QUOTE(aruja_69 @ Mar 23 2010, 11:21 AM)
Yup this Sat. Pre-order ur Nokia N900 if ur interested!Nokia N900 launched!, N Series with Maemo 5 on board
Nokia N900 launched!, N Series with Maemo 5 on board
Mar 23 2010, 11:39 AM
77 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Petaling Jaya |
Mar 23 2010, 02:33 PM
5,105 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: In front of my desktop/laptop/phone |
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Mar 23 2010, 11:35 AM) PR1.2 SDK (Software Development Kit) is available, we can see the changes from there. Hopefully there will be more portrait supporthttp://thenokiablog.com/2010/03/22/nokia-n...k-major-update/ Darn, can't wait for the real update! Will the official launching unit in Malaysia already come with PR1.2? If not, they're doing a very bad move to expect Customer to update themselves and bringing more problems to themselves. Pray Pray P/S: There's new version of NSU (Nokia Software Updater). Just updated yesterday... |
Mar 23 2010, 03:13 PM
3,308 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Mar 23 2010, 02:33 PM) Basically the apps already can support Portrait. You can find few apps which can auto change to Portrait mode when you turn your phone.For the Desktop, I think maybe they will not change to support Portrait? Why? Did you notice the Desktop is landscape design (they call it Panorama Desktop; maybe because it has up to 4 Desktop, but they are all landscape view.). If you have arrange the icons, widgets, etc; Imagine what happen when it switch to Portrait mode? Didn't sound right does it? Just like out PC, the desktop is always landscape mode. Perhaps if we have Home screen like other mobile OS like Symbian, probably it can easily switch between Portrait and Landscape as those Home screen are simple and have limited customization unlike Maemo Desktop which are just like a Computer Desktop. Plus, I cannot imagine how it looks like if we need to organize our Desktop in Portrait mode! It'll look very wierd, LoL But it's just my personal opinion; I don't think Portrait mode is needed for the Desktop. Maybe everyone is used to a Mobile Phone OS that they've forgetten what a PC/Laptop feels like; Imagine a Laptop/Netbook shrink down to a size of a phone, with touch screen. Will you think about Portrait mode? Hehe; This post has been edited by Andy214: Mar 23 2010, 03:14 PM |
Mar 23 2010, 03:40 PM
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Mar 23 2010, 03:13 PM) Basically the apps already can support Portrait. You can find few apps which can auto change to Portrait mode when you turn your phone. What you say is true also.For the Desktop, I think maybe they will not change to support Portrait? Why? Did you notice the Desktop is landscape design (they call it Panorama Desktop; maybe because it has up to 4 Desktop, but they are all landscape view.). If you have arrange the icons, widgets, etc; Imagine what happen when it switch to Portrait mode? Didn't sound right does it? Just like out PC, the desktop is always landscape mode. Perhaps if we have Home screen like other mobile OS like Symbian, probably it can easily switch between Portrait and Landscape as those Home screen are simple and have limited customization unlike Maemo Desktop which are just like a Computer Desktop. Plus, I cannot imagine how it looks like if we need to organize our Desktop in Portrait mode! It'll look very wierd, LoL But it's just my personal opinion; I don't think Portrait mode is needed for the Desktop. Maybe everyone is used to a Mobile Phone OS that they've forgetten what a PC/Laptop feels like; Imagine a Laptop/Netbook shrink down to a size of a phone, with touch screen. Will you think about Portrait mode? Hehe; Maybe because I got too used with potrait mode I want N900 to have potrait desktop too |
Mar 23 2010, 04:00 PM
2,201 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Mar 23 2010, 11:35 AM) PR1.2 SDK (Software Development Kit) is available, we can see the changes from there. hmm.. will there be chinese input?http://thenokiablog.com/2010/03/22/nokia-n...k-major-update/ Darn, can't wait for the real update! Will the official launching unit in Malaysia already come with PR1.2? If not, they're doing a very bad move to expect Customer to update themselves and bringing more problems to themselves. Pray Pray P/S: There's new version of NSU (Nokia Software Updater). Just updated yesterday... Added on March 23, 2010, 4:14 pm QUOTE(Andy214 @ Mar 22 2010, 10:21 PM) Yup, fully agree on recommending phone based on the purpose. thx man Previously, I was actually more like differentiating between Android based device Vs Maemo as the person who asked was deciding between both. So, I gave slightly more in depth on both OS, being Android will have more support from both google and the community, and a better choice is one is more concern about apps/games "for now". Anyway, usually