17 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

The Bright Side V2, Night! Lights! Action!

pseudoblue
post Oct 29 2009, 12:56 PM

Quark Turbo, AA^2 and CR123^2

Pictures:

Preon Ti

biggrin.gif drool.gif
pseudoblue
post Oct 29 2009, 01:06 PM

QUOTE(polkiuj @ Oct 29 2009, 12:36 PM)
WAH!! Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

cry.gif
WA.. u making me feel guilty.. unsure.gif

By the way, did anyone order the Quark Turbo?

The 18650 body fits the Quark Turbo AA^2. And you'll have a 18650 thrower light, and with Moonlight! brows.gif

Added on October 29, 2009, 2:59 pm
4th November Gathering Update:
QUOTE(pseudoblue @ Oct 27 2009, 07:16 PM)
OKAY... Here we go again!

New gathering date meet up with JWYJ - 4th November Wednesday - 8.30pm
Location: Nikko Hotel Kuala Lumpur (click on the map for directions)

Agenda: Meet Up! laugh.gif tongue.gif
I wanna look at his A9 and possibly other of his mod stuff brows.gif Can meet you guys again! I know many won't be able to make it, but it's okay, even if one person can still meet with jwyj, just chill and check out lights, since he'll cross south china sea for us tongue.gif I'm not a modder btw, but can solder! sweat.gif

Tentative location at Nikko Hotel MCD/Mamak nearby. Beamshots location not confirm yet.

Flashaholics:
1) jwyj
2) pseudoblue
3) polkiuj
4) susuman
5) old newspaper
6) strinq *to be confirm

By the way, you guys wanna meet at Subang or something and car pool? I can drive too, just a suggestion. But must have suitable place to park car till 11-12am.

*** UPDATE ***
Suggested to meet at Hotel room for modding/party session then head to KLCC park or somewhere safe for beamshots fun!

Things needed:
- If any one has spare GiTD tailcaps, O-rings, switches and P60 pills, incan/LED drop-ins (MC_E and P7  ), SMO/OP reflectors, P60 hosts/body extenders, collimater/asperical heads

Tools:
- needle nose plier, solder/soldering iron, sand paper, small files, sharp knife.
This time we're having it in KL! It's far for me, but I'll make it! (hopefully nothing comes up last min on a work day). Who else is coming?!

I have all the tools mentioned and I'll bring them, but someone else also bring just in case. I don't have lead free solder btw, I read somewhere it can take higher temperature?

Jwyj will get back to us on his hotel room closer to date.

Any more suggestion on parks in KL? nearby Nikko Hotel? If we have something like the park near One U would be great biggrin.gif
*EDIT- The KLCC park seems to be the best fit for us, lots of space and can walk.. BUT, it closes at 10pm...

This post has been edited by pseudoblue: Oct 29 2009, 03:23 PM
pseudoblue
post Oct 29 2009, 06:04 PM

Weird, i seem to be missing a whole bunch of post, and I thought I've posted it.. hmm.gif rclxub.gif

anyway... re-post

Our flashlight Suggestion:

Logo/drawing printing. Example (just a suggestion):
The Bright Side
LYN Flashaholic Community

- variety color choice : original colour
- Output mode: lowlight(30%), normal light(70%), super light(120%) - Just 3 modes
- Battery : 18650 battery
- Grade of Water proof : IPX-8
- LED choice. Cree XPE Q3 5A
- Reflector choice: Orange peel reflect
- Optional accessories : bicycle clip, bezels, diffuser?

We're looking at 44USD+. Are we okay for this price? Seems to be good quality too. I know jwyj wanted MCE/P7 but it seems like majority of us here prefer neutral tint.

