Chubbie Hamster V13

infernoaswen
post Feb 23 2011, 01:31 AM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(lan244 @ Feb 22 2011, 11:46 PM)
how do i potty train the hammy??
find the location where your hamster pee. put the toilet over there & put the wet pee bedding inside it. that should attract him/she the smell & as time passby he/she will know that that is the place to pee. u can also buy the toilet litter which will get hard with the hamster pee & wont smell bad. if your hamster changes his/her peeing location just change the toilet location to that place too.

if u couldnt find any wet bedding then u might want to put no bedding first & after few hours smell the cage & see where is wet....use tissue to sock the pee & put it in the toilet. btw u cant train hamster to poo in the toilet coz their poo will usually stuck at their butt & come out slowly sweat.gif & some times they eat their poo back coz there is undigested food in it. only can toilet train a hamster to pee.

so good luck icon_rolleyes.gif
infernoaswen
post Feb 24 2011, 12:27 AM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(babybb @ Feb 23 2011, 11:09 PM)
I'm going to find a time to potty train my hammy too.. as i havent buy a toilet for him.. Recently he got a new hobbies everytime when i change a new bathing sand for him he will so damn hapi play with it.. He kick all the bathing sand out / just dig dig dig.. Very waste leh my bathing sand.. Sum more he very like sleep & eat & pee & poo all in 1 in the bathing sand.. So pening leh..  rclxub.gif

Beside i was wondering izzit ok to leave at hammy at room for 2days? My bf going to genting for 2days & unable to bring hammy 2gather sum more inside room very hot so dun noe izzit safe anot..  unsure.gif
last time i went out with friends for few days....came back...hamster use the toilet for everything, eat, sleep & even bedding inside it. then i clean it mad.gif . hahaha, usually if my hamster put bedding inside i will take it out & if i saw him sleeping in there i will blow then he will wake up & find other place to sleep. & if he put food in there i will take it out & throw (dont want pee smell on his food). i keep doing this & nowdays he just use it to pee & sometimes sleep shakehead.gif but if i saw him...hahaha wait la....i disturb his sleep...let him vmad.gif

anyways 2days should be no problem at all. just refill with clean water & fill the bowl full & it should be able to last even 1 week. about the room temperature i m not sure about ur hamster but my room gets really hot in the afternoon plus its really small room sad.gif but my syrian hamster dont have problem. maybe coz syrian hamster are desert animal. usually if they feel hot they will sleep openly or in sand bath or toilet coz the surface is more cooler i guess. i got the exercise weight, i put a 0.5kg plate on his house so that he cant move it but when its hot he sometimes climb on there & sleep. i think coz its metal so the surface is more cooling.

maybe u can buy a cooling pad or just find something metal he wont bite/chew & put...if he want he will sleep on there.
infernoaswen
post Feb 24 2011, 12:28 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

yeah as mortyfish said its best to go to a mechanic. they will be able to open parts. anyways if its in the aircon then on the aircon. if the smell become too strong then confirm in the aircon. if still same then maybe somewhere else.
infernoaswen
post Feb 25 2011, 06:10 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(FirezZ @ Feb 25 2011, 11:56 AM)
yesterday brought my car to car washer... they said aiks.. no tikus mati .. just the smell of your seat .... +_+
will get mechanic to help to check later or maybe tmr morning smile.gif

btw... whats the average time for hamster to breed ?
yesterday i place the male and female together and this time, it is better.. they dont fight anymore.. but somehow.. the male keep on chasing the female and looks like "want to breed" ?  aiks... so i should separate them if i dont plan to get "more" little hamster at the moment ?
if u dont plan to breed them its best to separate them before its too late.
infernoaswen
post Feb 25 2011, 06:51 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(lan244 @ Feb 25 2011, 06:39 PM)
i have a pregnant winter white hammy.. should i separate the father when the female deliver the baby
yes coz sometimes the father will eat the babies.....its good to separate before deliver too to reduce stress.

different hamster different personality....sometimes didnt separate is ok too but better seprate before anything happens la biggrin.gif
infernoaswen
post Feb 25 2011, 09:48 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(lan244 @ Feb 25 2011, 08:07 PM)
i do have a campbells pair and it already have 2 pup.. i didn't separate the father and the father seems like doesnt care about the baby
well like i said different hamster got different personality....can keep the father together if u want but if he eat the babies dont say ah...hahaha but mum sometimes will eat also so.....

anyways its good to separate also if not later she will get pregnant again. very tired then. like us human, girls sure dont want to get pregnant every year right hmm.gif

This post has been edited by infernoaswen: Feb 25 2011, 09:48 PM
infernoaswen
post Feb 26 2011, 01:38 AM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(Terriffied @ Feb 26 2011, 01:07 AM)
Bro, i'm using the Habitrail OVO,
if they poo'd and pee'd in the middle house, (as in directly below the top food place)
den how do i put the toilet there just to let them know ?
if u cant place the toilet there then just carry the wet bedding that got pee on it & put in the toilet & place the toilet to somewhere close to there. hamster will poo anywhere & usually close to the sleeping place or eating place. so no need put the poo in the toilet, just the pee. pee will stink so u might be able to tell it by smelling it tongue.gif
infernoaswen
post Feb 26 2011, 02:40 AM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(Terriffied @ Feb 26 2011, 02:04 AM)
oh god, so means i have to smell the bedding just to know whether is that pee or not? haha, (What does it smell like? salty?)
is there any way to see it with your eyes?
hahah u dont really need to smell if u know its pee. usually if hamster just recently pee it, the bedding will be wet so u will know. but if it dired already then u can try to smell if u cannot find any wet bedding. & trust me....if its pee u will know. the smell is so strong that you wont stand. hahaha well thats what my hamster pee smells like la laugh.gif
infernoaswen
post Feb 26 2011, 03:10 AM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(Terriffied @ Feb 26 2011, 03:05 AM)
haha, coz my hamster is only 3-4 weeks old i think,
was given by my friend though,
so its quite small,
dont think their pee is that much, so quite hard to see,

and i've placed quite alot of bedding for them jsut to make them comfortable with the place,

should i try your way regarding not putting any bedding first whenever i'm planning to wash the cage?
wont they try to dig the cage?
i m not so sure if baby hamster habit. maybe its too small yet so it might pee anywhere he/she likes. but if its old enough or already pick a spot then yeah u can try without bedding. but 1 thing without bedding is that if he/she pee then the pee touch his/her fur. it will smell bad.

another option u can choose is try not to change the bedding for 1 or 2 weeks. the pee spot will have enough pee for u to identify it. if couldnt maybe its still young to toilet train tongue.gif
infernoaswen
post Feb 26 2011, 03:33 AM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(Terriffied @ Feb 26 2011, 03:23 AM)
if dont change the bedding for 1-2 weeks will they get sick?
and i'm using the habitrail OVO 1, the first edition of the OVO,
i felt my dwarf hamster is having a hard time drinking the water,
coz it seems their kinda short to reach, but i really wonder if they could get the water or not =S
some pic's of the cage? & nope they wont get sick, just make sure water, food is fresh la & the sleeping place is clean....not full with poo tongue.gif

if the hamster can reach the tip of the water then should be ok. but if he/she have to stand up & just barley reach then maybe u want to bring it closer to the surface of the cage. just tip it to make it wet & bring it close to your hamster nose. if he/she is thirsty he/she will drink it & find a way to get more. usually hamster drink little water. as long as he/she know where to get water then should be a problem.
infernoaswen
post Feb 26 2011, 03:52 AM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(Terriffied @ Feb 26 2011, 03:38 AM)
http://www.petdiscounters.com/assets/image...pad_angle_a.jpg

That's the cage,
and they kept poop in their sleeping place,
and because the sleeping place is so small and narrow,
i have hard time taking out their poops (using a spoon),
and the poops all are so small,
any tips on how to clear the poops in their sleeping place?
yup they will poo at their sleeping place. mine does that too. i dont think u got any choice, either open it to clean or use spoon tongue.gif

mine poo in the tubes & sleeping place. so i also remove the tubes 1-2days always. i dont think its harmful for them to sleep with their poo but who like to sleep with poo right? & i usually remove it coz sometimes they will eat it back & i dont want they do that icon_idea.gif

good thing about their poo is its hard & no smell. so its easy to clean. urs is still young & its a robo right? so poo will be small. mine is syrian & adult already, poo can be as big as an orange seed. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
infernoaswen
post Feb 26 2011, 04:14 AM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(Terriffied @ Feb 26 2011, 04:05 AM)
actually i dunno what breed it is,
my friend himself didn't know what breed are they too, only knew their dwarf hamster, haha,
how to see what breed are they actually?
this website got pictures & they got explain so u just compare your's with the pic at there. which looks almost the same that should be the breed of it biggrin.gif

http://www.hamsterific.com/hamsters.cfm

u can take some pics of your hamster & post here too if u want.
infernoaswen
post Feb 26 2011, 04:40 AM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

oh...good job u adpot the 3 leg female. well that happens maybe coz your friend let the hamster breed with the same family member. maybe it was bro & sis mate so they produce a not very well developed hamster.

