Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

20 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> Wireless Broadband Gamers, HSDPA & 3G online gaming

views
     
TSBorneo928
post Apr 6 2009, 11:22 PM, updated 11y ago

Casual
***
Junior Member
417 posts

Joined: May 2008


Let us unite together for those who have to/want to use wireless broadband for online gaming on 3rd gen console, share wit us all about what u have been through while using 3G or HSDPA network in online gaming. help others who have problem trying to get their 3rd gen console online wit wireless BB network.

this bellow is what i put together for those who need help in setting up their ps3 to play online with wireless BB network. i'm sorry i dont provide xbox setup cos i dont hv one to test it out hehe, maybe someone out there can contribute on the xbox set up? anyway here goes

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


method to do an internet connection sharing (ICS) on PlayStation3 for XP computers

First off u will need a cross cable for the connection

1. Connect the cross cable from ur pc to your ps3
2. Go to control panel > network connection > right click property on ur modem (this could be ur phone modem or USB modem)
3. Advance > click ICS option then click “allow other users to connect throught this computer
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... «

4. Then after this click the setting button on the ICS option.
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... «

5. Click these item in the box in the options
UDP
DNS
HDCP
HTTP
HTTPS
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... «


That’s it! ur done on the computer side.

now for the ps3 part

1. Go to network setting
2. Then select internet connection setting
3. They will ask u to select a setting method, select custom
4. Next they will ask u to connect wired or wireless connection, select wired
5 from here, select these bellow:

Operation Mode: auto-detect
IP Adress: automatic
DHCP Host Name: Do not use
DNS: Automatic
MTU: Automatic
Proxy Server: Do not use
UPNP: enable

Once all this is done, there is nothing to do but to Sign IN and play online! hope it helps guys! biggrin.gif

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


List of wireless broadband gamers
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... «


This post has been edited by Borneo928: Jun 20 2009, 06:53 PM
colt_508
post Apr 6 2009, 11:24 PM

Baru masuk darjah satu (^_^)Y
*******
Senior Member
8,194 posts

Joined: Jun 2008
From: Atas Pokok Jati



Nice guide Borneo thumbup.gif

hope it will help the other.. GAMER thumbup.gif
K-End
post Apr 6 2009, 11:48 PM

Final Justice!!!!!
*******
Senior Member
3,300 posts

Joined: Sep 2004
From: Airspace B7R aka "The Round Table"



nice job...actually i've been bombarded with lot of question on how to share the connection using the cross cable and now got a thread dedicated to it.


im also a Wireless BB user but im using Huawei B932 modem from maxis. This modem already have RJ-45 slot to plug and play with your ps3 laugh.gif
TSBorneo928
post Apr 6 2009, 11:59 PM

Casual
***
Junior Member
417 posts

Joined: May 2008


QUOTE(colt_508 @ Apr 6 2009, 11:24 PM)
Nice guide Borneo thumbup.gif

hope it will help the other.. GAMER thumbup.gif
*
hope so too biggrin.gif

QUOTE(K-End @ Apr 6 2009, 11:48 PM)
nice job...actually i've been bombarded with lot of question on how to share the connection using the cross cable and now got a thread dedicated to it.
im also a Wireless BB user but im using Huawei B932 modem from maxis. This modem already have RJ-45 slot to plug and play with your ps3 laugh.gif
*
right on! will add ur name to the list. thats a modem to drool for drool.gif... so with the slot ready, do u still have to do the ICS setup? hows maxis during gaming any good? what NAT type did u get?...i got NAT 3 for mine sad.gif
alpha_company
post Apr 7 2009, 12:47 AM

One Hand Punch Mega
*******
Senior Member
4,016 posts

Joined: Mar 2005
From: ★MALAYSIA★ Status: Photographing



the hsdpa connection is good enough for gaming? no lags?
TSBorneo928
post Apr 7 2009, 12:58 AM

Casual
***
Junior Member
417 posts

Joined: May 2008


well they are lags n what not, but they are few reports of ppl playing online without sudden disconnection during gameplay which is a plus. and from my experience, i did not encounter any problem playing around in the US playstation HOME but on the other hand some tmnet users could not even log in.

This post has been edited by Borneo928: Apr 7 2009, 12:59 AM
alpha_company
post Apr 7 2009, 01:09 AM

One Hand Punch Mega
*******
Senior Member
4,016 posts

Joined: Mar 2005
From: ★MALAYSIA★ Status: Photographing



maybe it depends on the 3g coverage in that area..

