67 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Dell Inspiron Users Thread, The ultra mobile from Dell

whizzer
post Oct 3 2009, 01:06 AM

Money DOES grow on trees !!
943 posts

looking good. Hows the battery life? 6 cell = 6 hrs ?
Hico
post Oct 3 2009, 09:33 AM

4,709 posts

QUOTE(whizzer @ Oct 3 2009, 01:06 AM)
looking good. Hows the battery life? 6 cell = 6 hrs ?
no idea..i read some reviews saying that 3 cell can last for 3 hours plus..so 6 cell should be around 6 hours also..
whizzer
post Oct 3 2009, 10:24 AM

943 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Oct 3 2009, 09:33 AM)
no idea..i read some reviews saying that 3 cell can last for 3 hours plus..so 6 cell should be around 6 hours also..
I m thinking of getting the 11z. Currently considering 10v, 11z or 14z.
Was looking at 10v but read reviews saying Atom based Netbook has performance issue & the reasonable price@RM1399.
14z was also on my list however, @ 2kg & RM2349, it moves it away from being a netbook. Thus luckily 11z appears.
Anyone has one yet ? Want to know your personal ownership experience notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by whizzer: Oct 3 2009, 10:28 AM
n0v1ce
post Oct 3 2009, 03:48 PM

316 posts

I am eyeing on 11z too, the spec/size/weight/cell longevity is just right, price is competitive too but I am hoping could get discount in this year end X'mas sales or maybe as early as Deepavali if any?
Hico
post Oct 3 2009, 09:14 PM

4,709 posts

QUOTE(whizzer @ Oct 3 2009, 10:24 AM)
I m thinking of getting the 11z. Currently considering 10v, 11z or 14z.
Was looking at 10v but read reviews saying Atom based Netbook has performance issue & the reasonable price@RM1399.
14z was also on my list however, @ 2kg & RM2349, it moves it away from being a netbook. Thus luckily 11z appears.
Anyone has one yet ? Want to know your personal ownership experience   notworthy.gif
did you consider dell 13? i found out the size is not much bigger than 11z too.. only the weight a bit more and thickness...now i am concerning hows the su4100 processor performance..but not much review on it yet..
and i also just realized recently su4100 is used in dell 14z and 4810tz timeline series..selling price is rm1999 without os and 1gb ram and rm2399 with vista home premium, 2gbram, 320gb and dvd writer..

This post has been edited by Hico: Oct 3 2009, 09:43 PM
n0v1ce
post Oct 3 2009, 10:07 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Oct 3 2009, 09:14 PM)
did you consider dell 13? i found out the size is not much bigger than 11z too.. only the weight a bit more and thickness...now i am concerning hows the su4100 processor performance..but not much review on it yet..
and i also just realized recently su4100 is used in dell 14z and 4810tz timeline series..selling price is rm1999 without os and 1gb ram and rm2399 with vista home premium, 2gbram, 320gb and dvd writer..
11" is netbook alike but not 13" IMHO, size does matter. Refer below for the benchmark (source):

Hico
post Oct 3 2009, 11:12 PM

4,709 posts

its 11.6 inch

dimension for 11z as below
Width: 11.5" (292mm)
Height: 0.92" (23.5mm) front / 1.02" (25.8mm) back (with 3 cell battery)
Depth: 8.43" (214mm)

below is the dimension for dell 13:
Dimensions & Weight
Width: " (322mm)
Height: " (27mm) front / " (31mm) back
Depth: " (218mm)

actually just a bit bigger only but performance is lot different and price is rm100 different with the lowest spec of dell 13... (abt 1 inch+ longer, 5mm thicker and 4mm longer).. but u can get core 2 duo, extra port like vga, express card slot, 320gb HDD..
but of cos 11z may win in battery life ..both got pro and cons.. for me the price is just too close and the spec make some huge different.. i willl just hold till got discount first tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Hico: Oct 3 2009, 11:47 PM
whizzer
post Oct 4 2009, 12:32 AM

943 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Oct 3 2009, 09:14 PM)
Actually, I already own a HP notebook which i lug around to work everyday. What I require is a smaller size one which I can bring a long when i go travelling. Thus main requirement is small size, lightweight & long battery life.

Other than that, I intend to use it to interface my Clavinova piano to compose some music. Thus I intend to run software like Cakewalk or Cubase on it. I also hope that it can run Visual Studio 2008 Express edition, so that I can do some development work when I am the road. (Actually, I hope it can also run virtual PC, but I think thats probably pushing the limit rolleyes.gif )

On special offers, I think price will go lower towards Christmas. However, I am doing some heavy travelling towards Nov - Dec so I might not have the luxury to wait for price drop.

This post has been edited by whizzer: Oct 4 2009, 12:36 AM
nevland
post Oct 4 2009, 11:42 AM

1,055 posts

i've gone through the spec list, and there's no VGA out, only HDMI out... it's difficult to connect to projector for presentation coz most of the projector still using old VGA...
is there any HDMI to VGA connector?
n0v1ce
post Oct 7 2009, 04:35 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(nevland @ Oct 4 2009, 11:42 AM)
i've gone through the spec list, and there's no VGA out, only HDMI out... it's difficult to connect to projector for presentation coz most of the projector still using old VGA...
Yup, that is a setback.

