5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

High electricity bills, Advice needed.thks.

Aeon_Clock
post Aug 11 2009, 10:10 AM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jul 26 2009, 06:52 PM)
Let say desktop 300W x 4 = 1200 x 18 = 21.6KWH
Laptop 200W x 2 = 400 x 18 = 7.2KWH
1 hp = 750 W x 16 = 12KWH

21.6 + 7.2 + 12 = 40.8 x 30 days = 1224 KWH.

Above just rough calculation as desktop power consumption is always fluctuate due to usage, it is not possible that your computer always run at peak load.

So answer, yes, could reach 1200KWH
hi, how does this calculation work? multiply by 4 then multiply by 18? Aircond multiply by 16?
cherroy
post Aug 11 2009, 02:33 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Aug 11 2009, 10:10 AM)
hi, how does this calculation work? multiply by 4 then multiply by 18? Aircond multiply by 16?
Those are hours of usage and number of desktop/laptop stated by the origin question.

Electricity bill is calculated in power aka KWH, now is about 30+ cents per KWH

So if your equipment consume 100W and you use it for 10 hours then, 10 x 100 = 1KWH.
Calmman
post Aug 11 2009, 04:59 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Aug 11 2009, 02:33 PM)
Those are hours of usage and number of desktop/laptop stated by the origin question.

Electricity bill is calculated in power aka KWH, now is about 30+ cents per KWH

So if your equipment consume 100W and you use it for 10 hours then, 10 x 100 = 1KWH.
Don't mind share on calculation of air cond. consumption(average for 1HP, 1 1/2HP & 2HP) icon_question.gif

Averagely how many watt air cond. consumes?

cute_boboi
post Aug 11 2009, 05:57 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(lainux @ Aug 10 2009, 12:33 AM)
Which one is better, central unit water tank boiler or individual water heater?  I mean in terms of saving electricity & money.  I have 3 bathrooms that are just next to eah other, and I am wondering which type to install to save energy.
Both has pros and cons.

Central:
1) Takes longer time to boil / keep warm -> more electricity
2) Provide continous steady stream of warm water. You don't bath in hot water tongue.gif Hot water is to process dressed-chicken.

Individual:
1) Almost immediate warm water. Sometimes too hot and boil off the sausage/fish-ball/double-pau
2) Irregular temperature, fluctuate. Which will make you turn the heater up. Then... refer #1 sweat.gif

Best is, install another separate tank on top of the roof, either black PVC or metal is fine, as both absorb heat. Let our natural sun become the heater.

Unless most of your team take bath at similiar time, otherwise don't go for central.

Another way to look at it, you don't use a 5L kettle to boil water, then make a cup of 50ml espresso. doh.gif It would be better to use the small 1.2L jug to boil and faster too. Save electricity.

Unless you plan to boil 5L water, then make 2-3L of hot coffee/tea for a gang. sweat.gif
lainux
post Aug 11 2009, 11:18 PM

650 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Aug 11 2009, 05:57 PM)
Both has pros and cons.

Central:
1) Takes longer time to boil / keep warm -> more electricity
2) Provide continous steady stream of warm water. You don't bath in hot water  tongue.gif  Hot water is to process dressed-chicken.

Individual:
1) Almost immediate warm water. Sometimes too hot and boil off the sausage/fish-ball/double-pau
2) Irregular temperature, fluctuate. Which will make you turn the heater up. Then... refer #1  sweat.gif

Best is, install another separate tank on top of the roof, either black PVC or metal is fine, as both absorb heat. Let our natural sun become the heater.
Unless most of your team take bath at similiar time, otherwise don't go for central.

Another way to look at it, you don't use a 5L kettle to boil water, then make a cup of 50ml espresso.  doh.gif  It would be better to use the small 1.2L jug to boil and faster too. Save electricity.

Unless you plan to boil 5L water, then make 2-3L of hot coffee/tea for a gang.  sweat.gif
Good analysis. I was thinking of putting the water tank to expose to the hot sun, but am worried whether it will be warm enough for the evening. Also, then when you want cold shower, you can't have it. Again, I don't think people take cold shower these days.
cherroy
post Aug 12 2009, 12:28 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Calmman @ Aug 11 2009, 04:59 PM)
Don't mind share on calculation of air cond. consumption(average for 1HP, 1 1/2HP & 2HP) icon_question.gif

Averagely how many watt air cond. consumes?
In scientific term 1HP = 0.75KW.

