123 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Bottom

English Clubs Manchester United Street Talks, 26/9 | Stoke v Man Utd | 21:55 | CH812

redevil
post Sep 8 2009, 10:01 AM

Forever United
931 posts

David Gill gets top role

David Gill has been elected into the top executive board of members in the European Club Association which, many of you might remember, was formed under the auspices of the UEFA following the dissolution of the G14.

“I’m obviously very pleased to be elected,” Gill said. “The ECA has a very important role to play in the relationship with Uefa and other bodies within European and world football. We are the people who run the clubs, we understand the issues. All parties need to work together to come up with a set of rules and regulations that everyone buys into.”

Perez added that he was: “Very happy to be able to work for the clubs inside the big European football family.”

Florentino Perez’s influence (as someone known to favour a European super league) cannot be ignored, and it would be interesting to see what holds for the future of European club football in the coming years.

http://redrants.com/david-gill-gets-top-role/

Added on September 8, 2009, 10:02 amManchester City's Carlos Tevez Set To Miss Arsenal & Manchester United Clashes

On Saturday, Manchester City and Argentina striker Carlos Tevez was in the lineup as his international side lost 3-1 to Brazil, putting Argentina closer to missing out on next summer's World Cup. The Argentine FA has now confirmed that the player also suffered a twisted right knee, which will likely rule him out of the Citizens' next two Premier League matches against Arsenal and Manchester United. He will also miss Argentina's vital qualifier in Paraguay on Wednesday.

The 25-year-old ex-Boca Juniors star joins Robinho in the Eastlands treatment room, although City manager Mark Hughes is not lacking in depth up front as Emmanuel Adebayor and Craig Bellamy are both fit to start.

The injury means that Tevez will not be available for his anticipated return to Old Trafford on September 20. Tevez spoke out publicly throughout last season about his lack of playing time for United, leading to an acrimonious departure and manager Sir Alex Ferguson's insistence that Tevez, who scored 34 times in 99 appearances for the club, was "not worth £25 million".

Last month, Tevez further stoked the rivalry between the clubs by taking a swipe at Ferguson and insisting that the Red Devils were fearful of new-look City.

"Ferguson is history for me but I know that he is scared of playing against us," the striker told Globoesporte. "It's dangerous for Ferguson's objectives and for him to criticise Manchester City."

http://www.goal.com/en/news/9/england/2009...and-manchester-

This post has been edited by redevil: Sep 8 2009, 10:02 AM
nimrod2
post Sep 8 2009, 10:06 AM

the imba one
2,521 posts

tevez is teh lols man doh.gif

lucky he not playing.

TSalien2003
post Sep 8 2009, 12:35 PM

12,754 posts

Manchester United's John O'Shea and Aiden McGeady of Celtic have both been excused because of injury, whilst Robbie Keane, Shay Given, Richard Dunne, Kevin Kilbane and Stephen Hunt have also been released back to their clubs.

He also admitted to holding big worries about O'Shea, adding: "Today, he could not play because he had a bleed on the calf. He couldn't run today.

"I told him to be careful because when you pull that muscle, it is two months.

"It was not just for me, it was also for the club he must decide."

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,12010_5543231,00.html
nshady
post Sep 8 2009, 12:53 PM

354 posts

Lampard: Rooney did not dive

England midfielder Frank Lampard insisted Wayne Rooney did not dive for a penalty against Slovenia at Wembley on Saturday, though did admit it should not have been a spot-kick.

And Lampard also backed manager Fabio Capello to make the right choice between starting Jermain Defoe or Emile Heskey to face Croatia on Wednesday.

Lampard, who took the penalty, said: "I think maybe it wasn't a penalty. I think it was clearly not a dive but probably not a penalty.''

Lampard praised both Defoe and Heskey for the different qualities they bring to the England set-up while being sure whichever player is picked will perform well.

"The question of starting is obviously the manager's decision,'' Lampard said. "He has shown in his career he makes the right decision more often than not.

"Jermain is making headlines as he's scoring goals. Emile has made a great case because of the way he has played for England for a long time.''

Lampard feels the memories of England's 3-2 loss to Croatia at Wembley which saw them miss out on Euro 2008 will motivate the players.