Anyone getting it? I was told that X4500MHD can decode 1080p MKV at no sweat drool.gif
whizzer
post Oct 8 2009, 12:26 AM

943 posts

QUOTE(nevland @ Oct 4 2009, 11:42 AM)
Seems like there's a thing called HDMI to VGA cable.

I have also placed my order for this 11z. rclxms.gif Now waiting for delivery.
cybpsych
post Oct 8 2009, 09:20 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

nice! when is the ETA?

remember to blog or post some pics!! smile.gif
nevland
post Oct 8 2009, 02:02 PM

1,055 posts

thank you for giving the link to HDMI to VGA connector... that have increase my possibility of buying 11z...
Hico
post Oct 9 2009, 09:38 PM

4,709 posts

http://www1.ap.dell.com/content/topics/top...dhs1&l=en&s=dhs
dell is given rm100 discount for this model..offer end tomorrrow..
jack2
post Oct 10 2009, 11:46 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Oct 9 2009, 09:38 PM)
http://www1.ap.dell.com/content/topics/top...dhs1&l=en&s=dhs
dell is given rm100 discount for this model..offer end tomorrrow..
Coupons Entered
The following coupons entered does not meet eligibility requirements. Click "View Details" link(s) for more information.

Days of Deals- RM100 Cash Redemption
Expires : Sunday, 11 October 2009 View Details Remove Coupon

No price discounted after coupon was entered pun..
Loki[D.d.G]
post Oct 10 2009, 01:07 PM

Quis custodiet ipsos custodes
3,648 posts

You sure you using the right coupon code? It's this one: 7$K9JJRTZPXHDV
Hico
post Oct 10 2009, 05:07 PM

4,709 posts

yalo..i tried oledi can o..maybe u enter the wrong coupun number.. tongue.gif
sotong168
post Oct 13 2009, 02:05 PM

in retiring mode
5,291 posts

QUOTE(whizzer @ Oct 8 2009, 12:26 AM)
Seems like there's a thing called HDMI to VGA cable.

I have also placed my order for this 11z.  rclxms.gif  Now waiting for delivery.
have u receive yours? care to give some brief comment?
C-Note
post Oct 13 2009, 02:14 PM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

is there a test model in Dell outlets @ midvalley?

oh and how is this compared to a few upcoming models? There are two processors right? the Celeron and Dual core. Should i go for the celeron or dual core? according to the Dell's website the celeron is 40% better than Atom n270 but what about the dual core?

HP Mini 311
Microprocessor 1.66 GHz Intel Atom Processor N280
Microprocessor Cache 512 KB Level 2 cache
Memory 1024 MB (1 x 1024 MB)
Maximum Memory 3 GB
Video Graphics NVIDIA ION LE
Keyboard 92% Full size keyboard
Pointing Device Touch Pad with dedicated vertical Scroll Up/Down
Hard Drive 160 GB (5400 rpm)
Display 11.6” Diagonal HD LED BrightView Widescreen Display (1366 x 768)
Network Card Ethernet 10/100BT integrated network interface
Wireless Connectivity 802.11b/g WLAN

Bluetooth
Sound Altec Lansing speakers
Keyboard 82 key (92% Full size)
Pointing Device Touch Pad with dedicated vertical Scroll Up/Down
External Ports
3 USB 2.0
HDMI
VGA
RJ-45
Headphone-out/Microphone in combo jack
AC adapter
Dimensions 28.9 cm (L) x 20.4 cm (W) x 1.98 - 3.06 cm (H)
Weight 1.46 kg
Power
65 W AC Power Adapter
6-Cell Lithium Polymer (26Whr)

Samsung N510
Processor: Intel Atom N280 (1.66 GHz, 512KB L2 cache, 667 MHz FSB)
Chipset: Nvidia Ion
Memory: 1GB
Display: 11.6 “HD WXGA (1366×768)
Video Card: Nvidia GeForce 9400M
Hard disk: 160GB SATA
Networking: Wireless 802.11 b / g / n, Bluetooth, Ethernet LAN
Webcam
Ports: Memory card reader 3-in-1
Battery: Lithium-Ion 6-cell

Msi Wind u210
Product Features
Athlon Neo MV-40 1.6 GHz Chipset AMD RS690 + SB600
2GB 200-Pin DDR SO-DIMM RAM
250GB SATA Hard Drive, WLAN 802.11b/g/n, 1 x HDMI Port
Windows Vista Home Premium, Battery 6 cells (5200mAh) 5 hours (depending on usage and configuration)
LCD Type 12.1" HD WXGA 16:9, LCD Resolution 1366x768, VGA, AMD Radeon X1250

Processor, Memory, and Motherboard
Processor: 1.6 GHz
Memory Slots: 2
Hard Drive
Size: 250 GB
Manufacturer: SATA

Cases and Expandability
Size (LWH): 7.4 inches, 11.69 inches, 1.2 inches
Weight: 3.2 pounds
Power
Rated Charge (normal use): 5.0 hours
Wireless
Wireless Type: 802.11bgn

This post has been edited by C-Note: Oct 13 2009, 02:30 PM
Hico
post Oct 13 2009, 02:43 PM

4,709 posts

amd neo is not much faster than atom except the graphic performance.. and its hot also..u can try see the comment for HP DV2. except u go for amd neo dual core..other few models u list out is only using atom processor.. so i personally feel that 11z is the best choice if you better performance than atom.

67 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0301sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:14 PM