121 Pages « < 91 92 93 94 95 > » Bottom

A.C.Ryan Playon!HD, Half-baked m-player, no BD-J or HD audio

zerorulez
post Dec 6 2009, 11:07 PM

1,251 posts

QUOTE(richard912 @ Dec 6 2009, 10:46 PM)
Wait la....will change all to 2TB WHEN got "good harvest" whistling.gif
Nvm la....FREE punya, kenot complain lor sweat.gif
3x2 TB.... tabik spring wooo.... drool.gif

congrats on ur first media player... biggrin.gif
ar188
post Dec 6 2009, 11:14 PM

9,206 posts

I think his CP38 finish paying liao.. tongue.gif
zerorulez
post Dec 6 2009, 11:34 PM

1,251 posts

After this all his BD budget goes to HDD budget.. tongue.gif
thyper
post Dec 7 2009, 12:49 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(richard912 @ Dec 6 2009, 09:33 PM)
I was at PC Fair around noon. The booth that was dedicated to AC Ryan was selling at RM599 with the free bag. Asked for lower price but the fella manning the booth said, "kenot". Nvm

Went to the Buffalo booth to look for the 4-bay NAS. The guy manning the booth said, "dun haf". Nvm

Checked several booths display Aztech Homeplug but they only had the 85Mbps model. Asked about the 200Mbps model and all said, "no stok". Damn pissed off since none of the items on my shopping list was fulfilled so, drove down to Lowyat and got every single item there.

ACRyan POHD gotten for RM560 tongue.gif

Everything's set up and am enjoying my avi files streaming to my bedroom via Homeplug from my NAS thumbup.gif Will try out streaming mkv files tomolo
Taukeh, no WiFi
I bought it around 2+pm...At first, I was sceptical to check the price as the brochures shows RM619. Tried to check if there's another booth can offer better price but couldnt find any...Later I found the other offer RM599 with free mouse but I hesitated.
Later I went back to Viewnet and saw RM599. I asked if it can be cheaper. Then the guy mentioned cash RM550 and CC RM560 with free bag. Then I quickly buy it.
Wifi not included.
richard912
post Dec 7 2009, 08:57 AM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(zerorulez @ Dec 6 2009, 11:07 PM)
3x2 TB.... tabik spring wooo....  drool.gif

congrats on ur first media player...  biggrin.gif
Actually, this is not my first media player. Before this, I've been watching avi files on my reliable first generation ABigs (Sarotech) DVP260 for about 3 years but alas, time to retire it as it does not play mkv files cool2.gif

QUOTE(ar188 @ Dec 6 2009, 11:14 PM)
I think his CP38 finish paying liao.. tongue.gif
Actually, still have 4 more installments to go cry.gif

Just a quick update, was able to test and play 720p contents flawlessly over the Homeplugs thumbup.gif As I do not yet have any 1080p contents, am unable to test how well the Homeplugs will perform. Anyone wanna "sponsor" me some for testing? whistling.gif
azbro
post Dec 7 2009, 09:50 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(richard912 @ Dec 7 2009, 08:57 AM)
Actually, this is not my first media player. Before this, I've been watching avi files on my reliable first generation ABigs (Sarotech) DVP260 for about 3 years but alas, time to retire it as it does not play mkv files cool2.gif

hmm...my ABigs 260X is playing MKV very well...not sure if I want to spend half a grand to get the ACRyan or not...
Mypalm
post Dec 7 2009, 12:04 PM

24 posts

Have anyone try this setup or know whether it will work.

- Playon with HDisk connected to network and NAS.
- WD Live also connected to network either thru WiFi or Homeplug or lan cable to access the Playon HD as well as NAS i.e. can WDLive connect to the HD inside Playon thru network. I know it should connect to the NAS.
- would another Playon be able to do the same thing? Which makes more sense or $$?

