116 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Bottom

Bluray Players ~ V2, Profile 1.1 ~ 2.0 ~ BD-Live ~ Mutimedia

Ngto
post Aug 26 2009, 01:26 AM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Aug 26 2009, 01:01 AM)
who recommended?
other player cant play uncle ho bd well? sweat.gif
Panasonic BD60 very poor with Uncle Ho BD-R.

This post has been edited by Ngto: Aug 26 2009, 01:27 AM
robinlim
post Aug 26 2009, 01:26 AM

vui vẻ và điên
974 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 26 2009, 12:59 AM)
from rrp 2499 to 999 in less than a year doh.gif
doh.gif doh.gif

Added on August 26, 2009, 1:32 am
QUOTE(ngks @ Aug 26 2009, 01:05 AM)
Ok, based on my own knowledge (but dunno correct or not)

Sony have launch the new BDP-S360, sucessor to S350, which support DTS Master Audio.
But as my understanding, these BD player do not decode any surround sound, they just "bitstream" to external decoder/amplifier.
Unless those expensive high-end player with built-in decoder + analog speaker out.
BDP which can support TrueHD & DTS-HDMA means they can do internal decoding lar
just like PS3
not just high end players can do internal decoding

player with analog speaker out is for those old avrs which can't decode HD-audios

This post has been edited by robinlim: Aug 26 2009, 01:32 AM
TSmoomoos
post Aug 26 2009, 01:33 AM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

this bdp-s350 still got bundling with BD's at that RM999.00

so it doesnt decode, but when bitstream to AVR its does HD-DTS MA right

checking out, seems no 2 channel analog out too
Ngto
post Aug 26 2009, 01:36 AM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(snowfire64 @ Aug 25 2009, 11:00 PM)
Heh. I'll stick to the thick one smile.gif
Hm. That's the cheapest model?

BTW, I have a question. Does the blu ray players play part in supporting the HD sound codec? Since the thick ps3 don't support the HD sound codec, I'm opting for a stand alone BD player to solve the problem.

OR, if I have an AVR that supports the HD sound codec, will it make a difference between using a ps3 with the AVR or a stand alone BD player with the AVR?
The PS3 can't bitstream HD audio to AVR, but it can decode the HD Audio first (LPCM) and then send to AVR. That means the AVR don't even need a HD audio decoder, BUT it must be able to accept the decoded LPCM HD audio sound from the PS3 via HDMI (some older AVR can't accept decoded HD Audio through HDMI). For your info, decoded HD audio and bitstream HD Audio is the same quality , both Lossless.

This post has been edited by Ngto: Aug 26 2009, 01:43 AM
ngks
post Aug 26 2009, 03:19 AM

301 posts

Good, good, so many sifu here. Keep posting, so we can learn more about this "HD Audio" !! rclxms.gif
arremie
post Aug 26 2009, 05:21 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Aug 26 2009, 01:01 AM)
who recommended?
other player cant play uncle ho bd well? sweat.gif
recommended by uncle ho's nephews laugh.gif

my bd60 can't play uncle ho's stuff. i tried 3 different movies from different distributors all unable to load movie. can only load the intro only. s350 can read all 3 movies. anyway better off buy from amazon. can get less than rm60 per title with bulk order. ori some more. why pay rm48 for fake and lousy stuff.
snowfire64
post Aug 26 2009, 05:25 AM

305 posts

QUOTE(ngks @ Aug 26 2009, 01:05 AM)
Ok, based on my own knowledge (but dunno correct or not)

Sony have launch the new BDP-S360, sucessor to S350, which support DTS Master Audio.
But as my understanding, these BD player do not decode any surround sound, they just "bitstream" to external decoder/amplifier.
Unless those expensive high-end player with built-in decoder + analog speaker out.

BD player + BD disc (HD audio) + normal TV = normal stereo sound*.
*Doesn't matter wat sound you choose, standard Dolby or HD audio

BD player + BD disc (HD audio) + amplifier/decoder + optical cable = standard Dolby/DTS surround sound*
*Optical cable can't transfer HD audio signal, bandwidth not enough.