But for actual case and actual consumption, it could varies from manufacturer to manufacturer, depended how the motor setup etc issue.

There is no straight accurate answer can be given.

Just a rough guide only.
cute_boboi
post Aug 12 2009, 11:28 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(lainux @ Aug 11 2009, 11:18 PM)
Good analysis.  I was thinking of putting the water tank to expose to the hot sun, but am worried whether it will be warm enough for the evening.  Also, then when you want cold shower, you can't have it.  Again, I don't think people take cold shower these days.
The tank on roof will provide warm water on sunny days and if bath around 5pm-8pm. If water not warm enough (e.g. you always come home 11pm) or on rainy days, I suggest use individual heater if really want to. There are other consideration as well, low water pressure, need pump? Extra tank on roof use same piping or new piping ? cost ?

If want cold shower, one way is to buy a small crushed-marble/white-plaster tank. Old fashion type. Not plastic/white-PVC. Use the small-bucket (cedok) method. But must fill it up with water in advance 3-5 hours. Marble (like marble flooring) will cool down the water. To double/triple up the functionality, you can also use it to flush toilet or rear some fish/tortoise in it tongue.gif

It may sound impracticle or ugly though... depending on preference for greener world or look nice/design. E.g. wear coat/jacket + tie walk outside the sun at klcc. Sure look proper and smart, but sweat like an idiot.

Side track: I don't like those designer/architect who build full length glass wall/window for homes. It is just plain stupid to have the sun shining, and you pull the curtain to cover it. The heat build-up will require more air-cond. Yeah yeah, it look nice, but impracticle. If we're living in Scandinavia, then full length glass is alright. But no, not here in M'sia with 4 seasons of summer.
Calmman
post Aug 12 2009, 09:34 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Aug 12 2009, 12:28 AM)
In scientific term 1HP = 0.75KW.

But for actual case and actual consumption, it could varies from manufacturer to manufacturer, depended how the motor setup etc issue.

There is no straight accurate answer can be given.

Just a rough guide only.
So the cost of electricity supply for 1HP for 8 hours is

0.75KW x 8Hr x RM0.30/KWH = RM1.80 (If TNB supply rate is RM0.30 KWH)

In a month the cost of electricity is RM54.00 for 1 1HP air cond.

If 3 nos of 1HP air cond the total cost of electricity is RM162.00

Therefore if i insulate my house and use only 2 hrs per night the savings would be

0.75KW x 6Hr x RM0.30/KWH x 30 Days x 3 nos of air cond. = RM121.50

Is my calculation correct ? brows.gif
lainux
post Aug 13 2009, 12:00 AM

650 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Aug 12 2009, 11:28 AM)
The tank on roof will provide warm water on sunny days and if bath around 5pm-8pm. If water not warm enough (e.g. you always come home 11pm) or on rainy days, I suggest use individual heater if really want to. There are other consideration as well, low water pressure, need pump? Extra tank on roof use same piping or new piping ? cost ?

If want cold shower, one way is to buy a small crushed-marble/white-plaster tank. Old fashion type. Not plastic/white-PVC. Use the small-bucket (cedok) method. But must fill it up with water in advance 3-5 hours. Marble (like marble flooring) will cool down the water. To double/triple up the functionality, you can also use it to flush toilet or rear some fish/tortoise in it  tongue.gif

It may sound impracticle or ugly though... depending on preference for greener world or look nice/design. E.g. wear coat/jacket + tie walk outside the sun at klcc. Sure look proper and smart, but sweat like an idiot.

Side track: I don't like those designer/architect who build full length glass wall/window for homes. It is just plain stupid to have the sun shining, and you pull the curtain to cover it. The heat build-up will require more air-cond. Yeah yeah, it look nice, but impracticle. If we're living in Scandinavia, then full length glass is alright. But no, not here in M'sia with 4 seasons of summer.
OK will go to my design board and try to be green & nice.

