Ps3 Slim can now Bitstream

cloud4822
post Aug 21 2009, 08:29 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Aug 21 2009, 08:00 PM)
IIRC, the current PS3 can't bitstream (can only decode internally) cos of the limitation of the HDMI controller chip..

so even with 3.0 firmware (which is software enhancement) .. still can't bitstream DTS-MA due to hardware limitation..

but I dun mind hoping it can..  smile.gif

Added on August 21, 2009, 8:03 pm

care to elaborate?  hmm.gif
You're right!

http://www.blu-ray.com/news/?id=3301
anfieldude
post Aug 21 2009, 09:39 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Aug 21 2009, 08:16 PM)
watch using S-video connection ar?  biggrin.gif
S is a luxury already...composite is enuf.
s6xs9x
post Aug 21 2009, 10:44 PM

My Stars Not Growing?
904 posts

Anybody knows the price for this baby?
I'm ON!

Then I wont need a BDP and a Media player. This would be one for all.
I can even put my HTPC on hibernation.
cosmicmeadow
post Aug 22 2009, 01:40 AM

223 posts

Firmware 3.0 can play mkv or not?
TSGoneraz
post Aug 22 2009, 03:55 AM

432 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Aug 21 2009, 07:23 PM)
this one not yet reality..  biggrin.gif

Added on August 21, 2009, 7:23 pm

if you use it as a BDP then no extra software needed to be purchased.. maybe just the remote control  tongue.gif
hahah..ok another good new to those who have a sony bravia tv. YOu cna use the Tv remote to control your ps3. So you dont have to buy a bluetooth remote. Also when you switch off ur bravia tv it will automatically switch off ur ps3 also... Cool eh..In the future it will be compatible with all Sony device... all the devices will be able to snyc with each other. Thats the vision. and we are seeing the integration happening bit by bit.
aiman04
post Aug 22 2009, 06:57 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(Goneraz @ Aug 22 2009, 03:55 AM)
hahah..ok another good new to those who have a sony bravia tv. YOu cna use the Tv remote to control your ps3. So you dont have to buy a bluetooth remote. Also when you switch off ur bravia tv it will automatically switch off ur ps3 also... Cool eh..In the future it will be compatible with all Sony device... all the devices will be able to snyc with each other. Thats the vision. and we are seeing the integration happening bit by bit.
Good news for Sony owners. Again this was the problem with the HDMI chip they used in the fat PS3. This technology, HDMI-CEC is not new. Many manufacturers been using this for at least a couple of years already. It takes advantage of the digital connectivity to sends signal via HDMI in between the different HDMI-connected components. But the problem is, it's restricted to one single brands only as each has it's own codes. Sony calls it Bravia Sync, Panasonic Viera Link, Samsung Anynet+, etc.

For me it's better just using a third-party universal remote as it can control each of your components simultaneously , any brands or model. But of course, for PS3 it will need the BT adapter, that's ok with me though.
dopp
post Sep 2 2009, 10:34 PM

1,733 posts

http://vshopmalaysia.vpost.com.sg/aom/shop...tation_3_120_GB

It is out...
WereWolf84
post Sep 3 2009, 09:34 AM

984 posts

Hi, guys, there are few versions of the new slim PS3, what are the differences? and which version is better?
aiman04
post Sep 3 2009, 09:50 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(WereWolf84 @ Sep 3 2009, 09:34 AM)
Hi, guys, there are few versions of the new slim PS3, what are the differences? and which version is better?
Few versions? There is only one version of the Slim PS3.
WereWolf84
post Sep 3 2009, 10:00 AM

984 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Sep 3 2009, 09:50 AM)
Few versions? There is only one version of the Slim PS3.
As I saw there are US version, HK version & M'sia version
chewkl
post Sep 3 2009, 10:07 AM

