66 Pages « < 62 63 64 65 66 >Bottom

Intel P55 H55 H57 LGA 1156 Core I3 I5 I7, OC and Discussion

amy89
post Jun 25 2011, 05:05 PM

164 posts

Like your clock setting,voltage etc.Do post your hardware type too.If can post using cpu-z so can see all your settings plus hardware.

This post has been edited by amy89: Jun 25 2011, 05:07 PM
gsan
post Jun 25 2011, 10:24 PM

Electrical RF Engineer
2,471 posts

anyone use p8p67...? it seem the EIST and C2IE is not functioning even disable in BIOS
ah_khoo
post Jun 25 2011, 11:17 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

off topic:

long time no see bro... smile.gif

QUOTE(gsan @ Jun 25 2011, 10:24 PM)
anyone use p8p67...? it seem the EIST and C2IE is not functioning even disable in BIOS
gengstapo
post Jun 25 2011, 11:32 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(gsan @ Jun 25 2011, 10:24 PM)
Maybe need updated BIOS for fix?
gsan
post Jun 26 2011, 10:28 AM

Electrical RF Engineer
2,471 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jun 25 2011, 11:17 PM)
off topic:

long time no see bro...  smile.gif
bro, this is new pc for my younger bro, asus p8p67 + i5 2500-k...

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Jun 25 2011, 11:32 PM)
Maybe need updated BIOS for fix?
I checked the latest BIOS only fixed 2.2TB HDD sweat.gif
szeeonn
post Aug 11 2011, 01:01 AM

159 posts

hmm i am SEEERIOUS noobie in Oc

i wann ask , i have i5-760 2.8 Ghz

1. How much i can overclock to it ? Ps : i have Standard Fan With Additional 2 Fan @ cpu . Air cond room .

2. How to calculate how much Voltage needed ? any formula to calculate ?

Posted on 1am - 11 August 2011. Personally Recommend by Moderator Lacus to post @ here so that i can receive Help

tq

This post has been edited by szeeonn: Aug 11 2011, 01:02 AM
defaultname365
post Nov 11 2011, 01:16 PM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

Hmmm... no more love for 1156? Is all I have. Just recently upgraded my i3 540 to i7 870 and OC'ing had been on my mind but I have been recommended to not do so as the i7 870 isn't too OC-friendly compared to the 875k. Currently running at 2.93, I'm thinking of increasing the speed to maybe 3.1GHz or 3.2GHz. The thing is, my comp is turned on 24/7 and furthermore it runs on stock coolers.

I am using Gigabyte H5MM-USB3. It supports OC but I have tried to OC my i3 540 with great success, but decided to stick with the default speed. Never tried it with i7 870. I am somewhat hesitant. How much can I gain? Do I have more to lose when it does fail?
ne0cz
post Nov 30 2011, 10:24 PM

Zoom Zoom
5,372 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Nov 11 2011, 01:16 PM)
Hmmm... no more love for 1156? Is all I have. Just recently upgraded my i3 540 to i7 870 and OC'ing had been on my mind but I have been recommended to not do so as the i7 870 isn't too OC-friendly compared to the 875k. Currently running at 2.93, I'm thinking of increasing the speed to maybe 3.1GHz or 3.2GHz. The thing is, my comp is turned on 24/7 and furthermore it runs on stock coolers.

I am using Gigabyte H5MM-USB3. It supports OC but I have tried to OC my i3 540 with great success, but decided to stick with the default speed. Never tried it with i7 870. I am somewhat hesitant. How much can I gain? Do I have more to lose when it does fail?
get a Hyper212+ to cool it. Value cooler thumbup.gif
OC a bit can improve LinX scores. Best is OC until the limit of your stock voltage. Increasing voltage might not be worth it coz it shortens the lifespan of your processor
frey_zero
post Dec 11 2011, 10:18 PM

467 posts

if im using n520 can reach until 3.8Ghz - 4Ghz??
seanlimys
post Dec 25 2011, 01:56 AM

2,751 posts

can reach is one story, to sustain the heat is another story.

j.sun
post Jan 9 2012, 03:45 PM

1,058 posts

Dear oc sifus/forumers, I'm new to OC. Wanna try overclocking my CPU. Below is my pc specs.

Proc : Intel i5 760
Mobo : Asus (can't rmb the model) p7h55 or something liddat.
PSU : Gigabyte 550w (or isit 500w can't rmb)
GPU : MSI 460gtx
Fans all stock. Using CM HAF 922 chasis. Any advice on what voltage? like the clock speed? And do i have to get 3rd party cpu cooler and add some fans here and there? And what speed should i go ?
Really noob at it. Would love to try. =) Appreciate any advice. Can PM me to if all the sifus/forumers are free ya =)
Reason I'm asking all these cause I scare I might fired/blowed my cpu. XD

Thank you in advance.
WTSNWTB
post Jan 20 2012, 04:54 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(j.sun @ Jan 9 2012, 03:45 PM)
Dear oc sifus/forumers, I'm new to OC. Wanna try overclocking my CPU. Below is my pc specs.

