LYN Tennis Lovers V3, continued in V4

celciuz
post Sep 17 2009, 09:04 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(praetorian @ Sep 17 2009, 08:32 PM)
Celciuz how old are you?
Middle age people like me, already one foot in the coffin, cannot take crossfire above 60lbs....I am going to try at 45-48lbs max, will post feedback once I have tried it.
Me ar, not young and err not exactly old haha. Just graduated, so you can figure it out.

I never tried k6.1 at 60lbs crossfire before, only tried n6.1 at 59 lbs for 17gage crossfire. Not bad le biggrin.gif.
SSJBen
post Sep 17 2009, 09:18 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

QUOTE(Yan @ Sep 17 2009, 06:15 PM)
damn.. i wud luv to hav my hands on her, strings...  whistling.gif

dunno yet loh .. havne't reach yet.. he said need to factor in tax custom etc
ohmy.gif

Any...way, I won't have the opportunity to try these strings until after a few sessions.
I just got all my racquets re-strung, talk about bad timing. Usually one would be happy as hell to get a new string, never tried before.... not this time. sweat.gif
praetorian
post Sep 17 2009, 09:22 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(chip73 @ Sep 17 2009, 08:42 PM)
Eh Prae.....45-48 how to feel la the ball wei?.....like catch butterfly only wor like that...... tongue.gif

I tried 60 on my k6.1 95....but true...too stiff.....but strung it high so that it will drop to the comfy 57 range after one or 2 sessions... tongue.gif

Pssst....u how old la wei?.... tongue.gif
To be honest, I found that by stringing low tension LMAO and I am not joking I am imparting better topspin on the ball than higher tension, before with my Yonex and Rossignol, and sniff sniff old Wilson Pro Staff , the time Chris Evert was playing BEFORE Sampras, Edberg made famous, I cracked and broke all 6 mad.gif , all those were strung 60-65lbs at that time where got poly, it was natural gut, synthetic , (I was using Prince Top Spin at the time, BUT this string only last me 2 hours.....before it snap....) Just imagine lah....still student, but got game.

No choice, even shop Lai Sports (Singapore Lucky Plaza) boss, shake head, he recommended Cross fire at that time, no choice loh, accept his recommendation, try 60, snap in 2 days...... try 58,also snap.....try 55 last 1 week, but didn't like the feeling.Decided only use this set up for coaching, coz student I mostly feed balls and stroke back to student, easy lah, during training or tournament cannot use that setup , go back and use Prince Top Spin........all this way in the late 80's, when coming early 90's, I stop tennis, cannot juggle work and tennis, virtually the tennis Gods, threw the book at me, and since then I never touch tennis , but got watch lah. Only last year, doctor took one look at me and said better get some form of exercise, otherwise, better see my lawyer and prepare my will.What to do.....I hate jogging even if you put PRC in front of me, 5 mins, and I will give up.Decide to take up sport I know best....tennis....so guess what here I am.

My age hmmmm under 45 lah whistling.gif

Nowadays, I play almost everyday, depending if anyone wants to play match with me,(Singles/Doubles/Mix Doubles) I average 2-3 hours court time. Hardly any single players my age, so I whack the juniors here, 3 set's, cannot do best of 5, tried it and regretted it, coz sometimes with my extra beer belly, stamina gets to me....doubles I can do 8 sets no problem, though my doubles isn't that good, as I always treat it like playing singles, IF you have good tactics, you win, but if you try and beat me stroke for stroke....nyuk, nyuk nyuk, you lose!

Yan
post Sep 17 2009, 09:37 PM

551 posts

QUOTE(chip73 @ Sep 17 2009, 08:42 PM)
Eh Prae.....45-48 how to feel la the ball wei?.....like catch butterfly only wor like that...... tongue.gif

I tried 60 on my k6.1 95....but true...too stiff.....but strung it high so that it will drop to the comfy 57 range after one or 2 sessions... tongue.gif

Pssst....u how old la wei?.... tongue.gif
talking abt stringing low tension ... nowadays i'm hearing more n more ppl stringing it low. even this famous fren of mine in singapore ..hehe.. famous blogger .. the toalson ultimate guy ..keke.. strings all 3 of his Exo 3 Graphite 100 at 45lbs or so. he is saying nowadays even more n more players find more control and power at low tension compared to prev era..

