BAT, British American Tobacco

TC-Titan
post May 3 2016, 02:31 PM

My Life for Aiur~!
820 posts

QUOTE(CP88 @ May 3 2016, 01:55 PM)
I'd wonder how's the prospect since the plant is shutting down. How about the land & machinery? Sold off and distribute to shareholders?
There is a lot factors to consider.

Few bigs questions that I can think of for now:
1. How much cost savings will they really get from their restructuring from the short to mid term (1 to 5 years)?
2. Is the shift to Indo for real (already in the pipeline) or merely a bluff (pokerface stunt)?
3. How will the gomen respond to the proposal of the 3 year moratorium on excise duty hike?
(Note: there is an indirect threat if you can read in between the lines from the MD's statement)

Proceeds from the disposal for the land should be decent since the last revaluation was quite some time ago. Not sure if they plan to distribute the entire amount to the shareholders or a portion of it and use the balance to pay of their borrowings.

http://www.thesundaily.my/news/1733635

http://www.thesundaily.my/news/1778199

Apart from the above, I think biz will continue on as usual. Just that the share price, dividends and results will continue to be shaky.
SevenTwentyOne
post May 3 2016, 02:55 PM

356 posts

QUOTE(CP88 @ May 3 2016, 01:55 PM)
I'd wonder how's the prospect since the plant is shutting down. How about the land & machinery? Sold off and distribute to shareholders?
Fat chance. Reinvest perhaps.
GloryKnight
post May 5 2016, 09:56 AM

1,770 posts

News that matters: it will be sold off and distributed back to shareholders. Source: friends in there.
heavensea
post May 7 2016, 06:00 PM

9,616 posts

QUOTE(GloryKnight @ May 5 2016, 09:56 AM)
News that matters: it will be sold off and distributed back to shareholders. Source: friends in there.
zap lap from Malaysia?
nexona88
post May 7 2016, 06:08 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,583 posts

seriously bye.gif bye.gif
CAFE21
post May 7 2016, 06:53 PM

852 posts

Will it be delisted then? Currently their NAV is much lower than share price how they'll distribute it?
ILoveLalat.net
post May 7 2016, 11:32 PM

Seasonal Trader
2,906 posts

Sad. The company is like the pioneer on the KLSE. If they delist themselves, that's the end of the road for them. bye.gif
ChuiChuiShui
post Jun 9 2016, 01:11 AM

1,020 posts

http://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...b-for-rm218mil/

Any winds/news where they move?really leave msia?
singkah
post Jan 30 2020, 02:29 AM

65 posts

Anyone look at this counter recently? Dropped 70% in past 12 months, then rallied 10% yesterday.
Cubalagi
post Jan 30 2020, 02:17 PM

4,502 posts

QUOTE(singkah @ Jan 30 2020, 02:29 AM)
Anyone look at this counter recently? Dropped 70% in past 12 months, then rallied 10% yesterday.
Yes, I'm in.. 😆

!@#$%^
post Jan 30 2020, 03:11 PM

Safe Trader
17,515 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Jan 30 2020, 02:17 PM)
Yes, I'm in.. 😆
up up up
Cubalagi
post Jan 30 2020, 06:54 PM

4,502 posts

Closed at 12. My average price is 11.05.

Nice..but sadly my Chinese stocks are getting bashed by Corona virus.
aeonsakura
post Jan 31 2020, 07:15 PM

372 posts

up down up down........ my price is 12++
moosset
post Feb 16 2020, 01:23 AM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Jan 30 2020, 06:54 PM)
Closed at 12. My average price is 11.05.

Nice..but sadly my Chinese stocks are getting bashed by Corona virus.
ETFs or stocks?

Cubalagi
post Feb 16 2020, 03:09 PM

4,502 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Feb 16 2020, 01:23 AM)
ETFs or stocks?
ETF.. 0829EA on Bursa. Solid China index. It's still up 15% for 1 year despite trade war, virus etc n just shy of 2% from peak in early Jan. Power of central bank liquidity I guess.

Back to BAT, as I mentioned elsewhere, I've exited to make some quick bucks, but it's still on my watch list. See again this week. Final results should be out.

Yggdrasil
post Feb 17 2020, 01:01 AM

2,210 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Feb 16 2020, 03:09 PM)
ETF.. 0829EA on Bursa. Solid China index. It's still up 15% for 1 year despite trade war, virus etc n just shy of 2% from peak in early Jan. Power of central bank liquidity I guess.
Off topic but this ETF has pretty high expense fees right? Low liquidity (sell at loss to get out) and high transaction cost (buy and sell) too.
Cubalagi
post Feb 17 2020, 04:05 PM

4,502 posts

QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Feb 17 2020, 01:01 AM)
Off topic but this ETF has pretty high expense fees right? Low liquidity (sell at loss to get out) and high transaction cost (buy and sell) too.
Seriously off topic.. This is BAT discussion.

Let me try to dig up some Old etf thread n reply u there.

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Feb 17 2020, 04:19 PM
Cubalagi
post Feb 21 2020, 01:51 PM

4,502 posts

Strong rebound by BAT. 14+ now.

Results came out, horrible 2019, as expected. But last Q was not too bad. The share price was so horribly bashed, that so so results are good enough

icemanfx
post Feb 23 2020, 11:25 PM

21,458 posts

QUOTE(DexterLim93 @ Feb 23 2020, 08:49 PM)
Ah i didnt know that! Still a newbie here. Anyhow, whats your thoughts for long term investment in BAT? Possible to invest long term and go past 35 like last time?
You expect sales of legit ciggies to rise?
DexterLim93
post Feb 25 2020, 06:23 PM

100 posts

With or without the current political turnoil, BAT stock has risen up significantly and people are going all "hype" out on the stock. However, I believe that would still be the current impact of illicit cigarettes on BAT market. My question is can it really go far as long as illicit cigarettes are not being tackled yet?

Based on actual facts that I know:

- 6 out of 10 cigarettes consumed in Malaysia is illicit as proven from the news as as well.

- The research house has a hold call on BAT, and slashed its price target on the share from RM19.20 to RM11.50 previously

- Illicit market doubled since the surge in excise duty in 2015 (33.5% in 2015 vs 63% in 2019)

A very summarized version on why my skepticism remains even though the growth is showing. Feel free to correct me as I would like to know more feedback from your side as well.

9 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0245sec    0.77    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 12:36 PM