I do agree w/ you. We malaysian like to have many windows, but we almost never use the windows feature, as they are always covered up by curtains!! So, what is the point? I would rather design to have glass panel at the 7' height, where you get privacy & light!
ozak
post Aug 13 2009, 11:18 AM

17,023 posts

QUOTE(Calmman @ Aug 12 2009, 09:34 PM)
So the cost of electricity supply for 1HP for 8 hours is

0.75KW x 8Hr x RM0.30/KWH = RM1.80  (If TNB supply rate is RM0.30 KWH)

In a month the cost of electricity is RM54.00 for 1 1HP air cond.

If 3 nos of 1HP air cond the total cost of electricity is RM162.00
Therefore if i insulate my house and use only 2 hrs per night the savings would be

0.75KW x 6Hr x RM0.30/KWH x 30 Days x 3 nos of air cond. = RM121.50

Is my calculation correct ?  brows.gif
Not that high lah. TNB charge you 200kwh for 0.218. And the rest is 0.334. All state in your bill. 1hp don't use that much power. My 1.5hp only cost me rm20-30/mth. Saving depend on your aircon type and aircon setting and the room sealing.

I don't think insulate can reduce that much. You still on your aircon 8hr but the comp will run lesser since the cold air can keep longer.
Calmman
post Aug 13 2009, 12:45 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 13 2009, 11:18 AM)
Not that high lah. TNB charge you 200kwh for 0.218. And the rest is 0.334. All state in your bill. 1hp don't use that much power. My 1.5hp only cost me rm20-30/mth. Saving depend on your aircon type and aircon setting and the room sealing.

I don't think insulate can reduce that much. You still on your aircon 8hr but the comp will run lesser since the cold air can keep longer.
Only rm20-30/mth?? How long do you on everynight. Something wrong with your TNB meter? shocking.gif

Why my bill so high ? Close to RM400.00 per month.

I thought air cond. is the main culprit. How to cut down?
ozak
post Aug 13 2009, 02:52 PM

17,023 posts

QUOTE(Calmman @ Aug 13 2009, 12:45 PM)
Only rm20-30/mth?? How long do you on everynight. Something wrong with your TNB meter?  shocking.gif

Why my bill so high ? Close to RM400.00 per month.

I thought air cond. is the main culprit. How to cut down?
I hope my TNB meter got problem. thumbup.gif Everynight 7-9hr.

Buy aircon according to your room size not your wallet size.
Calmman
post Aug 13 2009, 04:30 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 13 2009, 02:52 PM)
I hope my TNB meter got problem. thumbup.gif  Everynight 7-9hr.

Buy aircon according to your room size not your wallet size.
How do work out the capacity of air cond. required? I often heard of BTU and did ask about it here. I was informed it refers to British Thermal Unit only.

May be you can help. Can teach aah! brows.gif

Added on August 13, 2009, 4:36 pm
QUOTE(cherroy @ Jul 31 2009, 10:04 AM)
1 HP power air-con generally consumes about 20~30 cents per hour
@Ozak said his 1.5HP don't consume that much.

Are your calculation correct?

Say 25cent per hr . A night 8 hrs equals RM2 per night.

Now who is right now - cherroy or ozak ? rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by Calmman: Aug 13 2009, 04:36 PM
ozak
post Aug 13 2009, 04:51 PM

17,023 posts

QUOTE(Calmman @ Aug 13 2009, 04:30 PM)
How do work out the capacity of air cond. required? I often heard of BTU and did ask about it here. I was informed it refers to British Thermal Unit only.

May be you can help. Can teach aah!  brows.gif

Added on August 13, 2009, 4:36 pm

@Ozak said his 1.5HP don't consume that much.

Are your calculation correct?

Say 25cent per hr . A night 8 hrs equals RM2 per night.

Now who is right now - cherroy or ozak ? rclxub.gif
Lazy to repeat. Just read back few pages and the aircon thread here. You will get the answer.

The calculation is correct. Just the usage and aircon is vary with each house. As cherroy said, there is no straight accurate answer can be given.

