4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Technical PlayStation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V4, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Discussion

geekster129
post Nov 18 2009, 08:44 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

^
Yes you can.
geekster129
post Nov 19 2009, 09:27 AM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Nov 18 2009, 09:28 PM)
Press Triangle on the video you want to name a folder in.
Then go to Info, at near the bottom you can set the album name for the video.

Just enter whatever initials you'd like and any other videos as well you want for the same folder.

So for example:
I download Pulse episode 1.
Then I download Pulse episode 2.

I want them in a same folder where I would name as just Pulse Videos.
All I do is head into my Pulse videos info section and set the album name to Pulse Videos.
It is indeed a little bit weird as many are used to: Create New Folder > Name Folder > Dump whatever you want inside.
A bit off topic here:

Not just PS3, the same thing happens to the iPod. It segregates the entire music collection by the metadata (album, artist, genre) rather than the usual folders that we use in a PC. So if you're a neat freak, you need to first manage the metadata, which is painful sometimes.

This post has been edited by geekster129: Nov 19 2009, 09:29 AM
geekster129
post Nov 22 2009, 09:23 AM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Nov 22 2009, 02:50 AM)
I don't know how many times it has been answered already.... but for the last time (yea... theres never a last):

THE FACEBOOK ICON CAN BE ACCESSED THROUGH THE ACCOUNT MANAGEMENT
lol, bro can ask Vorchiel to put in the frontpage FAQ section mar. laugh.gif
geekster129
post Nov 23 2009, 12:04 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

Noob question:
1. PS3 games display in full hd 1080p?

Only certain titles, not all. Most of them are still in 720p.

2. PS3 games audio in 5.1/7.1 surround sound?

Yes. With the proper home theatre system.

I might buy a PS3 slim next year, plan to use a 22"/24" HDCP support LCD monitor at resolution 1920x1080 via HDMI for display; and might get a cheap HTIB for audio. But if the games are not utilizing surround sound maybe I'll just get some 2.1 speaker.

This post has been edited by geekster129: Nov 23 2009, 12:05 PM
geekster129
post Nov 23 2009, 10:58 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(ecVk @ Nov 23 2009, 09:14 PM)
Can somebody explain to me whats PSN card for?
Buy games/DLC/Add-Ons, of course. Just like the DiGi/Maxis/Celcom RM10/30/50/100 prepaid cards that you buy at 7-Eleven. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by geekster129: Nov 23 2009, 10:58 PM
geekster129
post Nov 28 2009, 01:31 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(ericpires @ Nov 28 2009, 09:51 AM)
So which PSN id is the best to use? Msia or US or etc? i always been using my US PSN id, but if u use Msia PSN id, izzit better lets say if u play online games with local players?
I have USA, JP, SG, and MY PSN. Reason being I wanted to get the most out of PSN (like some limited promotional games, Betas which you can only get in USA PSN). thumbup.gif

MY PSN is primarily for purchasing PSN games using the PSN card (since MY PSN card seemed to be easier to obtain and I'm lazy to go through the hassle of using a credit card/Paypal tongue.gif).

SG PSN is primarily my active PSN ID for gaming.

This post has been edited by geekster129: Nov 28 2009, 01:34 PM
geekster129
post Dec 12 2009, 12:20 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(ericpires @ Dec 12 2009, 09:22 AM)
Anybody interested in Gold PS3? hahaha

Better late than never, we're unveiling our 24kt Gold Playstation 3 Slim today. Pricing starts at $4,999 USD. All new consoles come with two matching controllers, your choice of a plated or anodized PS3 logo, and a one year full coverage warranty.

A jeweled limited edition model with a lifetime warranty will be availaible in the coming weeks. Build time for a custom plated console is only 10-12 days. If you're looking for a unique gift for the holidays, this is it.

http://computer-choppers.com/index.html
OMG! King Midas' PS3!

Wondered if someone would propose for marriage with this hmm.gif

This post has been edited by geekster129: Dec 12 2009, 12:22 PM
geekster129
post Dec 14 2009, 01:24 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(air_mood @ Dec 14 2009, 09:40 AM)
So I've setup the network for my PS3 and all. The song files and video files shows up on my PS3 and I can see them. Thing is I can only play the movie files and one song file which is located in a different folder as opposed to the rest of the songs which is located in another server. When I try to play the song I get the error message "access to the media server is denied, please check media server settings". Any idea why this is?? Using Windows Media Player 12 and Windows 7.
Folder permission in Windows 7 maybe? hmm.gif

geekster129
post Dec 14 2009, 07:22 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(miotot @ Dec 14 2009, 05:37 PM)
hi,

i have upgraded my lcd monitor to a monitor which now contains hdmi and audio speaker out. Question is what is a better setup for audio, multi with y-splitter or connecting directly to monitor via hdmi. I am using a pc speaker by the way. Thanks.
It doesn't matter because in the end of the day, the audio is still in Stereo.