The Lumapower Vantage silver version sold out already. So fast.. that good huh, can't wait to feel the light!
pseudoblue
post Oct 30 2009, 09:56 AM

QUOTE(strinq @ Oct 29 2009, 07:50 PM)
Personal opinion:
The very first light should either be:

i. A pure tactical light in the lines of the TK series, M20 warrior etc - 1*18650 or
ii. A very comfortable EDC - 1*123

- fully moddable. Easy to change pills when newer better LEDS come out.
- good heatsinking, anticipating high output LEDs in the future
- the LED should be optional. Let the LYN flashaholic members choose their LED, reflector etc. But maybe a mix of decent flood + throw will suit general tastes. But i think a lot will prefer a bit more on the throw side haha.

Just covering some basics that I think should be there. But again its personal opinion. smile.gif

Other things such as modes etc I really don't mind anything. Am use to the various modes of my lights and they don't bother me. As long as you don't have strobe before 3 seconds can already lol.

Everyone will definitely choose IPX8.
Colour - black. But again, I don't mind any colour. But betcha it'll be either black or olive drab.  wink.gif
Maybe the option of strobe. Pretty sure non of us will use beacon or SOS. But again, strobe or no strobe is no problem. 
*might be awesome if someone can actually design the outlook of the light itself. Then we vote. The winner gets serial number 1.
Should have a serial number and if everyone is willing, etched with our nicks.
Good suggestion, what the rest thinks?

Just add what I think. If we have different LEDs for different needs, we might end up with different driver, batts and prices. Will that have effect on cost? We have to manage this specifically and inform the supplier or they'll be mistakes in end production. Or should we stick to one LED and tint for now, same driver, but capable of changing reflectors(OP, SMO), and modding. By keeping things simple, we can budget at RM150 per light?

Regarding the body, are we gonna use their existing body for laser engraving or fully designed our own? This area need expertise and I think we should use their custom body? This part unclear.

just a few checkpoint here:

1. list of interested flashaholic
- Strinq
- Susuman
- Pseudoblue
- Old Newspaper
- damonlbs

2. light's configuration / spec /
- we were from pre-discussion now in actual discussion biggrin.gif then proposal and final decision.

3. budget
- < RM150 (please discuss, but lower price and high quality is always prefered)

4. communication and negotiation with Richard, the manufacturer of MrLite or maybe others
- let one person communicate better = Old Newspaper

5. timeframe
- Shall we come out with our final decision by end of next week? I don't have much experience in this area and we could use more feedback.

QUOTE(z-b-i @ Oct 29 2009, 11:27 PM)
i wont be able to join the gathering next week, but i could pass the lights to someone else who is going.
Aww ok.. Anyone can grab the two lights from him?

I have two primary CR123 atm, so i'll bring them.
pseudoblue
post Oct 30 2009, 10:56 AM

QUOTE(RookieDaddy @ Oct 30 2009, 09:20 AM)
huh? new Quark Prism...
4Sevens' Prism
things at 4Sevens are getting weirder and weirder... and for US$20? + US$10 for the filter kit?  sweat.gif

EDIT: my first thought when reading the name was will it output the 7 colours of rainbow...  shocking.gif luckily not! whistling.gif
It does make the quark into a 'zebralight' lol, I'm interested. Deciding factor will be the beamshot now hmm.gif

QUOTE(Zen|th @ Oct 30 2009, 10:08 AM)
About RM150...? Hmm I've 1 too many mini flashlights already... Haha. Need to let go of 1 first..

Not too keen on the small ones for now.. I guess I will have to pass... sad.gif
But.. it's our own light tongue.gif haha, if it's a 4.2v light, can put more load and drive a XPE to 120%, the rest will be dependable on the reflector type.
QUOTE(polkiuj @ Oct 30 2009, 10:15 AM)
Would love custom engraving.

150 sounds really low. Hehe.

Any artifact free LED will do.

