Bodybuilding Thread V6, Bodybuilding Discussion

TSpizzaboy
post Nov 4 2009, 09:19 AM

9,495 posts

I do pull-ups, barbell rows, snatch grip deadlifts and car pulling for my lats.
TSpizzaboy
post Nov 4 2009, 01:03 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(axymax @ Nov 4 2009, 12:54 PM)
Thanks for the advise.
As for the diet, found it hard to stick to a proper diet since I am in the office from 8am to 6pm.
Then just train harder.
My word of advice, as usual is the typical repeated, over and over mantra of "Do your compound exercises. Follow a solid routine. Eat because you're bound to get hungry"
TSpizzaboy
post Nov 5 2009, 09:27 AM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Nov 5 2009, 12:03 AM)
I don't even know why pizzaboy lives in Melaka. He should stay in KL.
I come to KL almost weekly to meet clients lah.....it's like my second home. Rather a variety of my friends houses are my second homes.
TSpizzaboy
post Nov 5 2009, 02:54 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(shanecross @ Nov 5 2009, 02:25 PM)
I am all against deadlifting facing the mirror. Why?  When  you deadlift facing the mirror, you tend to check how your grip is, you tend to look down, loose tightness etc etc...face away from the mirror.
That's very very subjective. I personally can lift better in front of a mirror because it allows me to analyze my technique at the start position and position myself to use my legs instead of my back. Once I get the feel right, it doesn't really matter anymore, but occasionally I still like to face the mirror to know what I'm doing right or wrong.

Some people hate squatting in front of a mirror. I don't really care (I look downwards anyway, helps my hip drive up better because I'm not too arched and thus killing my drive) However, chances are if your technique is already fine, don't bother using the mirror. The mirror's used among weightlifters because they want to analyze at real-time speed, their technique and its changes at whatever angles.
TSpizzaboy
post Nov 5 2009, 10:19 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(yeah_guyz @ Nov 5 2009, 03:58 PM)
i am confuse.

squat is suppose to look at the point down 6ft from you
deadlift ditto
no?
Try that and see if it kills your hip drive and quad drive. if no go ahead.

QUOTE(kurtkob78 @ Nov 5 2009, 09:41 PM)
guys, deadlift is consider a leg workout or back workout ?
Finger workout.
TSpizzaboy
post Nov 6 2009, 12:16 AM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(de.crystal @ Nov 5 2009, 10:32 PM)
yeah youtube is my teacher now adays
for a simple exercise i will keep watching and different video on same exercise till i master it smile.gif
1 thing I've learned, is you will NEVER. Never. For once, I'll dare to say "NEVER" correct every single technical flaw in a lift via watching videos. There are LOADS of things my coach has taught me previously, which I already thought I knew about. He could nitpick my "presumed" perfect squat so much, from my head angle, hip tilt, hamstring involvement, depth, weaknesses, arm position, ankle angle and even how I "think" when I squat. And mind you, I've been squatting for about 1 1/2 years prior to him teaching me.

And today, after my coach left and me experimenting with a few other systems of training, I have understood very clearly why the Chinese dominated in the Olympic weightlifting stage. Why they have 69KG lifters back squatting 260KG and how their 105KG lifter snatched 205KG (5KG above world record) as well as why so many of their 69KG lifters can deadlift at least 280KG (because they do clean pulls, not deadlifts. Deadlifts will be even higher as it's more posterior chain recruitment instead of quads) The Chinese system is almost flawless. I'm so thankful I learned from him for nearly 2 years. If I can sit and explain to you how the Chinese system works, you'll drown in how complex, yet SIMPLE it is.

Now if Chinese are the 2nd smartest people in the world, and Jewish are smartest, I wonder why Israel lifters will be developing in the near future.
TSpizzaboy
post Nov 8 2009, 08:12 AM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(onimusha_m16 @ Nov 7 2009, 07:25 PM)
pain at join near hips usually cause by deadlifting .. not squatting.. maybe u squat wrongly?
The mechanics of the movement are the same. Or rather very similar. I really don't think that statement is true. Also I started getting hip clicks with repeated squats with mAximal weights. The volume destroyed my hips
TSpizzaboy
post Nov 9 2009, 07:32 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(ken86 @ Nov 9 2009, 02:29 PM)
Wow.. the volume of the workout is insane .. You are gonna be over-reaching soon (over-reaching is not overtraining). Why not start with a basic strength routine like 5x5, starting strength stuffs, or a basic full body routine. 

