6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Bodybuilding Thread V6, Bodybuilding Discussion

yeah_guyz
post Oct 16 2009, 09:07 AM

o2 + co2= coo22 ^_^lll
3,980 posts

QUOTE(shanecross @ Oct 15 2009, 10:18 PM)
Your lower back gets taxed , that shows that you need more back muscle
my body tell me that was not a reason=.=
it was either my abs too weak to reinforce it and rely too much on the back or like below said

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Oct 15 2009, 11:58 PM)
Video tape (from the back, sides, etc) yourself squatting and check the form. I used to squat with the hips senget (not noticable unless someone looks for the senget-ness) to one side. And I can feel the one side of my lower back more sore.

It was because my right side was stronger, so I was leaning to that side.
thanks, great idea, have to grab someone to shoot a video. i think my glute maybe senget too

QUOTE(Florian @ Oct 16 2009, 01:58 AM)
Yum, grilled fish I suppose? You cooked it yourself?
haha, that was a chicken. with black pepper and garlic powder
alot of people thought it was a fish...haha
just throw into oven, and it was done at 12min

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Oct 16 2009, 02:42 AM)
Heh heh, now you know leh?
It is because when using the machine, all you had to do was push. No matter how or which direction, just push. So it's easy-peasy.
For the bench press, you had to balance the bar. It takes lots of other small muscle groups to balance the bar. So it is tough work, compared to just pushing blindly.
[ I would ask you to stop using any machines because I personally feel they are only some what useful for physiotherapy. But this is merely my personal opinion. And I would suggest that you follow the Stronglift 5x5 programme, since now you're just bumming around the gym trying this and that. ]

(Oh, that long 7 foot Olympic bar should be 20kg. Unless you're using some other shorter/smaller bar.)

No idea what the heck you are trying to achieve by doing 30 times. You doing a bench press marathon?
already ask him to read the stronglift, no idea why he still doing bicep endless time.
dude, more doesnt mean better.
yeah_guyz
post Oct 16 2009, 10:36 AM

o2 + co2= coo22 ^_^lll
3,980 posts

QUOTE(strinq @ Oct 16 2009, 09:18 AM)
Just started last wed to do the stronglift 5x5.
Yesterday was aching all over after Workout A lol.
That also just managed to do 3 1/2 out of 5 exercises.
Hmmm, so using a barbell is better than using the machine...only problem is that the uni gym is full of people using literally everything all the time...darn...so i just resorted to using the machine. (everybody wants the barbell)...

Also used dumbbells for the squats (just to try out for now). two on each side. Is it much less effective or is it an ok replacement for the barbell?
I foresee problems in using equipment in the near future...sigh...
dumbell can never substitute barbell in squat.
can you holding more than 50pound db bothside to do squat?
and the range of motion is totally different.
yeah_guyz
post Oct 16 2009, 11:18 AM

o2 + co2= coo22 ^_^lll
3,980 posts

QUOTE(strinq @ Oct 16 2009, 11:08 AM)
yeah realised that when was doing it.
i think i wanna go get my own barbell then.
Then I can actually do almost everything in my own room.
Any recommendations? Was looking at the tesco/giant/carrefour barbells. Good enough?

- darn except for the bench presses and inverse rows...arrgghhh
just go to gym la, buying a weight plate can cost you a bomb.

unless you willing to spend on 2-3k to set up a home gym. it is economic in long term