I'd prefer a nice sleek, simple design but any nice design will do since it's the 1st time. thumbup.gif
The reflector contributes to the rings too right? I based the price on 44USD tho.. We need to put a figure to expect first. Budget, design, can change when we reach the finalization. If more of us prefer bigger light, 18650x2, CR123x2, we'll be looking at MCE or P7 then. But for our first light, we can put something all of us can afford? See the success of our very first laser engraving flashlight brows.gif

Added on October 30, 2009, 11:02 am
QUOTE(old newspaper @ Oct 30 2009, 10:43 AM)
update from Richard, MrLite:

customized body is not possible.....can be done if there's a min order of 200pcs and above.

what we can do is change the output mode, change the led emitter and add printing or engraving...

printing and engraving would be a huge gap in terms of pricing....

current circuit only can support Q5, R2 & MC-E......XPG R5 will need a new circuit which is coming very soon....

and yes, it's 6P compatible !  thumbup.gif
Well, just like susuman wanted, 6p compatible tongue.gif

Q3 5A can?

Btw, I'll compile all your feedbacks or whatever been said about our custom light, the later post again to review.

This post has been edited by pseudoblue: Oct 30 2009, 11:02 AM
pseudoblue
post Oct 30 2009, 04:27 PM

QUOTE(polkiuj @ Oct 30 2009, 03:48 PM)
Tell you guys what, I'll bring in the Prism next round cos I dun want it to delay the Preons.

So Prism, Mealstorm, that delicious looking 47's light that only showed the tail, etc. will be next order k? =D

I definitely want a Prism. Then I dunnit to buy Zebralight anymore! Wee!!
No problem, I'm interested in prism too but can wait for next round. There are still many more releases from 47s.

Well...

I've finally got my Lumapower Vantage HAIII Silver!

Gotta say, the silver finish looks alot better than the pictures. The light feels good to hold, nice knurling feel, not too sharp or too slippery either, its slim and feels solid.
The threads are smooth on both ends, not sure if it's squared, slight bigger gaps in between compared to fenix or quark, and it's also shorter in length.

3 types of O rings, each at one end of the body and another at the front retainer (inside the bezel). Yes, can switch to any compatible reflector and possible mod! The retainer and head appears to be very smooth also, looks as though polished.

OP reflector and seems to have a tighter hotspot compared to a Quark's. Like any famous Cree XRE, noticeable single ring at 1 meter distance, but it's not a bother.

Brought it to GW2U for a sneak preview (to send my TK40 for checking as well). Met Polkiuj again, Rookiedaddy (finally), well and, danny and gwen. Will test out the brightness more later tonite biggrin.gif

The UI is quite interesting and I have to go thru it more later. It seems it has a memory function, remembers the last mode you switched off, still can cycle thru with forward clicky or bezel twist. But if you enable Tactical Lock, you'll have either one output program permanently, until you unlock it and goes back to normal operation. thumbup.gif

pseudoblue
post Oct 31 2009, 08:01 PM

QUOTE(strinq @ Oct 30 2009, 10:57 PM)
Hey guys, z-b-i just passed me 3 of his surefires!
I think I will pass it to old newspaper if i can't make it to the gathering that night.

He passed me the :

1. E2L
2. L1
3. E1e

And thanks for the battery loan man. Appreciate it. smile.gif
drool.gif cool smile.gif

QUOTE(RookieDaddy @ Oct 31 2009, 12:10 AM)
nice meeting you too... ... and your Silver Vantage is really lovely...  biggrin.gif Like the beam profile... creamy  thumbup.gif

QUOTE(ray2ray @ Oct 31 2009, 06:59 PM)
got my vantage q3-5a warm white version from old newspaper today.

finally have a warm white 2AA to complement my eagletac

i like it a lot, thank you!
Hehe, it is a nice light to begin with. The advertised 200 lumens (for R2) seems to be quite right (compared with TA21 beam). The tricky part of this light is understanding the UI and you'll get used to it. Just read the instructions yeah biggrin.gif

pseudoblue
post Nov 1 2009, 03:50 PM

Quick update on our own LYN Flashlight:
(I accidentally post at polkiuj's thread, made changes di sweat.gif)

The proposed body discussed in previous posts (MrLite), using 18650 config, choices of outputs, LED, reflector and our own laser engraving, is now at CPFMarketplace. Questions were addressed in the thread too. A CPF'er will also review it and we will know how's the light hopefully soon.

