It's around 5300 with the forumer here.. I also didn't make my mind on what to buy yet.. Samsung got many feature + design good. But afraid of reliability.
Samsung Plasma Series 6 650 50inch (PS50B650S1R), Discuss this new plasma tv here.
Oct 30 2009, 09:42 AM
2,466 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
It's around 5300 with the forumer here.. I also didn't make my mind on what to buy yet.. Samsung got many feature + design good. But afraid of reliability.
Oct 30 2009, 11:08 AM
669 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
I agreed and worry about Sammy's reliability and IR issue. Planning to buy this as well, but if it can last for more than 5 yrs, that's good enuff.
Oct 30 2009, 02:20 PM
23 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
QUOTE(jimmyteng18 @ Oct 30 2009, 11:08 AM) I agreed and worry about Sammy's reliability and IR issue. Planning to buy this as well, but if it can last for more than 5 yrs, that's good enuff. Its often our desire of 'owning' new toys that prematurely ends the effective lifecycle of the tv. When I got my 1st LCD TV i was hoping for the same too but 14 months down the road, itchy hand and leg already |
Oct 30 2009, 02:40 PM
2,466 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
5 years to long a.. Mine 1st 32" LCD already sold after 1.5 year..
Hopefully my next 50" will be last around 3 years.. after that sure itchy2 already.. |
Oct 31 2009, 01:14 AM
36 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
Try this setting --Picture menu Mode: Movie Cell Light: 10 Contrast: 99 Brightness: 48 Sharpness: 0 Color: 48 Tint: G50/R50 Advanced settings submenu Black tone: Off Dynamic contrast: Off Gamma: 0 Color space: Auto Flesh tone: 0 Edge enhancement: Off xvYCC: Off White balance submenu R-Offset: 25 G-Offset: 25 B-Offset: 25 R-Gain: 25 G-Gain: 21 B-Gain: 21 Picture options submenu Color tone: Warm2 Size: Screen Fit Digital NR: Off HDMI black level: Normal [grayed out] 1080 Full HD Motion Demo: Off Film mode: Off** Blue only mode: Off --Setup menu Game Mode: Off Energy saving: Off BD Wise: Off **Black levels became lighter when we selected the Cinema Smooth option, so these settings only apply to the Off position, even for 1080p/24 sources. |
Nov 5 2009, 03:27 PM
6 posts Joined: Sep 2009 |
Got the B550 as i think i can live without the added features of the B650. used for about 3 weeks now and the IR is quite bad in the beginning but now gradually decreasing. I am very happy with the picture at 9 feet viewing distance and only with ASTRO. still saving up for BD system. The IR is not much of an issue although have only used for about 40hours. Just dont keep bright or white lines(menu boxes, etc) long on the screen but IR washes off quite quickly. I accidentally left my laptop desktop image (HDMI) with media player running in the middle for 1 hour!! got IR but wash off after 10 minutes or so....scary
This post has been edited by liquidTV: Nov 5 2009, 03:29 PM |
Nov 5 2009, 03:38 PM
3,569 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
QUOTE(liquidTV @ Nov 5 2009, 03:27 PM) Got the B550 as i think i can live without the added features of the B650. used for about 3 weeks now and the IR is quite bad in the beginning but now gradually decreasing. I am very happy with the picture at 9 feet viewing distance and only with ASTRO. still saving up for BD system. The IR is not much of an issue although have only used for about 40hours. Just dont keep bright or white lines(menu boxes, etc) long on the screen but IR washes off quite quickly. I accidentally left my laptop desktop image (HDMI) with media player running in the middle for 1 hour!! got IR but wash off after 10 minutes or so....scary Use break in dvd to clean IR during initial hours. |
Nov 5 2009, 05:00 PM
6 posts Joined: Sep 2009 |
Nov 5 2009, 05:16 PM
Nov 6 2009, 09:30 AM
264 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: KL/PJ |
tuan tuan sekalian,
just wanna check if you guys hav tried out the network function to pull movies out frm your pc. lan cable connection btw. seems that movies works fine other than my larger mkv files. could it be bandwith issue? direct hdd to the tv works fine. |
Nov 6 2009, 09:32 AM
QUOTE(temppei @ Nov 6 2009, 09:30 AM) tuan tuan sekalian, FAT 32 cant take anything beyond 4GB.just wanna check if you guys hav tried out the network function to pull movies out frm your pc. lan cable connection btw. seems that movies works fine other than my larger mkv files. could it be bandwith issue? direct hdd to the tv works fine. |
Nov 6 2009, 10:24 AM
my hdds all ntfs. no fat32.
direct play frm hdd to the usb slot .. no prob.. frm the network .. can't play mkv files.. but normal files can.. donno why .. Added on November 6, 2009, 10:32 amanyway i'll test my network out today see how .. This post has been edited by temppei: Nov 6 2009, 10:32 AM |
Nov 9 2009, 12:14 AM
11 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
QUOTE(aneip @ Oct 30 2009, 09:42 AM) It's around 5300 with the forumer here.. I also didn't make my mind on what to buy yet.. Samsung got many feature + design good. But afraid of reliability. Sorry, can't locate posts regarding sale of b650. Can sellers pls pm me? Also prices for b550 and panny 50s10k if possible. |
Nov 9 2009, 09:08 AM
QUOTE(nayo @ Nov 9 2009, 12:14 AM) Sorry, can't locate posts regarding sale of b650. Can sellers pls pm me? Also prices for b550 and panny 50s10k if possible. The best price from Commontan at BM,Penang as on 20 Oct'09(1). P50S10k + BD60 + FOC HDMI cable(x1) with 3 yrs warranty - rm 6240 (2). PS50B650 with 2 yrs warranty = rm 5320 |
Nov 9 2009, 10:19 AM
just to confirm again bros, 50b650 can detect and play files over ntfs. weird that the manual states only support fat32.
Nov 9 2009, 11:33 AM
624 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
Nov 9 2009, 11:43 AM
QUOTE(de_lasoul @ Nov 9 2009, 11:33 AM) Bro, haven't decided yet. Plasma still in my list. Would it be OK for plasma if my room do not have air-cond.unit? LED TV is good but for 46" above very expensive, as I want 46" above size of panel. Hence both plasma still in my list. BTW, HN QM quoted the Sammy 46A950(display set) at rm7999. Not worth..lar..I think. |
Nov 9 2009, 11:52 AM
seems u already have the answers..
LED too expensive- Out 46A950 Display - Out So it comes down to plasma B650 or S10 only, but if u are concern on reliability which many claims specifically on Sammy, then OUT as well. So your likely choice is S10. I think it is a very simple decision now unless u have other new brands or models in mind now. Anyways, I think many ppl also do use plasma without air-condition room. I am sure the room has air ventilations. I do not think it is a big issue. So what are u waiting for? This post has been edited by de_lasoul: Nov 9 2009, 11:55 AM |
Nov 9 2009, 11:59 AM
Bro, good advice. I still prefer B650 than S10, and I need a Blu-ray player as well. Hope to get the BD60 at rm599..no hope liao..
Nov 9 2009, 12:07 PM
then u have the price from Commontan which is the best I gathered. Time to get it after mths of hunting.
SEC selling BD60 at RM599 (Am sure u already know then), but may be out of stock.. well, there are always alternatives S360 or B3000 at the same price which are steals... BTW, why BD60? S360 no good? |
| Change to: | 0.0260sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:51 PM |