87 Pages « < 83 84 85 86 87 >Bottom

AMD® Socket AM3 Unlocking 4th CORE Thread ~, Those Who Have Tried,Please List it HERE

ketapang
post Apr 17 2012, 11:15 AM

GG
1,115 posts

QUOTE(saturn85 @ Apr 17 2012, 04:13 AM)
gaming: 4-cores @ 4.0Ghz.
folding@home: 6-cores @ 3.85Ghz. brows.gif
sadly i'm not folding. sad.gif
but i will keep my system on 4-cores for now since gaming doesn't need that much cores yet and i want to keep it on low temperature. smile.gif
saturn85
post Apr 18 2012, 04:14 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(ketapang @ Apr 17 2012, 11:15 AM)
sadly i'm not folding. sad.gif
but i will keep my system on 4-cores for now since gaming doesn't need that much cores yet and i want to keep it on low temperature. smile.gif
haha, but i guess 6 cores at 1.392v is cooler than 4 cores at 1.456v. brows.gif
ketapang
post Apr 18 2012, 04:40 PM

GG
1,115 posts

QUOTE(saturn85 @ Apr 18 2012, 04:14 PM)
haha, but i guess 6 cores at 1.392v is cooler than 4 cores at 1.456v. brows.gif
i think not, bcause i get 55 dgree on load if i on 6-cores. 4-cores only 49 dgree. laugh.gif
eh higher tdp means consuming more power? i want to keep my pc 24/7. for 4-cores i get around 107w, 6-cores i get 161w if im not mistaken.
saturn85
post Apr 18 2012, 04:47 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(ketapang @ Apr 18 2012, 04:40 PM)
i think not, bcause i get 55 dgree on load if i on 6-cores. 4-cores only 49 dgree. laugh.gif
eh higher tdp means consuming more power? i want to keep my pc 24/7. for 4-cores i get around 107w, 6-cores i get 161w if im not mistaken.
i see, are both on full load?
what cooler are you using? brows.gif
higher tdp means consume more power, can say like that.
reading from cpuz?
i think use a power meter and measure the power from wall socket is more accurate. unsure.gif
ketapang
post Apr 18 2012, 05:20 PM

GG
1,115 posts

QUOTE(saturn85 @ Apr 18 2012, 04:47 PM)
i see, are both on full load?
what cooler are you using? brows.gif
higher tdp means consume more power, can say like that.
reading from cpuz?
i think use a power meter and measure the power from wall socket is more accurate. unsure.gif
yup both on full load. using both ibt and prime95 for stress testing. currently using cm hyper212 evo with arctic f12 pwm(push n pull). ahh so that means 6-core consume more lot power la. i will go with 4-cores for now. later if i feel slow then i just turn on 6-cores. brows.gif i wonder if my system bottleneck if i go for 6870 cfx. hmm.gif
saturn85
post Apr 18 2012, 06:43 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(ketapang @ Apr 18 2012, 05:20 PM)
yup both on full load. using both ibt and prime95 for stress testing. currently using cm hyper212 evo with arctic f12 pwm(push n pull). ahh so that means 6-core consume more lot power la. i will go with 4-cores for now. later if i feel slow then i just turn on 6-cores. brows.gif i wonder if my system bottleneck if i go for 6870 cfx. hmm.gif
nice cooler there.
cpuz tpd reading probably is an estimation.
and it is max value, real time value depends on the cpu real time usage. unsure.gif

fast or slow, depends on program you run.
in gaming, x6 3.85ghz not better than x4 4ghz.
in folding, x4 4ghz not better than x6 3.85ghz.

not sure about the bottleneck.
but sandy bridge cpu does perform better. brows.gif
ketapang
post Apr 18 2012, 07:06 PM

GG
1,115 posts

QUOTE(saturn85 @ Apr 18 2012, 06:43 PM)
nice cooler there.
cpuz tpd reading probably is an estimation.
and it is max value, real time value depends on the cpu real time usage. unsure.gif

fast or slow, depends on program you run.
in gaming, x6 3.85ghz not better than x4 4ghz.
in folding, x4 4ghz not better than x6 3.85ghz.