So, decision to use MrLite is on hold till the review comes out. Me and newspaper actually thought of getting a group of us who are interested to buy a sample. But since someone's gonna do a review, let's wait.

Added on November 1, 2009, 4:15 pm
QUOTE(bimmer @ Nov 1 2009, 01:43 AM)
Hi guys,

I've been out of touch with the latest flashlights recently. But now I'm looking for a small single AA size LED flashlight. Multimode is optional. Mainly used as EDC. Under RM200 is ideal. I used to have Fenix but it doesnt work now. I also have Jetbeam but its an old model. What is good out there these days?

Let me add more info and options:

4Sevens Quark AA Tactical or Regular (Cree XPE-R2 WC/WD) - RM200 - Buy from Polkiuj

All 3 below can be bought from Gadgetworld2u They have other NiteCore AA range below RM200 too.
Fenix LD10 with clip (Cree XRE-Q5) - RM220
NiteCore EZAA Red (Cree XPE-R2) - RM195
EagleTac P100A2 (Cree XPE-Q5 or Q3 - Cool or Warm) - RM180 but two AA.
Olight T15 (Cree XRE-Q5) - RM190

If you're interested in more info, can check out here.

I personally use a Quark AA Tactical as EDC, great light smile.gif

This post has been edited by pseudoblue: Nov 1 2009, 04:16 PM
pseudoblue
post Nov 2 2009, 09:57 AM

QUOTE(damonlbs @ Nov 1 2009, 09:32 PM)
pseudoblue

did you take out the clip in your Quark AA Tactical  sweat.gif ?
No wor, I am using with clip smile.gif

QUOTE(surefire v LED @ Nov 2 2009, 12:15 AM)
waiting for my XP-G R5 on 10mm pcb to arrive,once arrive my old scholl L2D CE will have a new eye  drool.gif
Hey, this is interesting, can you take pictures? I also want to know how it fits in your L2D.

QUOTE(old newspaper @ Nov 2 2009, 09:41 AM)
brows.gif
not sure about the pricing yet....but 1 thing for sure is the shipping is very very expensive! only Fedex used...sent today get it the next day  sweat.gif

i'm very sure their build quality is superb, as i have their lights before the Xeno G95 & 105....customer support is very efficient....always on MSN with her  brows.gif

Go Broke Trip [ GB ] again?  rolleyes.gif  tongue.gif 

ok, imagine putting a Malkoff M60 drop-in in this....  drool.gif
Can't see any pics yet, got a link?
pseudoblue
post Nov 2 2009, 12:41 PM

Gathering Update on 4th Nov, 8.30PM @ Nikko Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Post info:

1st Session: Chit-chat and modding session in jwyj's room.
2nd Session: Outdoor beamshots run:

- Strinq will be bringing E2L, L1, E1e from z-b-i
- Jwyj and me will bring spare CR123 batts.
- I'll be bringing some tools (solder, soldering iron, pliers, wire cutter, sand paper, file, small blade, etc)
- Susuman, are u bringing any tools?
- newspaper will deliver the Vantage lights (if it arrive before date)
- polkiuj will also deliver his lights (if it arrive before date)

Also, any surefire light you want jwyj to bring?

KLCC park will be closed at 10.00pm, so that location is out for 2nd session. I was thinking of putting klcc park for 1st session but it'll be harder for newspaper to find us as he's coming later. So depending on how long 1st session is, we might just end up at the hotel's swimming pool wink.gif And if time permits we can also head to Taman Tasik Titiwangsa, looks like a 15min drive from Nikko.