My setting is 1.5hp inverter, well ventilate outdoor unit, temp at 25deg and everything in auto to optimise the saving. Seal all the hole that might probally cold air escape.
Calmman
post Aug 13 2009, 05:28 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 2 2009, 12:29 AM)
I alway set at 25deg and put everything in auto. My experience is my first aircon 1HP average bill around RM100+. Than change to inverter type 1.5hp. Now bill average RM65+.
I read thro' the last few pages, nothing about room size vs air cond. capacity.

You all talk more on air cond inverter and cable size. I think changing size of cables for the house will cause a bomb. A lot of hacking works......not viable cool2.gif

Accidently found your post, your first 1HP bill RM100+ and change to inverter 1.5HP now bill RM65+......

Now you said Rm20-30/mth

He..He....you are pulling our legs. rclxm9.gif
ozak
post Aug 13 2009, 05:36 PM

17,023 posts

QUOTE(Calmman @ Aug 13 2009, 05:28 PM)
I read thro' the last few pages, nothing about room size vs air cond. capacity.

You all talk more on air cond inverter and cable size. I think changing size of cables for the house will cause a bomb. A lot of hacking works......not viable cool2.gif

Accidently found your post, your first 1HP bill RM100+ and change to inverter 1.5HP now bill RM65+......

Now you said Rm20-30/mth

He..He....you are pulling our legs. rclxm9.gif
That is my total whole house consumption bill. Only the aircon is rm20-30. TNB bill never itemise the bill.

Adalah. Check the aircon thread.

This post has been edited by ozak: Aug 13 2009, 05:37 PM
Calmman
post Aug 13 2009, 05:50 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 13 2009, 05:36 PM)
That is my total whole house consumption bill. Only the aircon is rm20-30. TNB bill never itemise the bill.

Adalah. Check the aircon thread.
Whole house bill only.....RM65+ ........don't buy TNB share....where got profit? biggrin.gif

Your other electrical goods only consumed RM30+ ????? I can confirm your TNB meter something wrong.........

Don't reveal ur address.....serious offence. drool.gif

ozak
post Aug 13 2009, 06:01 PM

17,023 posts

QUOTE(Calmman @ Aug 13 2009, 05:50 PM)
Whole house bill only.....RM65+ ........don't buy TNB share....where got profit? biggrin.gif

Your other electrical goods only consumed RM30+ ????? I can confirm your TNB meter something wrong.........

Don't reveal ur address.....serious offence. drool.gif
Yes. I always find a way to reduce the consumption. Keep on looking power saving and energy star goods. I calculate the saving before buy some electrical thing.

Why you can consume that much power? Everything big and power hungry things?

Don't reveal ur address.....serious offence. drool.gif --->???

This post has been edited by ozak: Aug 13 2009, 06:02 PM
easyperson
post Aug 13 2009, 07:39 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(cloud9_lee @ Aug 5 2009, 06:21 PM)
I am here to write the good comment as a satisfied customer. smile.gif

My house just installed the Cellulose insulation yesterday. They came all the way from Old Klang Road to Kuala Pilah, Negeri Sembilan. 2 hours journey, 3 persons with a small lorry. hehe.

Felt the immediate cooling right after installation. Fantastic!!! The job takes 3 - 4 hours to complete. RM4.5k well spent. Normal double storey house should be less than this amount. Probably RM3k++ only? Their price is RM3.50/sq ft. So it depends on how large your house's ceiling area.

It's cheap compared buying a 1.5 - 2HP air-cond and long term electricity bill counts.

Call TCLMalaysia (Mr. Lee or Mr. Tee, both are directors) and tell them you were introduced by Marcus, from Negeri Sembilan, instant discount given. smile.gif

Website is here. http://tclmalaysia.com/system_pcinsul.php

The bad thing is, they don't go too far out from KL.... But i guess Ipoh, Melaka, Pahang still OK.
Hi cloud9_lee, u hv not informed me if your house is facing west?

My side wall is facing west, i worry if install the material on ceiling make no much difference since the heat from the side wall is not being taken care.
DanielW
post Aug 13 2009, 09:37 PM

327 posts

I saw a device being sold at a booth in Tesco which claim to save your electricity bill. Don't know the name. Anyone has this device installed in your house?

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0218sec    0.64    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 08:09 AM