17 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

The Bright Side V2, Night! Lights! Action!

pseudoblue
post Nov 4 2009, 11:22 AM

Wow drool.gif ... that's a nicely mod Mag 2D? Very nice battery carrier too. And it throws better than the M6? Would like to get my hands on both, cool. thumbup.gif

Added on November 4, 2009, 11:30 am
QUOTE(Striderman @ Nov 4 2009, 11:19 AM)
G2Z originally is a zenon but you can drop in any P60 but the drawback is the heat management cause it was made with nitrolon not 6061 alloy. However I did used M60 (malkoff) with G2Z before but for a short period before i switch it off. Now the M60 reside in my M2.

How come jwyj didn't response to my PM yesterday. I'm waiting his reply regarding his M2XC4 bundled with G2Z.
Oh, this is good info. Newspaper might be sad to hear this, haha..

Let me ask jwyj abt your M2xC4, let you know later.

This post has been edited by pseudoblue: Nov 4 2009, 11:30 AM
pseudoblue
post Nov 4 2009, 03:26 PM

QUOTE(susuman @ Nov 4 2009, 01:04 PM)
HID is good, but too bright for my use, only EDC home or outside.

I use my light most of the time at 30% of the full brightness of Q5 or R2 max (+-240lm)  tongue.gif save energy and save the LED life, oh and my eyes too. blush.gif
Yea, I'm often around 30%-50% which is enuf. Don't want to push the LED too much eh, unless we have a gathering when we're mostly on 80 - 120% tongue.gif hahaha

QUOTE(alantch @ Nov 4 2009, 02:04 PM)
Of course I can bring it the next time I go KL, if the schedule permits and if you guys are raring for another meet then.
Hey no problem, can set up a meet when you come to KL too, but try to do it on a weekend yea wink.gif

QUOTE(damonlbs @ Nov 4 2009, 03:02 PM)
i think pseudoblue got bitten by the HID bug sweat.gif

you might want to check out Microfire HID at 4sevens
http://www.4sevens.com/index.php?cPath=63
lol, i think so... I like to have a HID, but it's currently way out of the budget... hrmm

QUOTE(Lazyboy @ Nov 4 2009, 03:08 PM)
I almost jumped on this but decided to go with a 26W HID as I already have the Jil Lite Eznite 10W HID.  There were 2 3x18650 Megalennium bodies that went on sale in CPF the past few weeks and I manage to snag one.  Just keep an eye out as there maybe more on sale.
Which 26W HID?
pseudoblue
post Nov 5 2009, 10:09 AM

Enjoyed yesterday's gathering! Thanks guys for coming and it was good to meet you James! You're a P60 king! Have to thank your friend for accommodating us too biggrin.gif I wonder if he'll start considering buying flashlights after all those lights talk and display...

In summary, we've check out various P60 hosts and bodies, which include Surefire, Ultrafire, Trusfire, NoName, Solarforce, and some more can't remember.. Even different drop-ins, from xenon to LEDs. Batteries from AA, CR123 3.0v, 3.7v, Li-ion 17670, 18650 configurations. We were also doing some ultimate lego-ing. The P60 xenon drop-ins are impressive, like what we saw at the last gathering. Very nice warm and floody feel, the smoothness of these incans are unmatched with LEDs (no, im not a convert, still love LEDs for many reasons.... HID acceptional hahaha!).

Lights that stand out and also not at the last gathering were the Tiablo A9, Trustfire MCE, Trustfire SSC P7, Lumapower MRV, Lumapower Vantage Q3-5C (this was impressive, very smooth creamy warm tint, didn't had a Q3-5A to compare tho), and that Silver MCE light (Jame's fav) which I forgot the name, has an excellent flood, smooth and no donut hole.

Added on November 5, 2009, 10:10 am
QUOTE(old newspaper @ Nov 5 2009, 09:47 AM)
we helped you test out your new E2E, these are the following test we did for you ;  brows.gif

1. 5ft drop test
2. Hot water boiling test
3. Ran it over with truck
4. and others torture test....

