fadthil
post Sep 5 2009, 05:41 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(moomoos @ Sep 5 2009, 08:51 AM)
Mac's...elite spotted biggrin.gif

so, B2G1, calculate the rate compared to now... which is cheaper, thanks

yeah, Entrapment, Twin towers, and the Putra Line..i watched that movie many times
Catherine Zeta, very sexy tho, just loved it.. thumbup.gif

Where got elite... dats the lowest end model... biggrin.gif
Well, the B2G1 deal... overall I saved USD16 compared now if I buy all 3... and roughly translate to USD16+ each. So far based on Amazon's market, I'll never gonna get Valkyrie & Da Vinci Code to even drop below USD20 even after so long oredi!

Oh yeah, Catherine Zeta thumbup.gif and Pudu station looked splendid laugh.gif

QUOTE(cmw_kwl_6923 @ Sep 5 2009, 12:36 PM)
Bro, your BD estimated arrive day bila? how'come banyak cepat, my BD shipped on 26-08-2009 estimated arrive 01-10-2009 from amazon us  doh.gif

You should be getting it very2 soon. Mine was estimated on October 1 too. My last order arrived in 7 days and this one 10 days... both via Std Shpg. I'm not sure in few weeks time because of Raya holidays hmm.gif

QUOTE(ar188 @ Sep 5 2009, 09:08 AM)
mac with blu-ray?  tongue.gif

No... no blu-ray player. Only can afford "fat and noisy" PS3 laugh.gif

fadthil
post Sep 6 2009, 12:33 AM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Sep 5 2009, 10:45 PM)
back from FD4... not bad tongue.gif

the PQ not tat bad la... and the AQ really something looking Fwd in BD rclxms.gif

Bro, u watched 2D one or 3D, which cinema?

QUOTE(the jazzman @ Sep 5 2009, 11:17 PM)
any1 watched public enemy at cinema?? PQ was also nice.. the night scene during shooting at cabin in jungle was like 100hz..

Dats because Michael Mann utilised HD camera to shoot just like in Miami Vice... thumbup.gif
fadthil
post Sep 6 2009, 12:10 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

Personally I'd prefer movies using HD cameras during this day and age because we're eventually gonna watch through a digital high definition presentation anyway, old films shot on film stock are fine though, as is... All this because I really hate film grains (intentionally is fine if done right), even more when they're huge and also interfering like a layer of haze especially when watching it on high definition system that will definitely accentuate it. But having said that, "300" however has intentional grain even though it was done almost entirely digital and I can accept its creative preference like that. But most catalog title movies were shot on film stock years ago meant for standard resolution reproduction; so when they're produced for a higher definition, you can see the flaws very clearly already doh.gif

And I'm fine watching movies with the "200Hz motionflow look" as this differentiate my viewing between a higher resolution presentation (like from a blu-ray/HD-DVD) to a standard one (like VHS/LD or dvd).

But then again, to each their own I guess... whistling.gif
fadthil
post Sep 6 2009, 01:39 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

As far as DNR goes, it's there, but not employed so excessively that the actors look like wax figures moving through a Roman tableau at Madame Tussaud's. Facial features can look a bit smooth and at times lack the striking detail we expect from Blu-ray, but plenty of close-ups are razor sharp and absolutely stunning.

Does this mean if they do a replacement disc, it's gonna be grained....? doh.gif Better get this one quickly.. whistling.gif biggrin.gif
fadthil
post Sep 6 2009, 02:27 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Sep 6 2009, 01:45 PM)
They were not meant for standard resolution. The cinema screen is so big even back then they're definitely not standard resolution. 35mm film has higher resolution than the current 1080p HD cameras, but because they're analogue we can't measure them by pixels. Only when scanned to digital they equals to 2160p resolution which doubles the resolution of the HD cameras. Like I said, a 70mm film can even be scanned at 4320p.

But I get what you mean. Only that it just got nothing to do with resolution. It's more about the quality of the film stock used in the old days, how well the studio stores them and how far the studio willing to spend for new restoration and transfer. The film negatives of the Star Wars trilogy was cleaned using chemical solutions before being re-scanned for the DVD release a few years ago, and then Lowry Digital (now owned by DTS Labs) did further cleaning by digitally removing specs and scratches (similar to DNR, but on DVD resolution the loss of details because of it are not so noticeable).

In HD, the effects of DNR becomes obvious. With DNR, the details of the film also reduced, so either you want to see clean image, but smooth, waxy characters' faces (recent example, Gladiator) or grainy detailed image. That's why directors leave the grains intact, not because they loves them but to preserve the original detail of the image. In this case the grain is not intentional but just the natural properties of the film stock itself.

For Saving Private Ryan, Spielberg and DP Janusz Kaminski intentionally used Kodak 5293 film stock and bleach bypass techniques to achieve a high-grain look, and sent the negative to a lab to further leech the color out. This is intentional grain, it's an artistic decision, no way the grain will be removed.
Yup, I think you made your point very clearly here. It's not that I adore DNR... but if a process done right, you don't need DNR to remove excessive grain if there's less or no grain in the first place on a film stock. Example, watch The Matrix, I Am Legend, Fantastic Four... they're almost grainless while they're shot on film not digital camera and I don't think the studio utilised DNR on these blu-ray releases either. It'll be a turn off for me too if a film is heavily grained, especially when viewed on high definition blu-ray even though it's sharp and detailed.