Squat rack
Olympic barbell+weight plate
bench

yeah_guyz
post Oct 16 2009, 02:42 PM

o2 + co2= coo22 ^_^lll
3,980 posts

QUOTE(de.crystal @ Oct 16 2009, 01:48 PM)
yes i understand and i did read.  The problem is everytime when i tried to do it, i forgot already.  So my plan is not focus in 1, once manage the skill only do the rest.  Instead of everything also cin cin cai cai finish it.  since i was already in gym and yet did not know how to use others, might as well do biceps lor so that can fully utilise my gymming time mah smile.gif
your memory is it that bad?
ditch the biceps curls. wait till you are able to squat your body weight then only go do your curl.
post your biceps pic, see yours is bigger or mine is bigger, i do less than 10time bicep curls since august 08 till now

wait untill you squat your BW, you ain't ask those stupid anymore!
yeah_guyz
post Oct 16 2009, 05:37 PM

o2 + co2= coo22 ^_^lll
3,980 posts

QUOTE(bagata @ Oct 16 2009, 02:58 PM)
btw guys, about memory thingy... i used to 4get the sets i am doing, especially when doing squat o deadlift =.=|||

i mean lose track on the number sets that i am doing...

how u guys keep track on the number of sets? wrote down?
mine was so easy to remember..lol
all progressive increment of 2.5kg unless i failed tongue.gif
yeah_guyz
post Oct 16 2009, 10:28 PM

o2 + co2= coo22 ^_^lll
3,980 posts

QUOTE(strinq @ Oct 16 2009, 09:37 PM)
wooaahh, its difficult to balance the barbell while bench pressing lol.
Err, squated 40kgs today but was on the ok side (hope u guys don't laugh...). Pretty sure should be able to squat 50 at least. I weigh 62 kilos. So i shall aim for that first.
Today main2 in the gym cuz no one was there.
Tried everything, trying to get the form right like i see on the example vids etc.
Didn't really want to push it cuz muscles still freaking sore. Start seriously next week.
Only sad thing is that I can't do the chin-ups and overhead presses yet.
Wrist still injured...
Workout A no problem, WOrkout B a lot of problems sigh...
Any suggestions?
just stick with bench press and squat 1st. train the form.
when doing overhead press, squeeze your glute kao kao, and reinforced your abs. you will amaze how it goes
do the bent knee inverted row, for sure one day you can pull up
http://stronglifts.com/how-to-do-inverted-rows/
yeah_guyz
post Oct 22 2009, 03:40 PM

o2 + co2= coo22 ^_^lll
3,980 posts

QUOTE(shanecross @ Oct 22 2009, 03:37 PM)
I saw a 20kg barbell that cost RM14.99 at tesco
sure or not?
yeah_guyz
post Oct 23 2009, 08:56 AM

o2 + co2= coo22 ^_^lll
3,980 posts

QUOTE(de.crystal @ Oct 23 2009, 12:31 AM)
can i knw where i can get the sponge that use to put at under the bar when we do squat to avoid the muscle/bone under our neck to become painful?

i have seen some using it.  the bone under my neck is quite painful (cz i am not the meaty type, i have very skinny shoulder and neck bone).
DON'T USE SPONGE NOR TOWERL.

lean the correct way of placing the bar, you will used to the pain. once get it right. it will rest comfortable

http://stronglifts.com/correct-bar-placement-on-squats/
yeah_guyz
post Oct 26 2009, 09:54 PM

o2 + co2= coo22 ^_^lll
3,980 posts

erm, but now there is so much on9 seller in LYN, why bother to go shop to buy? somemore they are selling more expensive? no?
yeah_guyz
post Oct 29 2009, 01:28 PM

o2 + co2= coo22 ^_^lll
3,980 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Oct 29 2009, 01:15 PM)
I know that it increases T-level.
-----
BTW, anyone uses thick bars? Where & how much?
just diy it. refer to Rosstraining forum

or just wrap it with towel
yeah_guyz
post Oct 30 2009, 01:09 PM

o2 + co2= coo22 ^_^lll
3,980 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Oct 30 2009, 12:19 PM)

On a side note, I squatted 140KG for 5x5, and guess what happened? My calves hurt. biggrin.gif My quads too but my calves ached madly. Then at night, due to my body being so much in pain, I couldn't even sleep. It was the most horrendously awesome feeling.
my calve hardly feeling soreness after squat, i don't know why. and it is easily to cramp when i try to flex it sweat.gif
yeah_guyz
post Nov 3 2009, 09:51 AM

o2 + co2= coo22 ^_^lll
3,980 posts

QUOTE(de.crystal @ Nov 2 2009, 10:52 PM)
am i asking stupid questions?
no one seems to answer my questions  cry.gif
as you are an idiot. we have no idea why you doing 50times? why dont you do 100times?