Verdict : it pass with flying colours !  thumbup.gif  tongue.gif
laugh.gif thumbup.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by pseudoblue: Nov 5 2009, 10:10 AM
pseudoblue
post Nov 5 2009, 11:31 AM

QUOTE(Lazyboy @ Nov 5 2009, 07:41 AM)
Both.  I got the light originally without the rechargeable and later on added the pack.  It's a fantastic little HID and the reflector makes a big difference.
alantch, pseudoblue
http://www.cpfmarketplace.com/mp/showthread.php?t=201958 <=  I am giving this new Tactical HID 26W a try.  Just ordered so no pics at the moment.  Will share once I get it, hopefully next week  biggrin.gif
So... are you in KL/PJ area? I would like to check that out, can arrange a meet something eh

Regarding z-b-i's *E1E excecutive lite that couldn't work yesterday. I tested last nite at home it worked by pushing the xenon housing to the body. But did not work with the bezel on, it may have seem like a washer was missing. Didn't check further as already sleepy di. It'll be on susuman's hands soon.

This post has been edited by pseudoblue: Nov 5 2009, 03:27 PM
pseudoblue
post Nov 5 2009, 04:01 PM

QUOTE(strinq @ Nov 5 2009, 01:58 PM)
that is super small...now maybe it was good i didn't jump on the preon.
heheh
But Preons are AAA tongue.gif

I can't see pic attached yet.. vmad.gif

pseudoblue
post Nov 5 2009, 05:46 PM

QUOTE(susuman @ Nov 5 2009, 05:39 PM)
I will opt CR123A for long run time and shelf life, not AAA also not bad, that is why I got the limited edition of Preon I Ti Clicky.

Hey, thank you for the help again, owe you once, when u come by astro again, drop me a call, I owe u a big lunch!  tongue.gif
Oh, haha it's okay you don't owe me anything wink.gif we can have lunch yea, but talk about flashlights laugh.gif

Some of you know the lumapower vantage has two lanyard holes side by side at the tailcap. Seems like a nicely fit compatible clip, like the NiteCore D20 (but theirs are wider unless I drill more holes in between).. Any of you know how to get a clip like that? Stainless steel tail clip would look awesome on the vantage!

And btw...

For our next gathering, let's head on to Kota Damansara Community Forest Park! .
- Tentative date will be looking into January 2010.
- Plan to make it into a walk where we can chill, have fun and take our time, explore the pitch blackness of the forest and cool ambient sightings of the fireflies and the stars beyond. Yesss, but take note we might be under bright lights the entire time.
- Meet around 8.30-9.00pm at KD Trail and in for the walk! (have our own dinner beforehand)
- Bring only the lights that matters tongue.gif and some that we request to check out.
- And, I may need to explore that area first, see what to expect.

Until the next announcement!

pseudoblue
post Nov 6 2009, 05:03 PM

QUOTE(susuman @ Nov 6 2009, 10:32 AM)
I think pseudoblue organized 1 month gathering, whole month camping in the woods, we have to use the Powerball to charge all the flashlight  then.

I worried later on KD community Forest committee will create a new rule, to prohibits Light pollution .  tongue.gif
Hahahaha, by the end camping trip, we'll all have very very strong wrists... tongue.gif

QUOTE(surefire v LED @ Nov 6 2009, 12:01 PM)
they are tiny ( the XPG-R5 )  tongue.gif
I was wondering how you gonna open your L2D and solder that XPG hmm.gif

QUOTE(damonlbs @ Nov 6 2009, 12:04 PM)
Quark MiNi AA
OOo, looks nice and very compact. Good idea on the very small AA/123. But my QAAT has been very good to me biggrin.gif For something smaller, I'm still heading for the Preon. But all 123 lovers will dig this light, even those who wants an AA that looks like a AAA thumbup.gif

QUOTE(strinq @ Nov 6 2009, 12:53 PM)
Any pricing on that yet?
Yea, its 39USD.

Added on November 6, 2009, 5:14 pmQuark MiNi AA next to it's big brother the Quark AA

Hrmmmm........

Looks so cute... the 123 also sooo cute... sweat.gif moneyflies.gif wish.gif

*I blame Damon...

This post has been edited by pseudoblue: Nov 6 2009, 05:16 PM
pseudoblue
post Nov 7 2009, 01:55 AM

BOoo!

Just chilling here, checking out posts in CPF..