I try to add in the final word as a summary or in short, for those who prefer short and simple answer; As this is a discussion/sharing forum, plus we're talking about smartphones, possibly someone might want to know more; I know I would if I'm new to both and don't know where to start. Just my personal opinion~ Cheers~ Battery terrible? Um... yea, IF you came from a non-smart phone background; Basically, "smart"phones are like a phone + mini computer. So, you should expect the battery consumption is higher than normal phone and also understand and be a little more patient with the phone, just like handling a computer (sometimes, it may lag a little, etc). Overall, I do the N900 is more power hungry than other "smart"phone, but it also depends on how you use it. If you care a lot about battery consumption, just follow the battery saving tips/advice on the web, and don't put any update/background processing widget on the N900 Desktop. It should last you up to 2~3 days most probably? I can't tell because I bought this device to ENJOY it, not to save battery. Imagine buying a sports car, but driving very slow to save petrol. Again, this is just my personal opinion and everyone has their own personal way of doing things, there's no right or wrong. Also, if you've been using those older phones. I suppose the battery are Ni-Cad or Ni-Mh Battery? If yes, you might want to know that most phones nowadays already use Li-Ion or Li-Poly; These battery you should NEVER let it die off (means, don't wait until the phone turn off due to low battery). You can charge it as often as you like, but NEVER let it go empty as it will damage/shorten the life of the battery. Added on March 22, 2010, 10:24 pm Are you doing that in web browser? Just slide your finger or stylus from the LEFT SIDE of the non-display area towards the display area. I actually put up a demo for this, but it's at the last section of the video: Added on March 22, 2010, 10:30 pm For Facebook contacts sync and integration with the contacts in N900, try below instead of the Hermes app: http://thenokiablog.com/2010/02/10/how-to-...out-of-the-box/ Added on March 23, 2010, 4:16 pmBTW. I heard that there is a some code to check the hardwares of the phone? may i know the full list of it? what is it called? For example: *#0000# or *#06# And, for n900, if i buy from a second fella. what should i check? This post has been edited by k-bkeat: Mar 23 2010, 04:16 PM |
Mar 23 2010, 04:21 PM
3,989 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
T__T...abit despo for money and feel like selling it..but in other geart i wan this phone! T___T..LOL
Mar 23 2010, 04:34 PM
QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Mar 23 2010, 03:40 PM) What you say is true also. Haha, I also wanted Portrait mode; but when I think about the Desktop, it doesn't look right to be in Portrait mode. But the MENU might make sense in Portrait mode as it's just a list style, just like every other phones.Maybe because I got too used with potrait mode I want N900 to have potrait desktop too QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Mar 23 2010, 04:00 PM) ]BTW. I heard that there is a some code to check the hardwares of the phone? may i know the full list of it? what is it called? I think you mean *#06#, which gives you the IMEI number, which then you can check where this phone is built. This previously was a circulated/forwarded mails.For example: *#0000# or *#06# And, for n900, if i buy from a second fella. what should i check? Not sure how true but anyway, for N900 US set, it is make in Korea as stated in the box itself. My old Nk6600 has the code of "00" which according to the forwarded emails, it's made in the original factory, best quality. QUOTE(jloi @ Mar 23 2010, 04:21 PM) T__T...abit despo for money and feel like selling it..but in other geart i wan this phone! T___T..LOL Uuuuhhh, has the BB "force" get into you? Are you switching over? |
Mar 23 2010, 04:39 PM
795 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
QUOTE(haroldz123 @ Mar 23 2010, 10:50 AM) wah, use ptpn fund to buy hp ar? abssystem cut my ptptn rm500 for 5 sem,, 1 sem i only spend for below 1.5k,, so ade lebeh bajet got enuff money to belanja girlz ka? unless u are gadget geek n love to hack / mod, n900 is a thing for u. ori set or ap set? ap set less than rm2k oredi abssystem only sell original product,, so cosider my set is ori |
Mar 23 2010, 04:49 PM
674 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: Subang Selangor & Taman Desa Kuala Lumpur |
JoikuSpot
![]() JoikuSpot turns your phone to a mobile WiFi HotSpot.
Joikuspot.zip ( 250bytes )
Number of downloads: 7 |
Mar 23 2010, 04:53 PM
180 posts Joined: May 2008 |
Yes, u can also make pre-order thru the Nokia Zitron centre located at Pulau Tikus, just opposite the One stop shopping complex. U need to pay 200 bucks for deposit and it comes with free DC-11 charger too, act fast!