when u got them? just few days ago? if yes then its normal, they are tired & want to sleep & get used to the environment. plus they are really young, so maybe abit scared too. both female right? make sure same sex, if different sex then try to separate them. after few week they will be very active after 12am. mine now is trying to climb on my leg tongue.gif best thing is to let them settle & try not to change their house position. i mean the things that are inside. just leave it as it is for few weeks.

ima put my hamster to sleep & i m gonna sleep now too...hahaha good luck & enjoy your hamster biggrin.gif thumbup.gif
infernoaswen
post Feb 27 2011, 11:26 AM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(Terriffied @ Feb 27 2011, 01:39 AM)
lol, i really have hard time finding out where do they pee T.T...
it starting to come out bad smell already T.T
maybe they too young & are peeing many place, not sure by how old hamster will pick their peeing spot. maybe u can wait 1month then try again biggrin.gif
infernoaswen
post Feb 28 2011, 07:01 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

oh weird...vitakraft seems to be their fav food among other brands. well cant compare with sunflower seeds la...since thats like ice cream to them tongue.gif

anyways if cannot toilet train then nvm la....let nature take its place. not all hamster can be trained. i read somewhere syrian hamster is easier to train & tame. not sure if its true or not but just some info i read before la biggrin.gif

btw now my hamster eats the dead mealworms already rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif before this i think he dont like the smell, but i keep trying to fed him then i try fed 1 sunflower seed then mealworm. i guess he knows its food then he took a bite & throw it. then next day again bite then started om nom nom nom on it. now when he sees the can of dead mealworms he will wait for it to open tongue.gif

This post has been edited by infernoaswen: Feb 28 2011, 07:03 PM
infernoaswen
post Feb 28 2011, 07:29 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(Terriffied @ Feb 28 2011, 07:10 PM)
haha, but i want to toilet train them =(, at least with that den i dun have to kept washing the cage,
is it really because they are still young so it would be harder to train them for now?

and i just washed my cage today the Habitrail OVO, its harder than i thought =.=....

and after that i put  JUST the Toilet Sand ITSELF on the place they usually sleeps because they just love shitting in there =S,
i m not sure coz i never heard about toilet training issue with age but if think about it age could have effect. like humans, baby use diaper first then later their mum will ask them to use the potty training right laugh.gif

even if u potty train u still have to change the bedding coz there will be poo all over it. since mine is toilet train i only wash once a month. but i change the bedding weekly & wipe the cage with wet cloth coz there will be tiny sawdust. so its best to clean it off if not then they might get breathing problems.

btw u cnt toilet train them to poo inside the toilet, only works to toilet train them to pee inside. *incase u not sure*
infernoaswen
post Feb 28 2011, 08:32 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(Terriffied @ Feb 28 2011, 07:37 PM)
hermm, i see....

as i was washing the cage today,
i transfer them to the small cage when my friend First passed to me,
So i thought of remain them in the small cage because it might be easier to find their pee in that cage, as its only a quite small,
and would be easier to train them and get used to me easily,
because the habitrail is seriously too big for them

at the time my friend passed to me, they were so actively running around in that old small cage,
but now when i was washing the cage while they are in the small cage,
they seem so scared and panic,
they just kept shitting on the bedding,
and they just seem to faint or just stunned in that small cage,
even when i tried touching them, or give them food or tried moving them,
they just stay there as if they were dead =.=...
so i got so afraid i quickly use towel to wipe the cage dry and quickly put the bedding and transfer them over,

its only been 4 days now, and they are so afraid of the small cage even for a while, and the both of them started fighting in that small cage =.=...
hmmm well if change their house they will be like that one, since its new. they dont know whats happening. now they still young, but as time goes by they will know that u are just cleaning their cage. anyways there are never a cage too big for a hamster. more space to walk/run is good. just like humans, when u get a big house but u will feel its just not big enough tongue.gif

QUOTE(daigoro1990 @ Feb 28 2011, 08:25 PM)
Guys, my robos just gave birth on Sunday  rclxm9.gif

Wanted to give them worms den when i moved the wood shavings i saw 5 cute little pups!  biggrin.gif

Should i remove the male from the cage? coz from my observation he's doing pretty alright taking care of the pups with the mum heheh
if he is taking care then no need move lo....just transfer later before the mum gets pregnant again laugh.gif

This post has been edited by infernoaswen: Feb 28 2011, 11:02 PM
infernoaswen
post Mar 1 2011, 11:20 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(mrtresynth @ Mar 1 2011, 09:59 PM)
Hi guys! i just bought my new hamster today. and im a total newb! T.T
so i got a few question to be asked..

