everton in shambles

http://wedontknowfootball.com/
redscorpion
post Aug 16 2009, 02:13 AM

2,106 posts

a very great start by arsenal. respect lah. everton is total clueless now.. doh.gif
dlct87
post Aug 16 2009, 02:18 AM

474 posts

QUOTE(redscorpion @ Aug 16 2009, 02:13 AM)
a very great start by arsenal. respect lah. everton is total clueless now.. doh.gif
dunno what went wrong with them sweat.gif sweat.gif
kink_ass
post Aug 16 2009, 02:21 AM

79 posts

didnt strengthen the squad apart from signing jo permanently and all the rumours surrounding lescott perhaps?
TSalien2003
post Aug 16 2009, 02:24 AM

12,754 posts

QUOTE(kink_ass @ Aug 16 2009, 02:21 AM)
didnt strengthen the squad apart from signing jo permanently and all the rumours surrounding lescott perhaps?
They actually signed Jo on another loan spell, not permanent deal smile.gif

6th!!! shocking.gif blink.gif

This post has been edited by alien2003: Aug 16 2009, 02:26 AM
kink_ass
post Aug 16 2009, 02:26 AM

79 posts

QUOTE(alien2003 @ Aug 16 2009, 02:24 AM)
They actually signed Jo on another loan spell, not permanent deal smile.gif
my bad smile.gif
rayz1031
post Aug 16 2009, 03:06 AM

Little but Leathal
1,582 posts

Ars did it again, pwned Toffees ass just like that. Reminds me few season ago when they thrashed Toffees. I wonder what went wrong with Everton today, their defense look shambolic, totally different from last season. Seems like they did not pick up from where they left off.

Meeehhh, Ars, Ski and Citeh played, really can't wait for our turn. -____-"
dlct87
post Aug 16 2009, 03:15 AM

474 posts

QUOTE(rayz1031 @ Aug 16 2009, 03:06 AM)
Ars did it again, pwned Toffees ass just like that. Reminds me few season ago when they thrashed Toffees. I wonder what went wrong with Everton today, their defense look shambolic, totally different from last season. Seems like they did not pick up from where they left off.

Meeehhh, Ars, Ski and Citeh played, really can't wait for our turn. -____-"
arsenal always starts strongly, but deflated as the league goes on....let see this time they can maintain or not
rayz1031
post Aug 16 2009, 03:21 AM

Little but Leathal
1,582 posts

That is the case in recent years where their squad is still younger and inexperience. This season maybe is their season, citeh ,pool and ski year..who knows tongue.gif
dlct87
post Aug 16 2009, 03:37 AM

474 posts

QUOTE(rayz1031 @ Aug 16 2009, 03:21 AM)
That is the case in recent years where their squad is still younger and inexperience. This season maybe is their season, citeh ,pool and ski year..who knows tongue.gif
well nobody knows biggrin.gif
and there's always next year...for 3,or all of them tongue.gif
Wan
post Aug 16 2009, 04:27 AM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

It's only the first game. Sometimes some team start real badly as shown over the years, some peak too early etc. I wouldn't look into it too much. but we know Arsenal have quality players, and they can pwned anyone on any given day. It's whether they have it to consistently challenge till the end of the season. If they can keep it safe at the back, they would do just that.

How I wish we play just now so we can get it over with. First game of the season(league). Seeing Chelsea nicked it late, and Arsenal trashing Everton really made me anxious for tomorrow's game. Last few seasons our attacking players were missing at the start of those seasons, which made us a bit dull going forward and fail to win the first game(s), but this time it's the defensive unit which is missing people. Hope we win.
Duke Red
post Aug 16 2009, 08:17 AM

6,112 posts

Maybe someone can help me here. Why is it you guys hate Tevez so much again?

I must admit I didn't follow his transfer saga too closely. All I remember is that he had wanted to leave after the end of last season because he felt he wasn't wanted by the club. He said he was frustrated at not being offered a permanent contract and he was left out of the team despite playing reasonably well. Later on, a contract was offered but by that time, he had already made up his mind to move away from Old Trafford. A month later, he moved to City. Is the frustration due to him moving to your cross town rivals or that he chose to move in general?
Rhadykall
post Aug 16 2009, 08:19 AM

After 9 years only can modify
590 posts

QUOTE(Wan @ Aug 16 2009, 04:27 AM)
It's only the first game. Sometimes some team start real badly as shown over the years, some peak too early etc. I wouldn't look into it too much. but we know Arsenal have quality players, and they can pwned anyone on any given day. It's whether they have it to consistently challenge till the end of the season. If they can keep it safe at the back, they would do just that.