"It was a very low point for all of us, individually and as a group. We won't forget that and will use it as a positive,'' he said. "We need to keep cool heads, keep calm, but also show passion and desire to win the game. There certainly won't be tackles anyone is pulling out of.

"It's been fantastic how we've gone about it so far, the results we've got home and away. We need to finish the job, the sooner the better. The aim is to qualify - simple as that. If it doesn't happen on Wednesday night we have to make it happen the next time.''

The Chelsea midfielder also believes there is no reason to worry too much about England's defence.

"I think in qualifying the defending has been pretty good. We've gone to Croatia and Belarus and done pretty well,'' he said.

Croatia will be missing midfielder Luka Modric through injury and defender Vedran Corluka through suspension against England, but Lampard believes Slaven Bilic's men will still be a force to be reckoned with.

"I think they're two very good players,'' he said. "Modric particularly is the playmaker if the team. I know what a good player he is from playing against him against Croatia and Tottenham. Croatia will miss them, but Slaven Bilic has said he has worked on the strength of the team.''

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id...cup2010&cc=4716
whoopa
post Sep 8 2009, 03:13 PM

b~o~b~o
7,126 posts

@ redscorpion yea where to buy lol i wan to see the jacket first lol ..

nimrod2
post Sep 8 2009, 07:59 PM

the imba one
2,521 posts

haha even lampard sokong rooney rclxms.gif

yhtan
post Sep 8 2009, 08:30 PM

8,653 posts

QUOTE(Wan @ Sep 8 2009, 12:31 AM)
This is not about tapping up. The kid is free to sign with whoever he wishes for since he couldn't sign for anyone until the age of 16 if I'm not mistaken, although he was in Le Havre's academy(?). They're just unhappy that it's us who Pogba signs the contract with, which is just natural. I don't know much about the Kakuta's case, but he sort of had a pre-contract agreement with his old club and somehow broke that by signing with Chelsea. Not sure if Pogba is on the same situation.

IF that kid Kakuta had a 'contract' with his old club and Chelsea know it, I'm sure they wouldn't go through with the deal to sign the kid. It's the same with us. We would have check with the relevant parties and make sure he is free to sign with us. Seems a bit unfair looking at it now if that was the case with Chelsea signing Kakuta and getting into trouble over that.

Fifa should step in really, ages ago regarding the young players signing for big clubs. We've seen it with the S.American/African players signing with European clubs since ages ago.. but they don't jump and shout at it as though it was a serious offence. But all of a sudden lately when the English clubs 'dominated' the European scene, every little things came up. Getting young players, having more money than their counterparts in other leagues, having a lot of teams in the CL etc.. they make it as though the English clubs have an unfair advantage compared to the others. But they didn't complain when it was the French/Italian/German league which was getting all these sort of advantages when the English clubs was trying to climb back the ladder after they were banned from Europe years back. Now they're on top, those fat guys at the top don't like it..
QUOTE(Wan @ Sep 8 2009, 12:56 AM)
Ever since he became the top one at UEFA, he voiced out against the English sides. Same with that stupid Blatter. Whenever it was us, he would say something. But if it's about other clubs, he didn't say a word. Remember about the Ronaldo as slave thing? Unfortunately for them, the English dominance is about to stay for a while, since there's only two clubs in Spain, and maybe only one in Italy who could compete with/better the English clubs.

Our GK situation.. when VDS gets back, should we play him straight away and bench Foster? I hope Foster take his chances before that happens and make a strong case for himself to actually be our #1 this season. After a shaky start in the pre-season games and Chelsea in the CS, he's been pretty solid. We need to know this season if he has what it takes. If he doesn't, we have to get someone else next summer, unless SAF really trust him and already has him as our future #1 no matter what happens till then.
i just don't understand why all of the sudden pointing finger at Man Utd and Chelsea after so many years, i bet other big clubs does that as well
Banning doesn't help much, FIFA should really step in and change the rules

Is VDS back on saturday match against Tottenham?
nimrod2
post Sep 8 2009, 08:51 PM

the imba one
2,521 posts

really hope so.
foster is good in the goal, but vds has the calming effect on the team. much like ferdinand. guess it's the years of experience.

hopefully tottenham will be like arsenal, humbled by MU tongue.gif
big big match lols!
Wan
post Sep 8 2009, 09:31 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

Rafael-Rio-O'Shea
Brown is in and out, same with Gary.
Evans need surgery, although he can still play for a while, but after the qualifiers..