my question is : does the feeling of the string bed the same in this 2 scenarios ..
1) string direct at 45lbs and play
2) string higher say 55lbs and whack till the tension drops or leave it there till it comes down to 45+ lbs ? ( if the string still holds and haven't pecah yet). coz i mean u often hear ppl say .. "string already dead". so i'm wondering are they refering to the string being low tension compared to their prev strung tension ??

praetorian
post Sep 17 2009, 10:23 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(Yan @ Sep 17 2009, 09:37 PM)
talking abt stringing low tension ...  nowadays i'm hearing more n more ppl stringing it low. even this famous fren of mine in singapore ..hehe.. famous blogger ..  the toalson ultimate guy ..keke..  strings all 3 of his Exo 3 Graphite 100 at 45lbs or so. he is saying nowadays even more n more players find more control and power at low tension compared to prev era..

my question is : does the feeling of the string bed the same in this 2 scenarios .. 
1) string direct at 45lbs and play
2) string higher say 55lbs and whack till the tension drops or leave it there till it comes down to 45+ lbs ? ( if the string still holds and haven't pecah yet). coz i mean u often hear ppl say .. "string already dead". so i'm wondering are they refering to the string being low tension compared to their prev strung tension ??
This is from what I gather, please take with a grain of salt, if you can afford to do some experimenting, I would recommend it, esp with cheap strings say around RM 40 or less.

Some people would comment that 45-48 tension is too low, they can generate power, they need control, if you are a FLAT hitter I can certainly understand your point of view, but if you are a topspin hitter, not necessary a Nadal clone, BUT your shots do dip, you will most certainly appreciate low tension rackets, I have only tried this on a 16x19 open string pattern racket. If you have 18x20, you are more than welcome to try, I won't say its harder to impart topspin on a 18x20 racket, but if you have good technique its doable.

Yan it answer your question, it all depends on WHAT type of string you are using.

Take for example, Luxilon, this is a 1st generation poly that has wowed the ATP, it is without a shadow of a doubt the most popular poly on tour, ATP and WTA, nothing else comes close! PERIOD!
Luxilon is the only brand where professionals have to PAY for their string, unlike other brands the brands pay the players to use their product.

The current information I have on poly is this:

If you are using your scenario:

1) String Luxilon at 45lbs and play, it will play beautifully and you will have the poly effect for a much longer time, hence the strings don't die as fast expression.

2.String Luxion at 55lbs, there is a higher possibility you will be able to take HUGE FRIGGIN CUTS at the ball and it will remain in, you will bewilder your opponents, however this setup WILL NOT LAST long, I have been told depending on your NTRP, some people have reported it lasted for 15 mins, during those 15 mins they played the best tennis of their life, after that 15 mins they noticed huge deterioration of the string performance, balls that were landing 2 inches before the baseline are landing a foot out. Other have noted the strings performance deteriorated after 1 hitting session ie 45 - 55 mins. Again experiment and see what works for you.

You can certainly string at 55lbs, but make a note, how you felt you were hitting the ball,ask your hitting partner, was your ball coming at them faster, did the ball feel heavy,etc. Make a mental note, how long did this last, if you get feedback, wai boss, how come your ball not so strong leh..... attribute that to the string, then.

On a personal note, I have noticed if your string lower, esp with POLY, your spin is unbelievable, BUT I suspect you MUST have a sound technique. If you cannot maintain a 20-30 ball rally, do not waste your money on this experiment, I also believe stringing lower tension on a racket only works with a STIFF racket, if you are using a flexible racket, again I would not recommend this.

Didn't Nawin change to Prince :-O Also didn't know he was a fan of Toalson either! >:-) j/k Damn he change his gear pretty radical.....lost another Wilson kaki to evil Prince shakehead.gif
He also does great reports on stuff

Yan
post Sep 17 2009, 10:34 PM

551 posts

QUOTE(praetorian @ Sep 17 2009, 10:23 PM)
This is from what I gather, please take with a grain of salt, if you can afford to do some experimenting, I would recommend it, esp with cheap strings say around RM 40 or less.