Proc : Intel i5 760
Mobo : Asus (can't rmb the model) p7h55 or something liddat.
PSU : Gigabyte 550w (or isit 500w can't rmb)
GPU : MSI 460gtx
Fans all stock. Using CM HAF 922 chasis. Any advice on what voltage? like the clock speed? And do i have to get 3rd party cpu cooler and add some fans here and there? And what speed should i go ?
Really noob at it. Would love to try. =) Appreciate any advice. Can PM me to if all the sifus/forumers are free ya =)
Reason I'm asking all these cause I scare I might fired/blowed my cpu. XD

Thank you in advance.
If ur on stock intel hsf pls stop ur o/c. It's the worst hsf for o/c. Even running a Stock I5 750 or 760 easily temps hit 7x - 8x range with the original hsf. Once u change to c.m or any reputable hsf, i'm sure u will see around 5x - 6x range of temps when max load.

Few tips to remember when o/c

Vcore Max 1.4V To be safe 1.35.
PLL and other stuff increase if need. I usually o/c X58 and P55 by trying to hit 200 bclock then only tune the ram and multipliers. But to do so u must reduce ur multiplier to the lowest which is either 10 or 12 depends on processor and try to run ur rams as 1066 or 1333 as low as possible even if ur running 1600 or 1866 or even higher rams. But to hit 200 bclock u need to increase pll and vtt and this really depends on mobo. On gigabyte I never need to touch anything beside vcore, but I found that the voltage is slightly overvolt by gigabyte hence I usually tune it down a few notch. Asus is quite easy as the bios will show last used volts and u can search ur best volts from there, this is my experience with asus rog series mobo not sure if the bios acts same with other series.

For ur P7h55 if it's the same as the Gigabyte H55 USB3 I used b4, u need to manually set most of the voltage. If ur northbridge / southbridge dun have fan then best is to go max till 166 bclk as I notice it gets very warm once goin 200 bclk or beyond.

Or mebe u can dig sum info here they have more detailed info bout vtt n stuff which u could use as a guide for your own o/c.
I7 760 OC Club

This post has been edited by WTSNWTB: Jan 20 2012, 04:58 PM
PedangGila
post Feb 1 2012, 01:39 PM

918 posts

Using Hyper Plus 212 cooler with one fan. RM100 cheap and able to maintain 60 degree celcius under stress load (LinX) so J.Sun you can try this cooler but beware you might have to cut/mod your casing cover in case it wont fit because this cooler is very tall.

This post has been edited by PedangGila: Feb 1 2012, 02:00 PM
NeO2
post Feb 2 2012, 01:01 AM

693 posts

my latest OC. any feedback on the temp? just got a 212 Evo.
WTSNWTB
post Feb 12 2012, 03:47 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(NeO2 @ Feb 2 2012, 01:01 AM)
my latest OC. any feedback on the temp? just got a 212 Evo.
Erm that's I3 rite ? I think u can hit 4.5 or mebe around there. I tried running I3-530 wif Max 3 Gene and manage to get around 4.4 with around 1.375 vcore. Never really did much stressing juz manage to run sum 3dmark and few days of gaming then moved to I5. Quite a bad timing for the 1156 platform as I used to own a very good I7 860 which easily hit 4.2 wif juz 1.3 vcore.

One thing I really like bout I3 is the power is so low and the processing power is quite good as well hence I use the rig as a daily download + dota 2 online gaming rig.
jcst83
post Feb 15 2012, 11:27 AM

216 posts

wanna ask how to overclock my i5 750, without oc my 1333 KVR ram......

im currently tune my bclock to 166 (166*20=3320MHz) with vcore= 1.20V
and disable turbo mode, C1E, C3/C6/C7 and EIST.... load temp around 50-60 when running prime95... anyway, i dint overclock my ram speed..

but can i go for higher without oc my ram speed more than 1333?

is it fine to run lower multiplier?

WTSNWTB
post Feb 15 2012, 01:13 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(jcst83 @ Feb 15 2012, 11:27 AM)
wanna ask how to overclock my i5 750, without oc my 1333 KVR ram......

im currently tune my bclock to 166 (166*20=3320MHz) with vcore= 1.20V
and disable turbo mode, C1E, C3/C6/C7 and EIST.... load temp around 50-60 when running prime95... anyway, i dint overclock my ram speed..

but can i go for higher without oc my ram speed more than 1333?

is it fine to run lower multiplier?
U never state ur mobo so i assume the normal overclockable mobo settings. Ur ram can keep 1333 as long as ur multiplier or divider is correct. Make sure it's at 1333 no higher but if ur using kvr 1333 u should be able to hit 1600mhz if it's using elpida chipset. I tried most kingston also manage to hit 1600 juz mebe timing around 9 9 9 27 or 28 wif 1.65v dimm.