Our luck just never change at the back. A few of them will surely be out injured at any given time.

Added on September 8, 2009, 9:31 pmVDS is out till around October or something.

This post has been edited by Wan: Sep 8 2009, 09:31 PM
shortleg88
post Sep 8 2009, 09:57 PM

Francoise Boufhal yummy!
1,756 posts

QUOTE(redscorpion @ Sep 8 2009, 02:24 AM)
i know someone who sells that jacket for around rm230 in malaysia. and yes, its authentic  whistling.gif
Mind PM me or post here the location where it selling? I'm sure many are interested
rayz1031
post Sep 9 2009, 01:46 AM

Little but Leathal
1,582 posts

@Sin, the jacket limited edition mia..this season only got ultraman, for the next 10 season also won't have wor..worthy investment laugh.gif

The jacket is really cun..seriously tempted.
nshady
post Sep 9 2009, 01:59 AM

354 posts

Real Madrid & Manchester United Chiefs Join European Club Association

Real Madrid president Florentino Perez and Manchester United chief executive David Gill have been voted on to executive board of the powerful European Club Association (ECA).

The duo won the positions ahead of CSKA Moscow's Evgeni Giner and will now have a say when the body that represents the continent's richest clubs meets.

Perez was delighted with the decision and explained that he would work hard, but refrained from talking about his support for a European Super League.

"I am very happy to be able to work for the clubs inside the big European football family," he told Spanish reporters.

Gill was equally pleased with his appointment to the association, which represents 144 clubs from 53 nations represented by UEFA and effectively replaced the G-14.

"I'm obviously very pleased to be elected," Sky Sports quote him as saying. "The ECA has a very important role to play in the relationship with UEFA and other bodies within European and world football."

http://goal.com/en-us/news/85/england/2009...n-european-club
paiz_10
post Sep 9 2009, 06:52 AM

Manchester United chief executive David Gill was in combative mood today regarding his club's involvement in the ever-growing saga surrounding English clubs and their alleged illegal inducement of young French players into breaking their contracts at home and moving to the Premier League.

United reportedly face a FIFA investigation over the move of 16-year-old Paul Pogba from Le Havre to Old Trafford, and issued a strongly-worded statement yesterday asserting that they would be taking legal action to clear their name.

Gill today echoed those sentiments, saying: "It is an insult by Le Havre to suggest that Manchester United and the employees of Manchester United have paid the players' parent and bought the parents a house."

He added: "We will not accept the good name of Manchester United being trawled around on websites.

"We've done everything, we think, by the book.

"We are not intimidating Le Havre. We have no intention of intimidating Le Havre."
onemanshows
post Sep 9 2009, 02:26 PM

13 posts

lol last post is 6+ this morning.

Well, hope none of our players will get injury in tmr morning's match.. touch wood!
lowyat.user47
post Sep 9 2009, 02:48 PM

glory-glory Man Utd! i cant wait for hargreaves to return. he has been away for too long.

anyways, did you guys notice that after ronaldo went to real, Man Utd attacks more through the flanks? i mean more crosses into the penalty box. last time ronaldo would cut inside and shoot or feed some one else. now nani and valencia, they are not brave enough to do so. thus the lack of chances. i have to admit, the win against arsenal was a slice of luck. they have got to do better to retain the title.
FaezFarhan
post Sep 9 2009, 02:57 PM

United till I die!
3,435 posts

QUOTE(lowyat.user47 @ Sep 9 2009, 02:48 PM)
glory-glory Man Utd! i cant wait for hargreaves to return. he has been away for too long.

anyways, did you guys notice that after ronaldo went to real, Man Utd attacks more through the flanks? i mean more crosses into the penalty box. last time ronaldo would cut inside and shoot or feed some one else. now nani and valencia, they are not brave enough to do so. thus the lack of chances. i have to admit, the win against arsenal was a slice of luck. they have got to do better to retain the title.
of course lor.. that's why SAF brought Owen in nod.gif
redevil
post Sep 9 2009, 03:04 PM

Forever United
931 posts

Manchester United face Fifa complaint from Fiorentina over Michele Fornasier transfer

Football's governing body confirmed on Tuesday night that it was awaiting documentation from Fiorentina to trigger a formal complaint.