Regarding car pooling, I think we all can just drive there ourselves. My car will be in workshop that day, but I'll find other ways to get there wink.gif

This post has been edited by pseudoblue: Nov 2 2009, 12:42 PM
pseudoblue
post Nov 2 2009, 04:22 PM

QUOTE(susuman @ Nov 2 2009, 01:03 PM)
hmm.gif Night time during week days is tough for me (My work till late and family commitment ), I don't think I can make it  cry.gif
Awww man, but you are the modder here tongue.gif You can come for 1st session at least, the go back earlier lor. Make an exception? hee hee... Anyway, hope you can make it biggrin.gif

Btw, the A1 AEOS looks cute and , I think i'll skip this though, but let us know the price! biggrin.gif
pseudoblue
post Nov 2 2009, 07:18 PM

QUOTE(polkiuj @ Nov 2 2009, 05:07 PM)
Aah man... Looks like I can't make it for this mini-gathering... Sorry guys... Have fun yea?

Darn, this will be the 1st gathering I miss. =(
Ah, okie sad.gif Maybe KL too far for everyone...

Looks like it'll only be, Jwyj, me and newspaper. Strinq, what's ya status? If you're not coming might arrange a meet to get those 3 SF from you yeah.

Jwyj, since our modder might not be coming, are you still keen for it? I can bring the tools if need still. We can chill in your room for abit, check out your stuff, then later head to the park smile.gif I'll PM you my HP number, will call and meet you at the lobby once I arrive.

Newspaper, remember to bring some of your rare lights wink.gif
pseudoblue
post Nov 3 2009, 12:06 AM

QUOTE(jwyj @ Nov 2 2009, 09:18 PM)
If 2 or 3 people can come, it is still good. which light don't you want me to bring?
1) Tiablo A7, A9 and collimator,
2) Deerelight DBS, CH1L and asperical lens with MC-E pill,
3) A few Dx MC-E and SSP-P7 + MG-RX-! & MRV clone
4) e2e with IMR and some P60  type lights..
Hey, if can bring all those better, I like to see all biggrin.gif

QUOTE(MiniMoke2927 @ Nov 2 2009, 10:54 PM)
Hi all,
          maybe only ya! - can add two more person, Minimoke and BH on conditions that

1) time permits.

2) GPS can guide to the meeting location.

3) the trip justify one flashlight less from the long `to have' list.

4) the `toothpick supporting heavy eyelids' trick still works on return trip after sessions 1,2 or 3 or 4.

5) JWYJ bring what ever you can carry so long you don`t get charged for overweight luggage.

6) please PM me your HP# for those who are coming so that know who to call should all my flashlight batteries runs flat while driving without switching on the headlights.

Minimoke.
Wow cool, erm who's BH btw? sweat.gif
Location of the place and map is on my signature link.

pseudoblue
post Nov 3 2009, 10:38 AM

QUOTE(MiniMoke2927 @ Nov 3 2009, 10:09 AM)
lol  laugh.gif  have you enjoyed your night?  brows.gif

sure enjoy every moment of it drool.gif and moreover it is on the very solid hard wood bed which I made myself rclxm9.gif

Now on the  cry.gif side,
failed to fulfill condition #1 (time permits), so it is a ` no go ' for me & my  BH  cry.gif 
going to miss the mini gathering  cry.gif  but I will aim all my flashlights beam toward the said meeting place.

Minimoke.
You made your own bed? And you also made your own holsters laugh.gif You're funny and resourceful!

We're gonna miss you at the gathering, was already hoping you'd make it. Take care!

This post has been edited by pseudoblue: Nov 3 2009, 10:39 AM
pseudoblue
post Nov 3 2009, 05:35 PM

QUOTE(Chieftat @ Nov 3 2009, 04:16 PM)
Sorry will not be able to make it tomorrow night, if not straight away buy you drink !  thumbup.gif
Okie, noted...

------------

Hey guys, I didn't really take full notice of P60s type lights until jwyj mentioned it to me. I only thought that (from reading) known branded lights deal well with their efficiency and efficacy better than "drop-ins".

