<-<- Sugar Gliders V13 ->->

CazzyCazz
post Oct 11 2009, 08:33 PM

eric138, babyvey & jitshiong,

Thanks for your sharing and advice, appreciate it a lot smile.gif

Good to know that i can bring suggies back with me to Penang occasionally as i will not have a peace of mind should i leave it with my fiance and housemate. Haha my fiance doesn't know what i have in mind yet, i should test water and see what's his reaction. As i travel overseas for work occasionally and i really have to depend on my fiance to care for my future suggies.

Oh btw, this morning i went to Jln Pasar in KL to buy fishes and some plants for my tank and guess what i saw?? POOR SUGGIES being caged in a small bird cage and for sales at RM250 only! There are total of 10 suggies in 1 small bird cage with nothing fancy for hiding or comfort. God knows for how long they have been living in such condition? Of coz i was once tempted in getting 1 out of sympathy, but i rem the advice from this forum. Gosh my heart cries out for them.....

Oh can some one please advice me on the cost of setting up the cage, a suggie and the food?
cottonkandy
post Oct 11 2009, 10:49 PM

487 posts

Speaking of Jalan Pasar, i once came across a young girl who bought a glider in a hamster cage with a hamster wheel. She was holding the cage and swinging the cage around like nobody's business and laughing off herself.
cottonkandy
post Oct 11 2009, 10:55 PM

487 posts

CazzyCass: You have to know how many gliders you plan to have in the future and choose the right cage size. But you should go with the 4ft cage. So you will need around Rm600+ for a 4ft cage and a glider. Haven't included wheel and stuff.

Rough calculation of what you will need, of course more to come later on,

Cage Rm300
Glider Rm300
Woodent wheel Rm100
Diet Rm ??

Can browse around pet store section in trade zone. Try looking for jtl's, petshack sales thread, they offers some starter kit and you can estimate your cost.
euripidies
post Oct 11 2009, 11:34 PM

22 posts

hello guys i got some ques here smile.gif

wats de diff between colony pouch n the common pouch?
only the size is bigger?or any other diff wit the material or else?

n i get confuse each time i wan to drop the lc vit..
only 5drops for the whole 16oz bottle?
cos based on some pics in this thread,the water looks yellowish..
but if 5 drops only,not so yellowish ler..
is it enuff?

This post has been edited by euripidies: Oct 11 2009, 11:35 PM
takanori
post Oct 12 2009, 09:06 AM

200 posts

how long does u all clean ur SG cage?

I wanted to wash my suggie cos sometime she sleep at the wheel and very dirty...
did u all shower them and how?

jitshiong
post Oct 12 2009, 09:09 AM

Trust me, I'm an Engineer
1,868 posts

i think the wheel if can everyday
they always pee n poo there...

else they might get infection from all the pee n poo there..
i encounter a case before...
so must make sure the place is clean
babydaisy
post Oct 12 2009, 09:40 AM

hi all

i noticed that for the past 2 days there are some ants around the cage of my SGs. i have checked..they are wandering around the cage where got some small pieces of dried apple (my SGs love to "sprinkle" their food during night time) i clean that every morning and seems to have no problem for the past 2 months.

i wonder what can keep ants away? the funny thing is there is none in the cage. i'm so afraid they will bite my SGs one day!
TSeric138
post Oct 12 2009, 10:26 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(euripidies @ Oct 11 2009, 11:34 PM)
hello guys i got some ques here smile.gif

wats de diff between colony pouch n the common pouch?
only the size is bigger?or any other diff wit the material or else?

n i get confuse each time i wan to drop the lc vit..
only 5drops for the whole 16oz bottle?
cos based on some pics in this thread,the water looks yellowish..
but if 5 drops only,not so yellowish ler..
is it enuff?
Size bigger. Material depends on the seller. Different ppl use different material.

If you use bigger bottle, actually u can put few drops more. As long as the color is not too yellowish.

QUOTE(takanori @ Oct 12 2009, 09:06 AM)
how long does u all clean ur SG cage?

I wanted to wash my suggie cos sometime she sleep at the wheel and very dirty...
did u all shower them and how?
I disinfect my glider cage once a week. Every 2-3days wash the wheels and wipe the cage.

Glider will tend to poo and pee when running on wheel, so u hav to clean it regularly.

