Runnerz... #3, All about running...

d3vilzzzz
post Aug 4 2009, 05:37 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(bubb13s @ Aug 4 2009, 05:09 PM)
too many sellers edi. i sked not ori la...defects la...seller kena tipu by middle man/distributor etc etc.
good to know that its for any model. thanks!
hehe aim for the dude with the most buyers tongue.gif
considering the crocs here are also made in China, me wun pay retail biggrin.gif

QUOTE(marvinct @ Aug 4 2009, 05:19 PM)
penang like not many ppl doing full leh. weird hour starting at 2am. dun know to sleep or not?
half start at 3am. penang half is 25km right?
ccube: u not going macau liao? i very tempted to do gold coast now since u mention it! hahaha. got motivation to train again!
keke dats y do half...
but ya as u said half oso very weird starting at 3am.. eta finish line would 4am+ haha after that dunno do wert keke
d3vilzzzz
post Aug 5 2009, 10:10 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(ccube @ Aug 5 2009, 09:04 AM)
beginning of the bridge to the toll where we do the U-turn is oredi ard 11km.  To and Fro is 22km.  From QBM to the bridge is ard 1.5km (x2) = 3km.  In total is 25km.  So its not an easy run, therefore gotta pace urself out.
More is good!
No pain no gain drool.gif

QUOTE(rukawa @ Aug 5 2009, 09:30 AM)
I am going to rest for 1 week at least. Or rather take a break from running. Might even skip the PBIM and Mizuno. Next run might be on December
Y bro? injury?
Dun join competition oso can lari seronok mer tongue.gif

QUOTE(bubb13s @ Aug 5 2009, 09:35 AM)
25km??? habis lor this time...i tot 21km oni. have to train gile gile this time. not sure if i can make it through the last 4km within the 3hr time limit. i'm feeling sked now.
If you think u can.. U CAN biggrin.gif
Dun worry so much, just run!
d3vilzzzz
post Aug 5 2009, 03:18 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

Hey,

but then hard to say la.. dey write oni, may nt b true, as u knw most events they state 10km then its like 11km or so? Sometime say 21km but GPS will show 23km or so? tongue.gif

well oni on the day it self we will GPS the distance biggrin.gif
d3vilzzzz
post Aug 5 2009, 09:26 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(Liuism @ Aug 5 2009, 05:56 PM)
haha...okla, if i join/register any event..i will inform u guys. thanks
btw, what is camaraderie?
hehe socializing tongue.gif when u run or enter an event u get to meet all sortsa ppl and become friends or acquaintances

d3vilzzzz
post Aug 6 2009, 09:41 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

When u run then u knw tongue.gif
d3vilzzzz
post Aug 7 2009, 09:52 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(tenno @ Aug 6 2009, 10:52 AM)
Hi all,

Had my surgery on the 31/7 to insert metal plates for my left radius. A K-wire was also inserted into my left wrist, I guess to immobilize the wrist while allowing the bone to fuse. After the the surgery I woke up earlier than I shud have (I was on GA so I was unconscious) so I was in great pain after tht. They gave me a 50-day MC, so I'm now at home. I guess I can start my running again once they've removed the K-wire & my stitch wounds have healed completely. I plan to make the Mizuno Wave Run my comeback race, so I've got 2 months .. Really itching to get out & do something... rclxms.gif
blink.gif chill la bro, recovery should be the main priority biggrin.gif
lepas recover, you can do anything tongue.gif

QUOTE(ik3da @ Aug 6 2009, 11:29 AM)
Just wondering, do you guys ever have any jabbing knee pain after running for a while? To make it worse, the pain just stays on for 10-15 minutes... My friends told me to stop running but I enjoy running and it is sort of my preferred way to stay healthy.
How long hv u been running?

This post has been edited by d3vilzzzz: Aug 7 2009, 09:56 AM
d3vilzzzz
post Aug 7 2009, 02:13 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(ccube @ Aug 7 2009, 10:55 AM)
hehe abang ccube, these are all female shoes la..
where the mens tongue.gif

QUOTE(Joey Christensen @ Aug 7 2009, 02:02 PM)
I'm not sure this thread is for serious runners or what. But it's a surety that I didn't run anymore now.

What if I go running again? I think I'm going to crash after 100 metres.

Regards, Joey
I really doubt if you would "crash" after a 100 meters..
That also depends on how hard you are running the 100m.. If you serious about running again then just start off with short distances and a real slow pace..
d3vilzzzz
post Aug 7 2009, 03:29 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(Joey Christensen @ Aug 7 2009, 02:21 PM)
I played competitive sports last time. Was an active scout too. I don't do it slow. HaiZZZ. Working is different story all together.

Last time, football EVERYDAY. Badminton 2 times per week. Mountain biking EVERYDAY. Running almost EVERYDAY.

Present time, working 5 days per week CONSISTANTLY. Gaming almost EVERYDAY.

The only exercise is walking from office to my car. Or going out some where near to grab lunch during lunch hour.

Regards, Joey

p.s: Miraculously my BMI calculation shows that I'm fit category. Height 175cm. Weight 75kg. Almost consistent.
Alrite, so? your point is?
if u want to start running then please by all means start doing it..

As said, start with short distances and a slow pace..

QUOTE(ik3da @ Aug 7 2009, 02:57 PM)
Running on and off again since a few months ago (used to run a lot last time, stopped for around 1-2 years). Not sure whether I should keep running again or not... Don't really enjoy the jabbing pain on my knees.
Change of running technique?
A case of too much too soon? hv tried running less?
Could be a prb with the shoes?
hv u tried resting for mebbe abt a week then continuing?
d3vilzzzz
post Aug 7 2009, 04:19 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(ik3da @ Aug 7 2009, 04:09 PM)
@d3vilzzzz:

Not sure what other techniques of running are there - running the same style since young (will Google a bit later after work to see).
Too much too soon? Again, not sure, I am sure that I am doing this very moderately - just starting off with slow jog (5-10 minutes) and the pain starts.
Shoes are just some plain shoes that I wear all the time (old Timberland shoes).
Stopped running after getting the jabbing pain after a week of running. Was worried that I will make it worse if I continue running despite the pain.

No one else have jabbing pain on their knees? Just want to see whether this is common or I am the only bugger in town.
hmm.gif from what u hv said, i conclude u don't hv proper running shoes?
u hv always used these pair of shoes to run?
d3vilzzzz
post Aug 8 2009, 11:11 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(ik3da @ Aug 8 2009, 12:13 AM)
Used to have a pair of running shoes but not anymore - and yeah, just using this one to run so far. Not good?
Well, I would say the pair your using is defnitely nt suitable for running..that could be the coz of ur knee pain?
insufficient cushioning..

QUOTE(Joey Christensen @ Aug 8 2009, 11:51 AM)
Nike is good. Comfy+odourless. Grab the RM500++ ones. Satisfaction guaranteed.

Regards, Joey
Besides Nike, there are lotsa shoes out there better then it.. comfy? nt unless ur 100% sure of ur feet type? odorless? i doubt if that is a guarantee..
And of course no one goes straight out and purchase a RM500 pair of nikes for running because if research was performed, one would rather opt for asics or as ccube recomended; newton

QUOTE(tenno @ Aug 8 2009, 12:02 PM)
Nike ? RM500+ ?

U're new here, aren't U ?
I think that goes without saying..
d3vilzzzz
post Aug 9 2009, 03:54 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

For those who have worn a variety of shoes, how do u guys compare it to brands such as say saucony, adidas, or even premium brands such as asics?

Nike Start + Zoom? hmm.gif suitable for distances up to 20km LSDs? I would hv thought this pair leaned more towards the light weight trainer category..
d3vilzzzz
post Aug 10 2009, 10:01 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(Joey Christensen @ Aug 10 2009, 09:58 AM)
Hmmm...can be considered. I've heard that they mentioned Saucony (Did I get the name right?)...looks promising. Never tried before. Do they have stocks over RSH?

I might be dropping by there and do some bits of survey.

Regards, Joey
Despite you being new here please take the initiative to read through the pages here..

There is no place which sells saucony shoes here in M'sia, you can oni get them from our in house shoe specialist ccube..
d3vilzzzz
post Aug 10 2009, 12:13 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(Joey Christensen @ Aug 10 2009, 10:05 AM)
Really? Okie boss. Will do the reading first. Thanks for the guide though.

Regards, Joey
No worries, if u can look also for the previous threads, lotsa lotsa info

QUOTE(satsugai @ Aug 10 2009, 12:08 PM)
wazzaaaaaa runners

im on the last phase of quitting smoking(one cig a day/every few days) gonna go full quit now. been exercising and what not trying to improve my cardio fitness lvls iuh and in the process of losing weight as well, down to 77 from 110 last year.

so yeah, right now i can only jog for about 10-15 minutes tops without stopping before i feel like dying. so yeah, what should i do so that i can join my first half marathon next year, soemtime around june(and does that seem like a realistic goal?) or hopefully sooner.
Well, slow n steady..
And you may want to try like slowly adding 5mins like every week? Next yr June? pretty realistic and even if you were to aim for a run this yr.. why nt?
d3vilzzzz
post Aug 10 2009, 03:22 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(tenno @ Aug 10 2009, 12:14 PM)
When I was cycling, I used running as a way to keep fit whenever I couldn't ride, when my bike was undergoing maintenance, etc. But back then (mid 90's), we have this sort of urban legend among cyclists: that if we do other activities like running or playing soccer, we'd spoil our legs. But I still run & play soccer & even sepaktakraw. My shoes back then was a Nike Crosstrainer.

About 2 years back, I started running again, this time as part of my new fitness routine tht includes weights. I didn't wanna spend too much on running shoes (becoz I was playing soccer & basketball as well). so I just bought BATA shoes. Last year I bought my first ever true running shoes, the Mizuno Crusader 2 & I liked it a lot. I still use it as my trainer & I've decided tht I'm not gonna run in races more than 15K (for the time being). This year I bought another Mizuno, the Wave Aero, a racer. My next shoes shud be a Mizuno as well. Why Mizuno ? I like the brand since I was 13 (when Selangor started using Mizuno football kits) & so far the shoes worked fine for me.  rclxms.gif
As long as it works tongue.gif

btw, me cycle lots nw too.. u still cycle? looking into triathlons smile.gif?

QUOTE(satsugai @ Aug 10 2009, 01:13 PM)
hoping to join this in november, meh first 10k

http://www.starttofinish.com.au/default.as...tdisplay&id=686

does anyone know any training method to follow?
Why not? This november? lotsa time for u to prepare.. try this training programme

Mon -3km
Tues-4km
Wed-5km
Thurs-REST/ Cross Train
Fri- REST/ Cross Train
Sat-LSD -8km? 9km?
Sun-REST

*You don't hv to run all the way, just run as much as you can then walk to complete the distance..as you improve, run the whole distance

I am sure by Nov you would breeze through the 10km run smile.gif
Believe it or nt its easier then it looks

d3vilzzzz
post Aug 11 2009, 10:42 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(satsugai @ Aug 10 2009, 03:33 PM)
i have time to do treadmill training only, and gotta pair it with doing weights for 5 days and 2-3 days hiit for 10 minutes as im trying to lose weight/body fat(plateauing now ><")

btw, what exactly is cross training?

ouh and ran 20 minutes on the treadmill for the first time today AND DIDNT FEEL LIKE SHIT AT THE END 8D, ffs, not smoking makes A LOT of difference.......... XD
thumbup.gif see! slow and steady tongue.gif treadmills are boring, if u hv time on the treadmill i m sure u hv time to walk/run around ur housing area?

cross training are activities like cycling, swimming, fast walking, on days u dun run... allows u to exercise, burn fat, keep ur stamina in tact..
i m sure u can find a more definitive meaning if u google tongue.gif
d3vilzzzz
post Aug 11 2009, 01:24 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

WAH, here lotsa rich folks tongue.gif asics users byk..
d3vilzzzz
post Aug 11 2009, 10:16 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(madfag @ Aug 11 2009, 05:15 PM)
any tips on what do you guys do 1 day before the a run?

food intake and rest?
Honestly, its very subjective..
Some rest, some do a short run.. it oso depends on what u hv been doing for the past 1 week..but i m sure the nite b4 most do carbo load

Personally, i cut my distances a little during competition week.. i sometimes cycle/ run/ both the day before..

If you read up on material over the internet, sum pros talk abt cutting distances by half the whole week, nt running the last 2 days..
Lotsa methods realli..

QUOTE(shinningteen @ Aug 11 2009, 09:52 PM)
halo, i am a new beginner runner^^ wan ask now still can join the  Pacesetters Athletic Club or not?
Why not?
d3vilzzzz
post Aug 12 2009, 09:29 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(madfag @ Aug 12 2009, 08:55 AM)
oh. have to prepare starting a week before? im not really a regular runner. so i dont do practice runs every week, at least 1 or more times a week depending on my work schedule. i was thinking that you guys might have some tips on proper preparation a day before races. my first two races, i did not really prepare, i didnt care about my food intake and also only a few hours of sleep.
Considering you don't even run regularly, I would say all you have to do is sleep at least 8 hrs and eat lots for dinner the day before..

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Aug 12 2009, 09:05 AM)
there are other forum running group which their member are growing over the races...

their moderator also running together.

the forum allocate 1 section just for running...

anyways, print vest which have 'LYN' word need to seek consent from seven.
Agree with him on the joining PACM to get benefits and discounts tongue.gif
Yups, i defnitely hope to meet up with YOU ALL lyn folks during races...
As proposed before but nt done at all, meet up at races and take a group photo and stick here! hehe
d3vilzzzz
post Aug 13 2009, 11:26 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

Hi all,

u all registered for Mizuno wave run edi?
i knw i hv tongue.gif

wat abt Malakoff 12km? hmm.gif

we as lowyat -ians (do v hv a regular group) must meet up r..
d3vilzzzz
post Aug 13 2009, 04:25 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

hmm.gif dunno abt dat, u hv to call them or email them me suppose..

12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0487sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:38 PM