Fornasier, who celebrated his 16th birthday last month, has been offered a contract by United after impressing while playing for the club in the Milk Cup tournament in Northern Ireland this summer.

With Italian clubs unable to sign players until their 16th birthday, Fiorentina were unable to secure Fornasier to a binding contract prior to United's move and, as such, the grounds of their complaint to Fifa remain unclear.

However, Fifa has confirmed that Fiorentina have already made contact ahead of a possible complaint against the Premier League champions.

United, who have enlisted the help of the Football Association to secure an international transfer certificate for Empoli's Alberto Massacci, have threatened legal action against Le Havre should allegations of illegal inducements be repeated by the French club in relation to the teenager Paul Pogba.

Despite Le Havre's complaints over United's recruitment of Pogba, the French club have yet to submit a formal complaint to Fifa. And Pogba's parents are now understood to be considering a libel action against the club following suggestions that they received money and a house from United to sweeten a deal for their son to join.

Gaël Mahé, Pogba's representative, said: "No money had changed hands up front, though Paul will get a very good contract when he turns professional.

"All he has got from United so far is a flat in Manchester for him and his mother to live in. We spent a long time ensuring that the document we signed with Manchester United was legally watertight."

United chief executive David Gill said: "It is an insult by Le Havre to suggest that Manchester United have paid the players' parents and bought the parents a house.

"We will not accept the good name of Manchester United being trawled around on websites and the press to say that we have done these things which we are not allowed to do and we would never do."

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/...r-transfer.html

This post has been edited by redevil: Sep 9 2009, 03:04 PM
nshady
post Sep 9 2009, 03:30 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(lowyat.user47 @ Sep 9 2009, 02:48 PM)

yup, our attacks are more through the flanks and with that kind of play, rooney will be able to score more goals too since he is moved to the centre forward again. Our next two games will be crucial as both are actually contenders to get into top four.
nizamhameed
post Sep 9 2009, 06:13 PM

6,437 posts

seem like every single team wanna complain about man utd...

wth, all those are ABU or what glory hunter???
aztechx
post Sep 9 2009, 07:24 PM

~Aviation Freak~
3,854 posts

United face Selangor complaint

lifetime sambal belacan supply

32 time Malaysia cup champions,Selangor, submitted an official complaint to FIFA early this morning against Manchester United for allegedly trying to tap up Malaysian startlet Amri Yahyah. Amri who scored a wonder strike against United in their pre season tour last month claims that an offer was made to him and he was met personally by Sir Alex Ferguson.

"He offered me a salary 10 times of what i earn here at Selangor and promised a lifetime supply of sambal belacan for as long as im at Old Trafford" said Amri,obviously elated by this latest piece of rumour surrounding him.

Fifa's recent banning of Chelsea for their capture of former Lens youngster Gael Kakuta, has brought the spotlight on other potential deals which could see Fifa act on them.

United's signing of French starlet Paul Pogba has angered his former club Le Havre, and both clubs have issued statements insisting they are in the right and will take action against the other.

However, whilst Fifa are still waiting to hear from Le Havre over allegations they have made about Pogba - Selangor have made moves to lodge an official complaint about Amri.

"We can confirm that we were contacted by the Selangor FA with regard to the potential transfer of the player, Amri Yah..erm..amri YaY..Amri Yahh..Yahh.. to the English club, Manchester United," a Fifa spokesman confirmed.

"However, so far no formal investigation was opened since the relevant documentation needs to be completed."

After numerous attempts to contact Selangor FA president Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim failed,reporters and fans swarmed the Shah Alam stadium demanding an explanation. Realizing that the situation could turn hostile,Tan Sri Khalid via a loudspeaker announced to the already restless crowd.

"We have sent an official report to FIFA and expect a 3 year ban to be sanctioned on Manchester United. We are a big club with a big tradition and i doubt that Amri would leave us for a club like Manchester United" said Tan Sri Khalid much to the delight of the crowd.

"im sure Amri would embrace the spirit of 1 Malaysia and decline the contract offer but we will still go ahead with the complaint"

123 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0181sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 06:55 AM