Some people would comment that 45-48 tension is too low, they can generate power, they need control, if you are a FLAT hitter I can certainly understand your point of view, but if you are a topspin hitter, not necessary a Nadal clone, BUT your shots do dip, you will most certainly appreciate low tension rackets, I have only tried this on a 16x19 open string pattern racket. If you have 18x20, you are more than welcome to try, I won't say its harder to impart topspin on a 18x20 racket, but if you have good technique its doable.

Yan it answer your question, it all depends on WHAT type of string you are using.

Take for example, Luxilon, this is a 1st generation poly that has wowed the ATP, it is without a shadow of a doubt the most popular poly on tour, ATP and WTA, nothing else comes close! PERIOD!
Luxilon is the only brand where professionals have to PAY for their string, unlike other brands the brands pay the players to use their product.

1) String Luxilon at 45lbs and play, it will play beautifully and you will have the poly effect for a much longer time, hence the strings don't die as fast expression.

2.String Luxion at 55lbs, there is a higher possibility you will be able to take HUGE FRIGGIN CUTS at the ball and it will remain in, you will bewilder your opponents, however this setup WILL NOT LAST long, I have been told depending on your NTRP, some people have reported it lasted for 15 mins, during those 15 mins they played the best tennis of their life, after that 15 mins they noticed huge deterioration of the string performance, balls that were landing 2 inches before the baseline are landing a foot out. Other have noted the strings performance deteriorated after 1 hitting session ie 45 - 55 mins. Again experiment and see what works for you.

You can certainly string at 55lbs, but make a note, how you felt you were hitting the ball,ask your hitting partner, was your ball coming at them faster, did the ball feel heavy,etc. Make a mental note, how long did this last, if you get feedback, wai boss, how come your ball not so strong leh..... attribute that to the string, then.

On a personal note, I have noticed if your string lower, esp with POLY, your spin is unbelievable, BUT I suspect you MUST have a sound technique. If you cannot maintain a 20-30 ball rally, do not waste your money on this experiment, I also believe stringing lower tension on a racket only works with a STIFF racket, if you are using a flexible racket, again I would not recommend this.

Didn't Nawin change to Prince :-O Also didn't know he was a fan of Toalson either! >:-) j/k Damn he change his gear pretty radical.....lost another Wilson kaki to evil Prince shakehead.gif
oh great... u know nawin as well..haha...he just invited me over to hit with him one of these days. yup he is ON the Prince exo3 graphite now. said it's his best racq to date. and have been using toalson like forever..haha.. yup he is also crazy abt gears. just bought a st.vincent few weekends ago. think he has more than 20 odd racquest in his collection so far and has the gamma x-es to string his own racqs. envynya... !!

anyways tx for the explanation. Will definitely giv it a try one of these days since i recently stocked up the crossfire 17 .. so will use that to experiment so pocket won't pecah. Will try it on the exo3 graphite first since got example already ..haha

another Q : on the crossfire normally it's "recommended to string lower 5lbs or on the 18gauge version 15-20% lower. How do u guys string ur crossfire/ hybird normally ?

SSJBen
post Sep 17 2009, 10:42 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

I think some pros beg to differ....
Roddick strings at the high 60s, and sometimes in the 70s. Full poly.
Verdassco strings at the mid 60s also.
Murray strings at the low 60s as well.
Djokovic strings at the high 50s.

And these guys while may not have Nadal topspin (except Verdasco), their top-spin is still insane.
TSyanhui95
post Sep 17 2009, 10:54 PM

Already started
1,441 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Sep 17 2009, 10:42 PM)
I think some pros beg to differ....
Roddick strings at the high 60s, and sometimes in the 70s. Full poly.
Verdassco strings at the mid 60s also.
Murray strings at the low 60s as well.
Djokovic strings at the high 50s.

And these guys while may not have Nadal topspin (except Verdasco), their top-spin is still insane.
i've read that roddick strings are at 73 lbs
angel-ice
post Sep 18 2009, 08:55 AM

yan, where to get xfire for stocking up?

they sell in rolls?