QUOTE(Borsch Soup @ Mar 22 2010, 05:24 PM) |
Mar 23 2010, 05:15 PM
2,201 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
QUOTE(jloi @ Mar 23 2010, 04:21 PM) T__T...abit despo for money and feel like selling it..but in other geart i wan this phone! T___T..LOL u got n900?Added on March 23, 2010, 5:17 pm QUOTE(Andy214 @ Mar 23 2010, 04:34 PM) Haha, I also wanted Portrait mode; but when I think about the Desktop, it doesn't look right to be in Portrait mode. But the MENU might make sense in Portrait mode as it's just a list style, just like every other phones. hmm.. thats the onli 2 "codes"?I think you mean *#06#, which gives you the IMEI number, which then you can check where this phone is built. This previously was a circulated/forwarded mails. Not sure how true but anyway, for N900 US set, it is make in Korea as stated in the box itself. My old Nk6600 has the code of "00" which according to the forwarded emails, it's made in the original factory, best quality. Uuuuhhh, has the BB "force" get into you? Are you switching over? Btw, as a n900 user, what do u tink i need to do to check whether the n900 is functioning normally and well if i just bought it second hand? This post has been edited by k-bkeat: Mar 23 2010, 05:17 PM |
Mar 23 2010, 05:18 PM
77 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Petaling Jaya |
Mar 23 2010, 05:26 PM
3,989 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Mar 23 2010, 04:34 PM) not reli like BB XP..d only thing i like from BB is d twitter apps, ubertwitter..yea i m a heavy twitterer XD..feel like selling it off to fund for my cam gear T_TQUOTE u got n900? |
Mar 23 2010, 05:33 PM
2,641 posts Joined: Feb 2009 From: A trail leading to the Waterfall of Penang. |
QUOTE(cheonwai @ Mar 23 2010, 04:53 PM) Yes, u can also make pre-order thru the Nokia Zitron centre located at Pulau Tikus, just opposite the One stop shopping complex. U need to pay 200 bucks for deposit and it comes with free DC-11 charger too, act fast! Oh that shop Zitron Centre, downloaded my memory card content last time when my N73 went in for repairs, the girl( not wearing Nokia uniform one) pretend to check press press my phone, after that only return the sim card and battery to me, memory card she keeps.Usually the staff will return sim card, memory card and battery to the owner, I heard that she works upstairs for Zitron. TQ bro, but i dun want buy from them la. |
Mar 23 2010, 05:37 PM
QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Mar 23 2010, 05:15 PM) u got n900? the 2 codes is the 7th and 8th digit of the IMEI.Added on March 23, 2010, 5:17 pm hmm.. thats the onli 2 "codes"? Btw, as a n900 user, what do u tink i need to do to check whether the n900 is functioning normally and well if i just bought it second hand? For the N900, physically, you can check for any scatches, check the gap betwen your LCD part and the keyboard part, some units are pretty "loose" and have big gap. Check the slide is it very loose or firm. For 2nd hand, more things to check... check the screen properly for scratches, test out each key is it working properly. Check the camera lens condition, check the led lights (slide the phone to reveal the keyboard which has white lightings) and also the LED fash is working. Test the speaker, FM transmitter, also test the microphone (do a video recording and make sure it can record sound clearly). Try and make a call and make sure the other party can hear you and you can hear the other party clearly. Test the WiFi, etc. Important: Check the USB port on the Phone, make sure it's firm and tight! When plugging in and plugging off the USB charger/cable, do it with care. The pre-prodocution unit have major problem with it where it comes off. Suppose the production unit should have fix the problem, but just taking precaution. You might also want to check for Dead Pixels, and so on. Actually, there is an app (program) which you can install to check for many things. It's call HealthCheck, check below for more info: http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=45453 This post has been edited by Andy214: Mar 23 2010, 05:39 PM |
Mar 23 2010, 05:39 PM
957 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
anyone can teach me how to use fMMS? i installed that app but i still cant open any MMS. It says failed to download MMS.
Mar 23 2010, 07:40 PM
6,008 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Mar 22 2010, 07:08 PM) For facebook, I'm having pretty good experience with the lite version @ http://lite.facebook.com |
Mar 23 2010, 08:39 PM
Mar 23 2010, 09:14 PM
9,706 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Why U wana know? Status: Meditating™ |
N98 leaked~ rumours or real
Mar 23 2010, 11:03 PM
795 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
n98 will not even like n900 for sure,, it will using symbian like n97,,