Hrmm, I haven't heard from nightstalker for a long time.. hey bro, you okay? went for holiday ar? tongue.gif
pseudoblue
post Nov 7 2009, 02:21 PM

QUOTE(surefire v LED @ Nov 7 2009, 07:42 AM)
actually i already put them in my L2D & my Novatac and wow how bright they are especially the Novatac.
In the Novatac it is so bright that i'm afraid it might blow out but it didn't.
In the L2D it is bright also but the smooth reflector in the L2D is not as good as the reflector in the Novatac.
But they are still unfinished as i have to put them under the sun so the Arctic Alumina will completely dry.
Next up is to transform my Mag 2D to have this XPG-R5 in it  brows.gif
Pics pics! hehehehe

The L2D head is sealed? How you managed to open it up and solder the XPG? I noticed a line in the middle, force turn it? Did you get the Artic Alumina locally? thumbup.gif

pseudoblue
post Nov 8 2009, 12:46 AM

Hey surefire v led,

This is very very awesome indeed!!! Thanks for sharing so much info! Really learnt something here. The XPGs have a bit of a greenish tint huh? Like the XPE's, but the L2D has a very nice flood beam, amazing results and luv it! thumbup.gif

The 26 AWG silicone wires are preferred because it can take high heat or something? Can you opt to use normal electrical wires instead? I can't really see how the Shark-sink fit into the mag hmm.gif

Good stuff man!

pseudoblue
post Nov 8 2009, 12:50 AM

QUOTE(Philightsophy @ Nov 8 2009, 12:45 AM)
Wow, the XP-G hotpot is intense  smile.gif
That should throw well smile.gif
The Malkoff Replica Mag-2D right? laugh.gif It's so bright it lit up the whole room for the camera to capture.. drool.gif
pseudoblue
post Nov 8 2009, 01:49 AM

For those who wants to know the sizes in comparison wink.gif

Quark Mini AA, Preon and Mini 123
Note that the bead-blasted head and tail was a DIY and it's not available for sale.

More yummy pictures:

This post has been edited by pseudoblue: Nov 8 2009, 01:54 AM
pseudoblue
post Nov 8 2009, 02:26 AM

Message to StarFleet...

You would think, but it's a 1kW Xenon Arc Tank Light:

This post has been edited by pseudoblue: Nov 8 2009, 02:28 AM
pseudoblue
post Nov 8 2009, 05:20 PM

QUOTE(damonlbs @ Nov 8 2009, 10:44 AM)
EYE CANDY  brows.gif
Hey Damon... Can you imagine having a similar nitecore D20 stainless steel clip on your Vantage? Looks good eh?? Any idea how? brows.gif
pseudoblue
post Nov 8 2009, 05:48 PM

QUOTE(damonlbs @ Nov 8 2009, 05:36 PM)
pseudoblue

ur thinking too much rclxs0.gif

i m not a fan for clips with light this big, dont know why the clip always get in to way rclxub.gif 

what is why we r getting the 4sevens Preon thumbup.gif
Hahahah, I find clips are very useful even for lights that type of size and smaller though thumbup.gif

*but for my vantage, I replaced the anti-roll ring with the other one and removed the clip

This post has been edited by pseudoblue: Nov 8 2009, 05:50 PM
pseudoblue
post Nov 9 2009, 01:16 AM

QUOTE(strinq @ Nov 8 2009, 11:36 PM)
Just a little juice, cuz i think everyone knows i'm obsessed with this. biggrin.gif

Stanley HID 0109.
~USD70 = RM245

Lumens = ~3000-3200

1. Offers 35 minutes constant runtime at full power
   2. Includes CEC AC charger (UL Listed), polycarbonate unbreakable lens
   3. Consists of 3 LED¿s at the top for area light, a metal roll bar for durability and a 2-way dimmer for extended runtime
   4. Features 12 Volt 3Ah SLA rechargeable battery and a 35 Watt high intensity discharge bulb
Hey, I read the review in CPF about this light! But did not follow the entire thread. It seems to be an awesome light. The price is really good too huh sweat.gif

The battery is a sealed lead acid type. From my experience with car batteries, lead acid batts can last alot longer. thumbup.gif But, considering a replacement when it dies can be difficult. Make a batt carrier with 3x 18650 in series? sweat.gif

Added on November 9, 2009, 1:19 am
QUOTE(strinq @ Nov 9 2009, 12:29 AM)
That's the problem, not available locally.
Ebay expensive.
So only way is to ask someone to buy at amazon then ship here.
Not sure if there are other ways cuz stanley is actually a very common brand, and ACE carries them. But if ACE were to bring this in i think it'll cost a bomb.
If ACE gets it, it'll probably be 600+ unsure.gif

This post has been edited by pseudoblue: Nov 9 2009, 01:19 AM
pseudoblue
post Nov 9 2009, 12:14 PM

ITP A1 EOS... oh man oh man... hmm.gif sweat.gif I don't need this right..
pseudoblue
post Nov 9 2009, 03:03 PM

Huhu, just bought some batts from GW2U... 17670, 14500 and Dummy AA.