Don shower ur glider, jus wipe with wet wipes would do.

QUOTE(babydaisy @ Oct 12 2009, 09:40 AM)
hi all

i noticed that for the past 2 days there are some ants around the cage of my SGs.  i have checked..they are wandering around the cage where got some small pieces of dried apple (my SGs love to "sprinkle" their food during night time) i clean that every morning and seems to have no problem for the past 2 months.

i wonder what can keep ants away?  the funny thing is there is none in the cage.  i'm so afraid they will bite my SGs one day!
Hahaha.. i encountered this problem too lately because i jus moved to a new unit. I use ant powder at the corner of my room, and some places that ants always gather... after 2 days...then clean the whole room, make sure u clean properly, if any of ur pets ingest the powder will cause death.

So far i haven see any ants yet.... biggrin.gif

You can try putting vaseline/oil on the 4legs of ur cage... or put 4 bowl of water... But i found that this method isn't work very well....
Kiraneko
post Oct 12 2009, 11:06 AM

69 posts

What do you guys use to disinfect the cage and where can I buy them? I'm running out of the disinfecting pill type.
TSeric138
post Oct 12 2009, 11:13 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(Kiraneko @ Oct 12 2009, 11:06 AM)
What do you guys use to disinfect the cage and where can I buy them? I'm running out of the disinfecting pill type.
I use germisep, it's safe for animal use and environmental friendly. biggrin.gif

Got it from PetShack.
babydaisy
post Oct 12 2009, 11:43 AM

where can i get the ant powder? can i put them there permantly to avoid anymore ants? i have only SGs at home.

QUOTE(eric138 @ Oct 12 2009, 10:26 AM)
Hahaha.. i encountered this problem too lately because i jus moved to a new unit. I use ant powder at the corner of my room, and some places that ants always gather... after 2 days...then clean the whole room, make sure u clean properly, if any of ur pets ingest the powder will cause death.

So far i haven see any ants yet.... biggrin.gif

You can try putting vaseline/oil on the 4legs of ur cage... or put 4 bowl of water... But i found that this method isn't work very well....
TSeric138
post Oct 12 2009, 11:56 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(babydaisy @ Oct 12 2009, 11:43 AM)
where can i get the ant powder?  can i put them there permantly to avoid anymore ants?  i have only SGs at home.
normal hardware shop is seeling it..

U don hav to put it permanantly, and it's not safe to do so. Because accident may happen...such as wind blow the powder then ur glider get to contact with it..

Basically the ants will carry the powder back to their nest..and all ants will died.. so use once a while would do.. biggrin.gif
shienshien
post Oct 12 2009, 12:44 PM

QUOTE(eric138 @ Oct 12 2009, 11:13 AM)
I use germisep, it's safe for animal use and environmental friendly. biggrin.gif

Got it from PetShack.
Hi Eric, got any picture of germisep? how to apply it?

btw, i have a shock in my life on last Saturday after Dr Jenny told me that my Minnie is actually male and not female. I'm so shock and frustrated that the seller either on-purpose or not telling me its a female glider. Dr. Jenny told me that its not recommended just to keep a male glider because they may injured themselves when they are sexually mature. i rush to petshack and start calling other pet shop but most of them dont have stock in-hand.

I went to taman megah pet shop and luckily they have one, Mickey, that's what i cal her now. She is so small i think 1 1/2 OOP but very lovely. She is very active and always explore her surrounding. i will try to upload both SGs later. i really have to be careful with her now since she is so small and luckily Minnie accept her immediately on the first meeting. so far, i dont see any sign of rejection.

Really enjoying now since i got 2 SGs and now Minnie has a young companion. yeahooooo .......

TSeric138
post Oct 12 2009, 01:53 PM

227 posts

Don hav the picture with me...

Basically jus put one germisep pellet into 2litre water, then it will dissolve.. Jus wipe ur cage using that germisep water.

Actualyl u don hav to so rush for the second glider. It's still ok to keep a male glider first b4 u get the second one. Self-mutilation doesnt happen over such short period if u spend enough time on him.

