellow himself hath spoken :-)
LEVIATHAN
post Sep 22 2009, 09:13 PM

2,281 posts

Yep. You need to setup the APN manually once you flash your Hero with WWE ROM. For Maxis user, checkout the link provided above :-)

If you want to access paid apps, use Market Enabler. But maek sure you have root access, else it won't work.
LEVIATHAN
post Sep 23 2009, 01:01 AM

2,281 posts

Well, how to disable Market auto download? I downloaded several apps, and decided not to use them anymore.

However, the apps will download themselves automatically after I wipe my Hero. How to stop them/disable that?
LEVIATHAN
post Sep 23 2009, 12:35 PM

2,281 posts

I wipe because I have this Window's anal of reformating after do some mess (install, uninstall stuff, mod this and that) Haha.

Yar I think Market will auto-redownload recently installed apps. For that I think I shouldn't download apps before I do wipe.

I don't think it's 24 hrs though. In my case it's much more shorter than 1 day. And I think Market wil redownload up to certain no of apps only.
LEVIATHAN
post Sep 23 2009, 07:39 PM

2,281 posts

Root access is admin privilege. You have full control of your system.

This post has been edited by LEVIATHAN: Sep 23 2009, 07:41 PM
LEVIATHAN
post Sep 24 2009, 06:03 AM

2,281 posts

Beautiful Hero :-)

Mine is so ugly with plastic wrapping :-(
LEVIATHAN
post Sep 24 2009, 10:55 AM

2,281 posts

I am not :-)

I use GLAD food wrap to temporarily protect my Hero. New phone indeed makes me nervous lol.

I wrap, unwrap and re-wrap on daily basis. Idk the effect of plastic wrapping on the phone. I think there is nothing to worry about. I can hear the rings and everything. Ok lah I guess. Only when recharge the battery then I need to open a bit to plug the charger.

Finger operations are ok too. Touch screen registers my commands well enough.

But yeah my Hero is gawd damn ugly with the wrapping.
LEVIATHAN
post Sep 24 2009, 01:57 PM

2,281 posts

I personally never like white, especially on things I fondle a lot.

I read from various sources, stating that white Hero picked color marking from it's casing. You slide into red casing, you get red marks on your Hero. If your casing is green, you get green on your Hero.

On the other note, I found out that every time I want to add contact, Hero will automatically direct the input to number box first, instead of name. I think that's a nice touch especially when you are in hurry, as the number is more important than the name.

Edit:

vexus, you want 16GB free of charge ah? 16GB is too much la to ask for free.

lek_e30, local for the time being only two colors. White and brown. Oversea you can get pink also if I'm not mistaken.

This post has been edited by LEVIATHAN: Sep 24 2009, 02:00 PM
LEVIATHAN
post Sep 24 2009, 02:42 PM

2,281 posts

Good for you :-) Later don't forget to come here. We can always share anything regarding Hero :-)

Edit: And where is TS ha? He posted once, and never some back ah?

Anyway, I'd like to share a step-by-step guide flashing Hero (especially local set with no Market), taken from xda.

OK. I specifically picked this.

1. Install OI File Manager.

2. Put the flashrec into your sdcard.

3. Put this ROM into you sdcard. You may want to rename it to update.zip before you transfer it to sdcard.

4. Put this recovery image into your sdcard.

5. With the file manager, browse your sdcard and install flashrec.

6. If you haven't done it, rename update-hero-generic-2.73.405.5-rooted-signed.zip to update.zip with the file manager.

7. Open flashrec, click backup (the last button of the program). Wait.

8. At the box, type sdcard/Recovery-RA-HERO-v1.2.2.img, then click the button just below the box. Wait.

9. Now you flashed your Hero with recovery image. Turn off your Hero.

10. Hold POWER and HOME simultaneously. You will enter Android system recovery.

11. Choose Wipe data/factory reset. I ASSUME YOU ALREADY MADE YOUR BACKUP. Else, choose Reboot system now and do your backup.

12. After wipe, choose Apply sdcard:update.zip. Wait.

13. Choose Reboot system now.

14. Smile as your Hero is rooted. Watch it boots and gives you the Market :-)

This post has been edited by LEVIATHAN: Sep 24 2009, 02:51 PM
LEVIATHAN
post Sep 24 2009, 03:13 PM

2,281 posts

Hoho you miss THOUSANDS if you run Hero with no Market.
LEVIATHAN
post Sep 24 2009, 04:05 PM

2,281 posts

Haha please no. Last time I was the replacement TS for W610i thread, also a TO from an idle TS. Then the thread go unmaintained :-(

I support a new, active TS and I am more than happy to contribute and to help TS as practical as I can :-)

Edit: I emailed SIS last week asking about the status of the warranty when flashing the Hero with another ROM. The e-mail is still unanswered. Or is there any fine print pertaining this matter somewhere?

This post has been edited by LEVIATHAN: Sep 24 2009, 04:09 PM
LEVIATHAN
post Sep 24 2009, 04:43 PM

2,281 posts

Ok so I called them (damn hard to connect to the tech dept. And the recorded machine voice also sounds unprofessional lol).

Flashing voids the warranty. Basically that's it lah. Then they talked about SPL (?) and all (I don't know what is SPL or whatnot). They said as long as the SPL is intact, the warranty is there.

In other word, as long as HTC cannot detect any mod (software/hardware) made to the Hero, then the warranty is there.

Jiahaha so basically my Hero has no warranty already. Oh my... How to check this SPL thing ha? I burned the warranty on the 2nd day. Meh then no point I paid RM50 extra for extended warranty XD~

This post has been edited by LEVIATHAN: Sep 24 2009, 04:44 PM
LEVIATHAN
post Sep 24 2009, 04:54 PM

2,281 posts

That's what I told them :-)

I said if I can flash it to any custom ROM, I most probably can also re-flash it to the original ROM. That's why I said, as long as HTC can't detect any mod made, your warranty is good :-) In fact the guy I talked to agreed with me.

Whether this SPL thing can be restored or not, that I don't know yet.

LEVIATHAN
post Sep 24 2009, 07:56 PM

2,281 posts

And what about hardware problem then?

If hardware confirmed faulty but warranty void because I flashed my phone then how?

14 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0431sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 08:26 AM