1) Is my hamster WW hamster? The pet shop owner oso didn't noe la..he mixed the hamster of different kind in one cage, which i tot is not good. Rite?
2) My hamster stops being active now. She keeps digging the flakes and then become like furball. Is it normal?
3) She squeaks when i touch her.
4) Is the cage big enough?

these are her pics:
user posted image                          user posted image

user posted image                            user posted image

Sorry for blur pic, i took it with webcam only. dun have cam lo..i asked later if got more question...hope to learn a lot from gurus here!! smile.gif

Added on March 1, 2011, 10:24 pmnow she started to produce round shaped black 'thing'. and i dunno what to google!
hi there new member thumbup.gif

well u are right. its not good, maybe the shop owner is a responsible one. since u bought from that shop with that kind situation i would suggest you to monitor your hamster for few days just look sign of being extremly inactive or dont want to eat food. incase she catches disease from the shop. if possible look around the fur for any blood stain just to see if she got injured from a fight before or not.

she must be tired after a long day so thats why she is inactive. let her be the way she is for 3days. let her rest well since now she is in a new environment alone. & digging is normal, she is getting used to the place & if hamster are bored they will dig too. she must be marking the cage with her scent or just exploring her new home thats all.

try not to touch her for 3days, she will bite you if she squeaks. or just scared & try to run away. since she is from pet shop she is not tame yet, she never socialized with humans before therefore she is scared all the sudden big hand trying to grab her. try not to disturb her for 3days then after 3days u can start giving food with your hand. dont carry her yet. start intro your hand to her slowly by letting her sniff sniff & take food from you. (sunflower seed is best, they love it). if she bite you, nevermind she is just scared just dont disturb her & try again some other day slowly. after she is ok with your hand then u can try to fed her on your plam then slowly carry her. (dont close your fist yet). after 1-2days she will be ok with your hand already then u can play with her, carry etc but just watch out, she might jump of fear whistling.gif

as long as your cage can fit wheel, food bowl, water & a sleeping place & some open space to walk, then its good enough already. but big cage is always better tongue.gif

btw for your info the black round small thing that she produce is also known as "shit/poop". laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
infernoaswen
post Mar 1 2011, 11:37 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(mrtresynth @ Mar 1 2011, 11:29 PM)
hahahahha! i knew it! must be her poop! LOL. btw, thx for the info. cant stop keeping my eyes on her since i bought her LOL. sweat.gif
hahaha np....if she is not very tired by 12am she will be awake & trying to explore around, running on her wheel, eating & digging. but if she is tired then she will sleep whole day. just look later la who knows she will be active laugh.gif
infernoaswen
post Mar 2 2011, 12:06 AM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(Terriffied @ Mar 1 2011, 11:44 PM)
Guys, i went to 1U today, i went in petsmore and see the hamsters,
i just realized that i saw syrian hamster for sale, the color is exactly like my 2 hamsters,
even my friend don't know what breed are they,

coz when he first got the hamster from a fishing shop, it was an unknown hamster, didn't detail it,
he bought 2 females, but since both of them fight,
he gave 1 female to his sister, and then bought another male of winter hamster,

and now i think it could be high chance of a mix breed,
i'm just afraid when they grow up, as syrians, as many have said that syrians don't live well together,
any way i could identified them?

[attachmentid=2069428]
This is the 4 legged (I named her Pammy) (1st day)

[attachmentid=2069429]
This is the 3 Legged (I named her Fairy) (4th Day)

[attachmentid=2069433]
(1st Day)

[attachmentid=2069431]
looks like a winter white to me....anyway if they get along when small then adult there will be less chance of fighting(for syrian la)....if winter white then shouldnt be a problem....unless that hamster really gangsta wannabe tongue.gif

17 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0533sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:35 AM