With all the P60 type hosts (surefire, ultrafire, wolf-eyes, malkoff) and P60 size LED drop-ins (specifically LED) that you guys have used, owned a long time. How's the performances of these lights? I've read some stuff in CPF but I wanna hear from you guys. How's the thermal management? What's your most prefered P60 host and LED? Will you consider this a good investment like you've owned a Jetbeam, Fenix or EagleTac? Are these lights are just as good if you would leave it on for hours at night?

pseudoblue
post Nov 3 2009, 05:54 PM

Gathering tomorrow! 8.30pm at Nikko Hotel KL.

Flashaholics going are only Jwyj, pseudoblue and newspaper. I thought it'll end with so few people on a weekday in KL hmm.gif And I almost couldn't make it biggrin.gif

Jwyj, I know you won't have connection tomorrow, will communicate with you thru the phone. I'll probably bring some drinks and food, not sure what yet. Will be good to meet up with you! See both of ya tomorrow!

If anyone else can make, please do come wink.gif Drop me a PM and I'll give you me hp no.

This post has been edited by pseudoblue: Nov 3 2009, 05:55 PM
pseudoblue
post Nov 3 2009, 07:42 PM

QUOTE(Philightsophy @ Nov 3 2009, 07:09 PM)
Don't forget Lumens Factory Seraph series  brows.gif
I can only speak from LF experience and thermal management is alright. The HO9L dropin runs warm, but that is expected from an incan. Running an LED dropin is cooler. With that said, I haven't use them for hours straight yet.
Performance is mostly based on the dropin, its circuitry and reflector design.
I am sure more guys can chime in on this matter smile.gif
Yeah, I've got a feel on the LF from susuman's. Smooth threads, grip is depended on the two external rubber rings, has a very nice xenon beam. But did not manage to look at the LED drop-in and he brought it though.. ah

pseudoblue
post Nov 3 2009, 09:55 PM

QUOTE(bimmer @ Nov 3 2009, 08:31 PM)
Thanks to all who contributed for the AA recommendations earlier.

Anyone doing any sales there on that nite?

QUOTE(old newspaper @ Nov 3 2009, 09:16 PM)
yes, bro jwyj will bring some unopened surefire and others light for sales/trade.....come and join us ya

Hi bimmer, jwyj has interesting lights he can sell but he said if no one buy he won't bring it. Drop him a PM yeah and he'll tell u

pseudoblue
post Nov 3 2009, 11:24 PM

QUOTE(susuman @ Nov 3 2009, 10:25 PM)
Oh, really, he is bring in some new surefire, I am interested wor! Ok, OM him now, if he got something I want, tumpang to buy for me, can? drool.gif
Hey sure, no problem, I can settle and collect from jwyj first.

Added on November 4, 2009, 12:39 amI just can't help it but to show these to you guys....

And the PH50 is not even the brightest. The HID section in CPF makes our LED lights look like birthday candles. yawn.gif

This post has been edited by pseudoblue: Nov 4 2009, 12:39 AM
pseudoblue
post Nov 4 2009, 10:56 AM

QUOTE(justin78 @ Nov 4 2009, 09:51 AM)
Yes the HID flashlight is always the BEST if price is not a consideration.
Wondering if someone ever bring along a HID for the next gathering?  drool.gif
Yeah lor, the price of the polarion PH40 will be 2195x3.5= RM7682.5. I think I should open a separate savings account for this, called omgcantbelieveimdoingthisforHIDgg.

QUOTE(old newspaper @ Nov 4 2009, 09:59 AM)
haha....i'm only eying for the G2Z....not a Xenon lover here  shakehead.gif wait.....i thought the G2Z is the led version?
Hee hee, I think he said original (xenon). Anyway, is this P60 compatible? if it is, then you have nothing to worry about wink.gif

QUOTE(alantch @ Nov 4 2009, 10:11 AM)
Indeed, there is nothing to compare to an HID in terms of throw and runtime. Incands do have very good throws too, but suffers from shorter runtimes comparatively. Too bad I'm on this side of the pond, else I can bring my mini HID for you all to check out.
Pics now! biggrin.gif

You're in Miri right?

17 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0521sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 10:29 AM