I have most of my movie in the Playon in the hall and NAS in the computer room. Would like to view those file in another room.
Kelv
post Dec 7 2009, 04:07 PM

Be kind to animals
3,988 posts

What's the price now? I can actually use this as my NAS right?
phangcs
post Dec 7 2009, 06:33 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(hdwarexpert @ Dec 6 2009, 04:19 PM)
Dun scare him out.... wink.gif
Is harware failure. Got replaced already from the good seller. Next time remember to buy from a good seller.

ryancfs
post Dec 7 2009, 09:04 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(Kelv @ Dec 7 2009, 04:07 PM)
What's the price now? I can actually use this as my NAS right?
Yes, it can.

But I wonder, for the NAS function, does the HDD must be inside the POHD? or no HDD inside, just external USB HDD also can function as NAS?
richard912
post Dec 8 2009, 08:39 AM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(ryancfs @ Dec 7 2009, 09:04 PM)
Yes, it can.

But I wonder, for the NAS function, does the HDD must be inside the POHD? or no HDD inside, just external USB HDD also can function as NAS?
NAS or Network Attached Storage is not connected to your player directly but via the network (wired or non-wired) while external HDD is via USB port. Either way, the POHD works fine even if there's no internal HDD installed
wkchu
post Dec 8 2009, 04:30 PM

39 posts

I got a POHD with WD 1TB Green during the PCFair for RM880 on the 1st day. I guess I did not bargain hard enough. This is for a friend. Me myself still using WD TV. Tested the POHD and it is better than the 1st gen WDTV. Less juddering with the UP WiKi version.

Was a bit worried with the message asking to format the internal harddisk everytime it boots up. ( sssshh. the disc came supplied with demo content ). Finally, had to copied out the files and let it format before copying back in case of any accidental pressing ok on the format button.

BTW, can anyone PM me where to get HD TVB content?
Ngto
post Dec 8 2009, 07:44 PM

4,350 posts

Anyone who bought the very early Playon!HD models and got the DVR-TV logo after updatinng to latest firmware, you might be able to get a new unit .

Read this on the AC Ryan Playon!HD forums (dated 8/12/09) :-

"Hey there ***, (<<< not me biggrin.gif )

You seem to have gotten one of the early players, there was a mix-up in the factory and that's why you see the DVR image. Do me a favor, PM Eugene your serial number of the device (found on the back of the player as a sticker), where you purchased the player and also tell Eugene that you are having the issues with the DVR screen. He will try an arrange an exchange unit (new model) for you. Please do note that Eugene is not back in the office till Friday, so please bear with us. "

Don't know if this is applicable for local units.

Update
----------

I checked back the old posts and yes, one of our forumer here 'Superyaw' got the DVR TV logo on his Playon!HD (unfortunately). And he did say he was offered a replacement.

This post has been edited by Ngto: Dec 8 2009, 10:33 PM
ryancfs
post Dec 8 2009, 08:26 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(richard912 @ Dec 8 2009, 08:39 AM)
NAS or Network Attached Storage is not connected to your player directly but via the network (wired or non-wired) while external HDD is via USB port. Either way, the POHD works fine even if there's no internal HDD installed
Haiya... I know what is NAS la... doh.gif

The POHD is a media player AND has a NAS function in it... the question I hav is will i be able to access to the content of the USB HDD, that is connect to the POHD and the POHD is connect to my home network, from my other PCs at home.??

anyone? pls...
Ngto
post Dec 8 2009, 11:04 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Nov 27 2009, 09:11 AM)
Hi, Glad you are happy with your new toy  smile.gif .

Could you please do me a favour. Could you try to register and activate your account at the www.playonhd.com. After that see if you can post anything at the forums.

I have tried posting but everytime after login my name doesn't appear anywhere to indicate I have sucessfully logged in and I am not allowed to post or do anything. Everytime I try to post, it takes me back to the login screen. After  login again, it will take me back to the forum and if I try to post, it will take me back to the login screen again. Go round and round.

I sent email to them about my problem but no reply. After more than one week I sent another email and f**k them up. They replied and said that they checked my account and there wasn't any problem.

Since then I tried and tried but still not allowed to post anything. This is what is indicated at the bottom of the forums page :-