not sure about the bottleneck.
but sandy bridge cpu does perform better. brows.gif
no budget oo wan upgrade sandy bridge. laugh.gif later got a bit money then go for ivy. brows.gif
i thought this proc lame, but unlocking to 6-cores with extra overclock it sure worth. but still cant compete with i5 2400. even i3 2100 hard to beat 1. sweat.gif
saturn85
post Apr 18 2012, 07:43 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(ketapang @ Apr 18 2012, 07:06 PM)
no budget oo wan upgrade sandy bridge. laugh.gif later got a bit money then go for ivy. brows.gif
i thought this proc lame, but unlocking to 6-cores with extra overclock it sure worth. but still cant compete with i5 2400. even i3 2100 hard to beat 1. sweat.gif
haha, yea, it worth, with rm3xx can get a rm5xx cpu. drool.gif

since most games now only utilize 2-3 cores,
those games "see" core i3 2100 as a 2-3 cores cpu,
and those games also "see" phenom ii x6 1600t as a 2-3 cores cpu (the other 3-4 cores probably didn't help much in the game),
and intel sandy bridge win on ipc,
thats why a core i3 2100 can beat phenom ii x6 1600t in gaming. sweat.gif

but software which can use all cores,
like rendering software, video converting software, folding@home,
core i3 2100 totally cannot win phenom ii x6 1600t. brows.gif
zildjian_77
post Apr 28 2012, 09:34 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(wira_laju @ Apr 14 2012, 12:41 PM)
i cannot unlock my 720 to 4th core..
verry frustrated...use cheap mobo m4n68t..
same me too
im use 720 Be
cannot unlock to 4th core
but can overclock 3.4gz
old mobo 790GX ddr2

Added on April 28, 2012, 9:41 pm
QUOTE(marsha1l @ Nov 1 2011, 11:01 PM)
hey guys..i just unlock the fourth core and run stable at 3.0ghz..this are my mobo+proc

1) AMD Phenom II X3 720 Black Edition
2) ECS 780GM-A Ultra Motherboard

but i cant keep it stable to 3.1ghz..i slightly increase the core volt..and i use the amd catalyst during 3 core oc as reference..

is there anything else i should consider..the nb/sb clock/voltage..

i cant study..so excited here..hahaha rclxm9.gif

Added on November 1, 2011, 11:23 pm
u guys can try google it..since alot of oc forum i saw using gigabyte mobo..anyway..u can try enter ur bios and find setting similar with ACC its auto clock calibration..smthing like that..sry i cant remember it..set it to auto/ per core with 0% for all/ all core with 0% and enable ACC setting..

goodluck thumbup.gif
remove ur cpu cooler..and see on top of the cpu hmm.gif
im use 720 too
mobo J&W 790GX extreme
can overclock 3.1gz just setting acc
and set HT rev clock (MHZ) to set 220
only set HT rev clock
dont set voltage
easy can run game no lag
max temp 39 degree on game

This post has been edited by zildjian_77: Apr 28 2012, 09:41 PM
achok
post Apr 28 2012, 11:16 PM

286 posts

phenom II x2 550BE unknown biggrin.gif
mobo : MSI 770-C45 v1.8

Question: Ive read somewhere said phenom II not good with more than 2 slot rams. something like that. izzit true?
my previous ram = 2 x 2gb KVR (elpida biggrin.gif ) was suspected to be faulty, but after i 'washed' my mobo, put new heatsink, change psu and tested it 1 by 1. seems to be good.
before that, i bought new 4gb, so it became 4+2. i didnt plug the other 2gb coz of the rumor.
can i make it 4+2+2 or just leave it by 4+2...

Added on May 2, 2012, 1:55 pmanyone can answer my question?

This post has been edited by achok: May 2 2012, 01:55 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
saturn85
post May 12 2012, 03:16 AM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(achok @ Apr 28 2012, 11:16 PM)
phenom II x2 550BE unknown biggrin.gif
mobo : MSI 770-C45 v1.8
Question: Ive read somewhere said phenom II not good with more than 2 slot rams. something like that. izzit true?
my previous ram = 2 x 2gb KVR (elpida  biggrin.gif  ) was suspected to be faulty, but after i 'washed' my mobo, put new heatsink, change psu and tested it 1 by 1. seems to be good.
before that, i bought new 4gb, so it became 4+2. i didnt plug the other 2gb coz of the rumor.
can i make it 4+2+2 or just leave it by 4+2...
you can test it since you already have the ram.
but i think 4+2+2 doesn't have decrease performance like this. unsure.gif
karim_effendy
post May 15 2012, 11:23 AM

204 posts

Hi there, newbie want to ask, where to find phenom II x2 550BE nowadays? tried all over lowyat and most pc shop.