The only difference is if you use the HDMI out, if you turn off the monitor then the audio will go off. But for the multi-output, the audio will still be there even if you turn off the monitor.

Added on December 14, 2009, 7:24 pm
QUOTE(air_mood @ Dec 14 2009, 09:40 AM)
So I've setup the network for my PS3 and all. The song files and video files shows up on my PS3 and I can see them. Thing is I can only play the movie files and one song file which is located in a different folder as opposed to the rest of the songs which is located in another server. When I try to play the song I get the error message "access to the media server is denied, please check media server settings". Any idea why this is?? Using Windows Media Player 12 and Windows 7.
Wait a second. Did you mentioned "located in another server"?

How many home media servers (or services if only one PC) do you have connected to the same network of the PS3?

This post has been edited by geekster129: Dec 14 2009, 07:25 PM
geekster129
post Dec 18 2009, 10:44 AM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(moomanhang @ Dec 17 2009, 10:39 PM)
anyone encounter problems b4 pairing sony bluetooth device with ps3? i cant seem to connect it...3 times i get the error 80110104 and the fourth time which i am trying now has been in "registering mode" for the past 10mins or so....can anyone assist me on this issue? deeply appreciate any help thanks ><

Added on December 17, 2009, 10:42 pmupdate: i tried with my handphone and it works handsomely...
Make sure there's no interference while pairing the device with the PS3.

There was once I paired my BT headset to my PS3 and I tried pairing it to my laptop to try out Skype calls, no luck. Troubleshoot the problem for almost an hour only to find out that the solution to this is to turn off my PS3 first! sweat.gif

Added on December 18, 2009, 10:48 am
QUOTE(yeahh @ Dec 18 2009, 09:27 AM)
im not sure whether this has been asked here or not .. tried to do a search but nothing came up

can i connect the ps3 to my handphone for internet connection? im using htc diamond and digi 3g line ... so was hoping whether anyone has successfully connected their ps3 using usb thru handphone smile.gif
Yes. Has been asked many times. More info here http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/989719 Comprehensive discussion and guide on PS3 gaming via wireless broadband. biggrin.gif

Sorry, bro. The only Internet dialer on the PS3 which is supported by the current firmware is the ADSL PPPoE. The PS3 will not recognize any 3G connection plugged directly to the USB port, unless you proxify your connection through a PC. In other words, connect the 3G connection to your PC, and share the connection to your PS3 via the Internet Connection Sharing (ICS)

This post has been edited by geekster129: Dec 18 2009, 10:53 AM
geekster129
post Dec 18 2009, 04:34 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(dark_heart07 @ Dec 18 2009, 12:06 PM)
any suggestion for ps3's cooling fan?
The PS3 ventilation itself is designed to vent out air in a very efficient manner. Your PS3 fan will either operate in a normal ventilation mode or will scream like a jet engine when the PS3 is too hot as a preventive mechanism from overheating. To understand how good the ventilation is, put your hands on the top part of your PS3 and you won't feel any heat. Put your hands on the back of the PS3 ventilation area and you will notice that all the hot air will be blown out from that area.

As a general rule of thumb, make sure that your PS3 has ample ventilation between the air escape points and the wall, so that the hot air won't be trapped and "bounced back" to your PS3.
geekster129
post Dec 19 2009, 06:43 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(sinchro @ Dec 19 2009, 04:26 PM)
i maybe planning to get a ps3 soon  tongue.gif

i don't own a HDTV, just a standard CRT tv only.

i understand that CRT is flexible is scaling resolutions.

i also understand that if i use composite the maximum resolution is 480 only due to the bandwidth right? (i think)

i also understand that component can support up to 1080p resolutions.

but my CRT tv has component input but no progressive scan, so can i use the 720 and 1080 resolutions if i use component input?
No, it's not because of bandwidth or cable. It is because the nature of CRT itself having just 480/576 lines top to bottom, that's all.