I duno why but I always like to make my fsb 200. I kept wif x58 and 1156 coz both can hit 200 fsb sandy is kinda lock around 100mhz so i never venture to this.

Just keep in mind max vcore is 1.35 - 1.4 so ur safe if it's 1.35 or below. The rest is juz up to u to test and feel.
jcst83
post Feb 15 2012, 01:57 PM

216 posts

QUOTE(WTSNWTB @ Feb 15 2012, 02:13 PM)
U never state ur mobo so i assume the normal overclockable mobo settings. Ur ram can keep 1333 as long as ur multiplier or divider is correct. Make sure it's at 1333 no higher but if ur using kvr 1333 u should be able to hit 1600mhz if it's using elpida chipset. I tried most kingston also manage to hit 1600 juz mebe timing around 9 9 9 27 or 28 wif 1.65v dimm.

I duno why but I always like to make my fsb 200. I kept wif x58 and 1156 coz both can hit 200 fsb sandy is kinda lock around 100mhz so i never venture to this.

Just keep in mind max vcore is 1.35 - 1.4 so ur safe if it's 1.35 or below. The rest is juz up to u to test and feel.
ok...thanks for the info...

hm.....for my ddr3 ram...i'll check for it after work..... if my ram chip is elpida, then i can clock the ram speed at 1600Mhz?....hm... hard to believe that KVR can oc...hehe tongue.gif... it's really small and without heatsink......

like that...i can set the bclock to 200Mhz with 21 multiplier (200*21=4.2G). then ram multiplier at 8.0..1600MHz....hehe.......sounds good...tongue.gif....but at this set point, the vcore sure will around 1.4V ord....

if cannot,... my other option will be, set the bclock at 222Mhz and multiplier will set around 18-19.... then ram multiplier at 6.0..1333MHz......do u think this will works?...tongue.gif....

oh ya...my motherboard is gigabyte H55M-USB3.......
WTSNWTB
post Feb 15 2012, 03:51 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(jcst83 @ Feb 15 2012, 01:57 PM)
ok...thanks for the info...

hm.....for my ddr3 ram...i'll check for it after work..... if my ram chip is elpida, then i can clock the ram speed at 1600Mhz?....hm... hard to believe that KVR can oc...hehe tongue.gif... it's really small and without heatsink......

like that...i can set the bclock to 200Mhz with 21 multiplier (200*21=4.2G). then ram multiplier at 8.0..1600MHz....hehe.......sounds good...tongue.gif....but at this set point, the vcore sure will around 1.4V ord....

if cannot,... my other option will be, set the bclock at 222Mhz and multiplier will set around 18-19.... then ram multiplier at 6.0..1333MHz......do u think this will works?...tongue.gif....

oh ya...my motherboard is gigabyte H55M-USB3.......
If h55m u need to watch out for ur vrm temps, those mosfets or chips there tends to go very hot if o/c and especially 200 fsb. I blew up a few H55 and P55 when I never watch out for the temps and voltage. Higher fsb usually is harder for certain mobos. Make sure never run ur vcore higher than 1.4 safest is 1.35 and pll vtt those I remember must be around 1.2 or something never higher. Do check those p55 club forums for better understanding as it's been quite awhile I kinda forgoten those specs.

Btw juz a pic of my noob o/c.

I try to dig out the 4.2ghz on P55-UD6 but that confirm blew the mosfet or mobo due to the 1156 fiasco coz of foxconn socket problem. Mainly I believe is the cover and not socket coz it couldn't push the processor down enough to have tight contact wif the connectors.
jcst83
post Feb 15 2012, 04:45 PM

216 posts

QUOTE(WTSNWTB @ Feb 15 2012, 04:51 PM)
If h55m u need to watch out for ur vrm temps, those mosfets or chips there tends to go very hot if o/c and especially 200 fsb. I blew up a few H55 and P55 when I never watch out for the temps and voltage. Higher fsb usually is harder for certain mobos. Make sure never run ur vcore higher than 1.4 safest is 1.35 and pll vtt those I remember must be around 1.2 or something never higher. Do check those p55 club forums for better understanding as it's been quite awhile I kinda forgoten those specs.

Btw juz a pic of my noob o/c.

I try to dig out the 4.2ghz on P55-UD6 but that confirm blew the mosfet or mobo due to the 1156 fiasco coz of foxconn socket problem. Mainly I believe is the cover and not socket coz it couldn't push the processor down enough to have tight contact wif the connectors.
o....is it....thanks for that info anyway......

hm.......i'll try and monitor it and c.....else....3320 is my best oc speed for that i5 750 ...><...hehe

but...like that.... is it ok to down clock the ram speed lower than stock 1333?....hm... which 1 better?.. stick the ram speed at 1333 or lower the ram speed with pump my my current bclock abit( lower than 200Mhz)....?....hehe

66 Pages « < 62 63 64 65 66 >Top

0.0296sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:26 PM