I was wondering too, if it's sacrilegious to tamper with grain and maintaining what's original and best for viewers to see... why some studios (who knows better what to do or not to do with their products) used DNR to ruin it if that what they want... hmm.gif
fadthil
post Sep 6 2009, 03:24 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

Even if there's CD-RAMA RAMA in Popular Bookstore, will all stock blu-ray ke? hmm.gif
fadthil
post Sep 7 2009, 11:59 AM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

fadthil
post Sep 7 2009, 04:18 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(robinlim @ Sep 7 2009, 02:12 PM)
nice touch bro
photoshop eh? biggrin.gif
nod.gif biggrin.gif
fadthil
post Sep 7 2009, 11:42 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Sep 7 2009, 11:29 PM)
cheh.. why u forgot to remove the annoying 15 rating wan?  tongue.gif
No no, I'm not gonna mess wif General Maximus, he knows wat to do... biggrin.gif
fadthil
post Sep 8 2009, 10:18 AM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

LATEST: It was reported that Universal has decided to remove the rating logo on their Region B Gladiator 2 Disc Special Edition blu-ray cover as of today due to one unforseen circumstance. Universal however, has yet to comment... biggrin.gif

fadthil
post Sep 8 2009, 11:16 AM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Sep 8 2009, 10:28 AM)
Title release update:

November 17

Léon (The Professional)
Sex, Lies and Videotape

November 24

Angels & Demons
thumbup.gif PQ top notch... based on the 7 min preview on Da Vinci Code blu-ray!! A must get for me... love this more than the complicated Da Vinci Code. But dunno why US release is 2 months late than UK hmm.gif

Leon The Professional oso thumbup.gif Very cute-sy Natalie Portman then... biggrin.gif
fadthil
post Sep 8 2009, 02:14 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(kayroll @ Sep 8 2009, 11:36 AM)
how about this one......

any comment on this...? icon_idea.gif
Everyone into horror, eh? Halloween is approaching right....

Coming releases... (FVJ release today):

user posted image user posted image

Not expecting on storyline, but more from PQ... night/low-lit/exterior should be good...
fadthil
post Sep 8 2009, 03:29 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

Another 2 horror-fest, forthcoming on blu-ray.... thumbup.gif

user posted image user posted image

QUOTE(khchong81 @ Sep 8 2009, 03:22 PM)
Anyone watch Final Destination 3 in Bluray Before?
Not officially release yet... but got nen-nen laugh.gif
fadthil
post Sep 8 2009, 03:34 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

Dat's right. Story-wise, I like the first one, then Final Destination 2. Haven't watch Final Destination 3 in full so can't tell whether it's good. But the 4th one... a no-no rclxub.gif
Maybe the 3D version is better... as I watched only the 2D

This post has been edited by fadthil: Sep 8 2009, 03:35 PM
fadthil
post Sep 8 2009, 03:41 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(zerorulez @ Sep 8 2009, 03:36 PM)
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

so much free time er bro... tongue.gif nice one...  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
No free time actually.... too bored working, need a break... dats why biggrin.gif
fadthil
post Sep 8 2009, 04:04 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ Sep 8 2009, 03:44 PM)
rolleyes.gif  Actually got Final Destination 3 blu ray, but need usually ships within 1 to 3 weeks. (mean no stock for now)

Final Destination 3 [Blu-ray] (2006)

I think this is Canadian Version.
Yup, but this one not official by New Line... maybe master from DVD je? doh.gif Just like Se7en...

QUOTE(richard912 @ Sep 8 2009, 03:49 PM)
This one definitely have nen nen to see
... and ding-dong? laugh.gif
fadthil
post Sep 8 2009, 05:10 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(kayroll @ Sep 8 2009, 04:29 PM)
anyone try this before.....hopefully there are region free for this one.... tongue.gif
I like 2 of the "9 Songs".... thumbup.gif Primal Scream & SFA.. notworthy.gif

Didn't watch this movie in its entirety, VCD picture pretty bad.

Critical response:
9 Songs was the most sexually explicit mainstream film to date, largely because it includes several scenes of real sexual acts between the two lead actors. Margo Stilley's role is highly unusual in that she had unsimulated and very graphic sex with her co-star Kieran O'Brien, including geni**l fondling, female mast****tion, with and without a vibrator, penetrative vag***l sex, cunnil*ngus and fell*tio. During a scene in which Stilley mast****tes his pe**s with her hand after performing fell*tio on him, he became the only actor who has been shown eja****ting in a mainstream, UK produced feature.
laugh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by fadthil: Sep 8 2009, 05:20 PM
fadthil
post Sep 8 2009, 10:45 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(moomoos @ Sep 8 2009, 09:27 PM)
so... your disappearing act... berapa minutes??
Sekejap aje... biggrin.gif
fadthil
post Sep 9 2009, 01:15 AM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

Ayoo... wat happened to this thread ah? Talk about Sausage & 2 Meatballs pulak ni... doh.gif laugh.gif
fadthil
post Sep 9 2009, 01:21 AM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Sep 9 2009, 01:17 AM)

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0393sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled