Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V30!, The Orange Legion

lwliam
post Aug 25 2009, 04:59 PM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
6,075 posts

oh guys, i heard from you guys some time ago, someone of u brought your alpha (past warranty) to sony service center for change of hand grip plastic. - apparently no charge incurred.. may i know who is it? coz i tried sending my old A100 but they said it will need to be charged, even without changing anything, will charge me RM20.. the service rep said if i got the contact number/ proof of the previous change of parts, then i can get it too..
Braynumb
post Aug 25 2009, 05:01 PM

Yea, Still Broke
1,409 posts

QUOTE(kopitiam @ Aug 25 2009, 04:56 PM)
encik burn, can borrow your 50mm next week icon_question.gif
What's the story morning glory? Ada happening? Can I come with?
ilikehandphones
post Aug 25 2009, 05:11 PM

378 posts

bros...just wanna ask...alpha flash got mode where any camera flash can trigger it?
kopitiam
post Aug 25 2009, 05:26 PM

cookie monster
4,480 posts

QUOTE(Braynumb @ Aug 25 2009, 05:01 PM)
What's the story morning glory? Ada happening? Can I come with?
going with gf to borneo highland on sunday blush.gif

mana tau got good luck can bolo ur 50mm tongue.gif
soulfly
post Aug 25 2009, 05:36 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

QUOTE(ilikehandphones @ Aug 25 2009, 05:11 PM)
bros...just wanna ask...alpha flash got mode where any camera flash can trigger it?

don't have

albnok
post Aug 25 2009, 05:43 PM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

MemorableStudios: Unfortunately, no RAW converter is straight-forward when freshly installed. sad.gif

I suppose a much quicker way is to roll +0.7 EV on the back dial. Spot Meter AEL Toggle actually becomes Slow Sync mode so you can also tap Spot Meter AEL Toggle on the white and it might work better (with flash).

Tried to install DxO Optics Pro, but it couldn't install properly. sad.gif

ilikehandphones: No, Sony flashes do not have optical slave trigger mode. However they can be triggered by Sony Alphas with the pop-up flash raised and the flash mode set to WL (or the F42 or F58 triggered by the F58 on the A700, or the F20/F58 on the A700/A900.)
lildaredevil906
post Aug 25 2009, 05:59 PM

357 posts

albnok: curiuos noob question here... I havnt gotten my f42am yet... so im not too sure how the basics work on it.. but just for information purpose, im curious.. To say that if i had the f42 as the main flash, and then i have the f20 as slave flash, can the f42 trigger the f20 on an a300?

Sorry ah noob question, i havnt gotten the time to read up on the f42 flash..
lwliam
post Aug 25 2009, 06:04 PM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
6,075 posts

^
no, the F20 cant be triggered by the F42, but it can work the other way around...
the F20 doesnt have an optical receiver..
albnok
post Aug 25 2009, 06:04 PM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

lildaredevil906: No, the F42 cannot control ANY Alpha flash. The F20 cannot be triggered by any Alpha flash.

The F20 can trigger the F42, if the F20 is on the A850/A900, though. The F58 can trigger the F42 on the A700/A850/A900.

Your pop-up flash however, can trigger the F42, when the A300 flash mode is set to WL, and the F42 WL mode is on.

This post has been edited by albnok: Aug 25 2009, 06:06 PM
MechaHerc
post Aug 25 2009, 06:24 PM

アルファ ソニ
1,967 posts

Geavity oredy update with new lenses.. brows.gif
Braynumb
post Aug 25 2009, 06:29 PM

Yea, Still Broke
1,409 posts

QUOTE(kopitiam @ Aug 25 2009, 05:26 PM)
going with gf to borneo highland on sunday blush.gif

mana tau got good luck can bolo ur 50mm tongue.gif
hehehe... Sunday got outing with family ler... makan selamat baby 2nd month... time for family single portrait... sorry bro... never been to borneo highland b4... tongue.gif
hanafinoor
post Aug 25 2009, 06:34 PM

2,062 posts

QUOTE(ilikehandphones @ Aug 25 2009, 06:11 PM)
no unless u hv optical slave adaptor.
lildaredevil906
post Aug 25 2009, 06:40 PM

357 posts

Wow, trigger here, trigger there.. thanks for the info albnok =).. its a good info to know for a newbie =)
hafeez71
post Aug 25 2009, 07:09 PM

/// CleaN ISO \\\
538 posts

noob questionn.

been thinking to buy a monopod...is it a must to buy the monpod + ball head?
can the camera screwed on the monpod without the ball head..?

planning to buy it separately...smile.gif
raist86
post Aug 25 2009, 07:11 PM

1,577 posts

QUOTE(hafeez71 @ Aug 25 2009, 07:09 PM)
noob questionn.

been thinking to buy a monopod...is it a must to buy the monpod + ball head?
can the camera screwed on the monpod without the ball head..?

planning to buy it separately...smile.gif
the answer to your question is NO.
You need a ballhead to screw on to the monopod. Most good ones do not come with the head. Your camera will den be screwed to the mounting plate which is then mounted onto the ballhead.
MemorableStudios
post Aug 25 2009, 07:12 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Aug 25 2009, 05:43 PM)
MemorableStudios: Unfortunately, no RAW converter is straight-forward when freshly installed. sad.gif

I suppose a much quicker way is to roll +0.7 EV on the back dial. Spot Meter AEL Toggle actually becomes Slow Sync mode so you can also tap Spot Meter AEL Toggle on the white and it might work better (with flash).

Tried to install DxO Optics Pro, but it couldn't install properly. sad.gif

ilikehandphones: No, Sony flashes do not have optical slave trigger mode. However they can be triggered by Sony Alphas with the pop-up flash raised and the flash mode set to WL (or the F42 or F58 triggered by the F58 on the A700, or the F20/F58 on the A700/A900.)
thanks bro, for the tips.. smile.gif

anyway, i tried installing DXO trial version, and used my previous a350 RAW file, it will automatically calibrate the settings to your camera type and shooting settings... coz when I load up 1 image, the noise was reduced, picture still sharp and better dynamic range compared to previous,,, all automatic... hmmm..

will test with a900 RAW files next...
soulfly
post Aug 25 2009, 07:13 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

Actually Sony wireless flash system is soooo easy to understand. To make it simple, you just have to remember:

- all bodies are wireless capable (A850/900 are exception because they don't have built-in flash, but they have triggering capability)

- all Sony Alpha flash are wireless TTL capable

- F20AM flash can be used as trigger on A850/900 only

- F58AM is the top of the line flash, can be used as trigger as well on any body
hafeez71
post Aug 25 2009, 07:14 PM

/// CleaN ISO \\\
538 posts

QUOTE(raist86 @ Aug 25 2009, 07:11 PM)
You need a ballhead to screw on to the monopod. Most good ones do not come with the head. Your camera will den be screwed to the mounting plate which is then mounted onto the ballhead.
camera screwed on mounting plate then mount on ball head then screwed on the top on monopod?
hazril
post Aug 25 2009, 07:16 PM

.: This Is Brazil! :.
3,070 posts

QUOTE(raist86 @ Aug 25 2009, 07:11 PM)
sure ka bro...???from what i tried monopod can be mount without a ballhead bcos the screw thread has a thread for our camera to mount...i always play with the monopod in the shop im working....maybe someone could enlighten us.... smile.gif
raist86
post Aug 25 2009, 07:17 PM

1,577 posts

fixed...

This post has been edited by raist86: Aug 25 2009, 07:19 PM

124 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Top

0.0290sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 05:19 PM