But anyway, since now u got the new glider d. Jus take good care on both of them~~~
jolenelarhhs
post Oct 12 2009, 02:07 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(babydaisy @ Oct 12 2009, 09:40 AM)
hi all

i noticed that for the past 2 days there are some ants around the cage of my SGs.  i have checked..they are wandering around the cage where got some small pieces of dried apple (my SGs love to "sprinkle" their food during night time) i clean that every morning and seems to have no problem for the past 2 months.

i wonder what can keep ants away?  the funny thing is there is none in the cage.  i'm so afraid they will bite my SGs one day!
Try this..
Put cornstarch around the area where u see the ants. Then the ants would carry the cornstarch back to their nest and eat it. Then, because they could not digest corn starch they would die. (:

I've never tried this method, but i heard of it from an email and im planning to try it later (:

Urm.. can gliders digest corn starch? Just wondering if it might be safer than those ant powder..
babydaisy
post Oct 12 2009, 02:31 PM

i think i'll try the cornstarch first since i got it at home and i think it's safer too if really effective to kill those ants.

eric: how much is the germisep pellet? am currently using the SuperPet Clean Cage Deodorizer 16oz from Petshack to deodorise and disinfect the cage but i find it pretty pricey to use on long term.

QUOTE(jolenelarhhs @ Oct 12 2009, 02:07 PM)
Try this..
Put cornstarch around the area where u see the ants. Then the ants would carry the cornstarch back to their nest and eat it. Then, because they could not digest corn starch they would die.  (:

I've never tried this method, but i heard of it from an email and im planning to try it later (:

Urm.. can gliders digest corn starch? Just wondering if it might be safer than those ant powder..
TSeric138
post Oct 12 2009, 02:56 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(babydaisy @ Oct 12 2009, 02:31 PM)
i think i'll try the cornstarch first since i got it at home and i think it's safer too if really effective to kill those ants. 

eric: how much is the germisep pellet?  am currently using the SuperPet Clean Cage Deodorizer 16oz from Petshack to deodorise and disinfect the cage but i find it pretty pricey to use on long term.
I'm using the deodorizer too..but it cant kill germs.... it's not a disinfectant....

I use deodorizer to wipe my cage every 2-3 days..basically to clean the pee stain and odour..

Germisep i use once a week to really DISINFECT the cage...

I bought rm5, 15pellets from petshack.
SugarCoatedCandy
post Oct 12 2009, 03:25 PM

Digital Overlord (Website Manager) lulz!
1,434 posts

For normal pests like ants that like to crawl around the cage, try to use these methods:

1) Immediately remove any leftover food after your suggie has done with their meal.

2) Get vaseline from any pharmacy or provision shop (about RM4-5) rub some at the legs of your cage.

3) Move your cage away from the wall. Make sure it isnt really close to teh wall where the ants can get access to your cage.

4) If you can see where the trail of ants came from, get a spray bottle.. then put vinegar inside.. spray and spray at the trail! XD Make sure don't kena your suggies.. not even the cage smile.gif

5) Make a hanging glider kitchen tongue.gif

6) Use some home remedial methods to kills natural insect pests - http://www.eartheasy.com/live_natpest_control.htm

Cheers~

This post has been edited by SugarCoatedCandy: Oct 12 2009, 03:29 PM
jolenelarhhs
post Oct 12 2009, 06:57 PM

25 posts

Does anyone know if gliders can digest cornstarch? o.0 pls n tq smile.gif
CazzyCazz
post Oct 12 2009, 08:22 PM

QUOTE(cottonkandy @ Oct 11 2009, 10:55 PM)
CazzyCass: You have to know how many gliders you plan to have in the future and choose the right cage size. But you should go with the 4ft cage. So you will need around Rm600+ for a 4ft cage and a glider. Haven't included wheel and stuff.

Rough calculation of what you will need, of course more to come later on,

Cage Rm300
Glider Rm300
Woodent wheel Rm100
Diet Rm ??

Can browse around pet store section in trade zone. Try looking for jtl's, petshack sales thread, they offers some starter kit and you can estimate your cost.
Hiyii Cottonkandy,

I intend to have 2 in the future...l. The starting up cost isn't cheap as excepted....plus i have 7 kids/cats to feed on premium food (5 staying wt me & 2 with my in laws next door), aiyoyo have to increase income already! Hehehe, this is the price to pay for being an animal lover tongue.gif

Thanks for your info and i am working towards to be a suggie owner!! Cheers

125 Pages « < 122 123 124 125 >Top

0.0226sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:50 PM