BD player + BD disc (HD audio) + amplifier/decoder + HDMI cable = HD audio sound*

Thanks for the info.

From what you have wrote, the BD player does not effect the HD audio sound regardless of using a rm900+ and rm2000+ BD players if I have an AVR (which supports HD audio codec) and a HDMI cable?

megatron007
post Aug 26 2009, 07:42 AM

4,000 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 26 2009, 05:21 AM)

my bd60 can't play uncle ho's stuff. i tried 3 different movies from different distributors all unable to load movie. can only load the intro only. s350 can read all 3 movies. anyway better off buy from amazon. can get less than rm60 per title with bulk order. ori some more. why pay rm48 for fake and lousy stuff.
wahh power wer.... i never load any DVD... neither unker ho / unker lim/ nor original tongue.gif
Reix
post Aug 26 2009, 08:06 AM

468 posts

Those are single layer BDs la, not DVD
jchong
post Aug 26 2009, 10:04 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Aug 26 2009, 01:36 AM)
The PS3 can't bitstream HD audio to AVR, but it can decode the HD Audio first (LPCM) and then send to AVR. That means the AVR don't even need a HD audio decoder, BUT it must be able to accept the decoded LPCM HD audio sound from the PS3 via HDMI (some older AVR can't accept decoded HD Audio through HDMI). For your info, decoded HD audio and bitstream HD Audio is the same quality , both Lossless.
In theory they should both be the same quality, but I do perceive differences between PS3 sending LPCM HD Audio vs BD60 bitstreaming HD Audio (the latter is better sounding). Only thing I can think of is that my AVR is doing a better job decoding the HD Audio than the PS3.
robinlim
post Aug 26 2009, 10:11 AM

vui vẻ và điên
974 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Aug 26 2009, 10:04 AM)
In theory they should both be the same quality, but I do perceive differences between PS3 sending LPCM HD Audio vs BD60 bitstreaming HD Audio (the latter is better sounding). Only thing I can think of is that my AVR is doing a better job decoding the HD Audio than the PS3.
that's what most of the ps3 users complaining about
can only send as LPCM cannot does bitstream
cannot fully ustilize the avr to decode HD-audios

This post has been edited by robinlim: Aug 26 2009, 11:06 AM
TSmoomoos
post Aug 26 2009, 10:28 AM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Aug 26 2009, 01:36 AM)
QUOTE(snowfire64 @ Aug 26 2009, 05:25 AM)
Thanks for the info.

From what you have wrote, the BD player does not effect the HD audio sound regardless of using a rm900+ and rm2000+ BD players if I have an AVR (which supports HD audio codec) and a HDMI cable?
QUOTE(jchong @ Aug 26 2009, 10:04 AM)
wou...too "theory-garised" le

in layman terms, hopefully someone can shed some light

PS3 send signal to AVR
BD-60 oso send signal (same format) to AVR

so which is better smile.gif
1) a normal AVR
2) a state of the art AVR

so does tis imply to all BD players that cant stream or decode HD signals internally
seriously really dont undersatnd, some output PCM and some LPCM ( are this different signals)

in depth anthology....so here it goes,... we take

1) BD player decode and stream hd signals thru HDMI to AVR

2) BD player decode PCM /LPCM stream thru HDMI to AVR( this possible or am i illusionising rclxub.gif )
(eg sony BDP-S350 cant decode DTS-HD MA but uses AVR to decode)

3) BD player decode multi analog out to multi channel input of AVR

4) BD player pass thru multi analog and OLD AVR w/o HDMIdo the processing

comparing 1 to 2 and also 3 to 4 which would better
and oso 1 and 4

thanks, hope i am not too long winded, think many forumers who dont know how to ask, would just like to know which is better os is it the same
thanks banyak2

This post has been edited by moomoos: Aug 26 2009, 10:33 AM
arremie
post Aug 26 2009, 10:34 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

doesn't matter decoding or bitstreaming....bd60 whoop ps3's a$$. so just leave it at that tongue.gif
maskedchan
post Aug 26 2009, 10:44 AM