How I wish we play just now so we can get it over with. First game of the season(league). Seeing Chelsea nicked it late, and Arsenal trashing Everton really made me anxious for tomorrow's game. Last few seasons our attacking players were missing at the start of those seasons, which made us a bit dull going forward and fail to win the first game(s), but this time it's the defensive unit which is missing people. Hope we win.
Oh well Wan, at least we get to play our first game before the 'other' team.

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Aug 16 2009, 08:17 AM)
Maybe someone can help me here. Why is it you guys hate Tevez so much again?

I must admit I didn't follow his transfer saga too closely. all I remember is that he had wanted to leave after the end of last season because he felt he wasn't wanted by the club. He said he was frustrated at not being offered a permanent contract and he was left out of the team despite playing reasonably well. Later on, a contract was offered but by that time, he had already made up his mind to move away from Old Trafford. A month later, he moved to City. Is the frustration due to him moving to your cross town rivals or that he chose to move in general?

The deal was most probably dragged on no thanks to his REAL owner, Kia. United also most probably tried to get a lower price (since they've paid so much just for the player to come here on loan for 2 years) and tried to negotiate a lower pay with Tevez himself. You've got to understand that even though United pay handsomely at times to clubs to get their man, the wage structure is what they really look at closely. I'm sure you know that player wages mean much more to the club's finances in the long run.

Sure, Ronaldo, one of our highest paid left, freeing up a spot for a 'high maintenance' star. In the end, we gave in to Kia's demand and tabled in a deal which as just a little less or equal (stat guys help me on this please) to Kia's preference. What was his answer, that Tevez? No, he choose to move to Man City. Why? Simply because the Sheikhs at City are able to pay him his reported 150k per week wage without breaking a sweat. 150k, something that's not easy for us to do simply because that's more than current No.1 player was paid whilst at our club.

Please, don't believe the part that he got so much less appearances compared to Roo and Berba. Our stat guys have shown the figures before this, thus rubbishing his claims. There were no bitter feelings between Tevez and the gaffer, well, at least not while HE was within the compounds of the club's facilities. Pictures of him and Fergie sharing a laugh at Carrington were published before and NO, this wasn't in the midst of the whole 'saga' thing. He showed he's a no good coward as all his negative comments were made while he was away, and worse while the season ended when he won't have to see Fergie face to face.

The continous nagging obviously didn't help. Ronaldo's transfer was held back for a season. You don't see him making a scene out of it. He even helped the club (though resulting in fans being utterly dissapointed at first when he DID swap red for white) by rubbishing claims that he'll be moving to Madrid during the on-going season and even before his deal was finalised behind the scene between United and Real. In his case, the one who made a scene was the former Real president, not Ronaldo.

Now, fans are accepting Ronaldo's departure to the Land of Stars. Even blessing our former golden boy, some of us. Why is Tevez not getting the same response? I think you know now.

This post has been edited by Rhadykall: Aug 16 2009, 08:46 AM
Duke Red
post Aug 16 2009, 09:00 AM

6,112 posts

I see, so he wanted a pay rise to begin with and I'd agree that $150,000 a weeks is an exuberant sum for any player. That all being said then, it's purely a case of him being a greedy git. It's not uncommon these days for players to demand for a pay rise. We just got Torres to sign a new contract where he'll be paid $110,000 a week. Wages are rising rather alarmingly each season because players now know there are employers willing to part with lucrative sums of cash. If Tevez is indeed in it just for the money, I'm sure he won't mind spending time on the bench. A certain Wiston Bogarde and Harry Kewell come to mind.

That all being said, he may end up with a huge smile on his face come end of the season regardless of how much playing time he gets. I believe that City have made a wise decision when they decided to sign proven Premiership talent and thus, have a fairly decent change of breaking the monopoly of the 'top four'. It would have been more obvious that money was the sole determining factor had he signed last year when they had no superstars in the side.
Rhadykall
post Aug 16 2009, 09:26 AM

590 posts

The pay rise Torres will be getting is money well spent. Your club bought him quite cheap when compared to what ours would have had to pay to get Tevez on a permanent transfer. £16m for 2 years loan and on top of that his 'master' wished for another huge sum of money to get him to finally let go of his prized possession.

It would've raised Tevez's price tag to somewhere around the region of £30-40m.

That plus the kind of pay Tevez was asking for - not worth it. We're after all in such a huge debt. We don't look like it at times but that's only possible thanks to proper management of funds which includes player wages.

I think it's still obvious to see why some established footballers are flying to City. Robinho is not THAT big of a superstar to really attract people. Different case if they managed to capture Kaka last season though. Fact is City are no big and established club and they aren't in the UCL - they're not even in the Europa Cup. So why else are these players moving there?

If it's to challenge for the UCL spot, you'll just have to ask yourself this: Will the likes of Zidane or Kaka or Ronaldinho move to clubs like Atletico or Tottenham or Hamburg or Lille or Fiorentina to get some challenge out of trying to win the UCL spot?

Not only they won't make such transfers due to that reason, these people are the type who will even look at the chances of WINNING the UCL before signing for an ESTABLISHED UCL side. It's pretty obvious now what it is that fuels these players. "Sure, for a couple of thousands more per week, I'll forego playing in the UCL for this season... at least"

This post has been edited by Rhadykall: Aug 16 2009, 09:32 AM
skylinegtr34rule4life
post Aug 16 2009, 10:46 AM

13k elite :P
13,340 posts

haha i feel so bad 4 saha being the only one 2 grab consolation goal 4 the most devastated losing team he has ever been laugh.gif doh.gif

as 4 2day match i believe we will break the starting hiccup jinx and WIN bruce.gif flex.gif
MyDevil
post Aug 16 2009, 11:01 AM

7,480 posts

It is not because he wants bigger pay or more games. It is because he forgot to put his pacifier on when he left us that annoys me. vmad.gif
gr8fr8
post Aug 16 2009, 11:08 AM

841 posts

Simply put, Tevez is just being a greedy boy. And at one time, people started to criticize Berba just because Tevez looked so commited / all action

on the field. Whilst I appreciated the level of work Tevez gave each match, but both are completely different type of forwards. I just don't agree with

some that look down on Berba just because Tevez is not signed permanently. I think for all the money that it would be spent on Tevez (loan fee and

the extra fee if to sign permanently), better spent it on other types of players. For me, Valencia will be a good addition to the team. Obertan is talent

that with SAF guidance, im sure he will turn out good, if not great. Not much to say about Owen, he is what he is. I am excited to see the young players

to step up. For me, nothing beats winning trophies or leagues with homegrown talents, or players that you groomed from young. icon_rolleyes.gif
nizamhameed
post Aug 16 2009, 11:16 AM

6,437 posts

ADEBAYOR 1 TEVEZ 0 RObinho 0 SANTA 0 belamy 0 tongue.gif

the gunners send a signal to us that they r strong too

ski send signal that they r same as last season last minute winner

let see what pool goin to show us..

and what we r goin to do... sweat.gif
Rhadykall
post Aug 16 2009, 11:39 AM

590 posts

QUOTE(nizamhameed @ Aug 16 2009, 11:16 AM)
ADEBAYOR 1 TEVEZ 0 RObinho 0 SANTA 0 belamy 0  tongue.gif

the gunners send a signal to us that they r strong too

ski send signal that they r same as last season last minute winner

let see what pool goin to show us..

and what we r goin to do... sweat.gif
Ancelloti saved by a Drogba Special. Superb finishing that was even if a bit of luck was involved.

Adebayor showing what he can do. Although, Arsenal fans will want to argue about whether or not he can deliver weekly for Sheikh City.

The striker score board, you left out Benjani and Bojinov at least. Plus, Robinho shouldn't be on the scoreboard if it's for the strikers. Sure he played a similar position like Ronaldo did for us last season but he's still a winger.

Added on August 16, 2009, 11:43 amHmm apparently Bojinov has been loaned out. They finally realised they ridiculously have one too many strikers?

This post has been edited by Rhadykall: Aug 16 2009, 11:43 AM

123 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0334sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 11:14 AM