TSmoomoos
post Aug 28 2009, 10:18 AM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Aug 28 2009, 09:58 AM)
maybe he mod chip to play fake PS2 games mah..  tongue.gif
QUOTE(aiman04 @ Aug 28 2009, 10:03 AM)
Oh, never had a PS2. But my PS3 is backward compatible with PS2 games, thumbup.gif  but original only lah of course. tongue.gif
soree didn't know much bout' PS2 & PS3
me NO GAMER biggrin.gif
Poadster
post Aug 28 2009, 10:24 AM

inspiRED: Fast and Furious
647 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Aug 28 2009, 08:11 AM)
RM1250 for the new Slim PS3 is very good price. Seriously I'll say this again, for those who haven't own any BDP or PS3 this is the best solution. By the way, this new Slim PS3 can be plugged to any power outlet in the world, the PSU supports 100-240V at 50-60Hz. The only factor to consider now is the BD region coding, no more worries about getting a step-up/down transformers.

About the pirated BDs, they're all BD25. So unless the size of the original movie was equal or smaller than that, they have re-encoded the movie to lower bitrate even even though still 1080p (just like the MKV rips). Details will be lost, two pixels side by side, blue and green may just appear both blue. Die Hard 4 was 38GB, and the upcoming Gladiator records a whopping 45GB for the video & audio only.

Poadster, the LPCM is still lossless, you're basically hearing the same thing. The only difference is that it is being decoded by your PS3, not the AVR (there are some difference but that's just more to the decoding part, but the details should be the same, never lost). Can refer to the second post of the BD thread for the flow chart.
To overcome the Region locking, simple. Get two slim PS3s lor..... region A and B..... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Hv nvr tried the Uncle Ho BD25s, so was very curious on the PQ/SQ. Am expecting the SQ to be just regular DTS/DD flavored with no HD options, but the PQ shld be ok (as in mkv-ish). Still not very worthy to look at..... as of now....

LPCM is sounds pretty fine to me, can hear the difference to the sound. Since my PS3 cant bitstream, i cant taste the difference (auditioning the same disc using a diff set-up dont count for comparison), nor ever see the magical words TrueHD or DTSMA, but i can live with that.....

Added on August 28, 2009, 10:30 amMod chips are used to bypass any security encryption checks on game discs, put there by game developers and Sony to curb piracy. However, there are no mod chips for PS3 la.... it was nvr successfully cracked.

Even uncle ho ps2 games cant be played on the PS3.... but i have nvr tried it personally. Only ori games and movie BDs are inserted into the precious slot.... blush.gif blush.gif

This post has been edited by Poadster: Aug 28 2009, 10:30 AM
chewkl
post Aug 28 2009, 11:25 PM

Peasant
2,170 posts

http://www.blu-ray.com/news/?id=3335

Slim PS3 Reviewed as a BD Player

Posted August 28, 2009 05:14 AM by Juan Calonge

PlayStation 3 slim Tech site Engadget and AV site Home Cinema Choice have just published two reviews of the slim PS3, including its performance as a Blu-ray player. One of the reviews' findings is that the new PS3 is noticeably slower when loading a Blu-ray disc. On the other hand, improvements such as reduced power consumption and lower noise are confirmed.

Load times
The Engadget crew was surprised by the slower BD load times. They measured two sets of data: the time between inserting the disc (listening for that last little "click" sound) and having it register in the XMB; and the time it takes to get a non-loading once you click on the disc and actually launch into the movie. Disc recognition time was virtually the same, but actual loading took a few seconds longer on the slim PS3. For example, 'Watchmen' took 27 seconds to show the first disc screen on the slim, versus 23 seconds on the original. The smallest difference recorded was 2 seconds with 'Air Force One', and the largest was 10 seconds with 'The Nightmare before Christmas'.
Home Cinema Choice confirmed that the slot mechanism on this model is inferior to that of the first-gen model, and concludes that "few will be impressed by the grumpy mechanical noise it makes when loading discs."

BD-J Performance
Engadget didn't cover this, but Home Cinema Choice found Java loading speed to be "phenomenally fast. 'Crank 2: High Voltage' "bedded-in faster on the PS3 Slim than it did on a high-end Sony BDP-5000ES."

Power consumption
The power drawn when watching a Blu-ray was drastically reduced, even beyond Sony's announcement. The slim PS3 drew 75 watt during Blu-ray playback, versus 167 watt on the classic 60GB PS3.

Noise
Engadget confirmed its initial findings: the PS3 is up to 10 decibels quieter than the classic 60GB PS3 while watching Blu-ray movies. In their own words, "during the quieter, more suspenseful moments of 'Watchmen', there wasn't any loud whirring noises this time to ruin the mood."
Home Cinema Choice confirmed that the slim PS3 is "quieter still" than the original. However, it was noted that heat builds up quickly during use and the fan noise accelerates accordingly. The reviewer relates, "Midway through 'X-Men Origins: Wolverine', I noted that the console was disgorging a lot of heat through its rear vents, and at that point, in terms of fan noise it did not seem to be an improvement on what's gone before. The huge 95mm,17-blade fan beneath the hood clearly has its work cut out..."