They also told me about the iTP... if I get it, will go for AW16340 then sweat.gif christmas seems like a good excuse.. but.. but.. if i buy, it's for myself.. wakakakakaka
pseudoblue
post Nov 9 2009, 04:05 PM

QUOTE(damonlbs @ Nov 9 2009, 03:36 PM)
pseudoblue

ur addiction seems to be getting serious  ohmy.gif
No I'm not... whistling.gif

I have an idea... what if I buy for you an A1, then you also buy me an A1 for christmas k? wink.gif

Btw, I've started to create an XLS file like how JWYJ did. He had a printout on the last gathering and wow, full page (looks like 100+ items). Didn't realise my own list is growing too, but still considered very controlled di nod.gif

Added on November 9, 2009, 4:18 pm
QUOTE(masfiq @ Nov 9 2009, 03:59 PM)
hie guy...
nice forum.... thumbup.gif rclxms.gif
learn many thing about flashligt from here... nod.gif
I'm newbie in flashlight,currently own fenix tk11, LD01 and AAA maglite..
want to ave a surefire,but to expensive to me...
anyways, u guy rocks ahaks.....
waiting for the brigth side 1st flashligt notworthy.gif
Hiii, welcome to the Bright Side!!

There's so much have been discussed here. Hope you find this place an addition to your frequent visit sites wink.gif

This post has been edited by pseudoblue: Nov 9 2009, 04:18 PM
pseudoblue
post Nov 9 2009, 08:35 PM

QUOTE(Zen|th @ Nov 9 2009, 05:35 PM)
BTW about the KD trail gathering, do like have to hike or is it a straight path?

Cause I have a knee injury and it has not recovered... Torn ACL... So my knee will just give way on eneven surfaces.

So will this be a problem for me for that day?
I've seen the vid earlier, and it's uneven trail sad.gif I'm not sure about the clearing and I haven't been there yet.

QUOTE(polkiuj @ Nov 9 2009, 05:51 PM)
Well, I think it's best we split this into 2 groups. One group can walk up to the main clearing to test lights and another (the more adventurous) can go hiking. I'm in group 2.

It's not a very short hike ~15mins I think (forgot) and it's not super easy too. Those that hike should carry less stuff or leave ur BBOL (big bang of lights xD) with someone not hiking.

thumbup.gif
BTW, I'm so in for this gathering. =D By that time I should be all ready. Heh!
edit: you have to hike to the clearing... forgot. It's mostly uphill... =(
Maybe there is another way in thru the other side. Not sure, need to find out.
Wah, not sure if we wanna split groups leh, it'll be fun if we're all together smile.gif I was planning to go to the trail and check it out, but kinda have transport issues atm.

Hey polkiuj, so there's two trail, the normal uneven trail up to the clearing and a longer hiking trail?

Added on November 9, 2009, 9:17 pmQuick update on our LYN Flashlight:

I've manage to locate a local laser engraving company in Paramount PJ. Susuman and newspaper knows about it via PM. I've sent an email to the company about our little project, let's hope we get a reply soon, if not I'll call them.

Newspaper has suggested:
1. Mr.Lite [ not sure on the quality ] - Still no review yet from the CPF'er.
2. Xeno [ the most expensive among all but high quality assured ]
3. SolarForce [ the most cheapest among all ]

Newspaper, I am thinking of solarforce if xeno and mrlite is to ex, and since it's cheaper and more of us will be able to afford. The last gathering with jwyj, the quality of solarforce not bad and seems like a reliable P60 light. hmm.gif Is it possible to have solarforce come without any engraving? Or an extra blank flat surface like the quark and fenix has. So can put our own engraving on that. It'll be good if can find out the aluminum grade of solarforce. What worries me is the price of the engraving now unsure.gif

Hrmm.. but Xeno's quality is very good though hmm.gif rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by pseudoblue: Nov 9 2009, 09:17 PM

17 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0574sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:07 AM