Added on May 15, 2012, 11:26 ammy mobo M4A88T-M LE got this core unlocker function. since its an old mobo, why not give it a try. current proc x2 250 got no potential

This post has been edited by karim_effendy: May 15 2012, 11:26 AM
lengchai86
post May 15 2012, 03:12 PM

P90
1,162 posts

QUOTE(karim_effendy @ May 15 2012, 11:23 AM)
Hi there, newbie want to ask, where to find phenom II x2 550BE nowadays? tried all over lowyat and most pc shop.
my mobo M4A88T-M LE got this core unlocker function. since its an old mobo, why not give it a try. current proc x2 250 got no potential
try find at garage sales. some shop at LYP still have 555, 560 in their pricelist but not sure still got stock or not..
saturn85
post May 16 2012, 04:39 AM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(karim_effendy @ May 15 2012, 11:23 AM)
my mobo M4A88T-M LE got this core unlocker function. since its an old mobo, why not give it a try. current proc x2 250 got no potential
ya, phenom ii x2 quite hard to find now. sad.gif
karim_effendy
post May 16 2012, 08:19 AM

204 posts

QUOTE(lengchai86 @ May 15 2012, 03:12 PM)
try find at garage sales. some shop at LYP still have 555, 560 in their pricelist but not sure still got stock or not..
tried. most no stock and others got the non un-lockble type. any sifu selling theirs? PM me brows.gif
sanderz
post May 20 2012, 11:05 PM

Vista Outside
3,586 posts

Hi all... I want OC my current rig. But everytime I tried to OC always fail... zzz... Only can use default overclock profile. Max 7% of my default 2.6GHz so I get 2.77GHz something only...

I tried to raise until 235MHz*13 = 3.05GHz but it failed when reaches desktop... Even 220MHz (No voltage added) also get BSOD when I am playing games...

The 3.05GHz I added +50mv, RAM speed as multiplier... I don't know why my board can't do OC much... But there are many OC settings... Anyone can guide me? Planning to OC until 3GHz or above.

Spec:
Phenom x4 9950BE 2.6GHz 140W
Asus M2N68 (1001)
2x2GB Kingston DDR2 800
Cooler Master Sphere

Thx for advice smile.gif
lengchai86
post May 21 2012, 01:21 AM

P90
1,162 posts

QUOTE(sanderz @ May 20 2012, 11:05 PM)
since you are using BE proc, why not you try to OC using multiplier? just increase the proc multi.
when you OC using fsb (235*13) what is your ram speed

This post has been edited by lengchai86: May 21 2012, 01:22 AM
vccy
post May 27 2012, 12:35 PM

227 posts

PHENOM II 550BE | 0922CPMW/ biostar ta790gx 128m

Hi i would like to ask, I am using the above mobo and proc. last time i can unlock it. But after i sent the mobo to rma due sata port problem, now i cant unlock it. I am using 4gb ddr2 800 ram.

What i mean is after i set the cpu to unlock at bios and restart then it will freeze at the mobo logo screen.

any idea? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by vccy: May 27 2012, 06:24 PM
saturn85
post May 29 2012, 03:08 AM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(vccy @ May 27 2012, 12:35 PM)
PHENOM II 550BE | 0922CPMW/ biostar ta790gx 128m
Hi i would like to ask, I am using the above mobo and proc. last time i can unlock it. But after i sent the mobo to rma due sata port problem, now i cant unlock it. I am using 4gb ddr2 800 ram.
What i mean is after i set the cpu to unlock at bios and restart then it will freeze at the mobo logo screen.
any idea? hmm.gif
is it the same model of board and same bios version with the board before rma? unsure.gif
vccy
post May 29 2012, 02:16 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(saturn85 @ May 29 2012, 04:08 AM)
is it the same model of board and same bios version with the board before rma? unsure.gif
the bios date is 2009. I forget to check last time before i sent for rma doh.gif

do i need to update my bios hmm.gif

This post has been edited by vccy: May 29 2012, 02:18 PM

87 Pages « < 83 84 85 86 87 >Top

0.0300sec    1.08    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:33 PM