Hardware GPU discussion

afag
post Feb 27 2011, 06:08 PM

211 posts

Hi, i'm confuse here..
is it 1GB GDDR5 AMD Radeon™ HD 6870M is better than 1.5GB GDDR5 NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 460M?

Trance4eva
post Feb 27 2011, 06:20 PM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(afag @ Feb 27 2011, 06:08 PM)
Hi, i'm confuse here..
is it 1GB GDDR5 AMD Radeon™ HD 6870M is better than 1.5GB GDDR5 NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 460M?
Yes.
Im sure your confuse because of the amout of memory they have. Well let me clearify it for you. 2GB, 1.5GB or 1GB does not make much different. Actually 512MB is considered enough d. The amount of memeory a GPU is just for the screen resolution. Since most of us uses a max resolution of 1080p, 1GB should suffice.

This post has been edited by Trance4eva: Feb 27 2011, 06:20 PM
Mr.Docter
post Feb 27 2011, 07:31 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(afag @ Feb 27 2011, 06:08 PM)
Hi, i'm confuse here..
bear in mind that Memory is not everything.

that fact is always been manipulated by laptop company as a hype to boast their sales.
afag
post Feb 27 2011, 08:18 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(Trance4eva @ Feb 27 2011, 06:20 PM)
Yes.
Im sure your confuse because of the amout of memory they have. Well let me clearify it for you. 2GB, 1.5GB or 1GB does not make much different. Actually 512MB is considered enough d. The amount of memeory a GPU is just for the screen resolution. Since most of us uses a max resolution of 1080p, 1GB should suffice.
now i know..thx to Mr Docter too biggrin.gif

GreaseMonkey90
post Mar 1 2011, 07:52 AM

Alienware Bencher
563 posts

astria haven't update the 1st post for a long time. astria u there?
Mr.Docter
post Mar 1 2011, 10:40 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(GreaseMonkey90 @ Mar 1 2011, 07:52 AM)
astria haven't update the 1st post for a long time. astria u there?
busy maybe? sweat.gif
ashingburning
post Mar 4 2011, 06:45 PM

219 posts

how good is ATI HD 5470 ,GT540m and GT550m?

is GT540m good for gaming??
Trance4eva
post Mar 4 2011, 08:40 PM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(ashingburning @ Mar 4 2011, 06:45 PM)
how good is ATI HD 5470 ,GT540m and GT550m?

is GT540m good for gaming??
GT550M>GT540M>HD 5470

heres the benchmark for GT540M
http://www.notebookcheck.net/NVIDIA-GeForc...0M.41715.0.html

see whether the fps is suitable for you smile.gif
l3iTi
post Mar 5 2011, 01:26 AM

536 posts

how good is ATI HD 6470 and GT520m?
Still thinking which to take for below two model:

Acer Aspire 4743ZG

P6200
2GB DDR3
320GB HDD
GT520 1GB
Win7HP
3 years warranty

or

Asus A42JY-VX072 Intel Core i3-380M/2GB/500GB/14"/Radeon HD6470(1GB)/Dos
lee_what2004
post Mar 5 2011, 02:11 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Take the GT520M,..
ZeratoS
post Mar 6 2011, 03:06 AM

Oh you.
1,044 posts

So I'm thinking of either the N53SN or the XPS 15 MLK. Haven't been able to find any benchmarks on the GeForce 550m.

How great is the performance increase from the 540m to the 550m? Would appreciate any insight on this.
eugenechiuu
post Mar 6 2011, 03:57 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(ZeratoS @ Mar 6 2011, 03:06 AM)
So I'm thinking of either the N53SN or the XPS 15 MLK. Haven't been able to find any benchmarks on the GeForce 550m.

How great is the performance increase from the 540m to the 550m? Would appreciate any insight on this.
Probably around 4-5 FPS depending on games..
ZeratoS
post Mar 6 2011, 04:47 AM

Oh you.
1,044 posts

QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Mar 6 2011, 03:57 AM)
Probably around 4-5 FPS depending on games..
Ah thanks! According to this :

http://www.notebookcheck.net/NVIDIA-GeForc...0M.42264.0.html

Says it should be equivalent to the 445m whereas the 540m would show a 10% improvement over the 435m.

http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/high_end_gpus.html

Looks like a huge improvement from this, so I'm just puzzled.
eugenechiuu
post Mar 6 2011, 06:16 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(ZeratoS @ Mar 6 2011, 04:47 AM)
Ah thanks! According to this :

http://www.notebookcheck.net/NVIDIA-GeForc...0M.42264.0.html

Says it should be equivalent to the 445m whereas the 540m would show a 10% improvement over the 435m.

http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/high_end_gpus.html

Looks like a huge improvement from this, so I'm just puzzled.
Nah, should trust too much on that since they dun have actual benchmarks yet..

They did state this
'The GeForce GT 550M is not yet released and therefore the following information is still based on rumors and leaks'
ZeratoS
post Mar 6 2011, 06:28 AM

Oh you.
1,044 posts

nod.gif Alright. I guess I'll wait for the benchmarks to come out. Thanks a bunch!
afag
post Mar 8 2011, 03:41 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(Trance4eva @ Feb 27 2011, 06:20 PM)
Yes.
in this case, what did u see to determine the GPU's performance? especially for gaming..
ZephyrNoir
post Mar 11 2011, 09:08 AM

91 posts

amd 6570 compared with gt 540 which one better?
eugenechiuu
post Mar 11 2011, 09:10 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(afag @ Mar 8 2011, 03:41 PM)
in this case, what did u see to determine the GPU's performance? especially for gaming..
pixel shaders, clock speeds...
engmeng
post Mar 12 2011, 09:48 AM

93 posts

is GTX 485M is the best GPU out there??!

Added on March 12, 2011, 9:49 amfor laptop

This post has been edited by engmeng: Mar 12 2011, 09:49 AM
lee_what2004
post Mar 12 2011, 09:50 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Yup,

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Mar 12 2011, 09:50 AM

144 Pages « < 113 114 115 116 117 > » Top