Ps3 Slim can now Bitstream

Poadster
post Aug 21 2009, 04:58 PM

inspiRED: Fast and Furious
647 posts

QUOTE(zerorulez @ Aug 21 2009, 04:31 PM)
y wanna mod chip one? hmm.gif
laugh.gif but still look alike its predecessor... just slimmer n smaller..
Coz he wanna play ahem ahem games on it..... doubt the ahem ahems can do much to the games, moreover with a newer PS3 (and the new chips, new lens speed, etc), it will take them more time..... or else they would have them out by now.

Or.... mayb he wanna play the ahem ahem BD25 discs out there?? Wonders if those PQ and AQ are as good, nvr dared to buy them tho they are much cheaper???

Added on August 21, 2009, 5:00 pm
QUOTE(cosmicmeadow @ Aug 21 2009, 04:44 PM)
Arrrggghhhh... I want to see the TrueHD and DTS-MA light up on my AVR!!!!
Damn.... that means i gotta junk my current phat PS3 for the slim PS3, just to see the lights go up???

This post has been edited by Poadster: Aug 21 2009, 05:00 PM
Poadster
post Aug 21 2009, 06:39 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(Reix @ Aug 21 2009, 05:07 PM)
Not to forget PS3 can be a very good media player as well.
Can stream mkv files by using PS3 Media Server on PC.
TVersity works very well too...

Vuze oso has on-the-fly streaming and converting done for files to play on PS3, works pretty well for 720p MKV files.... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
Poadster
post Sep 3 2009, 10:22 AM

647 posts

QUOTE(WereWolf84 @ Sep 3 2009, 10:00 AM)
As I saw there are US version, HK version & M'sia version
All 3 are from the same region A, only diff is the warranty coverage from different country, and where they are shipped from.

So HK and US sets' warranty is covered in those country only. The selling shops will usually tell u they cover the local warranty, but be very sure of what they cover in the warranty as usually they FOC the workmanship but charges for the parts changed.

To be safer (esp since the unit is new and unproven in the long run), wait for the MY version as the warranty is covered by Sony MY. I hear that the unit gets hot very fast (due to the more compact casing) and the fan turns on more frequently (as its smaller and slower to reduce the noise levels).

Ps. SCE(HK) covers HK, Taiwan, SG and MY, some shops may say HK set instead of SG.

Poadster
post Sep 3 2009, 11:25 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(maxizanc @ Sep 3 2009, 12:24 PM)
It's not necessarily true, i only heard. If you lurk more in Playstation section, find for me how many dissatisfied customers compared to satisfied customers  biggrin.gif
I think many dissatisfied customers are more likely to voice out their displeasure as compared to happy and contented customers to voice happiness, as that could be construed as gloating and boasting fanboy.

I have been using my Phat PS3 since SG launched it way back then (i paid a damn premium for it, can almost buy 2 slim PS3 now) and mostly been using it for games.

Slowly have been racun-ed to play BD, but i am happy with the LPCM output as you can hear the diff as compared to regular DD or DTS.

Added on September 3, 2009, 11:28 pm
QUOTE(maxizanc @ Sep 3 2009, 10:58 PM)
Better wait for the official malaysia version. Rumored around end of Sept or in October. We don't know how is this PS3 slim durability, so better safe than sorry by buying the official Malaysia version. Just my 2 cents.
yup.... strongly agreed. it shld not take Sony MY to bring them in, mayb slower due to limited stock worldwide and the market in MY.

This post has been edited by Poadster: Sep 3 2009, 11:28 PM
Poadster
post Sep 6 2009, 02:15 AM

647 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Sep 4 2009, 09:02 AM)
Not only the logo, but the font is different as well. No more that Spide-Man font. And the new firmware uses the new logo and font at the introduction. It celebrates the arrival of this new Slim PS3, so our old fat PS3 will just have to follow. laugh.gif

Added on September 4, 2009, 9:51 amFinally just registered the MY PSN account. Didn't know now we can already buy stuffs in Ringgit Malaysia, just bought WipeOut HD and the new dynamic LittleBigPlanet dynamic theme.

We can also test download/upload speed now with the new firmware:

The new 3.0 firmware has bugs, it stutters and hangs the PS3 when playing Uncharted: Drake's Fortune. Donno if any other games is affected, hope nothing esle. vmad.gif vmad.gif

Damn... i cant find more trophies for Uncharted for now, so back to Infamous and GTA4. whistling.gif whistling.gif

Added on September 6, 2009, 2:27 am
QUOTE(sychong @ Sep 5 2009, 11:43 AM)
what if got network connection. can stream fr pc?
if i attach a network attach storage drive, can read n stream to PS3?
so, if yes, all my mp3 songs can play fr PS3?

by the way, can PS3 play mp3 songs from it's USB port with thumb drive?

thks
If yr PS3 is attached to yr network, it can stream from PC directly. Use TVersity, PS3 Media Stream and even Vuze. There are many guides online.

The PS3 cant read external HDD if connected to the USB. Tried.

It reads other files from thumbdrives easily (MP3, MP4, .jpeg, .png, Avi, m2ts... but not flv or mkv), u need to find them under their respective folder (ie Music, Video, Photos) under "USB Device".

The PS3 is really worth it, 1080p BD player, HD audio out, streams files from PC, and it plays games. All for less than 1300. After all, "It only does everything".... laugh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Poadster: Sep 6 2009, 02:31 AM
Poadster
post Sep 28 2009, 07:06 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Sep 27 2009, 12:04 AM)
No problem bro. smile.gif

Champion eh? Makes me feel like a boxing champ. blush.gif  tongue.gif
Now he will be officially crowned Prof Tun Aiman04.... notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

Added on September 28, 2009, 7:10 pm
QUOTE(moomoos @ Sep 28 2009, 05:40 PM)
kalau ini macam alot of difference le

layman terms MP3@320kps AQ will lose to FLAC right

MP3 is just compress music but FLAC is very close to original w/o loosing AQ right
Yes.... that sounds right (pun intended)... tongue.gif

DTS (lossy) outputs at 1500kbps ++, DTS-MA outputs at 5000kbps (can remember exactly how much, will check tonite, sifus can verify here??), go figure which has more sound detail, positioning and resolution....

This post has been edited by Poadster: Sep 28 2009, 07:10 PM
Poadster
post Oct 1 2009, 11:17 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(Poadster @ Sep 28 2009, 07:06 PM)
DTS (lossy) outputs at 1500kbps ++, DTS-MA outputs at 5000kbps (can remember exactly how much, will check tonite, sifus can verify here??), go figure which has more sound detail, positioning and resolution....
Correction due!!

DTS outputs at 640kbps, while DTS-MA outputs at 1500+kbps.... so thats double the data in the sound files...

However, not all can distinguish more audio details versus simply being loud.... cool.gif cool.gif cool.gif

Added on October 1, 2009, 11:21 pm
QUOTE(ar188 @ Sep 30 2009, 11:14 PM)
got one in the house also cannot see the diff?  laugh.gif
Maybe the one in his house is different in color??? blush.gif blush.gif blush.gif

This post has been edited by Poadster: Oct 1 2009, 11:21 PM
Poadster
post Oct 8 2009, 03:52 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(maxizanc @ Oct 8 2009, 01:33 PM)
31st Oct. Cann't wait.
What kinda of teaser is this?? Sony releasing something on that day??

0.0316sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 01:52 PM