Added on September 18, 2009, 8:56 amyan, where to get xfire for stocking up?

they sell in rolls?

This post has been edited by angel-ice: Sep 18 2009, 08:56 AM
Yan
post Sep 18 2009, 09:22 AM

551 posts

QUOTE(angel-ice @ Sep 18 2009, 08:55 AM)
yan, where to get xfire for stocking up?

they sell in rolls?

Added on September 18, 2009, 8:56 amyan, where to get xfire for stocking up?

they sell in rolls?
nope in pack...coz according to the seller not much different fr pack than reel. just a few $$ onli. so better in single pack. u looking for which type ? crossfire II ? crosfire 17 ? i bought quite cheap in mlk the other day .. so can pass some to u tomorrow.. if u need one longgok.. i can stop by in mlk on my way back fr johor in 1hr n borong for u ..haha
celciuz
post Sep 18 2009, 01:04 PM

14,037 posts

Wah, sapu all the xfire from jetson? tongue.gif
Patt_Hup
post Sep 18 2009, 02:45 PM

151 posts

Dun Sapu all lea,
later we melaka ppl dun hav enuff xfire to use~ sad.gif
pooh88
post Sep 18 2009, 03:13 PM

Malaysia Tennis Enthusiast
2,367 posts

How many u wan. rclxms.gif
I still got a lots of C/Fire here brows.gif

QUOTE(Patt_Hup @ Sep 18 2009, 02:45 PM)
Dun Sapu all lea,
TSyanhui95
post Sep 18 2009, 06:58 PM

Already started
1,441 posts

erm, is there any replacement grips that are not self adhesive? i want to use as an overgrip.

Yan
post Sep 18 2009, 07:52 PM

551 posts

QUOTE(Patt_Hup @ Sep 18 2009, 02:45 PM)
Dun Sapu all lea,
aiyah still hav a llot lah .. tat bugger jetson guy still has 800 pieces leh ... i just sapu small percentage onli...u leave some for us KL ppl baru betull.... hehe... dun sapu all .. next time i cannot go borong liaw...
zdepth
post Sep 18 2009, 08:18 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(yanhui95 @ Sep 18 2009, 06:58 PM)
erm, is there any replacement grips that are not self adhesive? i want to use as an overgrip.

Can u explain why would you want that?
Yan
post Sep 18 2009, 08:20 PM

551 posts

QUOTE(zdepth @ Sep 18 2009, 08:18 PM)
Can u explain why would you want that?
i am guessing he wants to use it to make his grip thicker but doesn't wanna damage the original base grip he has on the racq..hehe... and doesn't wanna use double overgrip on top of the existing base grip .. wink.gif .. ( i'm guessing )
Crimson Viper
post Sep 18 2009, 10:54 PM

QUOTE(praetorian @ Sep 17 2009, 10:23 PM)

I agree with this. I have been using Luxilon Alu Power Rough for a while now. I string it around 55lbs. It's good for one hitting session only (2 hrs?), then there is a major drop off in performance or it'll just snap....Too expensive to keep restringing. I've also tried out Blackcode, which does not quite reach alu rough's level of performance when freshly strung, but also suffers a massive drop off after 2-4 hours of play... Pro Hurricane seems to last longer when starting at similar tension.So far I find Pro Hurricane a decent compromise ,coz it performs ok ,and takes longer to drop off the tension.It plays well when it drops into the 40's..... I'm testing out a full bed of red code on a kps88. So far, it's been pretty good which is quite surprising actually.... shocking.gif
TSyanhui95
post Sep 18 2009, 11:23 PM

Already started
1,441 posts

QUOTE(Yan @ Sep 18 2009, 08:20 PM)
i am guessing he wants to use it to make his grip thicker but doesn't wanna damage the original base grip he has on the racq..hehe...  and doesn't wanna use double overgrip on top of the existing base grip .. wink.gif .. ( i'm guessing )
yea i dont want to damage the original grip.
angel-ice
post Sep 18 2009, 11:52 PM

back in kl~~!

yan tomorrowill search for you~~

126 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Top

0.0262sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 05:56 AM