Any TV displays capable of displaying resolution of 720p and above is classified as an HDTV.

You won't get much difference if you use component to a CRT (apart from better color accuracy).

Component will only help if you're using it on a HDTV.

This post has been edited by geekster129: Dec 19 2009, 06:49 PM
geekster129
post Dec 20 2009, 10:15 AM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Dec 20 2009, 01:49 AM)
is it true that all kind of HDMI cable, regardless of RM10 to RM500, are capable of delivering 1080p?
I bought a RM80 HDMI cable and yeah, I can go up to 1080p without issues (tested on 1080p games like Sudoku, and some Blu-Ray titles). After reading some of the posts here, only to find out that I have spent more on the extras
(enhanced netting for cable durability/gold plating) sweat.gif

Nevertheless, I would spend a little bit more for durability/quality (cos too cheap will give me doubts), and not to spend waaaaaaaaaaaay more, since I'm not owning a badass home theater system, anyways. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by geekster129: Dec 20 2009, 10:19 AM
geekster129
post Dec 21 2009, 08:09 AM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(crimson87 @ Dec 21 2009, 04:08 AM)
guys. where in klang valley can i find the hdmi/dvi adapter for my monitor as well as the red/white composite to 3.5mm converter
Most PS3 shops or any PC shops in Lowyat Plaza like Sri Computers should have one.
geekster129
post Dec 24 2009, 11:19 AM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(Yan @ Dec 24 2009, 10:59 AM)
hey wanna ask .. when buying 2nd hand games... it is important to hav the downloadable content unused to play the game ? or is that ok .. as in we still can get all the downloads and updates for the game.. just dun get some bonus itesm ? sorry noob question smile.gif
DLCs are just bonus items to enhance the game experience, but it's not a necessity to play the game.

As for game updates, they will be delivered to you no matter what. I bought second hand Uncharted 1 and Burnout: Paradise, and I'm still getting game software updates.
geekster129
post Dec 24 2009, 01:38 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

Just think of DLCs like expansion packs in some games.

Example, for Burnout Paradise you have new maps and tracks, or Call of Duty 5 map packs where you have additional maps.

Added on December 24, 2009, 1:39 pm
QUOTE(SSJBen @ Dec 24 2009, 01:27 PM)
Yan, DLC is as what it is... just extra downloadable content.
It does not alter the game's completion at all.

You just need to understand that DLC are just extra contents to spice things up in the game further after release.
Different games have different amount of extra content as well different type of content of course, so best to do the research in what games you're interested in before purchasing.
Wait, if I'm not mistaken, some DLCs will affect the platinum trophy, right? Like COD5?

This post has been edited by geekster129: Dec 24 2009, 01:39 PM
geekster129
post Dec 24 2009, 05:34 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(ctm73 @ Dec 24 2009, 03:00 PM)
fuxk ps3 update need take 2hour..
You can always download the PS3 firmware update using the direct URL on your PC and install it via a thumbdrive. laugh.gif

Latest firmware links here:

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1059611

This post has been edited by geekster129: Dec 24 2009, 05:34 PM
geekster129
post Dec 25 2009, 11:46 AM

Janitor
1,180 posts

PC > Wii > Xbox > PS3 ph34r.gif

This post has been edited by geekster129: Dec 25 2009, 11:46 AM
geekster129
post Jan 1 2010, 03:44 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(Smurfs @ Jan 1 2010, 02:55 PM)
if i get a Full HD LCD monitor with HDMI port i no longer need tat HDMI to DVI converter rite?
It's a BIG YES!

Enjoy the LCD monitor. thumbup.gif
geekster129
post Jan 4 2010, 09:07 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(CreativeJoe @ Jan 4 2010, 03:41 PM)
oh.. tx for the info smile.gif
so how to know my set is m'sia? spore? or other overseas set?
Look at the model number of your PS3. The last 2 digit shows the PS3 region code.

Japan 00
North America 01
Australia 02
United Kingdom 03
Europe/Middle East 04
Korea 05
Malaysia/Singapore 06
Taiwan 07
Russia 08
unused 09
unused 10
Latin America 11
Hong Kong 12

E.g. If your PS3 model is CECHH00, then it's a Japan 40GB 3rd generation model.

Sos kicap: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PlayStation_3...#Configurations

This post has been edited by geekster129: Jan 5 2010, 11:02 AM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0297sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:14 PM