Peasant
2,170 posts

doh.gif
WereWolf84
post Sep 3 2009, 10:12 AM

984 posts

QUOTE(chewkl @ Sep 3 2009, 10:07 AM)
doh.gif
Sorry if I asked stupid question coz I never own PS3 b4 and now planning to buy it, hope will buy the right one smile.gif

This post has been edited by WereWolf84: Sep 3 2009, 10:12 AM
kianwee
post Sep 3 2009, 10:14 AM

Cube
6,562 posts

Different region players.
aiman04
post Sep 3 2009, 10:15 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(WereWolf84 @ Sep 3 2009, 10:00 AM)
Well, Panasonic BD60 also has US, HK & Malaysia version. They're all the same model, even the BD region is the same. The difference is just the warranty coverage (and/or the PSU).

ronnt88
post Sep 3 2009, 10:16 AM

2,353 posts

ps3 will all be made by Foxconn China smile.gif
WereWolf84
post Sep 3 2009, 10:17 AM

984 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Sep 3 2009, 10:15 AM)
Well, Panasonic BD60 also has US, HK & Malaysia version. They're all the same model, even the BD region is the same. The difference is just the warranty coverage (and/or the PSU).
M'sia version seems more expensive, is it bcoz it's have local warranty? US version one have no local warranty, is it? hmm.gif icon_question.gif

Added on September 3, 2009, 10:18 am
QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Sep 3 2009, 10:16 AM)
ps3 will all be made by Foxconn China smile.gif
so which means... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by WereWolf84: Sep 3 2009, 10:18 AM
wackojacko
post Sep 3 2009, 10:20 AM

207 posts

QUOTE(WereWolf84 @ Sep 3 2009, 10:17 AM)
M'sia version seems more expensive, is it bcoz it's have local warranty? US version one have no local warranty, is it? hmm.gif  icon_question.gif

well i doubt u can claim for warranty on a product u bought in US in ur local Sony shop
ronnt88
post Sep 3 2009, 10:21 AM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(WereWolf84 @ Sep 3 2009, 10:17 AM)
M'sia version seems more expensive, is it bcoz it's have local warranty? US version one have no local warranty, is it? hmm.gif  icon_question.gif

which means deep down they're all the same tongue.gif
Poadster
post Sep 3 2009, 10:22 AM

inspiRED: Fast and Furious
647 posts

QUOTE(WereWolf84 @ Sep 3 2009, 10:00 AM)
All 3 are from the same region A, only diff is the warranty coverage from different country, and where they are shipped from.

So HK and US sets' warranty is covered in those country only. The selling shops will usually tell u they cover the local warranty, but be very sure of what they cover in the warranty as usually they FOC the workmanship but charges for the parts changed.

To be safer (esp since the unit is new and unproven in the long run), wait for the MY version as the warranty is covered by Sony MY. I hear that the unit gets hot very fast (due to the more compact casing) and the fan turns on more frequently (as its smaller and slower to reduce the noise levels).

Ps. SCE(HK) covers HK, Taiwan, SG and MY, some shops may say HK set instead of SG.

WereWolf84
post Sep 3 2009, 10:25 AM

984 posts

QUOTE(Poadster @ Sep 3 2009, 10:22 AM)
All 3 are from the same region A, only diff is the warranty coverage from different country, and where they are shipped from.

So HK and US sets' warranty is covered in those country only. The selling shops will usually tell u they cover the local warranty, but be very sure of what they cover in the warranty as usually they FOC the workmanship but charges for the parts changed.

To be safer (esp since the unit is new and unproven in the long run), wait for the MY version as the warranty is covered by Sony MY. I hear that the unit gets hot very fast (due to the more compact casing) and the fan turns on more frequently (as its smaller and slower to reduce the noise levels).

Ps. SCE(HK) covers HK, Taiwan, SG and MY, some shops may say HK set instead of SG.
Thanks for details explanation notworthy.gif

18 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0215sec    0.72    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 02:36 AM