I know the temptation of gaining MIRROR muscles (too many chest exercises for your core routine ??) and losing fat(from you Bear Complex WOD for METCON), but you can't serve two masters at once plus U've only been to the gym for one month. Take it easy, eat well, rest well, train hard and READ. U will make gains easily (especially beginners just starting out, perfect for growth)

And the technical lifts(power clean, front squat).Contrary to popular beliefs, watching youtube doesn't count and this lifts can';t be mastered with one month of training.
First time I look at his workouts, I instantly thought "Greg Everett" and "Dan Brown" and "Mark Rippetoe" are SO not gonna be happy.
TSpizzaboy
post Nov 10 2009, 02:09 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(ken86 @ Nov 10 2009, 10:04 AM)
HAHAHAHAHA

Dan Brown ? Are u talking bout dan john lol? isn't dan brown = author of da vincci's code

how was the teaching session ? I envy your technical knowledge on olympic lifts !!!
Hehe...whopps...ur right. ... Greg for weightlifting/metcon workouts. Mark Rippetoe cuz someone bitched around his workout method. And Dan John because nobody wants to listen to him and mixed strength with metcon.

I've got some pics in the blog. Go pop over.

Jon said the session was actually good. I felt there were a few things I could've actually taught better. I was too caught up in the way my coach used to teach and he'd always say "Technical perfection trumps the importance of everything else" so I couldn't accept the fact that these guys were actually doing a pretty good job, but still would tighten their arms a bit too much. After that my friend said to me (I brought a few friends) that these fellows are Crossfitters, so you've gotta tone down the emphasis on the technical perfections. So I've revamped the whole teaching scheme and I've prepared another one that's more suited for Crossfitters. Something that emphasizes the triple extension and speed more than extreme technical perfection.

Added on November 10, 2009, 2:10 pm
QUOTE(Hammond Tan @ Nov 10 2009, 01:42 PM)
i'm squatting and deadlifting a little more than my body weight now so i figure maybe it's time to throw in some isolations. chest works are not done eveyday. sometimes i other isolations.
i'll decrease the amount if it is.
I'm squatting 2.3x my bodyweight my dear friend. And I deadlift 2.5x my bodyweight. Even I don't think it's time to throw isolations.

This post has been edited by pizzaboy: Nov 10 2009, 02:23 PM
TSpizzaboy
post Nov 10 2009, 03:24 PM

9,495 posts

I tried this "bear complex"

The Bear Complex WOD

Power clean
Front squat
Push press
Back squat
Push press

I used 150LBS.

I'll tell you one thing. This thing is impossible to use with "respectable" weights once you're done with your workout. By round 5, I was seeing pictures of god whose name is Ronald McDonald. Have fun doing it guys.
TSpizzaboy
post Nov 10 2009, 03:33 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(yeah_guyz @ Nov 10 2009, 03:31 PM)
Lol, 150lbs, that is insane weight for The bear lol

still need to learn how to clean, looks complicated for me to learn
should master how to power shrug 1st?
Just jump.
I'll be murdered by most weightlifters for saying this but that's the easiest way to teach the power clean for most people. Nobody actually understands the triple extension from the ankle on the internet, so jump is a simple cue.
TSpizzaboy
post Nov 10 2009, 09:52 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(yeah_guyz @ Nov 10 2009, 04:16 PM)
damn, there is too much of thing to learn when really get into this

mobility-how it affect the squat form, lower back bla bla bla
soft tissues massage
glute activation
and alot of other thing

i've heard so many case of shoulder injury in this thread, all focus on how to train to be big, how to eat to be big, but hardly pay attention to those thing mention above. hence the injury take place.

http://www.tmuscle.com/free_online_article...youre_not_doing

To be learn checklist
1. more glute activation excercise-Link
2. Power Clean
3. Turkish Get-Up (TGU)- Link
4. various type of squat
5. various type of deadlift
6. mobility and flexibility

Damn, where to find so much of time? sweat.gif
Learn what you need to. Simple lah.....you wanna learn glute activation? Do 2 sets of 20 rep squats with 60% of your 1RM. Then try to deadlift. That's glute and hamstring activation 101.