This post has been edited by alpha_company: Apr 7 2009, 01:09 AM
TSBorneo928
post Apr 7 2009, 01:11 AM

Casual
***
Junior Member
417 posts

Joined: May 2008


yup it always does
alpha_company
post Apr 7 2009, 01:22 AM

One Hand Punch Mega
*******
Senior Member
4,016 posts

Joined: Mar 2005
From: ★MALAYSIA★ Status: Photographing



maxis 3g and celcom 3g..which is better to use for online gaming and more reliable?
TSBorneo928
post Apr 7 2009, 01:31 AM

Casual
***
Junior Member
417 posts

Joined: May 2008


it all depends actually, right now i'm using a phone as a modem so u can imagine the restriction of data transfer through all the activity.

so far maxis seems to be ok, thats what i heard from other people, i'm using celcom 3g, and not HSDPA and yet i still can enjoy multiplayer in liberty city thumbup.gif but of cos wit minor lags and a few issue cos i'm on NAT type 3. planing to get a proper usb modem n upgrade to HSDPA and test it out myself biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Borneo928: Apr 7 2009, 01:34 AM
uchiha_sauffie
post Apr 7 2009, 02:04 AM

Casual
***
Junior Member
316 posts

Joined: Jun 2008
From: In 1 Petabyte SSD


im also using maxisbb with my ps3. so far there is A LOT lagging issues with my maxisbb. doh.gif (maybe my area not much 3g coverage, it depends on the area)
but sumtimes the connection is really fast. brows.gif My package comes with ZTE mf600 modem that have only one RJ-45 cable and phone cable. And i use D-LINK 8-port Switch for my ps3 and other 6 pc as well.
No need extra setup just plug and play!! thumbup.gif about the NAT type usually get type 2 or 1. dont have type 3.

This post has been edited by uchiha_sauffie: Apr 7 2009, 02:07 AM
qudeenz360
post Apr 7 2009, 07:40 AM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
5,761 posts

Joined: Jun 2007
From: J the great



hok oloh

meksis berokben podowen.... smile.gif
chicano
post Apr 7 2009, 09:26 AM

chicanoMY
*****
Senior Member
854 posts

Joined: Feb 2007
From: Kajang



I am celcom bb user connect using USB modem. HSDPA signal in my area very good so i have no problem while gaming but to download patch/demo a little bit slow. And i am using router instead of cross cable.

This post has been edited by chicano: Apr 7 2009, 09:27 AM
qudeenz360
post Apr 7 2009, 09:35 AM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
5,761 posts

Joined: Jun 2007
From: J the great



sblom nih signal meksis aku warna biru gelap... kini sudah btukar ke wana biru cerah.. so maksudnye.. meksis da upgred...

nk gaming online xder masalah.. cuma dpend pd sever.. sever mcm p***.. maka p*** la gem tuu.. tongue.gif

biasa la.. mende free...

nak mantapo tukar la ke kotak360 smile.gif
cwl_ykh
post Apr 7 2009, 10:27 AM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
5,114 posts

Joined: May 2007


well im using a maxis huawei E960 that have wifi n 4 other lan port... atm so far so good just plug n play
TSBorneo928
post Apr 7 2009, 12:03 PM

Casual
***
Junior Member
417 posts

Joined: May 2008


list of WBB gamers has been updated guys biggrin.gif
K-End
post Apr 7 2009, 12:34 PM

Final Justice!!!!!
*******
Senior Member
3,300 posts

Joined: Sep 2004
From: Airspace B7R aka "The Round Table"



QUOTE(Borneo928 @ Apr 6 2009, 11:59 PM)
hope so too  biggrin.gif
right on! will add ur name to the list. thats a modem to drool for  drool.gif... so with the slot ready, do u still have to do the ICS setup? hows maxis during gaming any good? what NAT type did u get?...i got NAT 3 for mine  sad.gif
*
i dont need to do setup. all i need to do is configure the network on PS3 side. So far my online gaming is great. well, lagging and what not is depend on server, and the line condition. During rainy day, sometimes the connection deteriorate into an unplayable online session.

As for the NAT, i only got NAT 2
cwl_ykh
post Apr 7 2009, 12:35 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
5,114 posts

Joined: May 2007


QUOTE(K-End @ Apr 7 2009, 12:34 PM)
i dont need to do setup. all i need to do is configure the network on PS3 side. So far my online gaming is great. well, lagging and what not is depend on server, and the line condition. During rainy day, sometimes the connection deteriorate into an unplayable online session.

As for the NAT, i only got NAT 2
*
same to me... laugh.gif
qudeenz360
post Apr 7 2009, 01:55 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
5,761 posts

Joined: Jun 2007
From: J the great



QUOTE(cwl_ykh @ Apr 7 2009, 12:35 PM)
same to me... laugh.gif
*
me too
chicano
post Apr 7 2009, 04:54 PM

chicanoMY
*****
Senior Member
854 posts

Joined: Feb 2007
From: Kajang



i remember there is one time i got NAT3, got any problem or what? hmm.gif

20 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top
 

Change to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0343sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th June 2021 - 12:40 AM