Runnerz... #3, All about running...

d3vilzzzz
post Oct 27 2009, 05:52 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(steveysl @ Oct 27 2009, 05:42 PM)
well, i think most of us will drink. i can see the pro drinking during the run.
as i said before, personal preference biggrin.gif
nothing to be shy or worried abt even if you run 3/5km and hv the need to drink...

QUOTE(euphoria88 @ Oct 27 2009, 05:45 PM)
Yeap.
owh ok, sorry for the misunderstanding cuz I tot you're talking about 5km pulak den say muz drink water I was like, hahh?

haha yea they complete the distance but to me its more onto building up your patience, stamina etc. So its more relevant to run and try to do it non stop the whole way then to chit chatty.

woiii. It is not a nais thing to say k. People around me uses the word 'marathon' for 5KM and above, and I was lead into this thinking w/o checking out the real meaning. Yes, thats my fault.

No I am not into long-distance running. I dun like it. I am in it cause I am forced to cuz I'm good at it.  doh.gif
And yes, I kenot say no.
GREAT icon_rolleyes.gif so nw you can go educate the ppl around you..

QUOTE(phoenix @ Oct 27 2009, 05:45 PM)
Marathon is an overused word. I pointed that out before. I almost burst into laughter but yet sad at the same time reading the past few posts.

Ultra marathon: Any distance more than 42.195KM
Marathon: 42.195KM
Half marathon: 21.1KM
Quarter marathon: 10KM

Please get this facts right before issueing a statement here. One wrong statement may costs a person's life here.
Phoenix has kindly pointed this fact out a million times..
Hence all it takes I would say to save a life is the "search" button here OR take the effort to read the previous thread versions and pages smile.gif
d3vilzzzz
post Oct 27 2009, 05:56 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(bubb13s @ Oct 27 2009, 05:50 PM)
i'm training for my upcoming 1/2 mara. due to my laziness i've just started training.
i'm wondering if power gels are really necessary? cos its quite expensive la. sad.gif
any good substitute for power gels that are cheaper or just as good?

suggestions needed.
I would say take the distance bit by bit.. train slowly..
It depends on what sorta distance you are running, if you are running below 15km for your LSD you do not need the gels..
Most of us here run 20km for training on Sats without gel, but we do take a water break at the 10km mark..
We have been running for quite a bit though..

Hw do u feel after a 10km run?
What abt a 15km run?

QUOTE(euphoria88 @ Oct 27 2009, 05:52 PM)
to me those power bars/power gels are used to build up confidence. It does help a lil, yes, but no obvious difference.
Here you go again??!!
No obvious difference? where are you quoting this from? where is proof?

This post has been edited by d3vilzzzz: Oct 27 2009, 06:00 PM
d3vilzzzz
post Oct 27 2009, 06:00 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(strinq @ Oct 27 2009, 05:54 PM)
Don't play play.
She's an 18minute 5km-er.
Cuz a person might dehydrate and die because you said don't drink for a marathon.
Again, nicely pointed out biggrin.gif

QUOTE(tengster @ Oct 27 2009, 05:55 PM)
maybe I have dehydrated body that needs more replenishment compared to seasoned runners......I really sweat a heck lot.....for a 10 or 11k, underwear also wet like nobody biz.......
its okies no worries, u should see me blush.gif
i drink lotsa water even when i dun excercise
d3vilzzzz
post Oct 27 2009, 06:14 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(bubb13s @ Oct 27 2009, 06:08 PM)
i've not done any lsd more than 15km. this weekend plan to do 15km.
well....after a 10km run...i still feel ok(can still walk around). probably cos i've not tried going more than that.
15km? this weekend run edi then i'll know how i feel.  whistling.gif
hmm.gif hv you done at least 15km?
so ur max is a 10km?
i would ask for you to definitely try and run 15km..
if possible try and do even up to 17/18km ..you'll then knw what sorta distance you'll be running..

Might i ask what half marathon event are you training for?
If it's the Penang bridge.. i heard the half is 25km? unlike the usual 21km

This post has been edited by d3vilzzzz: Oct 27 2009, 06:18 PM
d3vilzzzz
post Oct 27 2009, 06:18 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(euphoria88 @ Oct 27 2009, 06:13 PM)
sigh. BECAUSE I'VE TRIED IT. I am a swimmer also btw for 10 years competing in state and nationals. What do you think?  shakehead.gif
wokay. really sorry for the misunderstanding smile.gif
Now I learn a new definition haha.
i m nt a swimmer, but even if u told me swimmers took power gels i wud be doubtful..
we are nw talking abt runners??!!
please do not use yourself as reference, where is some sort of reference?
every individual is different..
AND IF like u said power gels make little difference why does the WORLD use it?

This post has been edited by d3vilzzzz: Oct 27 2009, 06:19 PM
d3vilzzzz
post Oct 27 2009, 06:22 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(bubb13s @ Oct 27 2009, 06:20 PM)
yeah...my max so far is ard 10km oni. i know i should have trained more.
and yeah...pbim 1/2 mara. i know i'm doomed.
so i guess i do not really need those exp gels eh?
haha biggrin.gif for your training no.. but for the event, you might want to consume some
as far as your training goes, try and run further distances starting nw.. u hv like a month left brows.gif ??
d3vilzzzz
post Oct 27 2009, 06:27 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(euphoria88 @ Oct 27 2009, 06:22 PM)
don't doubt it when you dunno. We take power gels for recovery actually. But to improve on performance power gel can't help much.
I used power gel once for short distance 6km run, turns out wasn't really that effective. that's why I said that.
And do chill. Yes it differs individually.
haha. You'll never know smile.gif to understand power gel and power bar's usage, do use it often and be observant.
If i do not doubt when i do nt knw, hw will i find out?

Exactly you as a swimmer use it for recovery..
We as runners use it to give us "power" to complete the run/ event
No one said for gels to improve our performance
Again, you made a statement which could kill...

Please refrain yourself from making such outrageous statements when you have no proof/ reference what so ever to support the statements made..
Like yourself, there are many newbies here, if you do not knw.. ASK... we are more than willing to share ...giving the wrong advice can KILL

d3vilzzzz
post Oct 27 2009, 06:33 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(phoenix @ Oct 27 2009, 06:23 PM)
It doesn't matter now. Learn from your mistake. We are not here to bombard you, just helping others and yourself get certain facts right.

As for running and swimming, the calory consumption is a big difference. Yes, you might not need energy gels for swimming, but it's a must for running for most of the runners including elites and  even the world marathon record holder.
d3vilzzzz: The half marathon distance for Penang Bridge International Marathon this year is 21KM. AIMS certified.
thumbup.gif

QUOTE(bubb13s @ Oct 27 2009, 06:25 PM)
ahha...ok since training no need hor...then do u think during event day if i take some...will have any side effect? i takut lau sai and etc le....esp body not used to stuff like this.  wats ur take on this?
yah...gonna run further and further. tongue.gif and yes...i only have 25 days more.  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
My view is during training no need is coz you should see how you feel during the run purely without help..
and besides running without gel allows for you to train better (the logic of, if u can do without gel imagine what you can do with gel)
but yes, if ur afraid of lau sai go ahead and try.. there is no harm..
you also hv to take into acc. what gel suits you best? there are diff gels out there so you oso hv to try try sad.gif
Many suffer when they take the norm POWER GEL, but I hv no issues (touch wood tongue.gif), many have also claim that POWER GEL is nt the best out there..
If you go through the previous pages or to ccube's blog and phoenix's blog.. you can find out more there biggrin.gif

o, and besides power gels there is endurox!!

This post has been edited by d3vilzzzz: Oct 27 2009, 06:36 PM
d3vilzzzz
post Oct 27 2009, 07:15 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(euphoria88 @ Oct 27 2009, 06:46 PM)
Go join swimming and compete biggrin.gif
give you 'power' = to improve performance liao lor =.=lll
And this statement was made based on my experience.
Go run 20km and compete biggrin.gif
Every individual is different and both your forte and experience is ..i m sure u knw different..
runners do nt equate to swimmers, swimmers do nt equate to runners.. plz dun tell me nw u did biathlon or triathlon..

You could say "power" = improve performance
but i wudn't, reason being you think of it as helping you to run faster or something.. i m looking it from a point of view where it is used just to help you complete the race, see the diff?

i do not think you will if you have yet to consume a gel just to complete a certain distance..

do share if you have ran 15km, 20km or even marathon (i meant 42km and not 5km)

This post has been edited by d3vilzzzz: Oct 27 2009, 07:20 PM
d3vilzzzz
post Oct 27 2009, 08:04 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(strinq @ Oct 27 2009, 07:34 PM)
Let me clear the air here a little.

I am very sure euphoria meant this:

Powergels/bars etc, in her experience, bring no benefit in her ex-competitive sports.
Eg: 5km runs and swimming

Just note this euphoria:
The guys here are talking about the benefits of powergels in LONG distance running.
Eg: >10km runs.

Please read before just posting. Not to flame but have noticed that you post things before you actually read and understand all the replies. For example in the bodybuilding forum. i was like ??? when u just out of the blue post something without reading the previous replies or understanding what the people actually meant.

Aaaah, hmm.gif dun tell me she use to pump iron too biggrin.gif
typical spammer syndrome? we get that alot around here
anyhoooo 

QUOTE(strinq @ Oct 27 2009, 07:34 PM)
Sidenote:

I still can't believe my time...
Put on my new saucony's today and ran a 20min 13sec 5km.
Previously my fastest time was 26min 20sec.
Still feels unreal and I totally get it if some people can't believe it  tongue.gif . But this was after I push myself to run 10km (last week). Before this 7km was my limit.
- these dedicated running shoes are the lightest shoes i've ever had and it's 11.2oz. I can't imagine what the 7.8oz shoes feel like (like barefoot?  biggrin.gif ).
- and my knees don't hurt one bit, darn... good shoes really are important...
brows.gif ur reaction was like mine when i gt me jazz12 frm ccube
barefeet is diff though, be prepared for lotsa blisters, some will be "bloodied"
i did it on the road though, it may nt be so bad on the track
ur knees may hurt considering you don't have your shoes cushioning biggrin.gif but it is outright therapeutic

This post has been edited by d3vilzzzz: Oct 27 2009, 08:05 PM
d3vilzzzz
post Oct 27 2009, 10:23 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Oct 27 2009, 09:31 PM)
Wrong person. More like.. 38minute tongue.gif
Important important to at least bring own water. No 7-eleven to buy drinks from sad.gif.

I read some runners drank water inside sponge bucket.

Euw
Good point SydG..
Yes, when u first run a half marathon or any distance actually which you may feel uncomfy... u shud bring your own water biggrin.gif
d3vilzzzz
post Oct 31 2009, 05:56 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(strinq @ Oct 28 2009, 12:08 AM)

*This is embarrassing but I actually ran the 5k in 25min 13sec lol. Not 20 min. No wonder I was wondering why it's possible. Miscalculated...paiseh..
but still a 1 min improvement is not bad. 
If I can improve 1 min every week it'd be awesome but I'm a realist, it'll be crazy difficult.  biggrin.gif
U will be able to do 20mins soon enough with the appropriate training biggrin.gif

QUOTE(tenno @ Oct 28 2009, 01:39 AM)
Seemed like we have a discussion about feeding here. The thing is, if U use a product other than it's designed for, U won't get the benefits & if U go around telling ppl in doesn't work, then it's worse la. Powergels I believe, is designed to REFUEL, not to recover. That's why it's in gel form, to enable Ur body to absorb it faster. Powerbar has other products designed for recovery. In recent years, becoz of the variety of products that they have, Powerbar has classify their products into 3 categories : Energize, Refuel & Recovery. I bought some Powergels when I was collecting my racepack for Mizuno, the salesperson promoted one of the bars from the Energize category. She said that U dun need to eat breakfast, just eat the bar & it can last for 8 hrs. I just laughed in my heart la. I dun think ANY food can last U 8 hours. Maybe can if U just eat it & go to sleep.

Powerbar was one of the 1st sports-specific energy bars around, it's been around when I was cycling back in 1991-2000 (state & national). Back then, becoz I got no money to buy & Powerbars are not available as widely & as easily as recent times, I used Cloud 9 chocolate bars as my feeding. In cycling (& also in running I believe), the general rule is to feed every one hour. Heck, I even used Cloud 9s during races. The trick is to use stuff that works for U & tastes good, so that U will eat enuff of it. For cycling it was easy to feed & U can still consume solid food. But for running, U need something like a gel la. For swimming, I dunno if U can feed during swimming, I've never seen Ironman swimmers feed during the swimming leg of a race.

Another cheap solution U can try is Choki-choki. It may sound funny, but I relied on those to get me thru 7-8 hours of trekking in thick forest. It's cheap (30 sen each I think), it can last an hour (at least for me), & it's packed in small tubes & U can carry a lot of it. It's in paste form, so U can absorb it quickly & it tastes good.
thank u for the info!! thumbup.gif

@phoenix
ready for the powerman?
btw, do u hv a place to stay edi?
could i oso pick up the elite compression tights frm u?

so, anyone going for terry fox tomorrow?
d3vilzzzz
post Oct 31 2009, 06:06 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(phoenix @ Oct 31 2009, 05:59 PM)
d3vilzzzz: How can I say I'm ready when I did not prepare for it at all. LOLz... My hotel everything already settled. What's the size for your Elite Compression Tights? For men, I'm only left with Size Small, which I think should suit you nicely. Am bringing it to Terry Fox Run tomorrow so you know where to find me. Will be there early.
heys,

haha biggrin.gif u hv been running realli hard tongue.gif
any chance of me being able to crash with u? split the cost and all? ..no worries if its nt possible..
my size? am nt too sure ... can i realli wear an "s" my adidas shorts and all.. or most running shorts i wear "L" hmm.gif
i may hv to meet up with u early.. in the morning rather then later.. wat time are you available?
d3vilzzzz
post Oct 31 2009, 09:15 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

Heys,

no worries abt the accommodation part of things biggrin.gif

i m size "L" like for me nike/ adidas running shorts! serious! tongue.gif
i see u at 7++ biggrin.gif
d3vilzzzz
post Nov 3 2009, 09:11 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(phoenix @ Nov 1 2009, 11:58 AM)
d3vilzzzz: You FFK me! I waited till 8.30am.  doh.gif
Hey,

I am realli realli sorry! My bad!! i realli realli do apologize..
I reached around 5am+ ..did a 15km(MATRADE) and pratically flew bk hm(mum was in a hurry to go to church)

I am realli realli sorry sad.gif

QUOTE(ccube @ Nov 1 2009, 09:08 PM)
Brader,  I went 2 size down for my 2XU Elite Compression.  My running shorts and tights are all size L.  Waistline 30"-31" and 175cm.  This is just to give you an indication.  Like Phoenix said if its not tight than no more compression liao.
wow biggrin.gif
I think u n i same same la
d3vilzzzz
post Nov 3 2009, 05:26 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(metalfreak @ Nov 3 2009, 11:21 AM)
arrrrrrrrrrrrrgggggggghhhhhhhhhhhhhh

I didnt take my 2XU with me today =.= ah well. run without it today.

I'm pretty sure it will rain in the evening, will be going to the gym later to run. hamster mode
CHOI! here in PJ area everything looks great biggrin.gif
i m hoping for one hell of a workout later

on a diff note, haven seen u in tmn megah/ mayang jaya for a bit..
i m too now running in that area tongue.gif

QUOTE(hanjo55 @ Nov 3 2009, 12:01 PM)
Now it is raining every evening. How to train like this (orang malas punya question).
hehe if u hv heart.. rain oso can!!

d3vilzzzz
post Nov 4 2009, 11:21 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(strinq @ Nov 4 2009, 09:46 AM)
eh, not enough sleep wor like that. only 6 hours...

Anyways, i really don't mind running in the rain...only that my shoes might get wet and will take some time to dry.
Was running yesterday for about 5 minutes then it just poured.
So frustrated...
I knw watcha mean..
I was rite in the middle of me BRICK -cycling then it POURED! very very frust!!
2nite resume training instead of a leisurely exercise!
d3vilzzzz
post Nov 12 2009, 12:43 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

hw far is the run this sun in Klang?
d3vilzzzz
post Nov 12 2009, 09:43 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(tenno @ Nov 12 2009, 08:42 AM)
Yup, it doesn't show in the map, I dunno why la. But if it's not demolished or moved, then it's definitely there. U can see a huge empty area at the end of Jalan Padang, sandwiched between Istana Alam Shah, Masjid Sultan Sulaiman & Sekolah Kebangsaan Klang. It's there.

Added on November 12, 2009, 8:43 am
oo thanks.. sub hr run biggrin.gif

QUOTE(kenshiro01 @ Nov 12 2009, 09:25 AM)
Dear all amateur runners,

wat they means by sundown?
rclxub.gif
erm, what do u tink it means when ppl say the suns go down?
d3vilzzzz
post Nov 13 2009, 09:17 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Nov 12 2009, 10:04 PM)
What is the interval suggested for newbies like me? @@ Cos after 3~4 reps of 20secs jog 10secs sprint I wanna die ady.
Heys,

watcha doing is fine, if lets say nw ur doing 4, slowly increase then to 6 then 8 then 10 .....
get the idea? i doubt if there is a specific set, take ur time and u will improve whether u like it or nt..

yes yes PBIM participant here! jz gt me race kit 2 days ago btw wink.gif

12 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.1509sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:21 PM