6,022 posts

i see...
so you go some uncle ho BD la? come, borrow some for me to test.
curious about the quality.

i cannot get RM60 per title from amazon lo whistling.gif
new title movie all above rm80 sweat.gif

Added on August 26, 2009, 10:45 am
QUOTE(robinlim @ Aug 26 2009, 10:11 AM)
that's what most of the ps3 users complaining about
can only bitstream
cannot fully ustilize the avr to decode HD-audios
ps3 cannot bitstream

This post has been edited by maskedchan: Aug 26 2009, 10:45 AM
arremie
post Aug 26 2009, 10:52 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Aug 26 2009, 10:44 AM)
i see...
so you go some uncle ho BD la? come, borrow some for me to test.
curious about the quality.
i dont have. as i said my bd60 cant play those so no point for me to buy. the 3 that i tried already returned to the nephew and exchange with dvd instead. uncle ho's bd only 25gb no matter what the movie is.
ar188
post Aug 26 2009, 10:53 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 26 2009, 10:34 AM)
doesn't matter decoding or bitstreaming....bd60 whoop ps3's a$$. so just leave it at that tongue.gif
between the 2, BD-60 or PS3, doesn't matter if your TV can't display all the data from the BD's 1080p signal.. biggrin.gif

so the advise is upgrade Tv before we talk about the minute differences between BD players.. tongue.gif
anfieldude
post Aug 26 2009, 10:56 AM

3,858 posts

I will try to answer this as simple as I can put it.

1stly, audio stream decoding.

Decoding of the Audio codecs can be either done in the BD player or the AVR.

After decoding the audio stream is in LPCM (Liner PCM, all channels have the same bits). The older PS3s hardware did not allow it to bitstream the raw lossless codecs. However, it had enough processing power to decode it to LPCM and send out the lossless data to the AVR. However, the general consensus is that possible the equalization that it carries out is not as good as the equalization that is done by the AVR during decoding. This is still being debated. One of the areas that are obvious is that for Dolby streams there is normally a dialogue normalization, among others.

Normally, BD players can decode all the streams and send out LPCM (comparable to PS3) if they have enuf processing power. The DTSHDMA that seems to require the most processing is the stream that if any the BD player cannot normally decode. However, all standalone BD players out there can bitstream the raw codecs for your AVR to decode. Most newer BD players, can decode all streams and send out LPCM or they can bitstream.

Mostly, all BD players that have analogue outs can decode all the streams and send out the individiual channels to the AVR. The only problem with this is how the bass management is handled. Some BDs have the ability to adjust this, some will not.

To explain the differences between a high end AVR and mid range AVR, in most cases the higher end AVR usually has more power thus making it easier to drive your speakers. Also normally, the high end AVRs mostly always have multi point room correction. This is an important function of an AVR (Multi EQ vs Multi EQ XT).

So after all this explanation, which is better?

This is subjective. It depends on your setup, your budget and your ears. Some people do not hear the differences lossless and lossy. Some swear there are no differences between decoding in the player and decoding in the AVR. And some say that room correction is rubbish. Audio is very subjective. Video has standards defined, unfortunately audio is not so clearly defined.

My suggestion is, examine your setup and your budget and your needs and buy accordingly.

This post has been edited by anfieldude: Aug 26 2009, 10:56 AM
arremie
post Aug 26 2009, 10:58 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Aug 26 2009, 10:53 AM)
between the 2, BD-60 or PS3, doesn't matter if your TV can't display all the data from the BD's 1080p signal..  biggrin.gif

so the advise is upgrade Tv before we talk about the minute differences between BD players..  tongue.gif
rclxms.gif

lucky my sony even not full hd can display 1080/24p
TSmoomoos
post Aug 26 2009, 11:02 AM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

to be frank now ori BD from amazon est RM60 vs RM40-50 unc ho's (no effect)

but for majority story will twist when unc's ho bd come falling to RM20 and below
robinlim
post Aug 26 2009, 11:05 AM

vui vẻ và điên
974 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Aug 26 2009, 10:44 AM)
ps3 cannot bitstream
yaya, typo error tongue.gif

116 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0291sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:11 PM