If you only had the weekends to lift, What would your routine look like?

TSmofonyx
post Aug 22 2009, 06:08 PM, updated 17y ago

Squatting is the solution to life's problems
2,394 posts

Serious thread.

If you only had the gym on the weekends, what would your routine look like?

Cheers.
uhuk-uhuk
post Aug 22 2009, 06:23 PM

bulaiyan
718 posts

This is what I think.

SATURDAY

Squats 3x10

Deads 3x10

Incline DB Press 3x10

Skull Crusher 3x10

SUNDAY

BB Rows 3x10

Pulldowns 3x10

DB Shoulder Press 3x10

Incline DB Curl 3x10

**Ab exercises to be done twice a week

This post has been edited by uhuk-uhuk: Aug 22 2009, 06:24 PM
kurtkob78
post Aug 22 2009, 06:29 PM

Do your best
3,833 posts

Saturday
Chest - 2 exercise , 3 set
back - 2 exercise , 3 set
bicep - 2 exercise , 3 set
abs - 2 exercise , 3 set

Sunday
Squat - 3 set
Deadlift - 1 set
Leg curl - 3 set
Shoulder - 2 exercise, 3 set
Tricep - 2 exercise, 3 set
Calf - 2 exercise, 3 set

This post has been edited by kurtkob78: Aug 22 2009, 06:30 PM
pizzaboy
post Aug 22 2009, 06:30 PM

9,495 posts

what's your goal?
shanecross
post Aug 22 2009, 06:45 PM

The Vibrator
1,885 posts

Well, you should try Stronglift 5 x 5. Credits to whoever implemented it although i still think its a complete Rippetoe plagiarism.....

Saturday

5X5 Squat
5X5 Bench
5x5 Pendlay row (barbell rows)
3X wateva Dips
3X wateva Abs

Sunday

5X5 Squat
5X5 Overhead Press
1X5 Deadlift (After 4 progressively heavier sets)
3X wateva Chinups
3X wateva Abs

But the only issue here is not getting enough work since this program is made to cater for 5-6x a week of training. So I would suggest throwing in more reps.

I also wouldn't recommend any "perecentage" form of training like 50% max day and sort. This sort of routine is meant to shoot the fundamentals up the roof.

To less complicate things, more work = more poundages.

This post has been edited by shanecross: Aug 22 2009, 06:45 PM
TSmofonyx
post Aug 22 2009, 09:10 PM

2,394 posts

Cheers guys.

@pizzaboy: I doubt any goals can be met with weekend-only-lifting. Perhaps I am looking to maintain any strength (or whatever's left of it) and keep it from dropping too much i.e. hiatus until I get access to the gym more frequently.

@shane: How to squat on 2 consecutive days?

Added on August 22, 2009, 9:12 pmBy the way, I was thinking heavy squats, heavy dips, heavy pullups for reps on Saturday and that's it.

Once a week lifting.

This post has been edited by mofonyx: Aug 22 2009, 09:12 PM
pizzaboy
post Aug 22 2009, 09:23 PM

9,495 posts

You know......I think I got just the baby for you.

How about the 20 rep squats? 20 rep squats + dips + pull-ups. Then you rest one whole week and do it again. The training protocol for 20 rep squats were after all designed for this. Once a week squatting only. Then have ample time to recover.

Also how bout the push-ups and the bodyweight squats in your free time? Can go really high reps with those and still sweat it out and increase ligament and tendon strength.

TSmofonyx
post Aug 23 2009, 02:57 AM

2,394 posts

Sounds great, I've been off squats, recovering from the bursitis also. This is a great way to bounce back.

Cheers!
iamyuanwu
post Aug 23 2009, 04:26 AM

2,425 posts

During the weekends, probably a modified Rippetoe:
Squat, deadlift, bench press, row, military press, swings. Take your pick.
3x5 or 5x5

The during the weekdays, I might just do either of these:
- hundredpushups.com + some pistols. (+- 20 minutes)
- simplefit.org (you can use pistols instead of squats, dips instead of push ups) (+- 20 minutes)
- Ross Training's stuff like No Excuses (exactly 10 minutes), The Interval Challenge or Magic 50 (if you have a dumbbell).
- some abs stuff like plank, abs wheelie, leg raise, etc.
-------

extra suggestion:
Some Alwyn Cosgrove stuff.
http://www.alwyncosgrove.com/hacking.html

It's supposed to be 3 days a week. Alternating this way: A-B-A-B-A-B-A-B-......
Program A
1) Snatch-grip deadlift
2) Dumbbell Bulgarian split squat
3a) Dip
3b) Dumbbell row

Program B
1) Front squat (pandai-pandai lah, use back squat pun takpe)
2) Step-up
3a) Barbell push press
3b) Close-grip chin-up

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Aug 23 2009, 04:28 AM
pizzaboy
post Aug 23 2009, 10:07 AM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(mofonyx @ Aug 23 2009, 02:57 AM)
Sounds great, I've been off squats, recovering from the bursitis also. This is a great way to bounce back.

Cheers!
Glad I could help.
Desvaro
post Aug 23 2009, 08:41 PM

639 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Aug 22 2009, 09:23 PM)
You know......I think I got just the baby for you.

How about the 20 rep squats? 20 rep squats + dips + pull-ups. Then you rest one whole week and do it again. The training protocol for 20 rep squats were after all designed for this. Once a week squatting only. Then have ample time to recover.

Also how bout the push-ups and the bodyweight squats in your free time? Can go really high reps with those and still sweat it out and increase ligament and tendon strength.
Damn you beat me to it.

Another suggestion would be upper body on saturday and then lower body on sunday. And like pizzaboy said, bodyweight exercises throughout the week
SUSKLX213
post Aug 23 2009, 11:44 PM

86 posts

weightlifting in weekend kinda pointless.
i rather go for a swim or hill cycling.
gtoforce
post Aug 23 2009, 11:47 PM

SPAM AND BECOME A SENIOR MEMBER
2,967 posts

QUOTE(KLX213 @ Aug 23 2009, 11:44 PM)
i beg to differ
anything can be done in weekend or weekdays
why not cycle or swim in weekdays too
i just think its up to the person

by saying what ur saying, ur being one sided
pizzaboy
post Aug 24 2009, 01:41 AM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(KLX213 @ Aug 23 2009, 11:44 PM)
I'd beg to differ.
Lifting weights increases testosterone, increases muscle synthesis, increases metabolism for elevated periods of time, increases HGH levels temporarily and also gives the heart a good workout. Almost all of which, swimming and hill cycling does not offer.

So why would you say lifting weights on weekends is pointless? Many people have grown stronger with an intense weekend workout, but not with an intense swim. Swimming is only not very much anaerobic.
iamyuanwu
post Aug 24 2009, 01:47 AM

2,425 posts

I think the dude probably meant that being stuck in a building/room during the weekend is not his thing. He would rather go out and enjoy being outside.

Different people, different poison.

Mofo,
Your thread really came up at a good time. Now, I only have 1 day (Sundays) to train in a week.
mcbarney666
post Aug 26 2009, 11:32 AM

405 posts

Prolly squats, clean-and-press, and deadlifts mostly. Weekdays, when I can slot in a quickie (besides the other quickie...tee hee...) will mostly consist of what pizzaboy mentioned.

0.0190sec    0.46    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 09:16 PM