Bitstreaming of Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD
This feature was confirmed, but the Home Cinema Choice reviewer encountered some compatibility problems: with an Arcam AVR-600, bitstream mode resulted in "some horrible buzzes and pops", whereas an Onkyo TX-NR906 recognized the stream without any hiccups. The reviewer concluded that there were issues regarding HDMI handshaking between the PS3 Slim and the Arcam.

Bravia Sync
Engadget tested this feature, connecting the console directly to a 32-inch BRAVIA L-Series TV via HDMI. The reviewers were able to do some basic tasks like navigate the XMB menu and control video playback, but not much more - you still need a controller or BD remote to operate the PS3.

Miscellaneous
Engadget also mentions that unlike the classic PS3, the new console doesn't have a physical on/off switch.
The Home Cinema Choice tech lab measured the drive in the slim PS3 and it rated much worse than the original with CD and DVD. For example, measured audio jitter was 461.7ps, while the original deliverd only 137.9ps. And as a DVD player it's "poor", with a measured high frequency response of -6.14dB. But the reviewer remarks, "does anyone really care about DVD playback on the PS3 Slim?" [Well, going from the comments to this post, a fair number of people do, and they should bear this information in mind if they are thinking of buying a new PS3.]
The Home Cinema choice reviewer thought that the new power-on and disc eject push buttons were way better than the "infuriating" soft-touch buttons on the original machine.
ronnt88
post Aug 28 2009, 11:37 PM

2,353 posts

a few frens came over & i played transformers on my ps3 to impress them with the world of HD but ended up disappointed myself... call it placebo effect or wateva but I do feel a compromise in both PQ & AQ.. especially AQ. Felt I had to pump up the volume on my 875 to -5db to feel the movie. Like it lost dynamics too...... sigh.......... hopefully a new sub will improve this tongue.gif
chewkl
post Aug 28 2009, 11:43 PM

Peasant
2,170 posts

Bitstream vs LPCM mah....how to compare? Summore U use elite AVR. biggrin.gif
ronnt88
post Aug 28 2009, 11:49 PM

2,353 posts

i tot i heard somewhere that bitstream & LPCM r same mah sad.gif
ar188
post Aug 28 2009, 11:50 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(chewkl @ Aug 28 2009, 11:43 PM)
Bitstream vs LPCM mah....how to compare? Summore U use elite AVR. biggrin.gif
wah such minute difference between 2 lossless tracks, also is night and day on his ultra revealing sound system... dem kheng.. thumbup.gif
chewkl
post Aug 28 2009, 11:51 PM

Peasant
2,170 posts

1 use PS3 to decode, 1 use high end amp to decode. How to compare lah? biggrin.gif
ronnt88
post Aug 28 2009, 11:52 PM

2,353 posts

sigh.. maybe it's placebo effect ... hopefully it'll go away in time
chewkl
post Aug 28 2009, 11:54 PM

Peasant
2,170 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Aug 28 2009, 11:52 PM)
If it doesn't, time to buy a new elite standalone BDP, something higher end that what U are letting go... thumbup.gif
ar188
post Aug 28 2009, 11:55 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Aug 28 2009, 11:52 PM)
after the placebo effect wears off on your SVS sub, sell to me cheap cheap hor.. biggrin.gif
ronnt88
post Aug 28 2009, 11:58 PM

2,353 posts

wat svs sub? rclxub.gif
chewkl
post Aug 28 2009, 11:59 PM

Peasant
2,170 posts

Hsu?
ronnt88
post Aug 29 2009, 12:00 AM

2,353 posts

no hsu also sad.gif
ar188
post Aug 29 2009, 12:00 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Aug 28 2009, 11:58 PM)
wat svs sub? rclxub.gif
I tot you buying one from htkaki ?
kianwee
post Aug 29 2009, 12:01 AM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Aug 29 2009, 12:00 AM)
I tot you buying one from htkaki ?
Buying one or a pair? laugh.gif
ronnt88
post Aug 29 2009, 12:02 AM

2,353 posts

i'm auditioning only.. haven't made up my mind yet.. anyways, htkaki no stock also sad.gif

i do enjoy impulse buying though... tongue.gif

Added on August 29, 2009, 12:02 am
QUOTE(kianwee @ Aug 29 2009, 12:01 AM)
Buying one or a pair?  laugh.gif
a pair?? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by ronnt88: Aug 29 2009, 12:02 AM
chewkl
post Aug 29 2009, 12:02 AM

Peasant
2,170 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Aug 29 2009, 12:02 AM)
i'm auditioning only.. haven't made up my mind yet.. anyways, htkaki no stock also sad.gif

notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
ar188
post Aug 29 2009, 12:04 AM

9,206 posts

[quote=ronnt88,Aug 29 2009, 12:02 AM]

maybe can benefit me with your impulse "sale" as well.. biggrin.gif
ronnt88
post Aug 29 2009, 12:04 AM

2,353 posts

ok... nite guys... gotta go get rested 4 tomorrows trip smile.gif

c some of u then.. icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on August 29, 2009, 12:05 am[quote=ar188,Aug 29 2009, 12:04 AM]
[quote=ronnt88,Aug 29 2009, 12:02 AM]

maybe can benefit me with your impulse "sale" as well.. biggrin.gif

[/quote]
knn... big taukeh wanna benefit from kuli chai these days?? rclxub.gif what's the world gone to? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ronnt88: Aug 29 2009, 12:05 AM

116 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0184sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:39 AM