Wanna learn a power clean? Pay a weightlifter and make him teach it.

Wanna learn a TGU, just do it. It's not as simple, nor as difficult. Just keep doing it, you'll eventually be able to.

Various types of squats and deadlift. DO it. You'll find out.

Mobility and flexibility, the simplest, most obvious methods, work. The complex ones where you have to lie down, twist your arm here and there, chances are....emm...probably not so necessary.
TSpizzaboy
post Nov 10 2009, 10:22 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(John91 @ Nov 10 2009, 10:20 PM)
Hmm, can I use the glute and hamstring activation to make my butt smaller? Its freakinly disproportionate cuz too big already. And anything to make my waist smaller? Not much fat around there but it seriously makes me lose the V taper.
I think glute and hamstring activation, is to enable more use of these muscles. Not the other way around. I know! Build bigger lats.
TSpizzaboy
post Nov 11 2009, 12:46 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(jackwylde @ Nov 11 2009, 12:24 PM)
huhu. gonna resume working out today..
been almost 3 weeks since i got peha injury..

btw, lat activation means??

a-flexing it 
b-feel the pump while workout
c-none of above
d-go goolgle yourself..(did it and still confuse.. sorry)
Flexing it and using it when lifting weights.
The easiest way to find lat activation is doing a snatch grip deadlift and dead hang pullups

TSpizzaboy
post Nov 12 2009, 12:07 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(diablokun @ Nov 12 2009, 11:52 AM)
can we say that pushmore emphasize on crossfit training ?? and their ppl considered as crossfitters ??
yes.
TSpizzaboy
post Nov 13 2009, 01:16 AM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(OMGGED @ Nov 13 2009, 12:52 AM)
hei guys i am planning to buy Tanita UM050 Ultra slim body fat & water & recall mode weighing scale  so that i can constantly measure my body fats percentage at home but i don't know how reliable this tool is...is the result accurate and is it trustable ? thx alot
Go buy it and let us know.
TSpizzaboy
post Nov 14 2009, 12:29 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(che @ Nov 14 2009, 09:09 AM)
How does incorporating BodyPump help in BB? what's your thots?
if you are member of Fitness First, you shld be familiar with BodyPump.

infos on BodyPump
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8mQtex_BDto

http://www.lesmills.com/global/en/members/...ical-class.aspx

basically BodyPump focuses on high reps

my concerns
1) The idea of doing so many x reps of 1 particular exercise at 1 time is overkill
i find i need a min of x weight to activate/ 'feel' the x muscle, however i can't be lifting so many rep of it in the BP class
switch to lighter weight? what is the point then?

and doing half squat at fast tempo and does not feel right to me either

altho i still  think having having muscular endurance is important as a person might be strong, but with low muscular endurance = no a good combi IMO

e.g
liftting 100kg at 3 reps compared with able to lift 50kg for 20 reps
am i making sense? smile.gif

i'll rant abt RPM next,  impact to my legs,  ohh my burning quads smile.gif
1.Sprinters - massive quads
2.Distance - slim legs

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IF1XI55jaqI
it doesn't help bb, not muscularly.
TSpizzaboy
post Nov 16 2009, 12:45 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(pedro @ Nov 16 2009, 11:41 AM)
Man people can be thickheaded sometimes.

If you still insist on minute details,caliper is better.
goood one!
TSpizzaboy
post Nov 16 2009, 09:21 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(zaxxshoxx @ Nov 16 2009, 05:24 PM)
haih.. kena kerja at melaka for a month. any gym to recommend?
hey mlk nice wat!
i live here wei.
TSpizzaboy
post Nov 17 2009, 11:35 AM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(celion @ Nov 17 2009, 11:25 AM)
exhale during execution

this rule applied for all exercise?
Try it.
Very likely not all. Try exhaling when deadlifting. Probably not gonna be too smart.

10 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0269sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:09 PM