This post has been edited by yeah_guyz: Nov 3 2009, 09:53 AM
yeah_guyz
post Nov 4 2009, 11:16 PM

o2 + co2= coo22 ^_^lll
3,980 posts

QUOTE(de.crystal @ Nov 4 2009, 10:42 PM)
trying to do deadlift today.  Realise that my body was bengkok how to do it straight while doing deadlift?

cant do it like the one in the picture

how ya

yeah_guyz
post Nov 5 2009, 03:58 PM

o2 + co2= coo22 ^_^lll
3,980 posts

i am confuse.

squat is suppose to look at the point down 6ft from you
deadlift ditto

no?

yeah_guyz
post Nov 5 2009, 10:02 PM

o2 + co2= coo22 ^_^lll
3,980 posts

QUOTE(kurtkob78 @ Nov 5 2009, 09:41 PM)
guys, deadlift is consider a leg workout or back workout ?
both! hamstring and back

full body as well
your lat is works hard to keep bar near to body. your forearms have to grip hard
and you can feel your trap is burning
yeah_guyz
post Nov 10 2009, 02:47 PM

o2 + co2= coo22 ^_^lll
3,980 posts

QUOTE(Hammond Tan @ Nov 10 2009, 02:17 PM)
Then I'll do stronglifts 5x5 and the bear. ^^
cool, The bear and stronglift done in one section? what is the poundage you used for the bear? if so, i think it easily cost you more than 90min in gym

that sounds intense and that is actually something similar in my mind for my new program
yeah_guyz
post Nov 10 2009, 03:31 PM

o2 + co2= coo22 ^_^lll
3,980 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Nov 10 2009, 03:24 PM)
I tried this "bear complex"
The Bear Complex WOD

Power clean
Front squat
Push press
Back squat
Push press

I used 150LBS.

I'll tell you one thing. This thing is impossible to use with "respectable" weights once you're done with your workout. By round 5, I was seeing pictures of god whose name is Ronald McDonald. Have fun doing it guys.
Lol, 150lbs, that is insane weight for The bear lol

still need to learn how to clean, looks complicated for me to learn
should master how to power shrug 1st?
yeah_guyz
post Nov 10 2009, 04:16 PM

o2 + co2= coo22 ^_^lll
3,980 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Nov 10 2009, 03:33 PM)
Just jump.
I'll be murdered by most weightlifters for saying this but that's the easiest way to teach the power clean for most people. Nobody actually understands the triple extension from the ankle on the internet, so jump is a simple cue.
damn, there is too much of thing to learn when really get into this

mobility-how it affect the squat form, lower back bla bla bla
soft tissues massage
glute activation
and alot of other thing

i've heard so many case of shoulder injury in this thread, all focus on how to train to be big, how to eat to be big, but hardly pay attention to those thing mention above. hence the injury take place.

http://www.tmuscle.com/free_online_article...youre_not_doing

To be learn checklist
1. more glute activation excercise-Link
2. Power Clean
3. Turkish Get-Up (TGU)- Link
4. various type of squat
5. various type of deadlift
6. mobility and flexibility

Damn, where to find so much of time? sweat.gif
yeah_guyz
post Nov 11 2009, 09:06 AM

o2 + co2= coo22 ^_^lll
3,980 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Nov 10 2009, 10:22 PM)
I think glute and hamstring activation, is to enable more use of these muscles. Not the other way around. I know! Build bigger lats.
that is the only solution lol, or you should not do too much side abs works.

i still fail to activate my lats.. damn
yeah_guyz
post Nov 12 2009, 10:57 AM

o2 + co2= coo22 ^_^lll
3,980 posts

got this video when surfing pushmore's blog

damn strong guy

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0609sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled