21 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

How to get started to invest in property?

shchoy
post Jul 17 2009, 11:04 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(jasonhanjk @ Jul 17 2009, 10:58 PM)
Huh, interesting.

Studio unit trend is picking up among young professionals.
Yes, I believe it is actually easier to rent out Studio & 2-Rooms
compare to the 3 or 4 room units.

Also, the studio & 2-rooms usually give an overall better return
in terms of rental per invested cost.

www.shchoy.com

This post has been edited by shchoy: Jul 18 2009, 02:53 PM
Backkom
post Jul 17 2009, 11:25 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(jasonhanjk @ Jul 17 2009, 01:20 PM)

Added on July 17, 2009, 1:26 pm

If you can get the 1050 sq ft apartment for RM140k, that would be a steal.

Works out to be RM133 per sq ft.
560 sq ft for RM110k would get you around RM196 per sq ft.

Looking at the sq ft is important for comparing / analyzing deals.

Do you know how much is the rent for 1050 sq ft?
Hmm don't have the exact rental figures for the bigger units, but if I'm not wrong, the rental yield is not as attractive as studio (of course I prefer to vest in studio unit cause the risk is involved is smaller - me just small fish with very limited holding power)...

Update:
Prima Regency 3 bedroom unit rental
Basic unit - 1k
Furnished - 1.4k

This post has been edited by Backkom: Jul 17 2009, 11:30 PM
SUSjasonhanjk
post Jul 17 2009, 11:38 PM

1,068 posts

QUOTE(sdas86 @ Jul 16 2009, 09:36 PM)
Thanks for the tips. Today I bought Azizi Ali "How to pay off your house loan in 5 years or less". It is a good small little book. smile.gif

I also notice that those listed in TheStar Classified is not that good.
Well, at least you will learn how loans work. flex.gif

For me I don't intend to pay off my loan for my property.
I would either re-finance every 5 years or flip it.
Taking the equity out and re-invest it.
That is part of my plan.
If you don't understand why, just act as though you do. (LOL) doh.gif

Speaking of which, Investing is a plan.
There are people out there that buys a property and later sell it for a profit.
Later they would continue the cycle again with another property.

There is nothing wrong for flipping properties but flipping alone is not called investing.
Without a plan, they are pushing the wheelbarrow.
And again, if you don't understand, just act as though you do.
Few years ago I don't understand lesson #4 until early this year.

This post has been edited by jasonhanjk: Jul 17 2009, 11:48 PM
Pai
post Jul 17 2009, 11:39 PM

~ Billionaire in training ~
3,318 posts

QUOTE(jasonhanjk @ Jul 17 2009, 10:58 PM)
Huh, interesting.

Studio unit trend is picking up among young professionals.
Not just young prof, think now there r more n more older singles (esp ladies) prefer to stay in studio's VS 2b or 3b. Maybe they like it coz less cleaning needs to be done tongue.gif
Backkom
post Jul 17 2009, 11:43 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(Pai @ Jul 17 2009, 11:39 PM)
Not just young prof, think now there r more n more older singles (esp ladies) prefer to stay in studio's VS 2b or 3b. Maybe they like it coz less cleaning needs to be done  tongue.gif
Less maintenance fee to pay too tongue.gif
TSsdas86
post Jul 18 2009, 06:06 PM

198 posts

QUOTE(jasonhanjk @ Jul 17 2009, 11:38 PM)
Well, at least you will learn how loans work.  flex.gif

For me I don't intend to pay off my loan for my property.
I would either re-finance every 5 years or flip it.
Taking the equity out and re-invest it.
That is part of my plan.
If you don't understand why, just act as though you do. (LOL)  doh.gif

Speaking of which, Investing is a plan.
There are people out there that buys a property and later sell it for a profit.
Later they would continue the cycle again with another property.

There is nothing wrong for flipping properties but flipping alone is not called investing.
Without a plan, they are pushing the wheelbarrow.
And again, if you don't understand, just act as though you do.
Few years ago I don't understand lesson #4 until early this year.

Hi, great post.

It is not easy to find a good real estate for investment. I am looking at one in Kuching area but I think that it is over-priced. Most houses in Kuching is over-priced. I am not sure hwy it is so expensive in Kuching. hmm.gif
SUSjasonhanjk
post Jul 19 2009, 09:49 PM

1,068 posts

QUOTE(sdas86 @ Jul 18 2009, 06:06 PM)
Hi, great post.

It is not easy to find a good real estate for investment. I am looking at one in Kuching area but I think that it is over-priced. Most houses in Kuching is over-priced. I am not sure hwy it is so expensive in Kuching. hmm.gif
I am not very sure regarding the market there, but if you can find an investor in that area.
Talk with him, ask him out and treat him lunch.
You'll learn much more. smile.gif

lainux
post Jul 20 2009, 12:15 AM

650 posts

QUOTE(jasonhanjk @ Jul 19 2009, 09:49 PM)
I am not very sure regarding the market there, but if you can find an investor in that area.
Talk with him, ask him out and treat him lunch.
You'll learn much more. smile.gif
Wanna have lunch? thumbup.gif
shchoy
post Jul 20 2009, 10:25 AM

81 posts

You may want to start... just browsing properties in sites like
iproperty.com or thinkproperty.com.my

This will give you an idea on the market there.

www.shchoy.com

This post has been edited by shchoy: Jul 20 2009, 10:25 AM
SUSjasonhanjk
post Jul 21 2009, 08:55 AM

1,068 posts

QUOTE(lainux @ Jul 20 2009, 12:15 AM)
Wanna have lunch?  thumbup.gif
You in JB? brows.gif
brutus
post Jul 21 2009, 09:14 AM

1,743 posts

QUOTE(shchoy @ Jul 17 2009, 11:04 PM)
Yes, I believe it is actually easier to rent out Studio & 2-Rooms
compare to the 3 or 4 room units.

Also, the studio & 2-rooms usually give an overall better return
in terms of rental per invested cost.
i always thought the 3-bedroom would be the easiest to rent out, no?
studio does provide better returns but dont forget they also costs more psf than the avearge unit.
lainux
post Jul 21 2009, 11:26 AM

650 posts

QUOTE(jasonhanjk @ Jul 21 2009, 08:55 AM)
You in JB?  brows.gif
KL.. vmad.gif
SUSjasonhanjk
post Jul 21 2009, 11:58 AM

1,068 posts

QUOTE(lainux @ Jul 21 2009, 11:26 AM)
KL..  vmad.gif
You are lucky.
There are more investor in KL compare to JB. wink.gif
ecVk
post Jul 21 2009, 03:56 PM

Can somebody say egg?
1,142 posts

Lol. Whats so lucky about that?
Backkom
post Jul 21 2009, 04:14 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(lainux @ Jul 21 2009, 11:26 AM)
KL..  vmad.gif
Lainux kor... organize a makan session in KL ler rclxms.gif
SUSjasonhanjk
post Jul 21 2009, 04:35 PM

1,068 posts

QUOTE(ecVk @ Jul 21 2009, 03:56 PM)
Lol. Whats so lucky about that?
That is because so far I only spotted one investor whom have more experience than me in JB. blush.gif

If go KL, I might want to meet up with the others. rclxms.gif
Backkom
post Jul 21 2009, 05:10 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(jasonhanjk @ Jul 21 2009, 04:35 PM)
That is because so far I only spotted one investor whom have more experience than me in JB. blush.gif

If go KL, I might want to meet up with the others.  rclxms.gif
Should come up this weekend... got "luxury" property fair + free talks rclxms.gif
SUSjasonhanjk
post Jul 21 2009, 10:21 PM

1,068 posts

QUOTE(Backkom @ Jul 21 2009, 05:10 PM)
Should come up this weekend... got "luxury" property fair + free talks  rclxms.gif
Eh?

I thought you stay in JB? rclxub.gif
babana
post Jul 21 2009, 10:25 PM

too old; do not want
986 posts

QUOTE(jasonhanjk @ Jul 21 2009, 11:58 AM)
You are lucky.
There are more investor in KL compare to JB. wink.gif
haha, more investors means more competition as well. would be prob much harder to parang auctions units too! wink.gif
Backkom
post Jul 21 2009, 10:31 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(jasonhanjk @ Jul 21 2009, 10:21 PM)
Eh?

I thought you stay in JB? rclxub.gif
Now still in KL, moving to JB soon... cry.gif

21 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0314sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 07:53 AM